Polk Audio RT2000i Floorstanding Speakers

RT2000i

Floorstanding Speakers With Down Firing Bass Port - 2 8"(20cm) Bass Drivers, 1 6.5"(16.5cm) Mid-Range Driver and 1 1"(2.5cm) Dome Tweeter

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
Johnny   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2012]

The RT2000i's are unbelievable. Just picked up set in like brand new condition and couldn't be happier. If you can find em, grab em!! You too will be sold.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
allan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2002]
Strength:

Bass

Weakness:

Everything other than bass

Big Box with tinny high-range, over hyped bass AND NO MID RANGE TO SPEAK OF

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Mission, Wharefedale
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
MACK   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate and tight.

Weakness:

None that I know of.

I've got these connected to a Denon Reciever and drive them hard on movie sound tracks. They are great after their break in period. I'll keep them!

Similar Products Used: B&W DM Series.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
electro717   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 17, 2002]
Strength:

Sub amp has plenty of muscle. Nice full range response. Decent craftsmanship.

Weakness:

Weight and size

These are phenomenal speakers with outstanding bass. The bass is tight and not boomy at all. The highs are crystal clear and the mids while being slightly weak are still better than other speakers in this price range. I use them primarily for HT and the are perfect for that purpose. With 5.1, the imaging is fantastic due to the full spectrum response of these speakers. Bass is supposedly non-directional but I find that to be more true on paper than it is in a real room. The strong bass from each side combined with my 15" Velodyne sub creates an outrageously full sound field. Kudos to Polk's engineers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mustang50   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

treble and bass

Weakness:

mid range has yet to be a little more prominent.

This is an update on the HT performance on these babies. Well I have run them in and I must say they sound even better. including in the midrange. they have opened up a bit and the mid is more prominent. I tested these speakers with every audio format out there. they are accurate and explosive when needed. the actually scare me a bit with HT. try the haunting and saving private ryan with these. They sound great with the THX test dvd and the dts opening on dts movies. So far so good and I have many more to go. so go give them a test and you wont be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy Stumpf   Audio Enthusiast [May 17, 2002]
Strength:

Tight, deep musical bass. The finish, WOW! The sound Image monsters Crisp highs Full mid-range

Weakness:

At this price? Ya right.

First off, people have different opinions. I read some bad reviews on this awsome site, and on these speakers and I just could not understand. I do not consider Polk to be hi-end, but they have offer great value. I REALLY looked around for some new speakers. Found a lot of great stuff for under a grand (psb image series is nice). Then I noticed Polk''s price cuts for the new models coming out. I bought the RT2000i''s, CS400i and the awsome RT35i''s for the rear for $1,500.00 after tax. FRICKEN STEEAALL!!! They sounded O.K. at the store and O.K. when I got them home. After I broke them in, I first flogged the RT35i''s with 200 watts of class A krell power. Goosebumbs big time. (Read my review elsewhere on these) Then I hooked the RT 2000s to the krell and started to really push them. I first wanted to hear something loud and thick. The new KMFDM cd, Attak. It almost took my head off. Then some J.S. Bach concertos in D minor. I closed my eyes and maniacal laughter followed. These speakers are amazing. I heard so many layers of sound that I kept checking my center to make sure it was not on. They image very well. On movies they REALLY ROCK! Do not be fooled by the subs power rating. They pound out the bass. Speaking of bass, those 8" subs are perfect. They are so fast and can really reach down low. Polk''s power port is so well designed. If you have wood floors, these speakers will put out enough tight low bass for 95% of anyone''s needs. Only problem I can hear from these speakers is when you really crank them up. YOU WILL GO DEAF BEFORE THEY START TO BREAK UP. Have I heard better speakers? Absolutely! But for the money? No Way! Do your self a favor and get these while you can.

Similar Products Used: Polk RT16''s, RT35i''s, CS400i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mustang50   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2002]

Once again I have upgraded from the RT1000i''''s to the 2000i''''s. I love these speakers so far and I have been running them for twenty hours straight. There is definitly something to be said for "breaking in" new speakers. The more they are played the better they get. I have not tried with ht use but they sing with music. It really added the mid/bas that I craved and though I feel it could be a little stronger in the midrange. Insignificant to me though and maybe they will open up a little more eventually .I will post a follow up in the near future. The rt1000i''''s midrange is much better but the bass in the 2000''''s is incredible. Low power and high current amp really drive the 8" woofers. I was worried about that as well. they just laugh at what ever you throw at them.The only reason why I feel the mids are different in the two speakers is possibly the 2000''''s with the bigger cabinet possibly are not filling that cabinet with strong mid. Now dont get me wrong but the mid is there but I let you decide.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
74fish   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2002]
Strength:

looked pretty nice

Weakness:

reproductin of sound

WORST SPEAKERS EVER,for1500.00 blew 3 times,sounded small,they were BIG,go figure!bought klipsch rf series,soooo much better,like color tv v.s. b/w,anything in $range gotta be better.

Similar Products Used: my cerwin/vega bookshelfs in my car hole.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2002]
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Boomy, closed center, lack of mid-bass between 100 and 180 hz, very tinny and metallic sounding, vocalization in the upper mids is non-existant

These speakers are garbage!!!!!!!! I was stupid enough to listen to the DUMB CC salesmen!!!!!!!!! I wish I would have gone to a higher-end shop. There are alot better speakers for the same price!!!!! To an UNTRAINED ear these speakers would sound good. It like driver a cheap car. Its great until you get into something better!

Similar Products Used: NOW I use Energy Speakers. Have used Boston acoustics, B&W, Klipsch and Wharfdale. To put Polk in the same class as these speakers you would have to be deaf. No comparison, Polk makes the perfect s
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Thomas A   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2001]
Strength:

tight mid-bass, sweet vocals and imaging is excellent- Lights on front turn off (unlike my 1000's wich stayed on)height, sound

Weakness:

my manuals w/serial #'s..one was for the rt2000 and correct, the other for a rt1000 and incorrect. Asume someone was sleepy that day?

I just brought these home yesterday after trading in my RT1000i's that I had 9 months. There is a big difference in speakers. The mids/highs are compatable- though the mid-bass is tighter and has a bit more hit- considering Im using a Vel ct150 with them. It was definatly worth the 300 up grade...
These work great with HT as well as music... the quality is a bit better than the 1000's IMO

Similar Products Used: RT1000I's, 800i's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com