Hitachi 61SBX59B Rear Projection

61SBX59B

60 inch Rear Projection Television - UltraBlack Screen with Surface Diffuser and 1000 Lines Resolution - Digital 3D Y/C Comb Filter - 60 Watts Audio Power - Dolby Pro Logic Surround Sound w/ 2 Built-in Center Speakers - Dual Tuner Picture-in-Picture w/Dual View Split Screen - 2 Rear Audio/Video Inputs - 2 Rear S-Video Inputs - Dual RF Inputs - Component Video Inputs - Front Panel A/V/S Inputs - Surround Speaker Terminals

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
jared dean   Casual Listener [Jun 09, 2008]
Strength:

great pic and sound....LOTTA bang for my buck

Weakness:

remote is kinda weak

well I just got this hitachi 61sbx59b at a garage sale for 50 bucks so Im thrilled with it. the picture quality is great for non HD so is the sound coming from it alone without my reciever. however no tv speaker comes close to a good reciever, sound system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mabbv V   Casual Listener [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

Everything if perfect

Weakness:

They are right about the remote, but when you have a picture as good as this who cares:)

It's the best... I feel sorry for any one that is trying to find one. I hear Hitachi is no longer making the 61SBX59B. But if you want anything that comes close get a Hitachi 57UWX10B HDTV. The picture looks good with digital cable and the DVD play is great. But try running satellite on the Hitachi 61SBX59B you will never leave home. I am very happy with my Hitachi 61SBX59B and if it was available I would take it over any HDTV.

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jaspreet   [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

A GREAT picture.Works great with DVD's. Actually the best picture with DVD's. I was Circuit City and there was the Hitachi, Phillips, and the Panasonic. One the Phillips the colr was way off and the Panasonic the color was tooo dark. Then I saw this Hitachi and it was the perfect. Just the right color.

Weakness:

The remote is kinda crappy sometimes. It works well one day and other days you have to point the remote right at the sensor.

There is really nothing to say about this product because it is the best. I got it for a really good price ($2300). I was planning on getting the Phillips, maybe because it was a 64". But when I saw the Phillips I just forgot about it because you can see the lines and it was so fuzzy. So I chose this because it had the best picture.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 29, 2000]
Strength:

Great picture.. great audio.. it's on wheels, so it's easy to move it around. glass shield.. Many a/v inputs

Weakness:

no cup holder.. j/k actually none IMO

I bought it open box at circuit city for $2000. How can you beat that? Plus $300 for 4 years warranty. I decided to buy it after extensive research on the internet, comparing at the store, asking salepeople's opinion and of course, reading this post. Bright pictures.. 60 watts speakers.. great for watching DVD, football, and other sporting events and it's Hitachi quality. I'm very happy with my purchase. As for HDTV... who needs it now??? Not worth the price as of now.

Similar Products Used: first RPTV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AJ Bless   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent Picture Quality,Sound

Weakness:

None

Purchased this tv as a floor model with a huge savings and with a full warranty. Have been researching tv's over 50 in. and under $4500 for a year. I can't believe how clear the picture is, several of the tv's of this size have a ton of snow, glare and lines. I'm not seeing anyone one else talk about the progressive scan and hdtv ready options. There is no reason to buy a tv that doesn't have a picture at least as good as this one, you'll regret the purchase once you get it home. Best big screen picture on the market for the money!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2000]
Strength:

Sound, Picture

Weakness:

Remote

Had a Sony but wanted a bigger screen. Sears didn't have the 61 inch Sony so I got the 61 inch Hitachi. The color depth was a bit better on the Sony but that is really its only benefit. The reds on the hitachi are a bit strong and I had to turn down the color to about 30 from the preset of 50. The hitachi has less of a hotspot in the middle of the screen and in a dark room is easier on the eyes. The sony has a bit more contrast compared to the hitachi's softer picture. I was a bit disappointed with the sony's sound -- hitachi has so much more. more power, surround, more bass and clairity. I also noticed the Hitachi is sensitive to poor video from some broadcast channels. One channel can look great and some are so bad you just have to change the channel.

As for the surround, It works great but has a hard time powering my bose 201 which I guess are a bit big for satellites. Finally the menus are difficult and confusing compared to the sony, though there is a lot more you can adjust on the hitachi. The remote just seems cheap and you have to point it right at the sensor in front of the tv to get it to work

Similar Products Used: Had a Sony KP53V80 for 25 days before purchasing the Hitachi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sergio Perez-More   Audiophile [Jan 23, 2002]
Strength:

Picture Clear, looks, Colors, etc...

Weakness:

No widescreen, so so remote, no HDTV Ready

The best TV in the market at the time of purchase for under $3000.00
Rich colors, Great black levels and Perfect picture with DVDs ann Sat.

I will wait 2 more years and then I will go for another Hitachi but this time will be HDTV and Widescreen.

Great Picture!

Similar Products Used: Sony, RCA, Panasonic, etc...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 01, 1999]

After spending months looking at many rear projection tv's I found the Hitachi to have by far the best picture. The very popular Toshiba's always seemed to look a little fuzzy and soft (airbrushed?) when compared to the Hitachi. When I finally got one in my house, I was certainly not dissapointed. With a DVD or Satellite signal, I can't imagine a better picture (At least not in NTSC.) It also has a very strong tuner for receiving local stations with an antenna.

Probably the only real negative I can say about this set is that it's a little pricey, but I guess you get what you pay for.

One annoying little querk I have found is that if you use the component inputs, the TV will not throughput any sound to your home theatre's receiver. I contacted Hitachi about this and they said this was some kind of copywrite protection? Don't ask me, I don't get it either. I Just ran the sound direct from the DVD to the receiver and forgot about it.

A quick note on why I bought this instead of an HDTV...... I previewed a number of HDTV sets, and with an HDTV signal, the picture was truly unbelievable! But that's the problem. No HDTV signal! I rent a LOT of movies and watch very little broadcast TV. While I am sure there will be a media for playing HDTV movies in the future, there is nothing available now, and it will undoubtedly be a long time before you can go down to your neighborhood Video store and rent an HDTV movie. Have you seen a DVD on an HDTV set? The pixalation is absolutely horrible! The picture on this Hitachi is far better than any HDTV set I have seen for playing DVD's. HDTV? No Thanks....at least not for a few more years anyway.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg Bledsoe   [Mar 02, 2001]
Strength:

Sharp/defined pic(1000 lines)as close as you can get to hi-definition..stylish black set..no other set's audio comes close.

Weakness:

ZERO...........nada

First..this a model 61sbx01b( no one has apparently reviewed this one).I LOVE IT.......PERIOD..I looked for 3 months..online and at Mega stores...but ended up buying it at SEARS..It was on sale and extra 10% off($2250).total.Picture is gorgeous(clear)..and that 60 watt sound is great.Definition using dvd's & composite video input has to be seen to be believed.You will not be disappointed if you decide to purchase this set.

Similar Products Used: none..this has replaced my Toshiba 32"...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2001]
Strength:

Fantastic picture.

Weakness:

None that I can see.

You can't go wrong. This RPTV is absolutely outstanding. I actually sit about 10 feet exactly from the tv. I know that's not ideal, but, it still looks great. I'm planning on moving next year. I can't wait to see it from 15 to 20 feet. If your shopping around you won't find anything better for the price.

Similar Products Used: 27" Sharp...Hehehe.......what an upgrade.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com