Loewe Aconda Standard Televisions

Aconda

The new Loewe Aconda line of televisions combines a completely flat picture tube with Invar Mask that provides crisp, distortion-free images with a high-gloss finish cabinet face, creating an elegantly styled set with unmatched performance.

The initial Aconda model shipping to retailers comes with a 30-inch, 110-degree real-flat screen with a 16:9 aspect ratio, capable of displaying high definition program material, such as 1080i/960i HDTV from digital television tuners or satellite receivers.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Bootsey   Casual Listener [May 11, 2009]

I purchased the Aconda 30" in 2004, from Sound Advice in Florida. I almost purchased another Sony widescreen; but was talked into buying the Aconda Model by the salesman at Sound Advice. After one year my remote didn't work. Who ever heard of a remote not working?? (except to replace batteries) In 2006, the relay went bad; it took 6 weeks for the part and to get repair. Two years later; the same problem; what is up with the same problem needing to be fix in these televisions. I think it is a big rip-off. This is a big headache. I want a Sony again. Never will I purchase a television like this again, and to top it off Sound Advice is no longer in business in my city. This company is having financial troubles.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Sdate247   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2004]
Strength:

It is very heavy; therefore, very difficult to steal

Weakness:

power supply, customer support

I purchased the Aconda 30 even after I read the caveats from other posters since I was assured that Loewe is still a good brand despite their little hiccups. Well, my power supply bit the dust about 2 months ago and I am now a proud owner of a very large paperweight. The brick is still under warranty which means that Loewe get to jerk me around with "your basic powerboard is currently backordered...". I also learned today that Loewe are considering pulling out of the US market since they cannot compete with the Sony's, Panasonics, etc - you know, the TVs that are more reliable. Save yourself the disappointment and buy a different brand, or just burn a great big pile of money instead of buying a Loewe - the end result will be the same.

Similar Products Used: Sony - why did I ever sell that?
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
bubbles   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2004]
Strength:

Looks,picture

Weakness:

Everything,unreliable,poor quality control,poor service,overpriced for the hassle to your life it will bring.

What a suprise to see many of the reviews here,(Not)I have the Xelos,but no place to write a review so I'll put it here instead. Basically Loewe are total junk to put it politely,I will never have this dreadful brand having my money in future,there products are a nightmare,unreliable,overpriced, and pathetic aftersales by people who haven't a clue. First mistake was the, "I was made in hell" Loewe Xemix DVD player,less than a year the laser went,took it to the local Loewe servive centre,they had it 6 months,yes folks you read that right 6 months,and guess what,it took Loewe distributer five atempts to send the right transport,yes folks again you read that right,FIVE times the wrong transport was sent,can you believe that? I complain to Loewe Germany,get sent a new one,guess what in less than 6 months it breaks,doesn't work at all,very light use,take it back to the wonderful loewe service centre,4 months later!! I'm told I need to pay 200 €uros for repair,well Loewe you can just.... So I left it there,as a fully loaded Pioneer will cost less. In the meantime,I get sucked in by the looks of the xelos TV,yes it looks lovely,picture is superb,but here is the problem again,it's unreliable,it's only 3 years old,and has just broken again,for a second time!!!get it sorted Loewe, quality control,service is NOT acceptable. I go to turn the TV on,it won,t start,the Green and Red front lights light up,and just click on & off,just like last time,so I now have to wait again for it to be repaired,how long this time?will Loewe send the right part?.....God never again Loewe.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic,Pioneer.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
RogerOT   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 29, 2004]
Strength:

Color accuracy, depth of image, detail, black reproduction, sound.

Weakness:

At about 220 pounds, it's a brute. But I finally asked myself, 'how often do you move a television?'

After having spent the better part of a year researching video displays, I purchased a Loewe Aconda 9383B. It's too bad that Loewe briefly experimented with having the Acondas manufactured in the U.S., for it caused their reputation considerable harm in the marketplace, and my heart goes out to those who had so much trouble with their units. Having learned of their unfortunate experiences I made sure that I received one of the German units, and am glad I did. The picture on the Loewe is, in my humble opinion, second to none. The color accuarcy, subtle detail and depth of image are nothing short of spectacular. Movies that have alot of dark scenes were hardly worth watching on my Sony WEGA. Not so on the Loewe. Dark scenes can be absolutely mesmerizing when all of the detail comes through. Some of the plasmas and DLP's are getting very good, but they're not there yet. I believe that the Loewe's all round performance sets the bar for the time being, and would highly recommend the product to anyone, unless they are looking for a substantially larger screen size.

Similar Products Used: Sony XBR 53" rear projection crt Sony WEGA 36" crt
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
texxans   Casual Listener [Jul 03, 2004]
Strength:

Picture to die for, truly amazing.

Weakness:

Power goes out at beginning, then is ok os far

I gave this product a low review score because the power keeps going out. It is weird. Not consitently but most times within about 10 minutes after turning it on it will power out by itself, it will turn on in about 1 minute but might do this 2 to 3 times and then it is perfect :) Besides that the picture on dvd 480i (it has its own upconverter to progressive scan) and high definition is nothing short of amazing. Indeed all my research says a direct view screen is the best and this bears it out. I often check out tv's at local stores and nothing best mine. It is crystal clear. Now I am not a videophile so take that into consideration, but man the pic is fantastic. I can understand people will enjoy movies fully without seeing every pixel but for the money spent, this picture warms my heart :)Hope this helps. Interestingly I probably wouldn't buy this again because of my fear that one day the tv just won't turn on again, after my warranty runs out. I would probably buy some other excellent picture tv and not notice that it is slightly below this picture quality. I am going to try a power center from monster cable like another reviewer suggested.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
ifxthen   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2004]
Strength:

Good true colours (when works), looks

Weakness:

Customer service (forget about two year waranty), reliability.

I purchased my Loewe Aconda 30” (piano finish) in December 2002. Right from the beginning there was a slight problem with keeping a color temperature. It was mainly noticeable with images that have white background (hockey games or skiing). The colors would start changing from white to green to pink. Originally thought that it was my DVD player. Replaced the player – the problem still there. Replaced my digital top box – the problem was still there. Removed my speakers away from the TV – still the same. Finally called Loewe for repairs. The horror began. It has been over three month since I originally contacted Loewe and after two visits to my home and taking the TV to a repair shop – the TV is in the worst shape that it ever was. Horrible customer service by Loewe (just like some low life used car dealership), unprofessional technicians that Loewe uses. It is truly a shame that the company is so poorly represented in the US. I strongly discourage any potential buyers from considering Loewe products.

Similar Products Used: Bang & Olufsen BeoVision, Sony, Panasonic
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
ifxthen   AudioPhile [Oct 28, 2003]
Strength:

Amazing true colors, 3D imaging, sound.

Weakness:

None

This is a review for Loewe Aconda flat screen TV. Let me just say that this is an amazing TV. The strongest point is its ability to display really true colors. It just takes your breath away when you see some outdoors scenery in HDTV format. The TV itself is gorgeous (I prefer piano black finish). The sound is firs class too. Now to some details. I wouldn’t say that this is the best TV in the world. It has to share this status with Bang & Olufsen (B&O) BeoVision Avant. What Loewe Aconda does better then Avant is displaying rich, bright, crisp and true colors. The blacks are really black and not gray or washed out darks (move out Sony, Panasonic and Toshiba). What B&O Avant does better is displaying three dimensional pictures. I was especially amazed when I sow “Men in Black” and “Spider Man” on BeoVision. This is not to say that Aconda does not display movies in 3D. It is just that computer enhanced effects look better on BeoVision (which is a small percentage of all movies), but everything else looks better on Aconda. Keep in mind that Aconda retails for $3,000 to $3,500 (depending on finish), and B&O BeoVision is $8,500. You have to use some good quality DVD player with this TV (doesn’t have to be progressive scan, but all of the DVD players our days are). The manufacturer recommends using an S-type connection for the DVD player, since the TV has its own progressive scan mechanism built in. I use Marantz DV-18 MkII player and I am very happy with it. I tried Arcam FMJ DV27A and I completely hated it (not to mention that it was more expensive). And for God’s sake use some good cables (Tara labs, MIT or Nordost S-Video cable). This comment is for the guy with the power supply issue -- buy yourself a good power search protector. At the very minimum get Monster Cable $80 search protector and use it. Or better yet invest some $500 - $800 dollars in good power conditioner / search protector (Panamax M-5500 or Monster Cable 5100). In summary, Loewe Aconda and B&O BeoVision Avant are the best TVs in the world, but since I couldn’t afford the B&O one (and I am not sure I liked it that much), I am more than happy with the Aconda. No plazma o rear projection TVs can compare with direct view displays, and the Aconda does it the best. The amazing colors, 3D imaging and elegant design of the TV makes it a real Eye Candy.

Similar Products Used: Bang & Olufsen BeoVision Avant, Sony XBR FD WEGA, Panasonic, Toshiba, Samsong.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2003]
Strength:

Beautiful design and picture quality

Weakness:

Completely lackluster response to a power supply failure. Loewe and The Great Indoors are either ignoring their customers, or they simply haven't found the root cause and a viable solution. I'm told they are implementing a new power supply design, which will be available later 2003, but until then what? I can't even believe the 38" is still actively being sold. Is my luck that bad? 3 straight sets? They seem to agree there is a flaw in the power supply, just not being very quick about fixing it.

For a set that I purchased with such high expectations, I have come away thoroughly frustrated. I am on my 3rd set, and it currently does not function, due to the infamous power supply problem, that Loewe is obviously struggling to fix once and forall.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
green93   AudioPhile [Mar 20, 2003]
Strength:

Possibly the best HDTV picture around.

Weakness:

Not flat picture tube so there is some glare. Bad power supply board so far not address by Loewe.

Best picture around. I agree with all the good reviews given here. My only concern is the power supply used in this set. This is the fourth time in eight months that my set has gone out. Have now been waiting one month for a power supply board to arive for warrenty repair. Something is seriously wrong with this part. I would not buy this set until Loewe addresses this issue.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
hartl   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2003]
Strength:

Cosmetics...beautiful looks. Picture quality regardless of source is unmatched by ANYTHING. Convience features/inputs demonstrate incredibly attention to detail. Internally, this tv demonstrates why Germany is so highly praised for its engineering and electronics.

Weakness:

Retail price is the only thing.

I was amazed to see that this television was rated a meek 3.6 or so out of five, so I'm here to give this product the credit it deserves. Firstly, let me say that most of the poor reviews on this site were due to breakdown problems, and I have only owned this for a few weeks. But this is the first place I've read about any problems with this set or with this brand and service--I've heard that Loewe, a high-end German company that has been in the tv world since the year it was invented, has some of the best internal parts of any television in the world, and because they are so well-built, they aren't known to brake down. Anyway, these tv's are unmatched. Yeah, you heard me right. I have spent the last year tirelessly searching, day and night, using all of my free-time, to find the ultimate tv for my apartment. I had to have something under 43", probably a little smaller. I went to nearly every store that carries any type of tv in the New York area, talked to many different types of sales people, and did tons of research on my own...my conclusion is that still, nothing can beat a good direct-view set. Not plasma, not rear-projection, not LCD, nothing. Plasma is the closest competitor, but they are really only better in the amazing way they save space--but they still don't have the technology to produce the color depth and 3-dimensionality of tube tv's. Granted, most plasmas are better than most tubes, but Loewe's Aconda series, the best-of-the-best in the world of tube tv's, is in another league FROM ANY PLASMA. I stood in countless high-end stores, watching, for example, a $20,000 Fujitsu 50" plasma, highest-quality next to the Loewe. The salesman pointed out to me, while HDTV was playing, the areas in the screen that demonstate how plasma is inferior to direct-view, and he was very honest and correct--plasmas are bright and vivid, but can't produce the shadows, contrasts, blacks/grays, or color range that the Loewe can. DVD also looks incredible on the Loewe--3D, very film-like, somewhat darker than other tube models but I don't really mind. The cosmetics of this set is second to none as well--the housing of the screen is probably the finest out of all tv's. Even for the $5,500 price tag these are incredible, but for $3,700, no tv in the world is even in the same ball park. Randy Tomlinson from The Perfect Vision magazine called the 38" Aconda the "World's Best HDTV," going on to say that the tv had, in HDTV, "the most beautiful and realistic colors I've ever seen on a TV regardless of type or price." Digital Cable or satilette is also unmatched, and the convience features are plentiful, to say the least. For example, if you like a different color/contrast/black level/gray scale set up for DVD, VCR, HDTV, and STV, the tv will remember the picture settings for each source and display it automatically everytime you change what you're watching. Final Verdict? If you have the dough and you don't HAVE to have something bigger, this is the best tv in the world. Direct-view is still the best picture of any of the alternatives, and Loewe makes the best direct-view money can buy. CHECK IT OUT!

Similar Products Used: Pro Scan 27", JVC HDTV 48" RPTV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com