Klipsch RSW-15 Subwoofers

RSW-15

Reference Series powered subwoofers shatter your expectations for deep, driving bass by playing louder and going deeper than significantly larger designs, creating the most dramatic, intense bass you've ever heard or felt. Designed from the ground up for class-leading, room-filling low-frequency performance, the RSW-15 is sonically, cosmetically and technologically matched to the Reference Series. Low-level inputs that also operate as an LFE input (for compatibility with 5.1 digital sound formats) and an adjustable low-pass crossover allow you to configure the subwoofer to your room's acoustics. The easy-to-reach, side-mounted volume control makes for simple setup and convenient level adjustments between music and movie sources.
The RSW-15 surpasses the performance of a conventional 21" single-driver subwoofer through intelligent engineering. Pairing a heart-throbbing 15" rear-firing Cerametallicâ„¢ active driver with a 3-inch voice coil and 30-pound motor assembly with a 15" front-firing passive radiator gives you more surface area than a 21" subwoofer in a much smaller footprint.
Powered by a 2400-watt BASH® digital high-efficiency hybrid amplifier, the drivers deliver earthshaking sound without detail-robbing distortion. The RSW-15 is available in furniture-grade blond maple, medium cherry or jet ash wood veneers.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Lee Shultz   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 13, 2017]

I have owned the RSW-15 for over 7 years and love the way it handles everything I’ve thrown it’s way. I have it paired with RF-7’s, RC-7, RS-7’s, and even rear RB-75’s.

The bass is clean, tight and solid. I use it for music and movies and extremely pleased with its performance!

After reading some of these reviews where some have tried to incorporate this sub with other speakers and didn’t like the results, match your speakers. It is very easy to pick up the phone and call speaker manufacturers, they welcome your call and are very willing to help.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Micstiffy   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2009]

I bought the RSW-15 from a guy in Kitchener Ontario for $450.00! Yes, it does have some dings on two corners but they are on the active side so no one will ever know...he, he, he! This sub is a great performer in terms of musicality, volume, and looks. It doesn't have the best extension (drops off around 25 hz as most have noticed) but everything above that is sex! Its still a great performer today which is impressive when thinking of how far companies have come with sub design in these days. It blends very well with the RF-7s which are very demanding in terms of finding an adequate sub-mate. Whoever said that this sub doesn't blend well with their Bose 700 series speakers isn't the brightest bulb in the house. Of course it doesn't! Who knows what that guy set his crossover too! Still, inspite of it being in a completely different class than the Bose (in terms of output and quality) with the right calibration it probably could still sound great! I wouldn't pay more than 1,000.00 for one because I believe that there are better performs for the money these days like Epik, SVS, AV123, HSU. But, for 450.00 it cannot be beat! Plus, it was made for my current RF-7 system. Bottom line: Its a very good sub in all categories but did not get a perfect score due to its weakness around the 30 hz below region. It is the most musical sub I have ever heard.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee   AudioPhile [Dec 05, 2008]
Strength:

Very musical sub that really keeps up and can be tuned in very easily. Makes movies come to life with realism and depth.

Adjustable in every aspect of the word. You have a volume wheel on the side that makes it convenient to adjust if needed for different listeners.

Klipsch quality. Klipsch stands behind everything they sell and parts are available at a realistic price.

Weakness:

None

I thought I would write this review after reading the review Shane gave in December 2003 telling people that a KSW-12 was better than the RSW-15.. This person is delusional to put it nicely. Even the idea of putting such a nice sub with Bose speakers is bad enough, but to put this sub down takes the cake.

I own the RSW-15 and have it matched with real speakers. I have the RF-7 fronts, RC-7 center, and RS-7 rear speakers. These speakers combined sound wonderful. Even using just the RF-7's and the RSW-15 sounds great. If you want a great group of speakers and sub, this is what you want. Having this sub with Bose speakers is like putting $5000 speakers in a $200 car, it just don't make sense.

If you are going to purchase ANY subwoofer, you need to ensure it matches your speakers BEFORE you buy one. Do your research; it will pay off in the end with what you really want. If you compromise on your speakers or subwoofer, you will get compromised sound. If you cannot afford to get good speakers, do not think a good subwoofer will help and visa versa.

Customer Service

Klipsch quality. Klipsch stands behind everything they sell and parts are available at a realistic price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean   AudioPhile [Oct 07, 2008]
Strength:

Bombproof, to the point, tight, clean, and very musical. Will accurately reproduce whatever signal it is asked to.

Weakness:

Doesn't do well with my son's toy hammer test, although it still works fine.....

I noticed one review in particular that indicated his rsw-15 was "equal at best" to the kls-12. I suspect one of two things; that person either had it connected horribly wrong (likely), or has no idea what he has on his hands. Don't ever expect a pair of Bose anythings to sound as well rounded and clean as any Klipsch. If connected correctly, the rsw-15 should have remained as tight as a snare drum through whatever you put through it. I think you may have an amplifier (or receiver) that is severely underpowered, distorted at what the sub would consider a whisper, and muddied the entire audio range. If you think for one second a ksw-12 (which is alright for an enthusiast) even comes close to an rsw-15, you've got much bigger problems to worry about..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
74cuda   AudioPhile [Mar 24, 2006]
Strength:

Still jammin'after 3 years.

Weakness:

You'd think I could find one in 3 years but its rock solid.

Well,I've had this unit over three years and its still goin' strong.The rsw15 has given me great satisfaction and I'd buy it again.I just thought some longer term feedback would be nice for potential buyers.

Customer Service

never needed any

Similar Products Used: Sunfire,svs,hsu and several others in the .5 to 1.5k area.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Im the man   AudioPhile [Mar 24, 2006]
Strength:

Everything..... It's very musical sub as well.

Weakness:

none

This sub is awsome great. The bass is extremly tight and clean. I have the Klipsch RF 35 system. I had two RW 12's but they couldn't keep up the 35's. I decided to upgrade to this beast. I auditioned a Pardagim Servo 15 and Definitive Supercube Reference subs neither of them could hang with the Klipsch speakers. This thing is a beast. I highly recommend it.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RW 12, Pardigm Servo 15.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve fortune   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2005]
Strength:

Beautiful,clean sound side volume nob.

Weakness:

NONE

great product realy delivers. I have never herd a sub deliver this much bass so clean. Nuaunce eat your heart out. This is the real deal with no smoke and gimics. I played a bass mecanics demo disk and could not hert this beauty. But be warned this one will nock your neighber out of their bed. I found that this sub is great for movies and music but I have herd you need to have realy good maching speakers. I would recomend Klipsch RF-7 for fronts and RC-7 for a center.

Similar Products Used: Nuaunce,Paradigm,sherwood,JBL,bose and polk audeo.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Shane   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2003]
Strength:

Will shake and rattle everything in the house! Looks nice

Weakness:

Very large, heavy, not musical, overpriced, over-rated.

I currently have a Klipsch KSW 12 and am fairly happy with it. It sounds great with my Bose 701 Series 2 front speakers. I like "lots" of bass so I thought I would try what most of the salesman at the local audio stores recommended. They said the RSW 15 would "blow" the KSW 12 away, so I bought one. I was "very" disappointed! It is not a musical sub at all. I never could get it to blend with my main speakers, no matter what settings or levels I tried. Even with the sub volume and receiver sub level turned down, the RSW 15 still drawed attention to itself quite a bit. A sub should blend in with your main speakers so you don't really know where the bass is coming from. I "always" could tell where the sub was at. It "did" have the ability to pound and vibrate things a little more than than KSW 12 but at a not so impressive sound quality. It actually took away alot of quality sound from my other speakers. For home theater, it performed better because its weaknesses weren't so noticable. It "will" rattle everything in your house if asked to do so. It has a little deeper and boomier bass than the KSW 12 but didn't sound as good for music or home theater. If both of these subs cost the same, I would honestly pick the KSW 12 over the RSW 15. If you are looking to buy a Klipsch sub, try this. Make the salesman put a KSW next to a RSW sub in the same corner of the room. You will probably notice that the KSW "holds it own" in a sound and bass comparison. The only people that will tell you otherwise is the sales people who more than likely work on commission! Listen to them at more than just one store if possible and make sure the subs you are comparing are set at near the same sub levels and settings on the back of the sub. The KSW subs are definitely under-rated!!!! I took the RSW 15 back within 5 days and got my money back. I am even more content with the KSW 12 now!

Similar Products Used: KSW 12 Also have listened to many other subs at audio stores.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Snoop Dogg   AudioPhile [Mar 29, 2003]
Strength:

Very Powerful Ultra Clean Super Tight Bass Extremely Beautiful!!!

Weakness:

Needs a little help below 25hz.

GOT BASS? GOT KLIPSCH? Man, I sure do now, and since I prefer music over movies, this sub just rocks. Every time I bump it in my house, all you hear is tight, clean, monster bass, especially if you use the monster cable accessories. But That's just for the Music part. Now, for the movies part, all I can tell you is that I have watched quite a few, and man I was impressed of how much power it delivered. Last but not least, those copper color woofers are so beautiful that I just can't stop looking at them every time I'm home. One tiny little problem about this sub, is that it can't really go lower than 25hz, but overall, this sub is definitely worth the money.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
runmkm   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Strong, clean bass. Incredible smooth and tight power. Works equally well with music and home theater. Volume control on side easily accesible. Beautiful bleached maple cabinet. High quality product inside and out.

Weakness:

None I can think of for a woofer at this price. You get what you pay for.

I had the Polk PSW450 (150 watts continuous/250 dynamic) and it bottomed out on loud passages on DVDs and CDs. That was the first sub-woofer I purchased and while it was a good product for the money I needed more! I enjoy my music on the loud side (I live in a house and am a bachelor) and needed more depth and power. The RSW15 more than handles my requirements. The bass is clean, loud (easily adjustable volume control on side of cabinet) and gets low. While I haven't measured how low, you can feel and hear it's depth. I can't imagine that 99.9% of the people who listen to music wouldn't be extremely satisfied with this product. I know there are more expensive sub-woofers out there but I can't imagine that they deliver much more than the Klipsch RSW15 offers. While I am not a pro I do know what feels and sounds good and this product fills the bill. A very strong performer for both music and home theater. Five star rating from me.

Similar Products Used: Polk PSW450
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com