Velodyne Acoustics CHT-12 Subwoofers

Velodyne Acoustics CHT-12 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

Powered Subwoofer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[May 12, 2020]
udo1


Strength:

Flat response and no distortion at high volume. Output control is excellent and crossover can be adjusted for your forward firing speakers best crossover performance and balance.

Weakness:

The rubber feet came off after about 6 years. Glue failed.

Price Paid:
800
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2016]
Chris Wood
AudioPhile

I run two of the Cht -12 subs on a 7.2 TXNR 616 and the overall effect is clean but can be a mess if there not adjusted properly along with placement I mainly use them for Movie Sound Scores . And they can blend perfectly . I also have a JBL E250P that's a 550 watt 25hz subs i put the same room set correctly I couldn't tell where the CHT was placed but the jbl lacks the subtly that the velodyne has and it's weight must make a difference .No chuffing from CHT on Jurassic Park with my kids. Scares the crap out them they just love it. But it does bottom out fairly easy your crossover point isn't set correctly I notice alot of guys really like there subs turned up way to high .Great sub for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2004]
daventn
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

amp,output,arrey of controls on amp panel

Weakness:

none

have owned a velodyne va10-12 sub 4 over 10yrs and purchased the cht12 about a month ago-what a surprise!Have them daisy-chained and only need to run one at a time.This sub kicks major tail!Looked at Paradigm and could not find a a sub that rivaled my old for less than a grand.Gladly purchased the Cht12 and havent looked back since-Velodyne is still KING in the how low can you go catagory!!!!!!!!!!Highly recommended!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Velodyne Va10-12-Paradigm Pdr12&Pw-2200

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2004]
dinon
AudioPhile

Strength:

servo control technology high pass filter deep clean all the way to 25 hz. very flat frequency compared to the Klipsch and Def Tech subs.

Weakness:

cheap look. cheap color. could have boon done better for ths price

the sub is the most 12' I ever seen, that can go so deep. despite of the cheap look, it supprised me right out of the box. I purchsed it open box at circuitcity, for $350, a great deal for me. I have owned the Def Teck TL15. this Velodyne sounds very similar to the DefTech which is a little bit deeper. This sub actually from the CT line with slighly change the look. It pump out the very deep and clean bass all the way to 25, no kidding Thanks to the Servo controled in the sub which always keep the sound in control wihtout distortion. I beleive the CHT-12 sounds the best in CHT line. the CHT-15 is more powerful but to slow for music. I picked the CHT-12 over the CHT-15 since I listen to music more. The CHT-12 blow all the JBL, Polk, infinity or even the Klipsch subs all the way anyday. you have to own all of those subs and actually listen to all to beleive me . I quite heavy to move around. The 2 things I like most from this sub are: The servo control technology and highpass filter at 80 hz - 100 hz.

Similar Products Used:

Definity Technology TL15, CT-10, accoustic research ar08

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 26, 2004]
agidol
Casual Listener

Strength:

Deep, clear and loud bass -- need I say more? Worked great for both music and movie. Also, you can't find a better deal at this price ($250 range at 6th ave or JnR).

Weakness:

None at this value.

I jusst traded in Velodyne CHT 10 subwoofer for a CHT 12 model - thanks to Circuit City's speaker trade-in policy - since the CHT 10 sounded too small for my 23*13 living room that opens to a dining room and a foyer. I wasn't sure whether 2 inch and 20 watts would make that difference but after finding a right placement I immediately heard the difference. Bass sounded much deeper and louder yet it was still as tight and clear as the CHT 10 model. Velodyne is my first subwoofer so I can't compare this to any other products but it surely opened my HT and music experiences to a new dimension.

Similar Products Used:

Velodyne CHT 10

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2004]
ATPEACE
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

it's got everything, I and most people will want and need.

Weakness:

the little plastic stickum feet, not useful at all

I've read just every review on this sub I could find, and the only true negative one on this sub, was a guy who brought his on Ebay (1st mistake), just about everything over there is overpriced and often times used, even though the description says otherwise, and then to expect this sub to perform like a $1000+ sub (2nd mistake), this is a great sub in $500 or less range.... this thing does everything I have expected and more. I don't have a $20,000 system, nor do expect my system to sound like one, to tell the truth I don't know what that system is suppose to sound like.... but what I do know is when I have friends over, and I turn this thing on, they are amased at the depth this sub will go, and it blend so well with my Polk Audio 6700 series that sometimes you can't pinpoint where it's coming from. I have it on 1/2 volume and on some DVD's that's too much, and on CD's I turn it to 1/4. I had a Klipsch SW 8, and that thing SUCKED! It could'nt handle any sort of bass, if that thing heard the word bass it would start popping. But the Velo CHT 12, it's a huge improvement over what I had, the sub is fast, not boomy at all (location, location, location), and no, popping at any volume... it has taken everything I can give, or at least what my wife will allow :) Sorry, I don't know all The technical "bla-bla", cause I don't walk around my house with a "whatchamacallit", to measure "whatever", I'm like most people, I use my ears, and my wifes' mouth to measure "whatever". So if you're looking for a great sub at a great price (1st) get a Velo CHT 12, and (2nd) stay away from EBAY......

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch SW 8II (OOPS!)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2004]
roulettedealer3
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Awesome bass, very tight never boomy or distorted at any level. Pleasing to the eye. Equaly impressive at HT or music.

Weakness:

No real weakness as of yet. The only recommendation I would have is to use the LFE processer on your receiver, if equipped, over the crossover controls on the sub.

I replaced my 2nd JBL PSWD112 with this unit and now truly appreciate the difference in quality. I waited about 6 mos to reveiw, because I wanted time to tweak and move it around the room. Awesome is the only word to describe this Sub! I wish I had made the switch 2 years ago. I grabbed an Open Box Buy at Circuit City, for a great price. The system I use it with is: HK AVR 630 Bose 701x2 Bose 301x2 Bose 201x2 Bose VCS 10 (Weak Link) HK DVD 101

Similar Products Used:

JBL PSWD 112, JBL PSW 1200

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2004]
Frank Gargiulo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great for either music or home theater. Deep, powerful bass with no distortion even when I cranked it up.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet.

This sub integrates great with my current stereo system and it was a breeze to set up. This is the second Velodyne that we own. I needed a sub for our bonus room and the price I got on the CHT was too good to pass up. This was also a perfect size because we needed a powerful sub to fit into a large room. Overall, a tremendous sound, awesome value and I would recommend this sub to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Veldoyne DD-12

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2004]
amason
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very musical, awesome on home theater.

Weakness:

none

I tried several subs in the past three months and couldn't believe how well this unit integrated into my system. I was told it would cost about $500 so what a great surprise to see it on sale. Frankly I would have gladly paid $500., it's that good. I tried several other well known subs and the others were all rather boomy in my system. The Velodyne has great definition and clarity. I'm very pleased with the way it performs on music. Home theater is great and I expected that. I would highly recommend trying this sub to anyone in the market for one. I'm still smiling!

Similar Products Used:

infinity, jbl, svs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 24, 2004]
Kevin
AudioPhile

Strength:

When it works right it sounded alright but not worth the price at all.

Weakness:

Paper cone, foam surround, cheaply built, customer service, magnet not secured properly.

The reviews about this on this site must of been written by velodyne employees. I got this sub expecting what I read here and was disappointed big time. First it is not powerful enough, secondly if it were it could'nt handle the power. My sub started making a bad vibration noise after two weeks, and when I called velodyne they said since I bought it off the net they don't honor warranties, also they said they din't pay for shipping either way even when it is under warranty- no matter where you bought it. This is by far the worst customer service I have ever dealt with, followed by the rudest know it alls answering the phones. I have a sony wx-700 that's better than the velodyne and cost 1/3 as much.

Similar Products Used:

velodyne, sony, polk, jensen.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com