Klipsch KSW-10 Subwoofers

KSW-10

10" downward-firing subwoofer

User Reviews (71)

Showing 1-10 of 71  
Tony Loh   AudioPhile [Dec 17, 2017]

Bought it about USD111 from a seller here in Singapore. He has been using it over a years n then stored it away for 3 years!
It was given to him from his dad's friend...so blessed!
I checked the outside a bit(some screws are rusty) n dismantle to see the inside(it was as good as new)

You can never go wrong with a KLIPSCH...

I always been amazed by Klipsch loudspeakers since the 80s. The stereo setup in their showroom that time was overwhelming till this day...

Thou the KSW-10 has been dis-continued, I feel the engineers whom created this should have some form of credits...hahaha...yes!

Via a Y-connector(2 to 1), I hooked up this vintage/classic if you wish to my new Yamaha RX-V477 AV receiver 'subwoofer out' line output. My main speakers are a pair of Primare L20 floorstanders. Did Yamaha YPAO calibration then....

WOW...the characteristic of a Klipsch fill up my 14ft x 18ft listening room...very rich rumbling body of tight, clean and FAST bass even with the knob at ZERO gain n 40Hz CUTOFF!!!!

But i love it...

If you can still find one working...grab it...

Merry Xmas to all...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sears   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2008]
Strength:

Very clear and responsible bass, no boomy at all.
It's easily blows my Polk PSW303 away when I listen music.

Weakness:

1. why don't use a blue LED? it should look better.
2. Should provide a phono crossing connector so that the 1st time user can handle it easily.

After reviewing from this forum, I decide to try this product, and fortunately find it at Costco.
When I first set it up and connect one audio phono cable to L/LFE lack, I didn't hear much impression at all, and then I read the user manual again, and realize I need a Y adapter to connect both R and L/LFE jacks.
After that, the amazing, solid, and responsible bass came out with very little distortion.
I know it's not a perfect subwoofer, BUT it's a very good (best) one in this price range.

Similar Products Used: Polk PSW303
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
fatroz   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2005]
Strength:

Lots of volume for the money. Nice sound for music and movies. Nice switching options such as phase and crossover.

Weakness:

Does have its limit(can't be pushed to knock down a wall). Auto on doesn't always react(DD and DTS are fine, but when doing Prologic and others like it, it doesn't always fire up right away).

I am going to give my quick two cents...since it is very similar to all the other reviews. This sub sounds great. At first when I hooked it up I was not happy. I had it cranked and there wasn't that much bass. After repositioning it(in the same corner, only shifted it a little), changing the phase to 180 and using a Y cable to go into both RCA inputs I was blow away. I had to back off the wolume to almost 50% just to not have it be too boomy. It took a little while to get it dialed in, but once it was this baby roars. I do have to control the volume a little from movies vs music. You have to have some good bass for movies, but I like to keep it balanced for music. So I have to turn it down just a little to get a great blend from sub to mains for music. When watching "War of the Worlds" recently, the first action scene when all the lightning is hitting the ground gave this baby a great workout. If you haven't seen it yet it is definatly worth the watch. Especially when testing out a subwoofer. It kind of puked out once when I had it really blasting during that scene, but normally I would never have it that loud unless I wanted to get kicked out out of my apartment. So be aware that it does have its limits, but they are farther that I need to reach. It is very realistic when listing to music. It doesn't sound like one big bass fart. You can actually hear the low notes. I know expesive subs this is not an issue, but lower priced subs like this one it can be a problem. It definatly comes recommeded for a first time HT builder looking for something to get started. At least that's what it is for me. Who knows...maybe it will stick around a while.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jake-O-phile   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2005]
Strength:

Tight, strong bass....not overly boomy.

Weakness:

none!

An excellent subwoofer. I have never heard such loud, clean output from a 10" woofer. Klipsch does things well, and the built in amp is incredible. I will always have a Klipsch subwoofer in my systems!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pacokid   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2004]
Strength:

Precise deep tone

Weakness:

No complaints from the neighbors

This subwoofer is a great addition. It has a nice deep tone without being over boomy.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
golemsafe   AudioPhile [Oct 10, 2003]
Strength:

Very Loud, tight bass, high quality, does not downgrade my equipment

Weakness:

The fuse blows every three years. Factory warranty has to be used like all my purchases at ultimate electronics. They are easy to deal with. You must have reference level front speakers for this subwoofer to work at it's full potential. if you want to y connect the LFE and the right to the lfe out on the surround sound receiver. Can be sold for a lower price on the net

What I like about this subwoofer is that it is perfect for the carpeted room with wood paneling and overstuffed shelves. The people that rated this subwoofer poorly forgot to connect the speaker out to in I have four sockets on my paradigm reference studio 20's after the subwoofer is connected to those it is ten times louder. I would not want a louder subwoofer and I am glad it fires towards the floor. If you only rely on the LFE connection only the subwoofer is not loud enough.

Similar Products Used: 2 Paradigm reference studio 20. 1 paradigm reference center speaker. Nht front surrounds. Paradigm standard center surround second one up.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Gvan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2003]
Strength:

Tons of clean bottom end and a great amplifier. Well priced.

Weakness:

None to speak of within its class

I never believed that a 10 inch subwoofer can do much until I got into home theatre and bought this Klipsch KSW-10 powered sub. It is very well put together and does not take much space. It has a high quality sub driver and a 225 watt MOSFET amplifier. This unit packs in a ton of punch, better than any other 10 inch sub I have auditioned. It is a serious piece of equipment and can be driven hard with no apparent distortion. Although rated at 28 hz at the bottom, it sounds deeper than that. Watching movies is fantastic. Unless you have a very large room you don't need anything larger than this pit bull.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cervenka   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2003]
Strength:

Tight, punchy bass for small rooms

Weakness:

Too small for meatheads

My first ever component stereo purchase was about a month ago, so serious audiophiles may want to take this a with a grain of salt. I am a musician and a huge music enthusiast, though, and think that I do have a reasonable set of ears. I bought the KSW-10 along with some Klipsch bookshelf speakers and find the combo to be a real solid system. It's all operated in a virtual "headphone of a room", which contains lots of carpet, wood paneling and overstuffed furniture (perfect!). Specifically, the subwoofer has a nice punchy bass sound that really rounds out the whole listening experience. James Brown, Steely Dan, Coltrane, T. Rex all sound great. This is certainly not a "rip your ass off" bass sound. What is seems to provide, though, is a clear and measured bottom end that evens out all the instruments being played. The music sounds clear, not at all boomy......simply like music should. I don't really have much time for explosions "that knock the teeth out of my neighbors" or bass that is disproportionately over-represented. That's not how it was recorded and that's not how I like to listen to it. If you're looking for a reasonably priced subwoofer to round things out in a small room, I think the KSW-10 is a solid buy. Five stars to balance out the BIG BOOM meatheads.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Toolhead   AudioPhile [Jan 20, 2003]
Strength:

tight, clear bass

Weakness:

Have to crank up the level to get good performance. Does not provide 'house shaking' bass.

I purchased this sub knowing that I would be trading it in within a year for something better. Upon first listening to it, it was exactly as I expected...OK. It didn't sound any better than my previous velodyne 8" sub. After a couple of months of listening and tweaking, however, this sub began to get better. I watched my first movie last night on my new Denon 1600 DVD player, and suddenly my sub has come to life!! I never realized there was so much bass in Die Hard! This sub won't satisfy everyone's needs, but for the price, it definately delivers. Now that it is broken in, I'm loving it!

Similar Products Used: velodyne 8" sub
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian Smith   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

Price, performance, nice box, tight bass

Weakness:

none

I am running a Sony GX700ES, with Paradigm Monitor 7's, in a large room with cathedral ceilings and hard floors. My focus is music reproduction, I love music, mostly reggae, or true classical. I have been using the Paradigms alone for 6 months, no surprise that they sounded good, but lacked low bass. The Klipsch KSW-10 is a wonderful addition, I have read the reviews, and the manual, it took very little time to dial it in. I am VERY happy with it. Chances are that it will be some time before I explore it's performance with video input, my 2 year old daughter and I do pretty well with SpongeBob just coming through the TV speakers, but I would be willing to bet the sub will impress me there as well. I purchased the AR cable and splitter, total: $27 w/tax, works (again) VERY well. I placed it in the corner right away, as was advised, I keep the low pass cut off near the bottom, (40hz), the level control is set near middle, these settings work well with receiver running flat, this leaves lots of room left if ever one feels the irrepressible need for unhealthy levels of "basses" as my girly describes it. I have always liked 10" woofers, they seem to have the perfect combination of applicable characteristics. If anyone out there cares.... there are some African reggae musicians that are incredibly awesome, 1) Alpha Blondy 2) Ismael Issac 3)Lucky Dube, and one other older guy who is not from Africa named Johann Sebastian Bach, try his concerto for two violins in "D", it rocks. I recommend the sub, try it, you'll probably like it if your tastes resemble mine.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com