M&K 750THX Floorstanding Speakers

750THX

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
andygood   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2004]
Strength:

Dynamic sound, warranty, build, value.

Weakness:

If you consider this a weakness, plastic binding posts and industrial styling.

If you are reading this review and contemplating a purchase of the LCR 750's, I can wholeheartedly endorse these speakers. More so if you are primarily into home theater, the 750's along with the matching center are really dynamic and detailed. Musically, it is a matter of preference and the maturity of your ear. If this is your first foray into a mid level speaker, the "in your face" sound of the M&Ks may suit you musically. You are really talking about a sealed box designed to work with a sub and a tweeter optimized for home theater, this is not the purchase if you sit home listening to CDs each night. For the money and again, if home theater is your priority, you will be hard pressed to beat these at this price point and probably a couple price brackets above. I recommmend partnering these with the 750 center, you'll enjoy the combination. M&K is the real deal, I had a question and called them, one of their engineers picked up the phone on the first ring and chatted with me for a while, I was impressed. Each speaker has the name of the technician that inspected it on the back and M&K speakers have a transferable 10 year warranty, this really is impressive considering that these are relatively inexpensive speakers. Bottom line, highly recommend for home theater enthusiasts on a reasonable budget who can take the industrial looking boxes and plop them in the room without aesthetic restraints (wife)or have a cool wife and/or a dedicated theater room. Muisc lovers would probably want to trade off a little of the dynamic peaks on the movies for a richer enclosure that resonates a little more bass and more balance to the midrange. Also a cherry wood veneer, gold plated binding posts and fabric grill doesn't kill a professionally decorated family room in the same way as the M&Ks do. Generally, I think 5 stars is thrown around to liberally but in this case, they are an amazing value. Best of luck with you speaker purchase.

Similar Products Used: Boston, B&W, Mirage, Energy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kram   AudioPhile [Apr 12, 2003]
Strength:

Really awesome HT speakers, and if I could afford separate systems I would run, not walk, to buy these. I use one as a center channel and it kicks ass completely. I am going to put a review in the center channel category and give it five stars. crisp presentation which is great for HT - and the lack of bass isn't fatal as a center channel. So it's a lot of speaker for the money in the right application.

Weakness:

I am forced to share a system music+HT. I'm used to very fine main speakers so maybe I'm just jaded, but I don't think so. I think these suck, sound absolutely awful, in two channel. Don't tell me I just need a good sub - I have an ACI Titan = a very musical sub. I would rather sacrifice a little timbre matching in my HT than listen to these things for two-channel music. If you share a music HT system, you will thank me for recommending you look elsewhere. I don't know where - just "somewhere else". Frankly, I think Polk RTs are better than these things at two-channel. If these weren't in the "main speakers" category I would not rate them badly - but someone could come in here looking for a primary pair of two-channel speakers, and he would be steered wrong by recommendations to buy these M&Ks. On top of it all, they're 4 ohm current hogs.

Look, I know everyone wants the stuff they own to have a high rating, and some of you will get mad at this rating, and email me and all that, but.... these things are unlistenable earbleeders for music. Sorry.

Similar Products Used: ACI Jaguar (current), nOrh 6.9 + 4.0, Polk RT5, ESS PS1020 (never should have sold those).
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
annguyen251   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2003]
Strength:

Pleasing sound, strong imaging, superb details, will deliver excellent sound imaging with crispy clear detail at even low volume. Great for Movies, Music, and Karaoke

Weakness:

Needs some time for break-in after purchase. Will take a while to warm up, the longer you listen the more you'll love the sound quality

After brought home the Energy Veritas 2.2 speakers with all Energy Sub,Center,Surround I wasn't satisfied... After brought home the Atlantic Technolgy system 350THX I still do not satisfy with the music and karaoke part. Then it comes the M&K complete system 750THX package, I am completely satisfied. Here's some points I have experienced: Veritas 2.2 main front speakers: - Music: 9+ points ( two channel stereo) - Movies: 8 points - Karaoke: 7+ points - Price: 8 points Veritas 2.2 is great for classical music and single vocal in two channel stereo. For movies, it is acceptable. I experience low ambience, clean, quiete, pleasing soft sound with the details dispersing evenly around the room. I think the 2.2 is suitable for older people... At normal listening range, my yamaha rx-v1 is set at -45db for this speaker setup. Atlantic Technology system 350THX: - Music: 8+ points - Movies: 9+ points - Karaoke: 7+ points - Price: 7+ points This system 350THx is excellent for movies only. The subwoofer is a monster, it will shake the hell out of the trees outside of your house, make sure you secure all items around your house before cranking this thing up. Atlantic Technolgy is unbeatable for home theater application, but you would have to buy a second speaker system for music and other application like karaoke. At normal listening range, my yamaha rx-v1 is ususally set up at -38db for better vocal and bring up the details. Here it comes the M&K 750THX speaker system: - Music: 9 points - Movies: 9 points - Karaoke: 9+ points - Price: 9+ points I strongly recommend the M&K 750THX to all of you who love to listen to music movie and sing karaoke. The 750THX is unbeatable for producing sound imaging, it is second to non! period. The price with this ability is also unbeatable! Talking about the subwoofer v-1250THX that comes with system 750, you will find it pleasing and deep, tight base. This sub will rock and please you with its price. The final word for M&K is filled with full and strong sound imaging. No brands can beat M&K with price and performance.

Similar Products Used: Atlantic Technology system 350THX, Energy Veritas 2.2, Encore, Polk Audio system, Boston Acoustic, JBL...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
caccass   AudioPhile [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

Great performance for not much $$$ Handles lots of power Great midbass Easy setup

Weakness:

A tad bright, but thats all that I have disliked! Can be toned down with good cable and amp selection

These speakers are a great speaker for the price. They are outstanding for movies, and are great for music. My only complaint is that they tend to be a little aggressive on highs, but they have outstanding midbass. They image VERY well with very little setup tweaking. They have a surprising amount of bass even without a sub. I have the M&K stands, and that helps anchor the bass and give deeper response (use the spikes!). They can play very loud and handle lots of power, get a good amp! An absolute bargain for the price! Here is my system (on a budget for now...) Sony STR-DA333ES Amp Sony DVP-S7000 reference DVD Audioquest granite Speaker cables Audioquest Diamondback interconnects Audioquest YIQ1 and VSD1 cables Monster Stage 2 Line Conditioner High Gloss M&K 750thx speakers/stands High Gloss M&K V1250thx Sub

Similar Products Used: Def-tech BP10B, Vienna Bach & Mozart, Sonus Faber Concerto
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 26, 2002]
Strength:

Great clarity.

Weakness:

Just be careful with the amp/receiver you pair them with.

Great speaker system although I upgraded by sub to the 350THX (I like heavy bass) and use another 750 center as my 6th channel. 95% of use is with DVDs and the speakers show great range, separation and clarity. My recommended test is the infamous T-rex debut in Jurassic Park (chapter 9). The scene has it all from whispers in the rain to roars. The speakers do beaufifully. A word of caution however. Be careful with your A/V receiver selection. I am on my second Marantz SR-8200 which initially I loved. But this otherwise excellant receiver chokes at high volumes with these speakers. The Marantz can not handle driving 4 ohm speakers. I have damaged the crossovers on the Right Center and Back 750's where the tweeter no longer responds. I am in the process of getting a separate amp for my right and left which will hopefully lessen the demands on the Marantz and prevent future difficulties. Otherwise, goodbye Marantz. I'd rather keep the M&Ks and get a new receiver than get new speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shukla   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2002]
Strength:

SUB

Weakness:

Need a lot of power. The mismatched Ohm rating forces you to go for a recver that is expensive.

I was an advocate of cheap is the best till i was forced by my friends to listen to these babies at Magnolia Hi Fi. Spent months trying to compromise and get the cheaper M&K stuff but finally gave in. Built the stands myself.(identical to what they have) No regrets yet(except that my neighbours are jealous and troubled by the sub). They are sturdy and sound GREAT! My only thing to now upgrade is the receiver. I use Monster cable and tuned it using the sound and vision DVD.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
tblair   Casual Listener [Jun 10, 2002]
Strength:

off axis tweeters good high end (some call it bright) quality build Protective metal grill Sound, Sound, Sound

Weakness:

expensive in Australia but worth it

Lik everyone else I had friends saying buy M&K, Jamo, B&W, Klispch, Sonus Faber so I decided to audition every one of them. For all round use the M&K rock. I like bright speakers so I dont have a problem with them sounding a little bright. For sound quality they are amazing. The off axis tweeters on the M&K I thought might be a bit dodgy but they really do work. I run these speakers with a Rotel rsx-1065 and this helps a fair bit to allow these speakers to preform to their full potential. I didnt go with the v-1250 but instead went for the vx-100 as I lacked space and I also found it to blend better with these speakers when music is played. For movies I just turn up the db.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Jamo, Sonus Faber, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin Burke   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2000]
Strength:

I bought this system several weeks ago from the only M & K dealer in Arizona...Hi-Fi Sales up in Mesa Az. I got the last of their demo system less the center channel speaker. The center channel is backorder at this time. This system is great...heard it at the store and do not even have it installed within my system yet. Cant wait for that center channel though. I am ready to rock. M & K has done a great job marketing this particular product through ads in all the major home theater mags and the sytem has received at least three rave reviews from those same sources. Apparently
M & K manufacturing capabilities are not up to par with their marketing group and hence they probably have more orders for this product than they know how to handle in terms of manufacturing cycle times and part availability. I would not let this scare you off though. A good thing is worth waiting for. The shortage may after all only apply to
Arizona as there is only one outlet for M & K in thios state.

Weakness:

None so far....none expected

Get em if you can! the sound of music floats on the air
as if you were in the concert hall and the movies boom at you clearly, with lots of great clean BASS when the sript
calls for it.

Similar Products Used: These are my first "real" speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Erik   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

In this price range there is nothing that can compare with this system.Its the best dual system ive heard. Great on dvd'd and music. Great imaging, clarity, the detail was impressive. And they can get real loud for you boomers

Weakness:

Again in the price range none. Thats why it won the product of the year for 2000.

Well after much study and lots of calls and visits to many dealers. I went with the M&K 750's. I mated it with the NADt770 which in itself is the best receiver in it class. I got mine for 1250 out the door. I did upgrade to the 150 watt sub thx its a push pull sub. Why u ask. I dont know. I saw it and said lets upgrade. The other sub is fine. I played Matrix and wow. Talk about explosions and script scenes. The 750's, may i say handled both very well. Better than i expected. And music is par excellente. I looked at paradims, Bostons, atlantics, energys etc these all were in the 2k price tag. Nothing even came close. Check it out for your self. i dont work for M&K im a stock broker. And if you have a room under 2000sq ft. Trust me there is nothing better in the THX select than 750's. Trust me I know. If there was Id buy em.I should be paid for saying this. But im not. Im just very satisfied new owner. And thats a good feeling when you know youve got the best for the price. Even hiher priced systems I saw even couldnt match the 750s on detail and imaging. If $2000 is your budget on speakers get the 750's youll thank me later.


Similar Products Used: u name it ive seen it
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Grey   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

Pure clean highs, smooth powerful lows. Best in its class.

Weakness:

Lack of time to enjoy them. You'll never want to go out again.

I'll keep this review short and sweet, and how sweet these speakers are...

My system:
M&K 750thx Speakers including V-1250thx sub.
Yamaha RX-V795a Reciever
Toshiba SD-1200Y DVD Player
Sony 59cm Trinitron TV
12 Gauge Concorde Cable
Interdyne Sub cable (top of the line)
Banana plugs all round.

These speakers are amazing. The sound is extremely clear and precise. You will hear details and harmonics you never even new existed on your CDs and DVDs. They really are reference speakers.

Like other reviewers I have noticed that the mid-bass region seems to be lacking somewhat. However, I believe this is because we are so used to listening to standard "smile curve" speakers that up the low and high frequencies, thereby distorting what the sound mixers intended but giving a warm feel. Therefore, I don't see the slight percieved dip in lower mid bass as a problem with these speakers.

Unlike some of the other reviewers I believe the subwoofer is great. The sound is much tighter than competing brands and it is more than powerful enough for almost any room (you'd need to be living in an aircraft hanger). The explosions and effects in movies are awesome. Music also sounds great through this sub. If you find your sub is boomy, then try different room locations. (I've found in the front corner of the room pointing into the front wall is the best). If you really do have a lot of money to spend, then by all means upgrade the sub. But don't feel you have to... this unit is awesome.

The 10 year warranty is also nice. It's good to know I've got at least 10 years of enjoyment out of these speakers.

Check out the web site: http://www.mksound.com/.

One-liner: The M&K 750thx system is an excellent home theatre speaker set, and the best in its class.

Similar Products Used: Various Demoed
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com