SVS PB12-Plus/2 Subwoofers

SVS PB12-Plus/2 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Super high capacity woofers
  • Down-firing woofers
  • 900 watt BASH digital switching amp
  • Built-in, flush-mount amp configuration

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 37  
[May 11, 2020]
Karkkelley5277


Strength:

Quiet, effective & useful processor set. volume pills

Weakness:

Prone to wind noise at extreme levels

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 29, 2020]
majmurray


Strength:

When properly placed in our 14x19 room, even just one could raise the house! At near full volume, seemingly holds true to the music and at very sick low frequency levels. Believe me, I tested them all with tones from the popular video app. We use it as furniture, setting a lamp on top - end table a time or two, but has it’s own space, currently. Gets regular compliments on sound quality, power and monolithic presence.

Weakness:

Setup can be easier. The small LED panel, though bright, has too little room to describe settings or recommend them, and requires you to reference the manual or a video for help.

Price Paid:
1499
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2008]
teracus7
AudioPhile

Strength:

Bass !!! Bulid quality !!! BASS BASS BASS !!!

Weakness:

At this price range none.

All I can say is wow !!! This is a great subwoofer and it definately blows away anything at best buy or circuit city, it has solid powerful bass and the build quality is excellent!!! Just make sure you tell the wife how big this 140lb beast is !!!

Customer Service

Great !!! Second to none !!!

Similar Products Used:

Definitive technology, klipsch, yamaha.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2007]
Angel Figuroa
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Powerful. Bass Accuracy and Build Quality

Weakness:

none

This SUB does what SVS says it does.Big, powerful and loves to go low!!!.

Similar Products Used:

HSU, Cerwin-Vega!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 05, 2007]
mark
AudioPhile

Strength:

NONE!!!

Weakness:

DISTORTION!!!

This sub sounds horrible!!! Muddy, it sounds the same on everything it plays and it just plain sucks. Stop taking down legitamite negative reviews. Literally this sub sounds like white scam speakers. It distorts on everything and they try to market it as "clean bass" This company is bad spamming internet message boards with there bullcrap.

Customer Service

Not what its cracked up to be.

Similar Products Used:

velodyyn 18
jbl 2350
adire tumlet

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 23, 2007]
joeydingo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Tight, fast, and absolutely CRUSHING bass if you want to crank it up. Great build quality. 3 year warranty. Outstanding customer service. Makes my Klipschorns look small.

Weakness:

I personally don't consider this weakeness, but for those of you who must please your better half, this may not be acceptably sized for her. Then again, you may not be acceptably sized either.............grow some stones and buy it!

I won't repeat all of what is in a bunch of the previous reviews. I'll try to make it simple. I think this sub is unbeatable at anywhere near the price range SVS sells it at. But the most important thing has to be the SVS level of customer service. Absolutely fantastic. Quick, detailed answers to my questions prior to and after purchase. I even got an email reply to a question from one of the tech guys at 5am on a Saturday morning. (I know that begs the question as to whether he needs to get a life, or has too much of a life, if you get my drift............)
What most impresed me about this sub after unpacking it and seeing it was the total lack of "boominess" that I thought it might have given the large cabinet enclosure. Not the fact all all-----tight and fast bass.

Customer Service

Couldn't be better. I mean these guys actually make these things in the good old USA and sell them cheap. Beyond me how they do that, but they're doing it. They deserve your business!

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm, Klipsch, Velodyne

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2007]
Mike Robin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

You are not going to beat this sub for anywhere near the price in terms of clean output, high SPL capability and build quality.
Like many others here, I have never heard some of the $3-6k and over subs that some claim can best what SVS puts out, so I can't claim this is the best sub you can buy. But I'm very sure it is the best you can buy anywhere near it's price range. And did I mention the 3 year warranty?????

Weakness:

None I have found so far. Some say size is a negative, but i like having a sub that scares people when they see it even before I turn on my system................

I don't want to go on and on and repeat what has already been said so many times about how great this sub is, but I really want to stress one thing. The staff at SVS is tremendous. Best customer service and purchasing experience I have had in a long time. They were right there with fast, detailed answers to my questions prior to purchase, and you just can't beat a 3 year waranty and buying from a company headquartered in the USA----- and trying to use U.S manufactured products and assemblein the U.S. I know we're in a global economy, but it still feels nice to know you got something that was at least assembled in our own country.
My system is comprised of Klipshorns for front speakers and Klipsch Cornwalls for rears. I was a bit concerned about the ability of any one sub to keep up with the output capabilities of these large, efficient speakers. The PB12/Plus 2 seems to keep up with ease.

Customer Service

Simply outstanding. I got an email reply to a question I asked prior to purchase that was sent to me at 5am on a Saturday morning. Now maybe this guy needs to get a life, but you can't fault his dedication to his job and his product.

Similar Products Used:

Velodyne, Paradigm

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 23, 2006]
baadshaa_no1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

CLEAN BASS!! LOW!!!!!! :)

Weakness:

For the weak men who are concerned about the WAF.... its big and not room friendly... but if you have some hair down below then you'll buy it!!! :)

I had been looking at the sub market for a very long time... months.... Heard many subs from REL (Way too over priced!!), Klipsch, JBL, Polk Audio and Definitive Technology. I ended up ordering a Supercube I from Definitive. It sounded great but i wasn't all that impressed but i thought it would do good for home theater.... Then one of my friends told me about SVS... and just told me to go buy one... i read all of the reviews online and spoke to SVS. I have a 2300 Cubic listening area and Erik at SVS said that all i needed was an SVS PB12 Plus and not a Plus 2. But I'm used to having four 15" subs in my car and knew that I'm a bass junky!!

I ordered it and recieved it yesterday.... lets just say that it's massive!! it really is huge but thats the best thing about it!! It goes so low, SO LOW!! I've only so far experienced with music and its absolutely incredible!!

As my girlfriend put when she first heard it.... '.... baby, the toaster and fridge are rattling!!!'.... i just smiled!!!

Don't waste your money on any of the above names... this is really the best stuff on the planet!! And a major thanks to Erik at SVS.... GREAT COSTUMER SERVICE!!

Customer Service

Incredible..... i only wish that other people would be take some lessons from these folk!!

Similar Products Used:

REL, Klipsh, Definitive, JBL, Polk Audio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2006]
ptalar
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great upgrade. Improved sound quality of bass.
Easy retrofit.

Weakness:

None

I upgraded my SVS PB12-plus/2 to the new 12.3 subwoofers.

I must say there is a marked improvement in bass tightness, bass is fuller and more authoritative.

It made an already excellent sub better.

My sub is the 2005 model. It already sounded great but SVS is offering the upgrade kit previous owners of the sub for $99 each for a limited time. I bought two. The retrofit kit was easy to install with clear instructions included with the sub on how to retrofit.

SVS started shipping new subs with the new 12.3 subs in March or April of this year. Check with SVS before you buy the upgrade kit to see if you already have the new subs.

I am quite pleased with the upgrade.

Phil

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch KSW-12.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2006]
Phillip Talarico
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Improved performance of SVS PB12-plus/2 sub.
Easy retrofit.

Weakness:

None.

I upgraded the subwoofers on my SVS PB12-plus/2 from the 12.2 to the 12.3's. The new 12.3 subs are cleaner, tigher bass with more body. It is an improvement in bass quality but the baseline plus/2 with the 12.2's are still good sounding. Great sound got better.

The retrofit of the sub was very easy and the instructions were very clear. No issue with retrofitting if your handy with simple tools.

I paid $99 each for the subs from SVS. Special limited time offer for previous owners of /2's who are interested in the upgrade.

If you bought your sub in April or later of this year, 2006, you already have the new 12.3 subs. I believe they started shipping subs in March, early April of this year with the upgrades. Check with SVS if you already have the upgrades before you buy these.

Phil

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch KSW-12

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com