Sony WEGA LCD HDTV Flat Panel Televisions

WEGA LCD HDTV

Captivating entertainment meets refined elegance in Sony's High Definition LCD Rear Projection TV. Our features come together to produce images and sound like no other. Cinema Black, an Integrated ATSC Tuner, 0.87" WXGA LCD Panels, 3.28 Million Dots of Resolution, 1,092,168 Million Dots Per Panel, and Sony's Proprietary WEGA Engine System all contribute to this surreal experience. Direct Digital II Circuitry, Digital Reality Creation® MultiFunction V1 Circuitry, Multi Image Driver (MID® X) Circuitry, CineMotion® Reverse 3-2 Pulldown Technology, and Enhanced Memory Stick® Media Playback* also add to our unique combination of style and technology. Sony's new beauty is not just skin deep. Arouse your senses - the KDF-70XBR950.

User Reviews (74)

Showing 1-10 of 74  
BigPoppaPimp   Casual Listener [Feb 01, 2011]

I bought the model KDF55E200 in 2007 after 3 years the bulb went on it. I was leary when I bought it but got the floor model after they threw in the 5 year extended warranty for $50. I was told by the sales lady that short of someone throwing something through the screen I was 100% covered. After paying for the replacement bulb the TV worked fine until last week when the optical block started to go. I called the about the warranty and was told a technician would be by on Monday. Monday the tech called and asked for the model number and this is where the story went south turns out the model number is KF-E50A10 . So 4 years ago I paid extra for a 55" television which on the invoice it says I purchased but actually received a 50" with a history of problems.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
bschwartz123   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 06, 2009]

My review will look like nearly everyone's review after they've owned a Sony 60" WEGA TV for more than 3 or 4yrs. The set come with a defective Optic Block, so just after replacing the Lamp ($250), they too will have to replace Sony's DEFECTIVE OPTIC BLOCK ($700 part + $350 installation, and taxes ). In my case, Sony first recommended I have the TV diagnosed by a Sony certified repair company ($95). Total disaster came to over $1,300 in repairs, parts and labor for what is supposed to be Sony's highest quality, video enthusiast LCD Rear-Project TV, retailing for $4,500 when purchased. SONY is not a company to do business with if you plan on owning your TV for more than 4yrs. Good luck to those buying new Sony products today... this coming from a Sony die-hard since the days of the walk-man. NEVER again.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
fapa   Casual Listener [Dec 03, 2009]

there is a leak of purple zigzag in the left side of the screen . The tv is in the living room which we are ever in there , paid over 2000.00 dollars for this tv and maybe turned it on 30 times and it had not been turned on for a year and so the neighbours kids wanted to watch a video and that is when we notice it was really defective. we checked the cable connection and even had someone else look at it, and they have never seen the purple leak in the screen and he as well asked why is there so much snow in the screen and we just thought it was badly connected because that has always been that way. Crapyola tv for sure. Our hard earn money down the drain.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ken Gardner   AudioPhile [May 26, 2009]

I purchased a Sony Wega LCD 42" TV in June of 2005. It has a "Blue Blob or haze" on the screen caused by a defective light engine also called a optical block. According to my research Sony knew of this problem and still sold the Wega series in retail outlets. The consumer was never notified of this recall thru usps or email.There is also an issue with pink spots on the screen which are caused by a dust problem. These repairs are $900 -$1200. There has been class action suits for larger models. All Wega were defective. Sony Corporation placed defective merchandise in retail outlets. The consumer was not notified about a recall which has since expired.Very poor business practice for such a large corporation

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Darrin   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2009]

Sony Wega has been the biggest disappointment, especially from a brand that is supposedly trusted so much by consumers. I've had this t.v. for 4 years. After the first two, the picture went out and guess what? It is going out again.It was never the same picture wise after the first repair. We have had other brands like, sharp, panasonic etc. for over 20 years that have had no issues!!!!! Pretty pathetic. They only cost a fraction of the price. Rather than repair this one again, has anyone heard of any issues with the Vizio? Or had any luck with a different brand of 55" t.v.'s? Comments would be appreciated. Buyer beware, do not buy Sony!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
salnascar   AudioPhile [Oct 05, 2008]
Strength:


For the first 2 years it's ok after that it' trash

Weakness:

B-Block only last 1.5 + yrs if lucky

Purchased new 01/17/06 and within 2 years from purchase the B-Block went bad. We spoke with sales at PC Richards and where told there was only 1 year warranty from manufacture , but they have a service bulletin out due to the problem. When we contacted Sony several times only one person tried to help, we sent a copy of purchase statement and when the called back we where told that the repair was on us. The internet is full of customers like me that exactly after 2 years there TV failed, and are complaining and getting nowhere. So to all that want to purchase a Sony Product, Yes reviews so it's all in all good, but for how long they don't tell you.
Sony WEGA HDTV $2300.00
Extra accessories $ 252.60
3 Mnts On the Phone With Sony Techs. $ 37.82
Repair Problem $1050.00
Reading reviews before purchasing a Sony product PRICELESS!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
marcusinchicago   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 30, 2008]
Strength:

Sony caring enough to extend the warranty on new technology, making sure the consumer didn't completely get burn. Color resolution unrivaled.

Weakness:

The bulb. This isn't necessarily a knock on Sony. If you're a power house TV company, you'd better be able to pay for extensive research to make and produce better parts.

I have a 50" Sony Wega, and I am what you would call "an upper class TV watcher " or "stuck up". I cant watch anything now unless it's in HD. I don't think any other brand would have made me this way. The color resolution and sound is superior. Like everyone else with models from '04, I've experienced the bulb outage and the optic block problem. Sucks to go through any of that, but at least Sony did extend the warranty for the OB. I've read that some brands didn't even cover their OB problems. Unfortunately, I had to eat the price of the bulb. Funny, we've been to the moon and can build skyscrapers to the heavens, but the life time of a bulb in a $3400 TV is about 2 years.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
bwildman   Casual Listener [Jan 08, 2008]
Strength:

The picture quality is the best out there.

Weakness:

no weakness

I bought several years ago my 60in sony wega rear projection tv. The picture quality has been great however a couple of months ago my tv started to develope a blue screen across the bottom. I contacted the place were I bought it and they sent me to a repaire shop. They contacted sony for me and found that sony would cover the optic block replacement . In talking with the delivery men they stated that alot of other brands are having the same type of problems but that sony is the only one that has stepped up to the plate to cover the costs. I think this speaks alot about the company. If you really would like to know about a product or service just talk to the people who repaire them. The same is true with auto insurances talk to the auto repair shops to find out if some insurance companys don't cover cost of the repaires. After all you give them money every month to cover auto body damage. It speaks about the company and the way that they feel about you as a customer. I will shop sony products again.

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AaronNJ   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2007]

This review is for the Sony grand Vega 50 inch LCD rear projection. I absolutely love this television. I have had no problems with it. I did get the extended warranty, which I was told covers the bulbs if they should go. I think like anything relatively new, the reliability record still is a big question. Hopefully after another year I can post a new review with more info, however, so far, so good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shannaroberts1   Casual Listener [Dec 26, 2006]

Sony Wega 60 and we had to replace the bulb after two years. We purchased the extended warranty for $399.99 to find out it does not cover the lamp. They wanted to charge us $350 plus tax to replace the lamp and labor. My husband and I went to the Sony store on St. Pete Beach and bought a new lamp for $200 and replaced the lamp under 5 minutes. (Labor from Rex was $175). The store manager Cooper told me to read the TV manual before I purchase a TV. Please ask to take home the manual before making a big purchase. I was told not to listen to the sales person and read everything before my next purchase.

Customer Service

I will never purchase another thing from Rex Electronics. He told me that I should of bought a Plasma because they were more durable. I explained to him that we set out to purchase the Plasma and the store manager at the time told us that we would have more problems with a Plasma.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 74  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com