Mirage Loudspeakers FRx-Seven Floorstanding Speakers

Mirage Loudspeakers FRx-Seven Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

36inch floorstanding, two 5inch woofer, one ¾ tweeter3 5 Hz - 22 kHz 91dB

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Dec 30, 2007]
bergie67
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very, very clean sound production; surprisingly well supported bass; nice looking; high quality construction.

Weakness:

None really except could benefit from better mid tone production without a center channel speaker. If using with a surround sound, not to worry. If alone, you may wish to pick up the FRX-nine.

I compared these with the old standard type speakers from a time when size and weight didn't matter. They stood up very well, and ironically outperformed the bass response. The old speakers have horn mids and highs and a 12" woofer. The Mirage produced crisp highs and excellent punch on the low end. The old ones outperformed in the mid tones as I suspected since the Mirage are essentially two way speakers; however, since all speaker arrangements now include a center channel speaker, the mids are picked up there. I hated to see the old 80lb speakers go, but the Mirage are very nice to look at, and as part of a 5.1 surround give a much better overall sound than the old ones. If I used these without the compliments of the center channel and subwoofer, it would be a tough decision, but with the subwoofer and center channel, the overall sound is outstanding. Dave Matthews would be proud.

My current configuration uses a JVC 9010VBK 5.1 receiver with the Mirage in front, a JBL Northridge EC35 center channel, JBL E250P subwoofer, and Polk Audio RT25's in the rear. The Fast and Furious racing scene brings a new element to watching movies with this system.

Highly recommended if spending under $1,000 on front speakers in surround system. If you are purchasing for use without surround, go for the FRX-9. Otherwise, don't spend the additional bucks.

Customer Service

Haven't needed it.

Similar Products Used:

JBL Northridge E80

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 14, 2005]
izzkidioto
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Upper range is beautiful, women sound enchanting. Nice lower end.

Weakness:

Needs sub to liven them up, just for the lower end.

These speakers are absolutely fabulous. Lots of headroom with Rotel 870 as well as massive soundstage. Clarity is well defined in upper frequencies and surprisingly low frequency response for a 6.5" driver. Well designed speaker, as Mirage is known for. Small rooms may require some toe in, but that is room acoustics. The spikes do wonders for the lower response.

Similar Products Used:

Counterpoint, ADS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 05, 2003]
amandahifi
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

everything!

Weakness:

for 690.00 cdn,are you kidding!!

tight tuneful bass.clean,clear midrange.exellent highs to 22,000hz.beautiful cherry finish.fit and finish flawless!typical api quality!

Similar Products Used:

paradigm,camber,jbl,realitic.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 02, 2003]
svirac
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent soundstage, very clear and detailed sound. Laid back and smooth. Price.

Weakness:

None that I've found yet.

I purchased this speaker for only $300 from a dealer that had only used them as a floor display model. For the money, these speakers can't be beat. I listened around a lot to speakers in the same price range (Paradigm, B&W, Energy, Klipsch, etc.) and the Mirage consistently stood out due to their smoothness and how laid-back they sounded. The soundstage is just wonderful, and the bass is pretty decent too. Once they were broken in, they sounded just gorgeous. I've had these speakers for a few months now, and they still put a smile on my face. When you put these mains with the OM-C3 center and the Frx-rears, it makes a seamless envelope of sound that is fantastic for all purposes. Add the Adire Audio Rava sub, and wow! what a system For budget entry-level main speakers, these are very hard to beat. Oh, and in response to the reviewer below, of course the $1500 Paradigms are better - they're $1500! Mirage has $1500 speakers also that are much better than the Frx-7's. But for $300, these Mirage's are damn near impossible to beat. My system: Toshiba 50H82 (television) Marantz SR-5200 (receiver) Mirage Frx-7 (mains) Mirage OM-C3 (center) Mirage Frx-rears (rear) Adire Audio Rava (sub)

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm, B&W, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2002]
Cedros898
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price I guess

Weakness:

Quality,sound. READ THE REVIEW !

Please ignore all other reviews and heed my advice.I saw these on sale for $569.00 and after reading all the reviews was almost ready to buy them unheard.Boy ,am I glad I didn't.After listening to them for 30 mins., I asked the salesman to bring me in a close price equivalent of another speaker.He brought in a Paradigm tower which ran $150.00 more.No comparison. The Mirages sounded like pea-soup(tons of clutter) when put against these others.(I AM NOT A PRO-PARADIGM SALESMAN)He then asked me what I was looking for in these speakers and informed him that my highs were taken care of in my wonderful, great value axioms, and I intended on adding a sub soon, so I really needed something that excelled in the mids range. Hello Paradigm Monitor 60's.We hooked these up and my jaw dropped to the floor. Smooooooooth like butter baby ! As well, with a decent amp (not the ones in your receiver), these things kick out beautiful rich bass.I dont think I'll even need a sub. The kicker..... They are $1500 CDN. This is double of what I was planning on. I figured then to go to the next step(just to see) and had him haul in a $4000 pair of JM Labs. Beautiful sound but guess what. Any layman can hear the overwhelming sound differene from the Mirages $569 to the Paradigms $1500 and talk themselves into the paradigms, but the difference when you go above this is so inconsequential, you really have to either be really anal or stinking rich to justify the sound quality difference given the price. I guess there are two morals to my long winded story. 1.Dont believe everything you read (listen for yourself) 2.There is no need to go crazy, but save up until you can afford a decent speaker as opposed to making do with something you really wont be happy with in the long run. Again, I know everyone hears a little different , but I feel all the glowing positive reviews on this speaker are realy unjustified. Maybe they are all from Mirage or just people trying to convince themselves that they made a good decision.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 01, 2002]
Doc Holiday
AudioPhile

Strength:

All around great speaker. Great for music/movies, match the center perfectly, and the bi - wiring is great. Defanitly hok up to at the very least an onkyo receiver and use XP and place correctly to get the best sound.

Weakness:

must be placed just perfect, and have to use bi-wiring and XP cable and be sittin in a god place to get the very best sound, but when you do, its amazing

I have had all sorts of different speakers, and come across many different options but theprice i payed for these was just amazing, i couln't pass them up. Granted there are better sounding speakers out there, I woud have to say that theseare aazing. Mirage is one of the best company's I think, before you start entering the M&K and martin Logan prices over 1000. I have th Frx-c as well and soon to have the fr-x r's for my home theater, I defanitly suggest buying the monster XP cable and bi-wirng it makes a huge difference in quality. Place them correctly and the focal range is very strong, with these speakers its all about the placement.

Similar Products Used:

onkyo, mirage frx-c, altec lancing, panasonic, phillips, monster, amoung other brands

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2000]
Phil
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Smooth, natural highs, good imaging, deep bass.

Weakness:

Vocals were somewhat colored, mid- to upper-bass hump was obvious.

I've had a pair of small Mirage bookshelf speakers since my days in the early 80's as a salesman at Lafayette (then owned by Circuit City). I've always liked them for what they are, a small speaker with smooth sound and hefty bass. So I looked forward to auditioning some of Mirages newer offerings as new mains for my home theater (I'm about 60% film/TV and 40% music). Whichever mains I selected, I also intended to buy the matching center. While these speakers did have the smooth, non-fatiguing highs Mirage is known for, in comparison to similarly priced speakers, the vocals (male and female) seemed a bit colored. It was very notciable in A/B comparisons with the NHTs and the PSBs. This killed these speakers for me. I have a sub, so hefty bass was not a priority. If you have a sub, make sure you can live with the vocal reproduction qualities of these speakers before you take them home. I ended up with the Vandersteens - review to be posted soon.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 603, Energy exl-26, Mission 603, Polk RT-55i, Tannoy M5, NHT Super2, PSB Image 4T, Vandersteen 1C

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 15, 1999]
Anthony Martin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Small size, good bass, warm sound, price

Weakness:

Feet must be screwed on, spikes dig into hardwood floors

I got these after checking out some Infinity RS-5s for about 2 weeks. These FRx7s are some very nice sounding speakers that are very nice looking and unimposing in appearence. They get a full with a good response over the entire frequency range. Unlike the Infinity RS5s, these speakers produce nice bass but are considerable smaller than the Infinity. I also find them somewhat clearer in the midrange. The upper end doesn't seem as bright as the infinity whose tweeters do sound very nice. Also, the Infinity's seemed a little harsh and got muddy in the midrange. The FRx7s produce a warm smooth sound. I felt like the FRx7s are a much better speaker overall since they sound nice by themselves for highs, mids, and bass. You don't need a sub, either. And did I say they are much smaller too? They also seem to generate a big sound without strain.


The down side to these is that you have to screw on the feet. The infinities have their feet attached from the box. Infinity also provides some nylon screw caps that
you can attach to the end of the metal spikes that screw into the feet. This prevents the spikes from damaging your hardwood floors. The Mirage's don't include these caps; so those spikes will dig in no matter what you do. It took me over two hours just to get these in place before I could use them. I finally had to buy some "furniture feet" that I could sit the spikes in to protect my floor. This was a pain in the butt, imo. I think Mirage went cheap on an otherwise outstanding product for its price.

My rating is based on the value of the speakers in producing good sound for a good price. I would give them
1 star for ease of use, however.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity RS-5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2000]
Dave
Casual Listener

Strength:

Play Dave Matthews and you will understand


These speakers are fantastic! For the price, you are getting a top notch speaker perfect for either music or home theatre use. Everyday I am amazed by this unopposing speaker...

Happy Listening!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 24, 2000]
Jay
Audio Enthusiast

I spent a lot of time looking into speakers in the under $1000 price range, and finally settled on Mirage FRX-7s over Paradigm Monitors and Energy eXLs.

First off, I bought these speakers for 50/50-HT/Music. In both cases, I am constantly amazed at the imaging and soundstage produced by these speakers. Beautiful highs and mid-range, fairly strong bass (great considering the price and lack of powered sub in the speakers). They're not power hungry either, as I am driving them with a HK AVR 75.

On the shortcoming side, home theater buffs and bass fanatics might want to consider adding a sub. But I listen to a decent amount of hip-hop and love Bruckheimer movies (i.e. the Rock, Armageddon), and I'm completely satisfied.

If you're considering these speakers, they're definitely worth looking at. I think you'll be pleased.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com