GE 46GW945 Rear Projection

46GW945

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
minisann   Casual Listener [Dec 09, 2003]
Strength:

GREAT SET FOR THE MONEY; BUDGET CONSCIENCE

Weakness:

NONE-SO FAR.

WE BOUGHT THIS SET BECAUSE MY HUSBAND DESPERATELY WANTED A LARGE SCREEN WHILE I HAD A BUDGET IN MIND. ALL THINGS CONSIDERED THOUGH, IT HAS BEEN VERY GOOD TO US. WE HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT AND AFTER ALL THESE YEARS, WE ARE FINALLY GOING TO UPGRADE TO AN HDTV-WIDE SCREEN. WE HAVE THE S CABLE CONNECTED TO OUR DVD AND OUR PICTURE/SOUND HAS BEEN INCREDIBLE. MANY COMPLIMENTS HAVE COME OUR WAY.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric Hankins   AudioPhile [Feb 21, 2002]
Strength:

The price can''t be beat! Digital signals show outstanding resolution for the price of the unit as compared to more expensive models!

Weakness:

Poor sound quality (remedied with an outside receiver and speakers) Undeserved reputation of being a lemon because of problems with the first & second year models.

I went to buy a 35" tube TV knowing the prices were in the $600 to $800 dollar range. The salesman asked if I was interested in a big screen in or near that price range and showed me the GE for $999. I told him that that was too steep and he said he had an out of box model for $749. We plugged it in and I bought it on the spot. I also purchased the screen cover and the extended warranty because it "had" been delivered to and opened by another party. I purchased it in September of 2000 and I have "not" had one single problem with it. Running it with my digital dish system and DVD player the picture is excellent! I wasn''t happy with the sound though, so I hooked it to a Dolby receiver with surround speakers and I''ve been in heaven ever since! I know about the problems associated with this set but mine is a keeper.

Similar Products Used: None; Upgrading to HDTV Projection within 2 years but "not getting rid of the GE. Won''t fit in my bedroom but it''s going in there anyway! hehehe
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
D Cox   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2000]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

reliability

I purchased this unit at Best Buy alittle over a year ago and am now having problems with the unit. It flakes out and loses video and goes to snow suddenly for no reason. Banging my foot on the floor seems to work. for 900 US$ I shouldnt complain, I need to have a service call to fix the cold solder joint inside. The picture is good and works well with my DVD.The remote is ok. If your on a budget, go for it. for the most part this is a good unit for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
EARLENE SEXTON   Casual Listener [Aug 30, 2000]
Strength:

AFFORDABLE

Weakness:

CUSTOMER SERVICE OF MANUFACTURER

I BOUGHT THE TELEVISION BECAUSE I WANTED A BIG SCREEN AND IT WAS AFFORDABLE. IT HAS BEEN IN THE REPAIR SHOP NOW FOR OVER TWO MONTHS AND THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT SHIP THE PART TO FIX IT AND WHEN I DO FINALLY GET TO TALK TO A HUMAN BEING THERE THEY TELL ME THAT THEY DON'T KNOW WHEN THE PART CAN BE SHIPPED. THE REPAIRMAN TELLS ME THAT HE HAS SETS THAT NEED THE SAME PART FROM G.E AND THEY HAVE BEEN IN HIS SHOP FOR OVER 4 MONTHS.SO WHAT I ACTUALLY PAID FOR IS A SET THAT WORKED FOR A LITTLE WHILE BUT NOW IS JUST TAKING UP SPACE IN MY LIVING ROOM BECAUSE I CAN NOT GET IT FIXED AND G.E DOES NOT SEEM TO CARE.BEWARE OF BUYING G.E PRODUCTS AND TRYING TO GET ANSWERS FROM THE COMPANY OR PARTS WHEN THEY BREAK DOWN.

Similar Products Used: NONE RIGHT NOW
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bill S   Audiophile [Mar 11, 2001]
Strength:

NONE!!!!!!

Weakness:

Poor picture quality, poor realibility, really poor sound and why does anyone want single tuner PIP

Allthough this is the CHEAPEST projo on the market it is definitly one of those times that the old addage"you get what you pay for", comes into play. I owned this $900 unit for 92 days before i had the first of many repair vists all of which were coonviently not covered by waranty!!!!
This TV however now fianl.ly comes with and S-Video jack making it an improvement over the 1998 version.

I have three words of advice....

BUY THE WARANTY!!!!!

Similar Products Used: All makes and model
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Rod Ratajczak   [Jun 29, 2000]
Strength:

Value - I paid $888 on sale...
Picture

Weakness:

remote can control other devices, but for a couple of them like my DVD player and dss dish it can only really turn the device on and off...

I have been very happy with this purchase so far. I wanted a smaller projection tv to fit in my basement and I've been very impressed with the picture. Paired with a surround sound system this TV is a great buy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   Casual Listener [Mar 02, 2000]
Strength:

Affordable Price, all inputs and outputs you'll ever need, sturdy.

Weakness:

Only one tuner, doesn't come with shield for screen

I've had this TV almost 4 years now and I've been very pleased with it. At the time I bought it was the least expensive projection TV there, you can't tell it once you get it home. Even after 4 years it still look great!
I agree with the earlier post, the TV's do look a lot smaller in the show room, 46" is big enough for me. This thing's pretty sturdy too. I live in an apartment so I've had to move this thing around a few times and it's never given me any grief. I even called up GE support to ask what I needed to do to prep the thing for a move, they said 'nothing, just turn it off an move it, it'll realign itself once it settles'. It did, no complaints here. Recently, I hooked it up to a DVD player and I looks incrediable, projection TVs are great for letterbox movies.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert Jiminez   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 29, 2000]
Strength:

S-Video, Picture with digital scource

Weakness:

One s-video, Hard to adjust the tint at times

I was fairly surprise. I have had this set two years this November. It is still working great. I brought the warranty just to be safe. I did not have too much faith in the GE name, but I was under a budget at the time and brought this tv.

Again, it has work withot any problems. I have it hook up to a Pioneer Elite 24THX Select. So the one s-video does not matter since all my scources are run throught the receiver.

Next year I am going to buy a high definition tv. Untill then I am happy with my GE purchase. I would seriously consider their RCA brand when I go looking for my new tv.

Similar Products Used: JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Doug   Audiophile [Jan 22, 2001]
Strength:

Price, Picture Quality, Remote, SVideo, Resolution

Weakness:

Limited Inputs. Left side of the picture has a red hue, right side of picure has a blue hue.

Can't beat the price for a 46" projection Television. This is really just an RCA with a GE logo. Most people don't notice the hue saturation is different as you move from left to right on MOST projection Televisions, and its only noticable when there is large white spaces in the image. Then you can see the red/blue hue change across the picture.

I have a high end mitsubishi that has perfect picture saturation. In fact, only the Mitusubishi television seem to get it right.

As for the GE (RCA), it does have a great picture, comes with Guide Plus and PIP (although not 2-tuner) and a single s-video input. If you add the optional glass screen, the picture gets even better! But don't have a window facing the TV cause the screens do add reflection and on a big screen there is a lot of reflection. The screens to add a lot to the image sharpness though and makes the TV look more like a tube.

For the price, you really can't go wrong. If your looking for TOP notch quality, Mitsubishi is the ONLY projection TV to own!

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Farhan Ahmed   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent Picture Quality
Price Can't beat it

Weakness:

Reliability
Size

I looked over a lot of rear projection TVs in jan last year and I did not find even one that matched price/performance of this one. Yeah yeah I know this is probably the least expensive one but you have to consider two things. Picture quality and price. At least last year the picture quality of the 50-60" inch TV was considerably lacking unless you opted for the pricey $2500 and up Sony models. I looked at it this way for $950 I could get a TV that could last me 5+ years and then I could change over to an affordable HDTV model. Plus they look a lot smaller in the showroom floor folks bring one home and you'll see.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com