Paradigm Reference Monitor 11 v2 Floorstanding Speakers

Paradigm Reference Monitor 11 v2 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3-driver, 2-1/2way bass reflex. Quasi-3rd order resistive port

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 46  
[Jun 27, 2011]
ironfist
AudioPhile

awesome sound.

marantz 5003
samsung bluray
monitor 11
cc 390
sub dsp 3400
adp 190
titan monitor

i woulld never changed my speakers....own Nuance before and they were garbage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 15, 2006]
SoundsGood
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, accuracy, transparency, soundstage, and efficiency at all frequencies and volumes. The Monitor 11 v4s do not have to be played loudly at all to capture detail.

Weakness:

I wish I'd known about them sooner.

I was originally looking at the Monitor 9s to replace my 25 year-old Polk Audio Monitor 7s. After careful listening, (I enjoy everything from Shakira to Seal to Santana to Schumann to Satriani to Jazz), I flipped back and forth about a million times between the 9s and the 11s, and to my mind's ear, the Monitor 11 v4s were the best balance of high, middle and low frequencies. Also, Dave Grusin and Acoustic Alchemy are so very much a pleasure to listen to.

I tried the Monitor 9 v4s and the 11 v4s with and without the PSB-12 subwoofer, and the 11s consistently sounded better. The old Polks are good down to about 25 cycles, however. The Monitor 11s can't quite reproduce sub frequencies, so a subwoofer might be a possibility in the near future. The old Polks will make someone very happy, but they are now being retired.

The sound coming from the Monitor 11s is absolutely fantastic ! They are so very clean and clear, with a huge soundstage. Vocals and all acoustic instruments are very natural sounding, as though I'm hearing them live. I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture. I still have yet to fully break them in - it's only been about 6 hours...Bring in your favorite music and demo the Monitor 11 v4s before you buy any other loudspeaker in that price range.

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used:

I listened to Polks, Klipsch, Boston Acoustics, Infinity, B & W - all good, but none of them in this price-range even comes close.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2006]
dobyblue
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

~Very efficient speakers, currently being run with a 110w per channel amp. I can't imagine wanting to listen to them much louder!
~Beatiful soundscape, you'll swear sometimes during 2 channel listening that you have not only a center channel running but surrounds as well.
~Very crisp highs, powerful mids and bass that is controlled, tight and extends quite well past 50Hz.

Weakness:

~For the full audio spectrum you'll definitely want to add a good subwoofer to these babies, but they do not sound bad without it. If you want to experience 20Hz though, adding a PW2200 or a Servo-15 would be a good idea.
Other than that there's not much bad to say at all about these speakers.

This review is for the Monitor 11 v4 speakers.
Price paid was CDN$1225
After buying an SACD player my little JBL satellites fell incredibly short of any sound worht mentioning.
I audioned the Paradigm 7, 9 and 11s, as well as a few models of Boston Acoustics. I also auditioned Polk Audio and Infinity speakers.
My price point was around $800 and I really enjoyed listening to the Monitor 7s, but once I had listened to the Monitor 11s I knew that I had to spend the extra couple hundred bucks for the sound I was looking for.
I use Ultralink Excelsior 2.4 cables to biwire the Paradigms.
When listening to two channel SACD now it's a whole new ball game. I am completely immersed in sound when listening to these speakers. Certain times I feel like the bass could be a little bit lower, but then I put in a CD or SACD with a little bit more low end like the song "Secret World" from Peter Gabriel's "Us" SACD and I truly am very happy. The imaging of the speakers is excellent, the mids and highs are very accurate and the bass always seems to keep up very smartly, with no overhang or muddiness so far.
One thing I will say is that if you're going from a run of the mill 5.1 system to speakers like these, you'll immediately notice two things.
1) Your other speakers become transparent
2) The audio bug will hit you and it's probably a neverending battle after that.
My immediate problem after buying these was that my center channel became very transparent. After having the Monitor 11s for two months I went out and bought the Paradigm Monitor CC-370 v4, which resolved the problem immediately. This also greatly improved the sound of the multi-channel DVD-A and SACD discs that I own, as well as really bringing to life deeper male voices in movies.
All in all I'm very impressed with the sound I know have and look forward to adding a pair of ADP-370 surrounds and a Servo-15 to really take my audio appreciation to the next level.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 20, 2005]
Dankinqc
AudioPhile

Strength:

- Impressive sound imaging (sometimes i try only stereo without center and im often asking me if the center is running or no because of the nice imaging) - Powerfull tight bass response (this is not ultra low bass but really accurate and punchy) - Crystal clear mids and highs reproduction - All in all, really nice overall speaker witch can easily play both classical or hardrock as much as movies - Solid construction - Good warranty by company

Weakness:

- I cant play them as loud as id like since im in an apartment :)

* * This is for Monitor 11 V.3 (new) * * The price is in canadian money. Ive listened to a lot of speakers before going for the Monitor 11 (Energy, PSB, Polk Audio, B&W, Canton, Sony, Athena)and i finally chose the Paradigms Monitor 11. Here is my setup: Main : Paradigm Monitor 11 Center: Paradigm CC-370 Surround: Paradigm Monitor 7 Subwoofer: Paradigm PS-1200 Amplifier: Yamaha RXV-640

Similar Products Used:

nothing for this price range...though the B&W were really good too but expansive.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2004]
cappa69
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great highs, mids and base

Weakness:

None that I can see.

I listened Paradigm Monitor 7, 9, 11, 90p, PSB Stratus Silveri, Cambridge Soundworks MC300, MC400, MC500, T300, T500, Polk DM6700 and DM7200 and quite a few others. Out of these I liked PSB and Paradigm the most for towers. CSW satellites were great and Polk satellites were decent but did not stack up well against Silveri and Monitors. It was a tough decision between PSB and Paradigm but I finally bought Paradigm due to its smaller size, sleek looks and recommendations from a close friend. I took Mozzart CD (to test highs and mids) and Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon (to test base) with me. Paradigm Monitor 7 did a great job but 11 was better. Monitor 9 was great too but a little heavy on base but with some tuning I'm sure it would have been good too. All three of them were exceptional. I hooked up my Monitor 11 with Yamaha RX-V2400 receiver and monster cable 12 AWG wire. Even without breakin the Monitor 11s sounded excellent on classical music since it was mostly highs and mids - very musical and better than anything I ever listened to. I was a little disappointed with the base in the begining but it improved with breakin. I switched to Kimber 8PR cable bi-wired and noticed more improvement in base. I also tweaked the receiver settings quite a bit and played with placement. I've been using these speakers for about 3 months now and have no more complaints about the base any more. The whole spectrum - highs, mids and base - is really exceptional now. For music Monitor 11s are extremely good. I did'nt have a sub so for HT I was still getting the feeling that there is something missing from the sound. I bought Cambridge Soundworks P500 sub, which by the way is really good. After setting it up I played some movies to test HT performance and was overjoyed. Then just for kicks I wanted to compare the base of Monitor 11 and the P500 sub. I switched off my subwoofer and cranked up the base on Monitor 11 - I changed the graphic equalizer setting on my receiver to give 12 db more to the deep base (set mids and highs to -6db and lows - 63 Hz - to +6 db) and then used the tone control to give an extra 6 db more to base. After these settings the receiver was pushing the base of my Monitor 11s by about 18 db harder than highs and mids. Guess what happened next? My monitor 11s were rocking. They gave me base that I could not believe. The base was not as tight or loud as the subwoofer but it was truely exceptional for a floorstander without active subwoofers. I think even if I loose the P500 subwoofer and continue to use just the Monitor 11 with their base at +18 db, my HT experience would be good enough for me - I'm not a base junky. BTW, if you're looking at Monitor 11, I would also advise you to consider Monitor 90p - the big brother of monitor 11. 90p has builtin subwoofer and it would not require a separate subwoofer thus saving you some space. You should also look at Axiom M80ti, which has better base than Monitor 11 but not as good as the 90p. I did not even consider Axiom since it is 4 ohms and they don't have dealers. I don't like buying speakers online before listening to them first. From the reviews I read Axioms are truely great speakers too. PSBs also performed as well as Paradigm.

Similar Products Used:

Cambridge Soundworks MC300, Sony stuff not worth mentioning.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2004]
oliilolio
AudioPhile

Strength:

Massive wide and deep sound stage Solid imaging Smooth midrange and treble Tight and tune full bass

Weakness:

not much to gripe about in this price range, any thing I could come up with would be nit picking.

This is the first time I have felt I should chime in with my 2 cents; this review is for the v3 version of this speaker. I had been living with a set of totem forests for quite a while until an unfortunate incident involving a family pet took one out! So now I was restricted to a very tight budget, and after a little research I brought a pair home. To this day the sound quality from top to bottom truly impresses me, they are also very easy to drive and the sound with 35 watts of triode power raises goose bumps. They are rather big and some people will like this and some people will not, and If at all possible bring them off the back wall or at least spend some time setting these up as huge gains in sound quality are possible, mine sit 64 inches off the back wall 8 feet apart and very slightly toed in towards the listening seat. The bottom line is that I am not missing the forests that much at a fraction of the price. Highly recommended for any audiophile looking for great sound on a tight budget.

Similar Products Used:

paradigm 9semk11 paradigm eclipes bp totem forest

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2003]
islandboy07
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Best value on the market,Will keep you happy and very satisfied.

Weakness:

NONE!!

I am in love with these babies , they have given me exactly what I needed and lots lots more. They are hooked up to a Rotel RB 981 Amp ,a RC 972 Pre-amp and a rotel 970 single disc Cd Player I could ask for nothing more, The Bass is deep and tight , the Mids and Heighs are amazing and these lovlies handle whatever I throw at them. Aesthetically they are soft on the eyes with or without the grill and they are solid in built.

Similar Products Used:

Bose 701's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 29, 2003]
jukeboxtheater
AudioPhile

Strength:

Powerful bass, extended highs, grainless midrange

Weakness:

Lacks that last degree of midrange resoluion.

I've owned a pair of these babies for over a year now. They have much to recommend them. The highs are extended, albeit a little airless, the bass is tight and deep, and the midrange is grainless and open. I guess if these speakers have a fault it lies in their midrange reproduction, which although perfectly adequate, lacks that last degree of resolving power. I have in the meantime purchased a pair of Paradigm Reference 40's which have that midrange magic in spades (considerably less bass though...).

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm Reference Studio 40's, a/d/s, Mirage, Definitive Technology

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 27, 2003]
Chris G
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Still happy with the sound after two years. Detailed, great for HT. Easily powered with lower watt amplifiers.

Weakness:

Build quality is unacceptable.

I posted a review in Nov 2001 on these. Now, after having them for over 2 years, I have two complaints. The build quality of the speakers is sloppy. The holes that were drilled that hold the woofers are not neatly cut out. Also, upon closer inspection, I noticed that the tip of a screw is penetrating the laminate on one side of the speaker. If I had to do it again I would of bought a pair of towers from AXIOM, check them out at www.axiomaudio.com. They produce quality products, read the reviews.

Similar Products Used:

Axiom M3ti

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 25, 2003]
twc5964
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

so so sound

Weakness:

cheap cabinets,woofers obviously need larger magnets

This review will not be stellar.Hope not to offend anyone.I purchased these back in 2001 and tricked myself into thinking they were "awesome" speakers.I was ashamed to admit they were not all that good after forking out 1000 dollars that I could not replace.The base was muddy,woofers bottomed out,and the cabinets resonated all the time.All this happened at low to moderate volumes.I use decent mid fi equipment.I decided to sell them for less than 500 dollars.Pulled my old bookshelf speakers back out,replaced all the crossover components with better grade material and never looked back.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com