Loewe Xelos Standard Televisions

Xelos

Loewe Xelos products are programmed for the future. With future-proof digital technology and an award-winning design that promises to be just as appealing in ten years as it is today. Timeless Xelos styling captivates with clear, concise forms. The super-flat picture-frame front is just one example. Many of the finer details first become apparent on second glance - like the unique styling of the back of the TV and the attractive front control panel. Xelos televisions are available in the colors Graphite and Arctic Silver and now Platinum

Xelos comes in five screen sizes. The stereo models feature the Super Flatline picture tube in the 16:9 widescreen format with 32", 28" or 24" screen sizes. Loewe Digital 100 future-proof 100-Hz electronics and an 8-bit digital chassis ensure highest quality television pictures. Two racks are perfectly coordinated with the futuristic Xelos design. All Xelos products feature recyclable construction and energy-saving Standby mode

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Brad Shiach   AudioPhile [Sep 24, 2002]
Strength:

Incredible Image Intuitive Menu & Setup Style +++ Affordable Did I mention, Georgous Image

Weakness:

Still trying to find one

Set it up in an hour, v easy. Oh my what a beautiful set and that picture, you'd be hard pressed to do any better at twice the price. I really looked around, nearest thing to compete, I thought was the "Metz Atlantis", but this baby had the edge and then some. If your thinking about it my advice would be,.... do it, do it, DO IT !!!! You can smooth things over with the wife later, she'll grow to love it... mine did.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cndawes   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2002]
Strength:

Picture Design VGA adaptor Future space to at DTT module

Weakness:

Are there any ?

I have the 5970 TVM @media model with VGA adaptor and it is just fantastic. It looks stunning when it is off, and when you turn it on it gets even better. DVD and Digital Satellite via TiVo both play in RGB whilst I route the sound via the A/V amp. This means the Xelos it just used for the picture which is stunning. The images leap out of the screen at you. The VGA adaptor is great too, as I have a custom MP3 player using the TV as the monitor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic picture quality Stylish and solid build Remote and menu system

Weakness:

Sound quality lacking

Let me start by saying that this TV rocks. Its has the best picture quality I have seen out of any of the TV's in its class. The Sony and Panasonic that I looked at did not come close to what you get with this beauty. First of all this TV has great style and very unusual looks with the speakers placed underneath it. You would think that this would take away from the stereo sound scope but it actually does quite well considering. If you go through an amp you will not notice it. Secondly the picture quality is superb. Watching DVD's on this TV will blow you away. It has a function called DMM (Digital Movie Mode) which takes away the jitter you see especially on fast action scenes. This makes for a very smooth running picture and one that almost appears in 3D. Watching people walk across the screen you almost get the feeling its like watching them live. This feature also seems to enhance the quality of the picture further. I recently watched The Great Escape (on DVD) and it blew me away at how clear the picture was especially considering that this movie was filmed in 1963. The Fast And The Furious is also another DVD that will simply blow you away to watch on this TV. When shopping for this TV ask and make sure you get the DMM feature as I believe its not available on the new chassis which is a 2500, only on the 2400 is it standard. The menu and control system on this TV is well set out and easy to navigate. The remote is plain with a minimal amount buttons which is good for some. The feel and use of them is solid with a very nice feel. When navigating the menu system you will see how many features this TV has. And one of the best features is the information button which provides help and info on what each function does and how to use it. This is all on screen and great for when you want to know quickly what the feature does without having to dig out the manual.....which is very brief but I guess that does not matter when you have the on screen help. Some might also find the menu system slow. I believe that with the new chassis (2500) the menus are smaller and faster, but you do loose the DMM feature which I believe to be well worth it. Because this is a 16:9 aspect TV you will notice that some pictures will appear squashed or cut off. With the click of a button you can change between 16:9, 4:3, Pan and Zoom and resize the picture. The TV will also do thi

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Filipe Paninho   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2001]
Strength:

Everything, this is a superb TV.

Weakness:

None

I have a 28" Loewe Xelos that I have for about 10 months.

I love this TV so much that I'm trading my 28" Xelos for a 32" Xelos.

Superb Image, even more in the 32" model which is 100% flicker free.
Genious menus, and interactivity.
Marvelous design and buid quality.

Contrast only matched by other Loewe models.

Wouldn't trade a Loewe TV unless for another Loewe TV.

If I had the money I would only trade a Xelos for the new Vitros Model.

And it is not as heavy as Japanese models, special Sony.

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent image quality, excellent features, heaps of controls

Weakness:

heavy! heaps of controls

When I saw this set running alongside some other 'top of the range' tvs I was pretty impressed, so much so that I bought it on the spot! Considering some products by sony and panasonic that cost more and don't look any better or offer anything extra.

I don't really have any complaints, having most of the manual "in" the tv can be a little annoying because it can be slow to navigate, but I'll get used to it.

I'm looking forward to heaps of nights playing with the features and settings!

Similar Products Used: Sony Wega, panasonic, grundig
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 05, 2000]
Strength:

Great image, sound and esign

Weakness:

Only one RGB input through SCART

After comparing sets for almost a year this displayed the best image on a CRT based TV. My old Sony 29" was harsh garbage in comparison. Overall I am very pleased with it.

The only negatives are:
*Only one RGB compatible SCART (of the 3)
*Brightness and contrast are via an on screen menu which covers any test pattern you may be using.

Otherwise nothing comes close to this TV apart from Loewes other model - the Aconda (and high end plasma screens of course). (And here in Australia it is cheaper than the Philips, Grundig and Sonys)

Similar Products Used: Sony WEGA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Preskey   Casual Listener [Mar 04, 2001]
Strength:

Superb picture, quality of scarts, features, upgradeablity, style, teletext memory, excelent 100hz picture, supports almost every TV standard.

Weakness:

Sound, complex manual set up of inputs, remote only controls Loewe products

This is based on the X5381, Chasis Q2300, OS 4.1 and is a UK model

This TV is superb! The set just oozes class every time you turn it on. It can handle extremely high contrast levels, giving a real 3D life like image (if you want it to). It also has some very clever setup procedures, you select from a list of what equipment you have and the TV then shows you how to connect them up and configures all the scarts for you. Each scart can take composite, RGB or S-Video (and there are 3 scarts). The only downer is if you want to manually configure the scarts, as I have not found a way to do this without telling the tv is has things connected to it.

There are at least 5 differant versions of this same model, with differant chasis types and series. So I guess some versions offer less features. However if you get the largest screen, 32inch, you will always find you have an upgradeable TV, you can install satellite modules, DD decoders and VGA inputs.

Put simply this TV is how ALL TVs should be built.

Similar Products Used: Sony Wega, Pannasonic Tau, Philps Cool Green
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JORGE ALVES   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2001]
Strength:

EXCELENT IMAGE SUBERB DESIGN

Weakness:

NONE SO FAR

I CANNOT BE MORE HAPPY WITH MY TV, IF YOU ARE READY TO PAID A LITTLE BIT MORE FOR A TV BUT YOU WANT THE BEST THIS IS IT.
MY LAST TV WAS A SONY 29" AND BELEIVE ME WHAT A DIFERENCE.
MY SONY IS NOW ON MY BEDROOM AND MY LOEWE IS KICKING IN THE LIVING ROOM THOSE MOVIES ON DVD COME ALIVE.

Similar Products Used: SONY WEGA AND PHILIPS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eelco van vliet   Audiophile [Jul 12, 2001]
Strength:

design, build quality, remote, picture

Weakness:

sound, manual

Afer a very dissapointing encouter with philips repair-service I got myself this Loewe TV. I have the 28" version, main differences are :

28" flat tube
dual Scart, composite and Svsh in.
No rgb or component on scart
420 Teletext pages memory (1500 pages for the 32")

This tv is really cool. It is very easy to operate. Also the picture quality is very good, especially on DVD. Channel switching is a bit slower than on my previous Philips.

if you are looking for a good looking TV, boy this one !!

Similar Products Used: Philips 28pw9503
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sander Janssens   Audiophile [Dec 04, 2001]
Strength:

Best picture quality ever

Weakness:

Sound

This is the best television in it's range. Only the new B&O television is better, but it costs twice as much.

I put in sounds as weakness, but I put the sounds over a Denon Dolby Digital amplifier, so it doesn't matter.

The picture quality is superb, the design is superb (i've got the platinum one), the control is very simple, the menu's are plain and simple, so everything on this machine is of absolute quality.

If you plan on buying a new television, don't go out comparing all kinds of television, just buy this one. In it's range it is absolute the best !!!

And I need to say that I'm very critical as it comes to audio/video.

Similar Products Used: Thompson
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com