Technics SB-T200 Floorstanding Speakers

SB-T200

Tower Speakers

User Reviews (41)

Showing 1-10 of 41  
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2017]

I’ve had these since new - used to run them on an 80’s JVC stereo amp, but now use them as the front channels on my Denon surround receiver, with Denon center, surrounds and sub.

On a flat eq they sound pretty good. Using the Denon audysey system to eq for my room, and then slightly adjust for my preference - crossover at 80hz for these - they sound fantastic. The 5.5” woofers combined with large floor standing cabinets will go pretty low, but still sound better with a dedicated sub.

The tweeters are good enough but not amazing.

One nice feature of these is they can be biamped if you’ve got the setup to do it, or just rely on the in-speaker crossover, and jumper the high/low inputs.

I have one system for movies and music, about 30/70% respectively, so these are a nice upgrade for the denon fronts, which are in my garage on a vintage sansui receiver for podcasts while I work.

For now 20 year old speakers, that have never been abused but lived most their life without a dedicated sub - so were pushed plenty hard - these still sound great to this day. If you can find them for under $50-60 they’re a no-brainer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Charliemurphy127   AudioPhile [Mar 30, 2015]

Picked these up for $40 on craigslist and was seriously impressed when I hooked them up at home. With 2 5" subs and a tweeter they sound pretty nice when hooked up to the proper equipment. Currently have them running in 2 channels on my asus xonar essence stx in combination with the 12" pioneer I have. To keep it brief the sound is great. I mostly listen to music with A tuned to 432hz and they surely shine when doing so. I mean for $40 I have never bought a set of speakers that sounded this good ever. I'm powering it with a sherwood rv4060r which drives these with 100w. Also I've only hooked them up using the low frequency set of wires to my receiver. I heard if you hook up both high and low frequencies they sound even better. Which to me is kinda hard to believe with how they already sound. When I get the Sony STRDH750 I'll be able to power these with 45w more each and it should sound a bit better. Also I'll be able to buy more tower floor speakers like this and have it configured in surround sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Technics SB-2660   AudioPhile [Dec 28, 2012]

Received these from my grandparents in a shelf system, including a Technics turn table.

Surprisingly shallow sounding. Not much depth at all.

I had them hooked up to a Pioneer Elite 37TX AVR in a 2-channel setup, so easily enough power to drive the 12" woofers. Plus, at 93 db, these speakers are fairly sensitive and easy to drive. Unfortunately, it just isn't that rewarding in an opened up room. Listened to music from CD and Vinyl.

Sound terrible when played loud. Bass is okay, but highs were muddied. Despite their size, I rather enjoyed them at low volume and in a small bedroom.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
waiphyo   AudioPhile [Mar 15, 2011]

I bought this speaker last week. In excellent used condition. Aluminum woofer is really attractive for this speaker. This speaker is MADE IN USA. I would like to rate this speaker for 4 stars. Mid Quality Tower speaker and everybody effort it. Sound Quality is not bed! But not highest quality. It can produce plenty of bass.
I used this Technics SB-T200 Speaker with my SONY STR-V555ES Receiver. If some one ask me about this speaker, I would like to recommend 80% for this speaker. Because this Technics SB-T200 can NOT produce 100% High-End Audiophile Sound Quality! Thank you!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wai   AudioPhile [Mar 15, 2011]

I bought this speaker last week. In excellent used condition. Aluminum woofer is really attractive for this speaker. This speaker is MADE IN USA. I would like to rate this speaker for 4 stars. Mid Quality Tower speaker and everybody effort it. Sound Quality is not bed! But not highest quality. It can produce plenty of bass.
I used this Technics SB-T200 Speaker with my SONY STR-V555ES Receiver. If some one ask me about this speaker, I would like to recommend 80% for this speaker. Because this Technics SB-T200 can NOT produce 100% High-End Audiophile Sound Quality! Thank you!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rex Aeterna   AudioPhile [Jan 05, 2011]

there is lot mix reviews about these speakers here i see,but i'm going to give my experience with'em.

i drive these with my lovely 1972 Sansui 5000x receiver. my sansui even rated at 60w rms@8ohms it has more then enough power to drive these speakers with primitive force...now about the speakers.

i bought them from a trading post near by my area for 85 bucks in good condition and i was surprised when i got'em home and hooked them up. they have wonderful natural sound and i don't find it lacking in the midrange at all. very full bodied and airy and has wonderful placement in the soundstage. wonderful with piano,violin and female voices. highs extend pretty well without ever sounding harsh.

now if i want to have some fun and in the mood i just crank up my bass knob on my sansui and play some dubstep or dnb and bass will hit through your chest and shake my room. was pretty impressive for dual 5'' woofers on what they can do. overall i'm really impressed for the price i paid.

thing people don't understand there trying to run HT receivers with these speakers. HT receivers are not meant for music at all and lack in the amplifier section for cutting cost for more inputs and features.stick to stereo for music. also it's about room acoustics. frequencies bounce around in the air and anything in your room can alter the frequency response on the speakers or any speaker.

you can't just spend lots of money on speakers and expect them to automatically sound good cause they cost a lot. have to choose a proper room for music listening to get most out of your system. also reason why to some wondering why these might require some good power cause impedance changes with frequencies from anywhere from 0.02ohms to 50ohms. lower the impedance more current it draws and higher the impedance the more voltage swing it needs.

wattage is just a number. if the speaker is sensitive then it can get loud no problem. it takes only 1w@8ohms to hit around 91db for a sensitive speaker. rest of the power is used for dynamics and range of frequencies. i have my knob at only 9'oclock and it fills my whole attic. sound great low listening level.

now the only con i have with these is that when pushed with nice levels of bass they will shake back and forth like crazy cause these suckers can push air. i never had issues with the dome tweeter yet so far so nothing on that but i assume cause i ain't stupid on the dial. now that's done and i'm done blabbing on about other stuff,overall i'm very pleased with these speakers for the price i paid. also remember take reviews with grain of salt cause what i experience doesn't exactly mean you will exactly experience the same thing. take reviews as type of guidance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
slinginit   AudioPhile [Mar 27, 2009]

I purchased these speakers 10 years ago and they still bring it. To this day I don't understand why Technics discontinued such a superior product. The SB200s have provided me with years of listening enjoyment ranging from classical music to jazz. Bass is tight and articulate and the detail of the mids and upper frequencies is there. On the party front, I've had plenty of decadent parties where high-base high-volume action was never inhibited. Given, these speakers are no match for B&W or Definitive Technology in terms of imaging, transient response, and refined bass handling, but for $200/pr. for 10 yrs of enjoyment, who could ask for more? Well done, Technics, wherever you are.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
86PACER   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 28, 2007]
Strength:

Stylish.

Weakness:

Tweeters blow easily and they are discontinued and no longer available.

With the one tweeter design, there is simply not enough clarity in my 6 year experience with these.

I have owned a pair of these SB-T200 speakers for 6 years. I pushed them with a 100W x 5 Technics SA-DX940 receiver. The tweeters on these blow easily with decent power even though the speakres are rated at 200W each. These tweeters are discontinued and are no longer available. You have to buy a different tweeter of the right size to fix it. I always found that these speakers did not have a lot of clairty with the one tweeter design. Decent sound. Nothing spectacular.

Similar Products Used: Technics SA-DX940 receiver
Technis Technics SB-LX70
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Ryan Nelson   AudioPhile [Jul 23, 2003]
Strength:

Good bass response, high notes great. Magnetically shielded. Great looking cabinets.

Weakness:

Tweeters can be blown if you get stupid on the dial. I was lucky to find that out while they were under waranty - replaced for free. Like I said, takes a great deal of stupidity to blow 'em, almost 80% of a 120w reciever.

I was anti-Technics. Needed new speakers (blew one partying the night before) that day for an important HT date that night. Settled for these little things, figured I would go to Best Buy the next day and get real speakers. Well, after hooking these gems up, I could not believe the sound they produced, never went and got those BOSE 701's. I have now had these speakers 4 years, and they still sound great. They made me a fan of Technics. Now they are the front speakers in an entirely Technics 5.1 system. For new towers on a budjet, its hard to beat these.

Similar Products Used: SONY 3 way 15" towers, Pioneer 12" towers, Sony 8" bookshelf speakers, RCA 40-5037 bookshelf speakers, BOSE 501 series.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 15, 2002]
Strength:

Very stylish and cabinet construction is really solid. Price is good for this quality level.

Weakness:

Bi-wire...why bother? They couldn't possibly benefit from more power to the woofers and the crossover seems to effectively control the frequency cutoff to the tweeters.

These sound pretty good until you wallop them with real power. At low to mid volume levels, the sound is excellent and rich. When you try to drive them with real power (Yamaha AX-700U, 110W @ 0.003% THD), the bass disappears into a blur of distortion caused by the woofers' inability to recover from long excursion. Their power rating is grossly optimistic. So are a lot of other companies' similar tower speakers. They are best suited to mild mannered home theatre owners.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 41  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com