B&W ASW 600 Subwoofers

ASW 600

The 250mm (10 in) driver employs an extremely rigid cone to withstand the considerable forces generated by dynamic bass signals and the integral 150W amplifier, features our Bass Overload Suppression System circuitry to avoid the annoying distortion effects that might normally occur should some unexpectedly loud signal threaten to overload the subwoofer. The ASW600 can accept both line level and speaker level inputs and has a choice of equalisation, enabling the response to be tailored to your room.

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
profkaces   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2006]
Strength:

Precision, Punch, Clarity, and Depth

Weakness:

None so far.

I was in the market for a subwoofer to complement my B&W System. I'm running two DM601-S3 in the front L/R, a LCR-60 in the center, and two DM303's in the rear. My interest was mainly to find a subwoofer capable of producing sounds in the low end spectrum (below 100 Hz) definitively and, more importantly, with clarity and precision. I was in search of a sub capable of fortifying the lower end of my front speakers, rather than exhibiting superfluous amounts of boom. With a sub-$700 budget, I considered products from HSU Research, Paradigm, B&W, and Aperion. Of course, I am so pleased with my other B&W products, I had no problem trusting them with an additional purchase. Also, I was able to go to a dealer and listen to the B&W subs, whereas HSU and Aperion deal solely on a mail-order basis.

I listened to both the ASW 600 and the ASW 650, not considering price, but mainly my medium room size, and my desire for a tight, accurate subwoofer. The ASW 650 did, in fact, sound deeper and fuller in the ultra low-end than the 600, but that wasn't what I was looking for. The ASW 600 reproduced the descending/ascending notes of a walking bass line like a champ, with no complaints, no blurry manipulation, or boombox colorations. Don't get me wrong, the 600 was still capable of slamming some low-end beats for the rap or rock fun, which was all the more encouraging.

So far, the ASW 600 has proven to be exactly what I was looking for. The ASW 600 is well-balanced, tight and accurate in represenatation, while packing enough punch for the boomy-bass enthusiast. If you're looking for a subwoofer to add to the clarity of your system, while not detracting from it, this is the perfect sub for you. If you're looking for unending amounts of sheer power, Ocean's 11 - Seth Green's "speakers so powerful, it'll blow her clothes off" - then you should probably invest your money elsewhere (maybe Sony or JBL?) where you can get more wattage for the buck. Then you can use the rest of your money to buy a lawnmower, since it's likely the neighbors won't kindly let you borrow theirs anymore.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yossarian   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2003]
Strength:

Tight, smooth bass, ample power, beautiful in the oak finish, has a crossover bypass, binding posts, and sounds great with music.

Weakness:

None that I've detected.

I had two goals in selecting a sub- it had to be musical and it had to be free of the bloated, flatulent distortion a lot of subs put out during substained bass sequences (such as the opening scene of SW:Ep2 or the Kaazad Doom scene in Fellowship). I've been using the ASW600 for about a month now, and even though I'm sure it's not fully broken in, I've been extremely impressed with its performance. Sustained bass sequences, such as the ones listed above, are tight and smooth. It fills out the bottom end of music reproduction excellently as well (I use PSB Alpha Bs in front, with an Alpha C center and Alpha Minis in the rear, and a Denon AVR-1801 receiver). The handling of the LFE channel on the Metallica DVD-Audio was damn near immaculate. This unit has amplification to spare- I only have the volume turned to the nine o'clock position and it's as powerful as I need (albeit in a fairly small room- the room at the dealers was larger and it was more than adequate there as well). I use the Denon's crossover in all applications (shunts everything south of 80hz to the sub). It's a beautiful unit, and B&W is known for accurate performance specs... this unit is rated to 26hz -3dB and so far it's handled everything I can toss its way beautifully. Incidentally, I am using a $15 radio shack gold series sub cable with built-in Y adapter connection, and as I've said, it sounds mint. No need to spend $60 or more on audiophile cables. I am fully satisfied with its value and performance.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne CT-80 Infinity BU-2 Def Tech 100TL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EricP   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2003]
Strength:

Front firing, closed box, real speaker terminals in the back, (not spring clamps) and you can link it to another sub via the line out.

Weakness:

Some say it is big, but if you have the room it's no trouble.

There's not much that I can say that hasn't already been said here. I really do enjoy this sub. It really does fill out the sound in my system. I've tried using the crossover in the sub and from my sony receiver, i like the internal crossover more just because of the ease of adjustment. All in all I wouldn't go back on my purchase I got it for a great price, better then someone below who bought it from the same store in Montreal so I can't complain at all.

Similar Products Used: Boston pv-600, and various Velodyne subs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dane Kara   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2003]
Strength:

Value and response. For movie effects, it is more than you would ever need!

Weakness:

Size and weight!

I had the 600 for about 2 months and traded it back for the 675, but I'm not so sure that was the best decision I have made recently. The 675 is much tighter and more responsive, especially in music, but less forgiving in placement and settings. Maybe I'll get it right with the 675 soon, but in retrospect the 600 was probably fine for me in both music and movies.

Similar Products Used: B&W AS675
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gino Lavoie   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2003]
Strength:

Flexibility, warm and deep bass. Good value at this price.

Weakness:

It's complicated to adjust the sub initially (you must listen and compare the synergy with your speaker several times) but after that you have a good match with your speaker.

Initially, I wanted to buy Rega Jura speakers because my Rega Alya speakers are not enough deep in the bass frequencies. The Jura were too soft in the high frequencies when I listened them at the store. At that time, I thought the Jura were not a good move for my problem. My Rega Alya are great for the treble and medium frequencies. The solution was how to improve my Alyas in the bass. My Rega dealer suggested to me to listen my Alyas with a B&W subwoofer. I was stupefied about his idea because I have never thought this kind of solution. I thought it was not an audiophile solution. I tried the sub with my Rega Planet CD player, Rega Mira amp and my Rega Alyas speaker. Wow!!! What a surprise!! The sound and the music are like I wanted!! The atmosphere is warmer. The bass frequencies are really deeper. The feeling of the music is more present. I listened some songs. Firstly, the concerto "Abbu Hassan" by Carl Maria Von Weber. Very good result. The concerto is more dynamic. After that, the classic disco song "I feel love" by Donna Summer. I felt that I was at the disco club!! Finally, a rock song from the fifties "rock-a-bye rock" by Buddy Holly. The bassman was better! I decided to buy it. I don't regret my choice. This is the smart solution in my case. There is a real synergy between my Alyas and the B&W sub.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
viddieap   AudioPhile [Mar 27, 2003]
Strength:

Tight, fast, transparent. EQ switch gives flexibility, as do the low level and high level hookups with pass through capability.

Weakness:

Use of the built-in crossover, which I'm told is passive, does effect the sound going to the mains to a noticable degree. Therefore, it's best to use the crossover in the preamp and not rely on the sub.

When I needed a sub to add a bottom end to my great sounding Mission 731i bookshelf speakers, I asked my local store for a good, cheap, musical sub and he said the new B&W subs are really good. I listened to the ASW600 and then the more expensive model with the aluminum driver. I decided this model will do the job at $500. It took a while to hook it up the best way, but it's now completely transparent, tight, fast, and a perfect way to add a solid bottom end to any speakers. I have my Rotel RSP-1066 preamp doing an active crossover at 120hz, and even then the sub can't be located. Hint: at high crossover points, it's advisable to place the sub inline with the main speakers, for time alignment reasons. It made a noticable improvement when I did so.

Similar Products Used: Mirage subs (no comparison)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonas   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Tight bass, clear sound, great "slam" and a compact size.

Weakness:

None actually

I got the idea that i needed a subwofer, so i went down to the hifi store, to see what they had. I lended a dali swa 12 sub. I have a Harman/Kardon 200watt power amp, and a pair of JBL 4408 studio monitors, they have a wery accurate sound. The dali sub was a total opposition, in fact the sound was wery unccurate, it totally destroyed the sound. so i swaped it to the B&W, and what an improvement. The bass is tight and clear, which perfectly fits the studio monitors. A great sub, which certainly can play loud, if you ask it to do so.

Similar Products Used: Dali swa12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jsvranic   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2003]
Strength:

Firm Solid Bass. Goes plenty deep enough for Movies and Music. Wont overwhelm you but shakes the house!

Weakness:

None so far

Outstanding would best describe this Sub. Compared to my old Infinity BU-2 which was decent about 8-9 years ago I am very pleased. A little picky about placement and takes some time to tweak for best sound/position. Placed about 30 inches from side and 12 inches from back wall, Its not quite broken in but I run it about 2 hours each day and it seems to be getting better each time. (My imagination?) Anyway for the money I dont think you can go wrong. It integrated well with my B&W Dm1400's even though I consider these two different eras in B&W speakers.

Similar Products Used: Infinity bu-2, Sony Sawm-40 (not bad for the money but not good enough) Velodyne cht10, Cht12, Polk psw404, 450
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

1. EXTREMELY clear bass 2. Loud if you want it to be 3. Compact size

Weakness:

1. Slightly expensive for an entry level sub.

I wanted a sub to complete my system. I watch a ton of DVD's and listen to quite a bit of music (jazz, punk rock, hip-hop). I auditioned several subs ranging from about $250 to around $500. I tried out the JBL PB10. It wasn't very clear, but it was able to put out loud boomy bass. Next I tried out Polk's 8 in. PSW303 and 10 in. PSW404. The PSW303 was weak. It would bottom out at only modest sound levels. The PSW404 was a bit better, but still wasn't as clear as I would have liked. I also listened to the Velodyne 8 in. CHT8. Once again... overpriced and way too weak for my tastes. Not very musical. I next tried a Boston Acoustics 10 in. PV600. It sounded "boxy". Too much "thump" for me. I finally tried out B&W's 8 in. ASW300 and 10 in. ASW600. I thought the 10 in. B&W sounded incredibly musical. I live in a medium sized apartment where the kitchen is connected to my living room. Its very open. The B&W sub managed to fill the room with ease. I turn it only a quarter of the way up and it shakes the room. If your looking for a sub that is clear, fast, and loud, I think you could do worse than the B&W ASW600.

Similar Products Used: JBL PB10 Polk PSW303, PSW404 Velodyne CHT8 Boston Acoustics PV600 B&W ASW300, ASW600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   AudioPhile [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none

love it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com