Hitachi 60SDX88B Rear Projection

60SDX88B

60 inch UltraVision SDX Series - HDTV ready - 1000 Lines Resolution - Digital 3D Y/C Comb Filter - Dolby Pro-Logic Surround Sound - 60 Watt Bass Reflex Speaker System - 2 rear Audio/Video Inputs - 2 rear S-Video inputs - 2 RF Inputs - Component Video Inputs - Front Panel A/V Inputs - Variable Audio Outputs - Audio/Video Outputs

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
reeseski   Casual Listener [Dec 19, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

many

very poor service have been waiting 3 weeks for a call back. very old movies before hd was even thought of. and they claim its in hd...not recieving local channels as advertised but yet i get locals on my own hd converter.. they have a lot of work to do .. i am sending mine back foe a refund

Similar Products Used: directv hd less channels ..but they have service
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Sergio   Casual Listener [Jun 19, 2000]
Strength:

Screen and resolution is awsome, compared to mitsubishi, toshiba, sony, proscan and nothing touches the quality.

Weakness:

Remote does not support receiver, except for power on/off

Screen and resolution is awsome, compared to mitsubishi, toshiba, sony, proscan and nothing touches the quality. I am totally please with this investment, and as far as warranty concerns, I purchased an extended 3 year on-site warranty for this set, just in case.

Similar Products Used: TOSHIBA, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gale Gault   Casual Listener [Feb 19, 2000]
Strength:

No Strengths. Worked for the first 48 Hrs(Nov23)1999. Still waiting on parts as of Feb 22 2000.

Weakness:

Lack of Quality and Absolutely no customer service.

First and last Hitachi I will own. Something has happened to them as of recent. have friends who own them with good experience. Service center and online comments reflect real quality problems. Suggest anyone considering Hitachi reconsider. I have learned an expensive lesson.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Rick Nazario   Casual Listener [Feb 04, 2000]
Strength:

Picture Sharpness

Weakness:

Remote

When compared to other TV's on the floor, This one had as good a picture, if not better than those that cost $2-4,000 more. The clarity is incredible, seems like you could put your hand through the screen and touch the characters in the movies. I would prefer a larger PIP picture, but the one it has is adequate. The sound options are well thought out. Unfortunately, the remote won't control the volume on my stereo system, but I can still control the overall volume through the TV set. This unit will be in my living room for a long time

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craven Moorehead   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2000]
Strength:

picture clarity

Weakness:

sound

the picture is outstanding especially compared to other rear projections digital tv's far more expensive considerinf Hitachi supplies a lot of the internal components for many major high end rear projection tv's --the sound sucks big moosedicks

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael Twigg   Casual Listener [May 17, 2000]
Strength:

GREAT Picture, Easy to use menus

Weakness:

None so far.

If you take this Big Screen TV and sit it beside any others in the store, you will come home with this one. The picture is so much sharper and cleaner than any other big screen that I have seen. That alone should be enough to make you buy it. But there is more... It is HDTV ready. I don't have HDTV in my area yet, but when I do I will be ready. The only downfall with this model is that it is not in the 16x9 format that all HDTV comes in. But I can live with that for now. We do have digital cable, and those channels look as good as DVD's do on this set. When you are used to watching a DVD on a 27 inch TV and then you get this baby in your family room.... All I can say is WOW, what a difference! I highly recommend this model for anyone that enjoys movies.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2000]
Strength:

Picture Quality, PIP, special features

Weakness:

Lack of two component inputs, small glitch with DVD

I've had this set now for about 6 months and it continues to amaze me with a dazzling picture. The review above where a gentlmen had a defective product out of the box should be reviewing his dealer and not the set. I had a problem and three months later my dealer gave me a brand new one.

First off, this set has a MUCH brighter and more vibrant picture than any toshiba. I've viewed them side-by-side and in fact had the TN HDTV ready model in my home for a month. Frankly, that set sucked and I exchanged it for this one. Anamoriphic DVD's look film-like and DVD's in general rock on this set. Standard TV is good too, and I love the side-by-side PIP mode. Finally a PIP that makes sense, with twin equal sized pictures. I did everything this christmas with the unit, watched two bowl games at the same time, and played with my playstation in one window while watching boring bowl games in the other. Also, my wife and I have found the wireless sound feature to be very cool, since you can hook wireless headphones to the back of the TV and through menu inputs send the sound from the PIP window that isn't producing internal sound into the headphones. She can now watch her cooking shows while I watch football on sunday mornings.

I did have one small glitch with DVD's where a purple line appeared on the screen during very dark sections of movies. That disappeared with the inclusion of a Progressive Scan Tosh 5109. Overal this set blows away the much more popular Toshiba sets and I recommend it highly. for me, it was the next best thing to getting a Pioneer Elite, which is just too much $$$$ for me at this time.

Similar Products Used: Tosh TN series, Mits 1080i series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2001]
Strength:

Picture quality and price!

Weakness:

Remote

Yes I paid $1300 for it! I got it at a Sears outlet about a year ago! I was lucky because they mistagged the TV otherwise it would have costed $2000+ for it. I have to say this TV has excellent picture quality. The audio is good enough (Dolby Pro Logic not Dolby Digital) but people will agree that to get good sound you need to use a separate A/V receiver, speakers, etc. The only big complaint I have is the same as everyone else...the remote! It has everything you need for the TV but all it really controls is my power and volume for my receiver and the standard play, pause, stop, etc. for my VCR. Hopefully the learning remote on my future Onkyo receiver will solve this problem.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Heriberto Cazares   Audiophile [May 09, 2001]
Strength:

The picture is incredible!!!!!!!!

Weakness:

weaknesses? this tv doesn't know what that is

I had this tv for over 8 months and it's the best tv you can buy for under $4500. I looked at other brands and models but nothing compared to this one for the price. I will upgrade to the 61" Hitachi comming out this year. Will sell for about $6000 though, so the salesman said. If you're interested in buying mine and live in the Los Angeles area, just email me. I'll be selling it for $2200. If you don't buy it from me, it's ok, but buy it. It's awsome!

Similar Products Used: compare to only the best out there and it'll still come on top
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephen Baime   Casual Listener [Nov 16, 1999]
Strength:

Picture Quality

Weakness:

Inability to change the color of the HDTV border bars

This set rocks. It has the best quality picture of non-digital signals that I have seen on any TV. The quality of the HDTV picture is as good as any other HDTV I have compared.
The only drawbacks I have noticed are:
1: Only one set of component inputs
2: The Letterbox bars are gray for 16x9 hdtv to save the screen from burn-in. However when viewing the narrower HDTV movies, you see blacj bars within the gray ones.
All in all, I love this set. It is a great value

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com