Mitsubishi VS-50705 Rear Projection

VS-50705

50" Gold Series Analog Rear Projection TV - 3D Y/C Digital Comb Filter - Component Video Input - Two-Tuner PIP - Illuminated Remote - Split Screen and Channel Preview (Also comes in 55", 60", and 70")

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
macfleetwwod   Casual Listener [Jun 07, 2011]

Model VS 50705..Bought Hi Fi Buys May of 2000..This is my 2nd rear projection..1st one lasted 15 years and the guns went out..This has been an excellent unit as well..Replaced a small diode about 1 year ago by outside vendor, cost about $75 in-home service..I have it up for sale if anyone is interested..send me an email..I'm going for the 65" flat screen..kf4zzy@yahoo.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Freddy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

Picture quality is superb! Color Temp controls, V-chip, Iris feature that automatically adjust picture brightness. The split-screen feature, wow 2 games side by side. Universal remote control, component hook up for DVD, front jacks, and the V-chip. PIP and the side by side capability.

Weakness:

Lighted remote has only limited buttons that actually light, glare on the protective screen, the standard speakers are of poor quality, and the capability to handle 16:9 screens.

This is the best damn picture I've seen on an analog set. The split screen is useful for 2 football games at once side by side. It boasts 850 lines, when HDTV does transmit, it'll broadcast at about 800 lines. So it may not be like a HDtv ready set, but the screen will be much clearer. I have the 60705(60") and it' the best 60" analog I've seen.
The protective screen is standard and improves and protects the screen. Please buy the extended warranty with any big screen for that matter. It's a quality product, but I want the protection for my $2199 purchase. They average around $2599-$2699. I have received many complements when people visit me. This projection TV kicks ass!!!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
TP   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2000]
Strength:

Outstanding picture, multiple inputs, great video controls

Weakness:

None

As I write this review I am watching my Mits 50705. This RPTV is the absolute best. I held off buying a big screen for approximately 3 years.
My brother had purchased Mits 3 yrs ago and urged me to take a look at them when shopping. It does cost slightly more than Sony or Panasonic, but I feel the extra dollars are worth it. I have a DirecTV satellite system hooked up to the RPTV and it is an unbelievable picture. It looks even better than the direct view tv I have in the bedroom. My brother is blown away by the clarity of the picture. It appears that the protective screen does a lot to enhance the picture quality. My lifeline cable reception is not great, but switch to the satellite input and WOW!!!! I don't see how HDTV can be any better. I am completely satisfied.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Erik Johnson   Casual Listener [Jan 15, 2000]
Strength:

excellent picture, component inputs, remote

Weakness:

none

I always wanted a big screen, and after limited research I got lucky and bought the 50705. Im very happy I did. This is an excellent television. I have owned it for 6 months and waited to review to aviod the "out of the box" excitement. I have the misfourtune of using standard cable (digital in my area soon)and the picture can be bad if the feed is weak. DSS a good idea.
The downside: this picture is so good you have to upgrade your equipment. Bought a Toshiba SD-3109 DVD and with my Dolby Digital Ready Reciever its a whole new world. I cant comment on service as I have had no problems with this set.
This site was very helpful in deciding which DVD to go for. If you were smart enough to check out TV's here first, buy the 50705. If your like me and dont want to drop the dollars on HDTV, at least get the best RPTV you can. You wont regret it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2000]
Strength:

Color, picture quality

Weakness:

None. May be its speakers

This product kick butt. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Casual Listener [Jun 15, 2000]
Strength:

Best picture and features for your money. Component DVD picture is nothing less than incredible for an analog TV.

Weakness:

Build in sound system. Simulated "surround sound" Ranges from pretty good to horrible. It has a particularly diffecult time with commercials, not that I really want to hear them, however it boosts the music and muffles the voice.

I recently purchased a Pioneer C302D and dicovered my 20 year old 25" Proton monitor was not going cut it for letterbox DVDs. Looked at just about all the RPTVs in this size range, then this one went on sale for $1700.00 at a local HiFi chain and it became a no-brainer. I actually recieved the VS-50707 (which has an update remote) when the store discovered they were sold out of the 50705's on the day it was scheduled for delivery. Got the "Video Essentials" DVD to fine tune the set and was well worth the money for me. I found I was doing nearly everything incorrectly. If you really want to see what this TV can do, watch "A Bug's Life" or "The Mask" on component DVD. I have the AR HT101 cables and they did improve the image significantly over the cheap ones. I have the Dish Network on a S-Video hookup an the image quality is excellent. Local stations are only passible to terrible. VHS (got a new Mitsu HiFi unit) varies with the tape. My wife and I are totally spoiled by the component DVD image. Purchased the extended warranty but it has been problem free so far.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bryan Hamon   Audiophile [Feb 17, 2000]
Strength:

color, picture, value, PIP

Weakness:

remote, inputs

I have the 55705 which was not an option for review.

Great RPTV. Bought locally from Ovation for 2250. Added 4 yr warranty (a must).

Looks great out of the box. DTV, DVD's look great. Local stations are grainy. What I thought was great reception on a 27" was very bad on large-screen. Not the TV's problem though. Sound is very good. Remote is OK. Not a learning remote. Can control some aspects of other devices, but will not replace original remote for any unit. I am looking at a Pronto for that!

Only 2 rear inputs! If you have s-video and composite video connected to your receiver then you have to connect the s-video and composite to different inputs on the Mits. So now both rear inputs are used!

My system:
TV: Mitsubishi 55705
Amp/Tuner: Denon AVR 2800
DVD: Toshiba 3109
VCR: Over the hill RCA
CD: Kenwood 6+1 (analog out)
Front Speakers: Infinity SM 215
Rear: Klipsch Quintets
Center: Don't know brand

Similar Products Used: sony, toshiba etc
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Scot   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2000]
Strength:

Great Picture

Weakness:

Cost for ANALOG

After I ended the debate about going to HD or not, I set out
to find a Cheaper Analog TV knowing that I will be going to HDTV some day. I am happy to say that after looking at the cheap money sets, I got the 50705 and glad I did.

The picture is sweet.
Yes you will need DSS as Cable signal does it no justice.
( Hey the dishes are free anyway and do DOLBY. )

If you are concerned about spending the extra money on the Mits. Do it..

THe picture quality, IRIS system, PIP configuration is well worth it..

With this TV & SAT or DVD, HDTV will be put on hold for a long time...

Similar Products Used: Toshiba Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Draymond Crawford II   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2001]
Strength:

All of the features, wide screen 55" pip control, learning remote

Weakness:

Manual could be more detail,but none with the TV yet

I used this site to give me some heads up advice on the diffrent products out there, so I felt I needed to return the favor.

I just brought this TV in November, but just had it delivered this month. Other than the size of the TV 55" wide screen it has made my home theater system complete.
For those of you wondering why I have put this review in this area, there is no posting spot for the newer models of this line. Mine is the Mitsubishi WS-55805 the 2001 model Platium series. HDTV ready (if I go back and get the HD reciver for another 1k), but I am happy with the setup I have for now (until HDTV is more avilabile) My DVD looks great with the component hook up and I brought the 576 VCR with the S-video out connnection, so my VHS tapes like great also.

My last TV was a 27" RCA color trak 2000 and it served me well for the last 12 years. It was one of first TV's with S-video inputs, but it was time to upgrade to a set that will take me into the HDTV world and this set is the best choice that I have read about or seen.

Similar Products Used: first big screen
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
MARC VANALAN   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 1999]
Strength:

EXCELLENT PICTURE QUALITY

Weakness:

NONE SO FAR

THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST RPTV THAT I HAVE OWNED.My friends alyays comment how it looks like a real tv, tube that is.
I do have it hoked up to dss so that does it. The cable t.v.
picture was pretty bad so i went with dss and WOW........
Excellent menus and the sound on this tv is awesome. I do have the 55705, 55" instead of 50" otherwise same set.
Dont go buy what the picture looks like in the store, it is a night and day difference on ALL rptv .

Similar Products Used: HITACHI,SONY
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com