B&W ASW 2500 Subwoofers

ASW 2500

Active closed-box subwoofer system

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
George   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2014]

A very well made and relatively compact 10" powered subwoofer. Produces very tight and precise bass reproduction -- especially well suited for bass guitar, string bass and cello. A perfect compliment to B&W 804 and 805 speakers.

It is also quite suitable for home theater use just so long as you keep your expectations real. The 2500 will not shake your teeth lose with movie explosions and crashes -- especially in large listening rooms. If you require enormous earth shaking movie theater sub-bass, buy a huge 18" subwoofer, or two 15" subs.

I run two ASW 2500 subs for movies and typically just one for music. I can tell you that a bowed concert bass sounds like it's live in the room. This sub is very music friendly and does an excellent job rounding-out the over-all intended sound reproduction. If you can find one on the used market for under $700.00, it would be a great find and well worth the effort to acquire.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vanilson   AudioPhile [Dec 29, 2012]

meu equipamento em relação a qualidade é muito bom ,eu gostaria de receber o diagrama elétrico do modelo asw 2500,para efetuar reparos,pois meu equipamento sofreu descarga elétrica .sou técnico em manutenção e reparos em equipamentos eletrônicos à 35 anos e gostaria que a empresa me manda-se o diagrama para mante-lo original e funcionando.

atenciosamente
vanilson pacce
ALV engenharia e projetos

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
primer   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2004]
Strength:

Music use, good sounding, good integration with the rest of the system. Placement sensitive (probably true for most subs anyway). Size (you won't find anything that will do the same job with this size). Auto on/off. B&W built quality.

Weakness:

HT use. Will complain without a hint when it reaches it limits. Doesn't produce enough SPL when it goes low.

This sub is very sweet sounding, probably one of the best subs for most music, but I have to agree that this sub isn't enough for HT use. This subwoofer has the ability to blend into almost any speakers without a hint of its own existence. It is very fast and very sweet sounding, it gives bass with a lot of gesture, not just boring boom boom bass. Try speaking with your hands over your mouth, and then speak again without them, that's the difference between this sub and a few other subs. However this sub isn't as great for HT use. It lacks that extra headroom when it comes down to the ultra low frequency (below 30hz). This sub can give really high and awesome sounding output between 40-120hz, but performance drops off once you go below 40hz. If you have a track (or more often movies) that peaks below 40hz, this sub will probably start acting a little "different". The driver can bottom out quite easily with bass peaks below 30hz, without yielding near as much output as it can above 40hz. This short side of it makes it less good of a product for HT use. I have recently upgraded to a B&W ASW CDM subwoofer. It has a 1000Wrms class D amp with a 12" driver. With a bigger cabinet, bigger driver and bigger amp, this sub performs quite a lot better than the ASW2500. It can yield a fairly linear output level all the way down to 20hz, and gives you those floor shaking, windows rattling low bass when the ASW2500 will just keep bottoming out and complain. The ASW 2500 was not able to keep up with my other speakers for HT uses (@ high output). Wharfedale Zaldek 2000 (consists of 2 8 inch bass drivers) as fronts, Zaldek 1000 (single 8 inch bass driver) as rears, running thru a Pioneer VSX-D2011 (Elite VSX-53TX), while the ASW CDM can give me as much as I demanded and more.

Similar Products Used: B&W ASW CDM B&W ASW 675 Wharfedale Powercube PC-12A Wharfedale Zaldek Sub Infinity PS-8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
anarchy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2003]
Strength:

Music detail and one hellofa thump. Small footprint.

Weakness:

Placement can be a real pain. Good placement = satisfaction with asw. Bad placement = utter dissapointment. Remember that.

I want to keep this brief. I love this sub. It is the best sub I have ever heard. However, 1) Don't use this in a small room. 2)Placement is so important that it can make this sub range from soundless to perfect. 3) Make sure you use a good preamp. 4) If your not going to use a filter, then for God sakes, don't expect to play this sub at full output for any reason. The quality of this sub has been know to make my freinds laugh wildy and lapse into deep consideration of how much they would like to have this sub.

Similar Products Used: Most other consumer subs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Peder Dellbring   AudioPhile [Sep 07, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic deep bass for the size and money. Tight and musically bass.

Weakness:

Can´t handle extreme bass levels. Demands long time pre-playing (300 hours) for max performance.

This small subwoofer makes your room literally shake (down to 10Hz (!) with a tone-generator and the windows at my home at 180 m2 were shaking - everyone) and your neighbours will not have a good relationship with you anymore. A bargain for the price! Compared with subs that costs dubble the price like Velodyne and Sunfire you will have a higher level of bass, but actually it´s very good bass that comes out of this box - musically also. A perfect compromisse. For 98% of all listerners this is more than enought with it´s musicallity and power. For you that demands more (2%) - I hope you don´t have any trouble with neighbours living to close with you...

Similar Products Used: Klipsch KSW-200.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
DB   Casual Listener [Jul 13, 2002]
Strength:

Small, crisp and tight with just enough power. Blends very easily with other speakers

Weakness:

Cheap grill cover snaps break very easily; does not have line feed; should now be discounted since replaced with the new ASW675 subs. Hopefully fixed the size & power relationship, aand other complaints.

Very good sub,finally rounds out my system with 603S2, 601S2 and LCR. Completes the lower end especially with the 5.1 and DTS. Definitely needs break in and then wow. Crisp and tight with just enough power. Unfortunately always near the max settings. Remember laws of physics.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
cgmovieman   AudioPhile [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

Small size, very powerful

Weakness:

No magnetic shielding or flowport

I just picked up this sub this past weekend to replace my Kenwood 103SW sub and finish my theater system with all B&W speakers. What can I say, this little speaker packs a hard punch! I am still experimenting with it''s levels and placement, but from what I''ve heard so far it is amazing. Listening to it musically with the low-pass filter on it fills in the low end that my B&W 602 S2''s lack. And listening to it with the low-pass off off of a DVD with 5.1 sound is awesome. I watched Saving Private Ryan this past weekend and was amazed. If there were any problems I could find with this sub (which aren''t many mind you) it is that it is not magnetically shielded. In most cases though, this is not a big problem. Also, and I''m not sure if this is exactly the reason why, but at times I felt that this sub needed a flowport like the rest of the B&W line of subs. However for power and size this sub works like a dream for mid-size to larger home theater systems. I know that, living in an apartment, I may be receiving a few knocks on the door complaining of speaker level...but hey, that''s okay with me.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood 103SW
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Sander   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2002]
Strength:

Power.

Weakness:

None

What can I say, if you have the money. Buy this great unit. I find this a really good subwoofer! When I watch Starwars Episode 1, the ground is shaking. (Chapter : where there are racing through the valley. )

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Audiophile [Jan 11, 2001]
Strength:

Tight buttkicker bass in both music and HT

Weakness:

Do not really see any!

After my last sub was fried alive I bought this. I like it a lot (maybee I will buy one more), it blends perfectly with my speakers in both stereo and HT. Do not let the small size trick you, it sounds like a 15" goes down to 22Hz fine by me. Considering the size this sub gives you MAX output!

I do not have the problem which the guy below described, but I think that it is allright to give low rating, such problems should not appear in products so expensive.

Overall great sub, with exceptionally build quality and chest PUNCHING bass!

Similar Products Used: DALI SWA-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phillipp   Audiophile [Mar 23, 2001]
Strength:

MEGA FUN!

Weakness:

NONE!

What's to say, absolutly spectacular subwoofer plays everything (Independence Day, Godzilla, The fifth Element, The Long Kiss Godnight.....) with ease. One of these and a pair of CDM9-NT, CDMC-NT, CDMS-NT and a YAMAHA AX-1 is fun for the whole family.

It's performance is both dry, tight, deep, powerfull and boomy (if the soundtrack contains boomy material).

For the price you couldn't ask for more! FUN FUN FUN

Similar Products Used: Paradigm servo-15
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com