Odyssey Audio Lorelei Floorstanding Speakers

Lorelei

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
jmitch69   AudioPhile [Nov 17, 2008]
Strength:

- Powerful

- Very accurate performer

- Sleek design (It's an elegant piece of furniture)

- Minimumal break-in time

- Stellar build quality

- Low price point

Weakness:

None

Built like a tank and named after a mythical creature the Lorelei high end speaker is incredible. Using the German symphonic line design, these speakers will amaze you. Their dynamic performance can be contributed by the massive,overbuilt crossover network consisting of Mundorf coils, Audyn and F&T caps. The Lorelei uses the powerful Scan Speak 7" mid-bass(18w/8545). Specifications aside, the Lorelei is simply an ultra high end performer that blows me away every time I listen. The amazing detail and character these speakers portray is second to none. For a 2 way speaker with its very low price point($2700/pair) the competition is very scarce. In Europe the Lorelei sells for approx $7500/pair. It's very clear, a closer listen to these beauties and you'll be hooked!!

These speakers will transform your listening experience !!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pauljvl   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2007]
Strength:

Very easy to setup even in a room like mine 10'x12.
Bass is outstanding ,tight with no overhang , these destroy my brothers Proac 3.6
which were over 6k, very well balanced and easy to drive my 24wpc Eastern electric vacuum tube amp drives these easilly. these top of the line Scan speak drivers are first rate ,they image spot on ,the mids and highs complement each other just a well balanced loudspeaker!

Weakness:


They weigh in at 80 lbs ,for one person that may or may not be a problem.

ThisLorelei loudspeaker is the SE version meaning that the internal parts are much upgraded ,now using the expensive but superb SonicapsAlphacore copper foil inductors,Groneberrg Reference cable, and WBT cpnnectors ,compared to the older standard model ,Myself and others have found this loudspeaker is still full bodied but much more natural sounding and transparent, the sound stage is huge

Customer Service

never needed it.

Similar Products Used: proac 3.6, tyler acoustics , both were in the 6k range and neither bettered it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hawaiidave   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2007]
Strength:

Sonic clarity, build quality, looks, and customer service.

I have had these speakers for nearly a year now and I have to say I am still in awe of how good they sound. I am completely satisfied.
The sonic clarity of these speakers are noticeably better the the Totems that I was formerly running as my mains (now used as rears for surround sound). I did my due dillegence in research before making my purchase, but had to make this purchase with a little bit of faith as there were no Loreleis in my area for me to audition. I called Odyssey to discuss my needs and to my surprise I spoke to the owner Klaus. Klaus is a true gentleman and we spent several phone conversations discussing my needs. I finally took the plunge and have been extremely happy ever since. Klaus had told me that I could throw out my subwoofer which I didn't believe, but that is exactly what I did (didn't throw it out of course - now attached to my computer). The bass was tight with no overhang like I had been experiencing before and just not realizing it. The highs and mids are clear and true. I really like listening to my music much more than befoe when I would truly get listener fatigue. I would have expected to pay 2 or 3 times as much as I did to get the quality and clarity I received with these speakers.
Bottom line, they sound great, look great, and are a great value - Thanks Klaus!

System:
Rotel 1056
CIA D100s
Denon 2910
Totem center and surrounds
Lorelei mains
River Cable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2007]
Strength:

Sonic clarity, looks (matches my furniture), build quality, and customer service.

Weakness:

None.

I have had these speakers for almost a year now. Needless to say they have had sufficient time for break-in. I am completely and utterly satisfied with these speakers - they meet and exceeded my expectations.
Before buying my speakers I did a lot of homework and had to say this purchase was one of faith as there were no Loreleis anywhere in my area that I could audition. I called Odyssey and was pleasantly surprised that I spoke directly with the owner Klaus - he is a true gentleman and spent a lot of phone time with me before I made my purchase. Customer service is top-notch to say the least. Of course I had a satisfaction guarantee from Klaus that he has not had to make good on as I had stated at the top I am completely satisfied.
These speakers deliever sonic clarity that I would have expected from speakers costing double or triple what these were. Bass is tight, highs and mids are clear. Klaus had told me that I could get rid of my sub from my system, of course I was skeptical, but he was absolutely correct. The bass that come from these speakers is absolutely unbelievable - no overhang of bass like I had before - just tight and clear - the way the music is supposed to sound.
I like to listen to music in two-channel, but my set-up is also used for home-theater. I put my former primaries in the rear for surround sound (Totems) and it is obvious that there is an extreme difference in clarity. The Totems are good - just not up to par with the Loreleis.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE SPEAKERS.

System:
Rotel 1056 receiver
CIA D200s amps (for mains)
Denon 2910
Loreleis mains
Totem rears and center
River Audio cables

Similar Products Used:
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BKrueger4690   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2006]
Strength:

Sonic clarity and detail! Value for the dollar! Customer service! Guarantee (You won't want your money back!) Warranty (20 years? are you kidding?) Satisfaction! You deal with the owner, and he appreciates you! The products are all based on solid, tried and true designs and it shows.

Weakness:

None

I'm a trained musician. I got my start in music at the age of five, so needless to say I have a highly trained ear. I've also owned many different stereo components in my 43 years. Each time I made a purchase I'd go from store to store making sure I bought the exact best deal/sound I could find on the component I was looking for. Needless to say these treks were extremely time consuming. When I decided that it was finally time to buy the "ultimate" system that I had always wanted I started to do research. I started by repeating my previous tact by going to all the local places and auditioning their various components. With that information in hand I then came here to the forums and looked at the reviews for each component. It was during this exercise that I stumbled across the reviews for Odyssey Audio. Well if you have read the reviews yourself you've probably noticed what I did...this equipment is highly appreciated by those that actually own it. When I actually purchased my system, all of the Odyssey equipment was rated at 5 of 5 by everyone. None of the equipment that I'd found locally was rated anywhere near that high by the people that owned it. Think about this...when you buy something, don't you want it to be the best stuff and tell everyone about it? I always think that reviews by people that own stuff tend to be slanted a little higher than they ought to be due to that fact alone. I'll also tell you that it was a leap of faith buying this stuff without actually hearing it first, but ultimately all of the positive reviews won out (the money back guarantee didn't hurt either!), and I called Klaus. I might also mention that I found WWW.AudioCircle.Com extremely convincing as well! Klaus was extremely helpful! He even talked me out of the higher end Stratos stereo amp and convinced me that the Khartago monos would actually provide better performance at the same price! This wasn't a sales pitch either as I do have the technical background to understand the arguments for mono block amps! Ultimately it became clear that Klaus wanted what provided me the best sound for my wants/needs. I was extremely impressed with his knowledge and helpfulness. It was definitely knowledge and help that I hadn't gotten locally. I decided to purchase the package deal that Klaus was offering. After having this stuff for a year, I can honestly say chalk one up for the wonders of the internet! This stuff is nothing short of phenomenal! The highs are crisp yet crisp in a warm way. The mids are full yet there is no brashness at all. The bass is as full as it ought to be with plenty of punch. Each note, instrument, and sonic range is detailed and separated. You will not find any "muddy" areas in the bottom end, nor any ear fatigue in the midrange or high end. The stereo sound is full and involving. The components are so clean that I can turn the volume completely up and not hear an ounce of hiss! The only noise you ever hear from this equipment comes from the recorded material. When listening to CDs that I have had for years, I am constantly hearing notes, passages, and even recording anomalies that I have never heard before, and these are on some of my favorite CDs!! For instance at the beginning of AC/DCs Back in Black I can here the drummer keeping time with his foot on his bass drum pedal, and at the beginning of Stevie Nicks' After the Glitter fades I can here the pianists foot on the pedal of the piano. Don't be alarmed, as this doesn't detract from the music! What it does do is completely amaze me! My friends are floored as well, not to mention a little envious! If you are in the market for an awesome system, call Klaus at Odyssey Audio. You have absolutely nothing to lose, and you'll greatly appreciate Klaus' knowledge, honesty, customer service, guarantee, and most of all his product! He'll even answer questions after the sale about matching other components to his equipment! Tell me where else you are going to find that!!! In short, I absolutely love the Odyssey Audio system. It is truly the real deal, and a phenomenal deal at that!

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
WILLIAM C WALDECKER 3RD   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2006]
Strength:

superb build quality, worldclass components inside and out,furniture grade cabinetry, gorgeous to look at,Ultra high performance at midfi pricing. Klaus Bunge stands behind every product that he sells.

Weakness:

none that i can think of especialy when you consider that the wait time is minimal for a speaker that is handmade to order one at a time.

My Odyssey Audio journey began early last year on January 9 2005 to be exact and i was using a Rotel RB1080 power amplifier and RC1090 preamplifier powering a pair of Paradigm Reference Studio 100v3 loudspeakers. i was having issues with the sound quality and it seemed as if the sound was compressed and constrained especialy at low volume levels.i contacted Mr Klaus Bunge based on his companys fine and rapidly growing reputation for Highend quality at midfi prices and told him about my concern with systems sound quality. i had every intention of buying a Stratos extreme stereo version but after consulting with Klaus i opted to purchase a pair of Khartago monoblocks because Klaus explained that my loudspeakers would thrive on the 100 amps of current that the little monos would provide. after receiving them i quickly learned that klaus knew exactly what he was talking about when it came to system synergy and he saved me $50.00 over the price of the Stratos extreme stereo amplifier that i was going to buy and i thought it was unusual that he would recommend a option that was more inexpensive! i have since replaced the little monoblocks with a pair of mono extremes. i like the mono extremes so much that they will be a permanent fixture in my system for years to come. i also bought a Odyssey Tempest preamplifier with the remote control option and a Ultra Highend German made Symphonic Line Vibrato CD player from Klaus along with the German made Groneberg Quatro reference and TS premium IC and speaker cables.i ordered a pair of Odyssey Epiphony mini monitors from Klaus and i told him i wanted red cherry ones but he happened to have a pair of black ash ones in his shop and i didnt want to wait to have a pair built in red cherry so i bought the black ones instead, after a few weeks i called Klaus to tell him how good the little monitors sounded and he mentioned that he had a pair of dark red cherry Lorelei cabinets that he noticed in his storage area and if i was interested he could build me a new pair of Loreleis with them. Alain Courteau in Canada builds the Odyssey loudspeaker line for Klaus except for the Loreleis but he does handmake the cabinets for them and normaly they are built to order and Klaus would have to wait for the cabinets to be made and shipped to him from Canada.Klaus already had the dark red cherry that i prefered in house so i told him to go ahead and build me a pair. in about two weeks time the Loreleis arrived at my doorstep and when i unpacked them i was absolutely amazed at how beautiful they were in the red cherry finish. they are very heavy at 80 lbs each and use the world class Scanspeak 8545 midbass and revelator high frequency drivers and a crossover designed by mr Rolf Gemein and custom built by his Symphonic Line company in Germany, the crossovers include large Mundorf coils with 2.5 MM wire that was made specificaly for these coils and top shelf Audyne and F&T capacitors. Klaus also includes German made Audio Selection Brass cones to couple these loudspeakers to the floor.these loudspeakers throw a huge soundstage and image like a pair of bookshelves and the Bass Quality and Quantity is remarkable for a speaker using a single 6.8" midbass driver and they do everything extremely well from top to bottom and if i had to choose one word that sums up the qualitys found in the Loreleis that word would have to be "Musical".these speakers are identical to the $7000.00 Symphonic Line Legato with the exception of being built here in the USA and the cabinets being handmade in Canada instead of Germany and they are truely one of the best loudspeaker values available on the market today.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm monitor 11 Paradigm reference studio 100v3 Odyssey Epiphony mini monitor
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jonboy   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2005]
Strength:

Nice looking, easy placement, non fatiguing, wide soundstage and 3d imaging. Emotionally engaging.

Weakness:

None.

It seems as though I've had the Lorelei's longer than 6 months because I listen to them daily. I haven't been this smitten with new speakers since I bought my B&W 1400's 22 years ago. I always wanted a little more out of the 1400's, bottom and top, so I bought the 802's. Very accurate, power hungry speakers but needed more bottom end. I found the Lorelei's at the Odyssey web site after having bought the Stratos Extreme amp. I then read the review at 6moons and decided to order a pair. I asked Klaus for a custom color, sent a pic and he got right on it. At no extra charge! Try that at your local high end dealer. Over the years I have listened to many speakers in all price categories but not at home where the real test is. The ones I was impressed with were usually large, expensive, and needed very expensive electronics to sound their best.I've been through the sat-sub setup but finally decided on a floorstander with a small footprint was needed for my listening room. The room is 24'x24' and is completely filled with sonic pleasure from the lorelei's. These speakers always amaze me at what a 2-way, with only a 6 inch mid/bass driver, can do. Astounding is more like it. They have the rare ability to convey a sense of emotion, to take you into the music. Another reviewer mentioned that they can be bass heavy and I agree. But only on material that is recorded that way. Personally I like the visceral involvment. Also, synergy can't be stressed enough in ANY hifi system. I have tried several ss and tube preamps and have decided that the tubes bring out a depth that the ss just doesn't have. Because of the wide dispersion that the Lorelei's have, the soundstage can be very wide at times, again depending on the recording. As with any piece of gear, the Lorelei's require a break in period of roughly 100 hours. They sound great right out of the box but after a few weeks they reach another level. At first I thought they were a little bass heavy and slightly rolled off in the top end. After the break in period I find the bass tighter and very deep, the highs are much cleaner, and the midrange, I thought, took the longest to settle in. Upper midrange to be precise. It's a range that's sensitive to my hearing, personally. Placement seems very simple as others have noted. Mine are 6 feet apart and 2 to 3 feet from the back wall. At times they sound like they're 10 feet apart. They have the ability to totally disappear and almost never call attention to themselves, sonically speaking. With the right combination of electronics, the Lorelei's have the ability to image so well it's almost scary. Recorded sounds seem to come from the extreme sides and even behind you, at times. Truly magical and that's what I've been searching for. While it may seem like a big risk to buy without listening first, I believe Klaus offers a money back guarantee. It was the best chance I've taken with hifi gear yet. After all, life is short. Treat yourself to one of the best deals in audio history!

Similar Products Used: B&W dm1400,matrix 1, 802.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jcoat007   AudioPhile [Apr 18, 2005]
Strength:

Musicality, deep bass, smooth mids and clean highs. Non fatiguing sound. Looks and finish quality. Customer service is second to none. Long warranty.

Weakness:

Lead time. No ability to audition prior to purchase.

I discovered Odyssey Audio and Klaus Bunge right here on audioreview when I started my venture into this hobby. As I have been building two separate systems over the past four years, I have used Odyssey Extreme monoblocks in my 2 channel system and an Odyssey HT3 in my home theater system. Just recently I decided to go full tilt with Odyssey in my home theater/2 channel system. Why Odyssey and why put the Odyssey stuff in my home theater? Well, Klaus will tell you that synergy is very important, and since I had 5 channels of Odyssey amplification and a Tempest preamp with HT passthru, it was a natural to get the Odyssey speakers to really see if the synergy thing makes sense. Also, Klaus was able to custom match the speakers to my furniture which really clinched the deal for me. When I took them out of their boxes, I was blown away at how nice they looked. My wife was also very impressed and she has said many times that they look great. The finish is top notch and matched my other furniture perfectly. Klaus also put grills on them because I have kids, so there is no worry about little fingers going where they shouldn’t go. OK, so they look nice and match the furniture, but how does the system sound? My Odyssey system is integrated into my home theater, but I wanted it to be a true two-channel champ with all the usual audiophile hoopla. I would assume a system that does justice to music should also do justice to movies. Well, I was right. Dynamics, tonal accuracy, smooth midrange, sweet and extended highs, deep and fast bass with no harshness and not fatiguing to listen to are all accurate in describing my Odyssey system. I also wanted this system to be a set-it-and-forget-it, easy setup with non-fussy speaker placement. I can say unequivocally that this system has easily exceeded my expectations. Music is very engaging and fun to listen to and the Loreleis are easy to place since they have such wide dispersion. I listen to a wide variety of music and the Loreleis do not seem to care what you throw at them. Full scale orchestra, no problem; intimate jazz sessions, no problem; rock at rock concert levels, again no problem. Concert DVD’s have taken on new meaning and are the fastest growing segment of my home theater collection. I run them in 2 channel through the Tempest and they are just a lot of fun to watch and enjoy. I mentioned the wide dispersion of the Loreleis and while they have a small footprint they have no problem easily filling my room which is 24 x 18 and opens into three other rooms. From almost anywhere in the main room and adjoining rooms, there is great sound. Sitting down, standing up, walking around, the system really sounds good. What is even more amazing is that when you are sitting on the couch, they have incredible imaging even with a huge armoire in between the speakers. I can only imaging what they do in a strictly 2 channel setup without a big armoire or big screen in between. Did I mention the bass? I have absolutely no need for a subwoofer on music. In fact, I had a friend over last night to hear my system and he thought the bass was a little too much. I am somewhat of a bass freak, and the music we were listening too was very bass heavy, but I thought it sounded awesome. I then told him that my sub was on its way, and he said I was crazy for even ordering one. While I admit that the bass for music is more than adequate, you do need a sub for movies to make those explosions really rumble the floor. So, how about movies? Well, I will have to report back when the center channel and sub arrive, but I can comment on a few things right now. First, the Loreleis do a great job of filling the entire front area with sound. Dialogue is clear and articulate. Scenes that pan from one side to another, do so seamlessly. With the center channel, I am sure these things will improve, but I could be happy with the setup as is. Having the Extreme Monos for the mains and the HT-3 for surrounds, movies just seem to envelope you. When we are watching movies like Star Wars or The Matrix there are surround effects coming from all directions and all of it just seems clearer and more powerful. Even my wife commented on how good it sounded and she even mentioned how the rears sounded clearer and more powerful than she remembered. The whole system just seems to be more enveloping than before. So, am I happy with this Odyssey setup? You bet!!! For movies, I am sure the center channel and sub will be icing on the cake. For music this system, just makes me want to crank it up and forget about all the audiophile stuff that takes away from just listening to music. The type of music doesn’t seem to matter at all. Whether it is Nine Inch Nails, Diana Krall or The Berlin Philharmonic, my Odyssey system produces a sound that is so musical and so much fun to listen to that you just get lost in it. The wife also loves it!!! Need I say more????

Similar Products Used: Vandersteen 3A Sig's Infinity RSIIIa's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jasonc   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2005]
Strength:

Wide dispersion, good sound regardless of seating position. Balanced, or at least as balanced as you when coupled with a warm presentation. Fantastic bass. Good looks, handsome with quality cabinetry and interesting lines.

Weakness:

None

These are quite simply fantastic speakers. I have owned these Loreleis for about 8 months or so and am continually impressed by them every time I sit down and listen. The Loreleis replaced a pair of VMPS 626R's with Auricaps, SC and FST tweeter which have been well regarded as one one the best stand mounted speakers out there. I lived with the 626rs for about a year and while I was impressed by their performance I also noticed their presence was starting to drive me crazy. To explain the 626R's are flexible speakers, their sound can be tailored by adjusting the tweeter and mid levels pots on the rear panel of each speaker and for me this proved to be more of a problem than a saving grace. In addition to these speakers being directional speakers, heavy degree of toe-in required- overall placement in room critical, I was never quite certain I ever had them optimized to perform to their fullest. This drove me crazy and when it came down to it I could never relax on the sound I was getting. Functionally because they were directional speakers they rendered a small sweat spot, once out of the sweet spot the fine attributes of the speakers were no longer present. Because I found I do a lot of my listening at my computer this basically means at these times I'm not given the ticket to the whole performance. To the Loreleis and on to a different philosophy. These speakers are all about getting the music to you quickly and painlessly. One big thing to note- the Loreleis may be user friendly but inept they are not, serious high end performers is a deserving tag. Set up is quick with very little if no toe-in required. Very wide dispersion characteristics are evident and off-axis listening is a non-issue (as I write this review now, listening to Death Cab for Cutie's- Transatlanticism, you could say I've been given a ticket to the 5th row, a very good place to be). Fuctionality is one thing but sound obviously makes fuctionality a distant second for me when it comes to buying a speaker. So how do they sound? To give a one word response it would be, well.. glorious. What I appreciate so much about these speakers is just how balanced they are in presenting the music. Ultimately I get drawn into the music which for me is all I want. All the detail is there but not in a way that leads to distraction. If your system is not "musical" sounding, if your feet aren't tapping with a good song the Loreleis would not be your reason why. Overall the Lorelies are a more forgiving speaker than my prior 626rs. Both extract a great deal of detail but with the 626R's their analyzation could at times lead to distraction that ultimately pulled me further away from the music. In addition to this I find am able to listen to most of my music collection now where as the former had a tendancy to strip the musicality out of those recordings of lesser quality. Associated equipment- Primaluna Prologue Two Integrated amp, Panasonic DVS47, VH Audio Pulsar Interconnects, Zero Impendance Anti-Cable speaker cables. Eigth Nerve sound treatment products.

Similar Products Used: Mission monitors (forget model) nOrh 6.9 floorstanders VMPS 626R's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
byteme45   Audio Enthusiast [May 15, 2004]
Strength:

One final thing, fit and finish. Klaus uses top quality parts throughout as you know, we all know about the drivers and the crossovers - which by the way are just silly big. They may not be the very last word in furniture quality cabinets, but they are beautiful. Don't get me wrong, I've got no issue with them at all, but, to be fair I have seen MUCH more expensive speakers with a bit bitter cabinet, Dynaudio Special 25's come to mind, but they are well more than twice the price for 1/2 the cabinet size. Forgot to mention one other thing. Off axis is also wonderful. Sure the imaging goes away, but all the dynamics and musicality of these just fill the house. I moved out of the sweetspot and into the kitchen to make breakfast and my toes are still tapping! I really don't know what else to say other than I don't know how Klaus can do it. Comparatively, what you get with this speaker is outstanding top level sound for what really is a DIY price. The Borealis would have run only a couple hundred less and I would have had to put it together (cabinet provided). These are exactly the Symphonic Line Legatos which sell for almost $7k in Europe after all. Am I happy? Couldn't be happier! My highest recommendation. Why people would spend more on ProAc or Sonus Faber or anything else is just beyond me.

Weakness:

Long lead time. Can't be heard before purchase in most cases, but this is mitigated by the return policy and the fact that you won't need to use it. They're that good.

It's been a couple months now, and a few hundred hours on the Lorelei's so I thought I could finally write a valid view of my thoughts on these. I've had my prior speakers since the late 80's. Polk RTA11t's which I modified to 11tl's and upgraded the crossovers. I'd been pretty happy but I knew they were now what was holding things back. My search for new speakers was pretty well detailed here, I considered quite a few; North Creek Borealis, Ellis 1801b, Tyler 7U, Meadowlark Kestrel 2, VMPS RM30, various other ribbon or planer possibilities. When it came down to it I knew I wanted a full range-ish floorstander, but that didn't narrow the field much. By the time I'd read, listened, PM'd and emailed anyone and everything I could find I'd pretty much made up my mind to get the 7U's. Just before I placed the order I changed my mind the final time and went with the Lorelei's! This was 3rd week of December. The wait began.... And so did all the extended reading and questioning. I drove my wife a lot more nuts than usual! At the end of February Klaus said they were ready and would be in my garage when I got back from at business trip to Dallas. While in Dallas I got the chance to visit Capt. Humble, who also has Lorelei's and was a great help through the whole process. After spending a couple hours listening I was confident I'd made the right decision - but how would they be in my room? When I got home the Lorelei's were in the garage, but UPS had done a number on them, beat them up pretty badly, dented corners on each, both crossovers had been torn from their mount on the bottom panel. I was pissed. Klaus took care of me though, had another pair ready for me two weeks later - this time I met his wife in northern IN for pickup rather than mess with UPS. So, I fire them up and the first thing I notice is - 6Moons was right on. HOLY LOW END! I thought the Polks could belt it out down there but not like this. After listening to these I understood what people meant by one note bass - because the Lorelie's DON'T have it! Not that the Polks are bad there but these are just SO good, listening to Ray Brown Trio I picked up on sublte tone changes and the not so subtle ones were easily evident. And, oh, the musicality. Everything you've heard about these regarding both low end and musical involvement is exactly true. Amazing. They really draw you in and actually pull your attention away, make you want to sit down and listen and then keep listening. And this is right out of the box. Now that things have worn in for awhile, it just gets better. Bass is smoother, deeper, more accurate. Mids - fantastic. Female vocals are fantastic with these. Highs, well I think the thing that jumps out most at me about these is they made me realize that the Polks were either a little bright or not as good a system match. Highs are sweet - not shrill or ear piercing, just right on. Songs like Eva Cassidy Tall Trees in Georgia used to have a couple parts that just made me cringe, I chalked it up to poor recording because I didn't want to think it was speakers, also the crowd cheering at the end of Hotel California live, same thing, made me cringe. Now, just smoothness! A triangle strike on Johannes Linstead CD sounds like someone is standing behind the guitar with a freakin' triangle. Which brings me to imaging. Again, it's impossible to fault them there either. Spot on, able to place things appropriately and convey so much detail! That's one of the biggest surprises for me. Everyone has talked about how emotional and musical these speakers are, but what gets lost is they are also providing all the detail you could want. The beauty is it's there but that's not ALL that's there - so you find yourself getting so lost in the music you might not pay attention to the tiny details these are providing. From breathing nuances to Ray Browns fingers on the stand up bass. They are there! Soundstage is appropriately wide, outside the speakers. On sympathy for the devil by the stones I'd swear the bongo dude is sitting in front of the equipment rack. It's a very full but not in your face presentation. Another area these really excel at in my mind is for home theater. As mains these have brought movies to a whole 'nother level. The amount of bass and detail they provide add awesome punch to things like the Lobby scene in the matrix or the Balrog scene. Awesome performers for this - and not mentioned enough I feel. They bring you into the movie like they bring you into the music. And for concert DVD's and such - I was up until 4:00 AM last weekend listening to Paul Simon, Sting, Sarah, Eagles, James, Peter Gabriel - nearly every one I had. Just couldn't pull myself away.

Similar Products Used: North Creek Borealis, Ellis 1801b, Tyler 7U, Meadowlark Kestrel 2, VMPS RM30, various other ribbon or planer possibilities. System consists of: Lorelei mains Odyssey Stratos Stereo Extreme Philly audio Blues 7b w/nos NE 396a's Sony DVP S7700 transport Scott Nixon Tubedac and power supply Aural Thrills active digital cable Groneberg TS Premium Speaker and IC's Powervar & Oneac power conditioning Various home built power cords Sherwood Newcastle AM9080 for HT Denon 3802 pre pro Panny RP82 DVD SVS sub.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com