KEF Q15 Floorstanding Speakers

Q15

User Reviews (58)

Showing 1-10 of 58  
Linas   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2015]

I know I am 12 years late with the review, but still :)
I have bought KEFs Q15.2 after reading the positive reviews about them being excellent for vocals and jazz and non-demanding in terms of room placement. I wanted to replace my Jamos E350 which come from around the same year and cost only about 140 EUR when new thinking KEFs will be a step up. However, I am totally disappointed - the Jamos are clearly better in all aspects, including vocals and Jazz. I've tried the regular recordings as well as audio test CDs - in all cases KEFs are clearly inferior. Even though the specs of KEFs say they reproduce lows from 50 Hz and Jamos - from 55 Hz - the test frequency recordings showed Jamo actually reproduced from 31 Hz. Non-existent bass is the biggest problem for these KEFs. However, the praised mids are not good too. Bi-wiring also did not help. I am disappointed and will keep my Jamos.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2003]
Strength:

Delivers jazz and female vocals well. Strong mid-range. Good Bass for size, (and my system)

Weakness:

Lack Bass punch for some.

I use these speakers for my home audio system, not a home video or surround system as many do. I find these speakers to match well with my system, though I suspect they may not have enough bass for some tastes. My system, (Arcam Alpha 8R and Arcam 8SE CD player), has a decidedly "warm" sound to it and I think this matches well with Q15.2's. A brighter system, however, may not marry well with these speakers. Overall I find that they are spectacular for jazz and classical. Brass instruments and vocals, (particularly female), give me goosebumps. They are very good, though not spectacular, on hard rock tracks - though this may have more to do with the Arcam kit than the speakers. Also, they are front-firing exhaust so you can back them into a bookshelf or up against the wall if necessary.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
BigBird   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2003]
Strength:

Crystal clear

Weakness:

These are not (and never claimed to be) a subwoofer!

This is a review for the Q15.2 and this seams the best place for it. I purchased these for my rear surround in my home theater setup, while I was waiting for a pair of KEF RDM2's to appear on the 2nd hand market (No one seems to want to aprt with them). I've been so impressed with them though, that I've decided that the money I would have been spent on upgrading the rears, is better spent elswhere. In my opinion, these speakers really do come that close to there £700 cousins. So as you may have gathered, I'm a big fan of these beauties! I would agree that they get better in the bass department at volumes, this is to be expected with such a refined speaker.

Similar Products Used: KEF 100C Kef 104.2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iivix   AudioPhile [Oct 29, 2002]
Strength:

Uniquely sharp stereo spread, very warm and lovely top-end, powerful mids, and a very accurate sound overall. If you like acoustic music, these will be perfect. Build quality is generally very good, and they are cheap as chips.

Weakness:

If you do play a lot of dance music, or want to hear things with unnatural bass, then these are probably not the right speakers for you, at least not without a sub-woofer. But don't blame the speakers for that OK?

So I'll like to chip in here regarding a few points about my beloved Q15s. Firstly, it is true that the perceived bass roll-off is quite steep. I've been playing a load of drum'n'bass and it sounds like, well, drum'n'... The sub-bass is just non-existent, at least at low volumes. But, if you give whack the volume up a bit, the bass is certainly there, although it lacks clarity. Apart from really low sub-basses, the rest of the (middy) bass is there with clarity, but it does sound a bit lower in the mix at low volumes than it would on a cheaper midi system. I believe that this is because it's an accurate sound, and not some psycho-acoustically unbalanced sound that adds unnatural bass power at low volumes. The best thing is that these speakers can take a real pounding and not lose any of that lovely sweet top-end and razor sharp stereo spread, so turn the volume up and enjoy. If you want things that have loads of bass at low volumes, use a midi system with the "mega bass" turned on. Secondly, I was unfortunate enough to receive one speaker with a slight defect in the otherwise perfect build quality- the front baffle was coming away about a millimetre at one corner, distorting the sound slightly. KEF repaired the defect within a week, all free of charge (including delivery).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ton   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 25, 2002]
Strength:

mid/high tones

Weakness:

bass (small box, small bass)

The best thing about these Q15.2's is their size and the fact that it doesn't matter where you place them. Even against a wall they sound beautiful. Even an old amp like my NAD 3020 sounds makes them sing. One big must: bi-wire them. It matters alot. If you don't want to spend the money on extra cable, then remove the brass bridge on the back and replace it with propper cable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William B   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 07, 2002]
Strength:

Clarity, bass, coherence and speed.

Weakness:

eh?, NONE!

KEF have a reputation for making some decent speakers so when I wanted a small pair of speakers for my TEAC Ref 500 system - which was to be used as the 2nd system, I auditioned the ELAC, Polk, Mission and Tannoy 'bookshelf' speakers. The KEF sounded much cleaner compared to the others. Best used with good solid stands like Atacama SE24. Bi-wire is a definite MUST and do buy decent cables. Do all of the above and be prepared to be surprised. The TEAC/KEF combo worked for me and my musical taste us truly broad - Classical, Jazz (Vocals & Instruments), Pop/Dance, Rock, Reggae, Hip Hop/Rap, R'n'B etc etc etc. My main system is a Wadia 861, Pass Labs X600 mono (pair), Wilson Benesch ACT 1 and Nordost SPM cables. The KEF Q15.2 speakers do have enough low-end grunt for what they are - others compalining might be referring to the Q15, i.e. the older model speakers. Anyway the KEF Q15.2 are absolute bargains - I hope KEF are making profits at those 'LOW' prices.

Similar Products Used: Polk, ELAC, Mission, Tannoy bookshlf speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Teekster   AudioPhile [May 22, 2002]
Strength:

price, overall sound, imaging

Weakness:

bass

I bought these for rears in my theater, but brought them into my office after upgrading to RDM-1s for rear speakers. These are currently paired with a Denon 1802 receiver. Although there is a slight lack of refinement evident in the RDM-1s, these speakers are an incredible value for the money. As far as the bass issues, I have paired them with a sub and it really isn't an issue. These do not have the bass extension of a floor standing speaker, but no one should expect them to at this size and price.

Similar Products Used: Kef RDM-1, Kef C25, Kef c35, Klipsh 1.1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2002]
Strength:

Crisp, detailed sound.

Weakness:

Sometimes sound a little brassy. Sound like a smaller speaker. Imaging not as good as my old Bose 201s.

This is a review of the Q15.2 variant. I bought these speakers to replace some Bose 201s as my front pair. I''ve had my 201s for about 10 years and at $130 for the pair, they''ve given me great bang for the buck. The clarity of the Q15.2s is a marked improvement over the 201s. In listening to CDs I''ve heard many times, certain "background" instruments seem to stand out more and make the music fuller and more intricate. Human voice reproduction is fabulous! These speakers really shine at acoustic music with fewer instruments -- jazz, classical guitar, piano, voice. As more instruments or electric ones are introduced (full orchestra, busy rock, large choir) the speakers start sounding like smaller speakers. While the imaging of the Q15.2s is good, the superior imaging of the "direct/reflecting" Bose 201s helps them sound bigger than they really are. The 201s sound warmer/softer than the Kefs and compare fairly well to the Kefs in the areas where the Kefs are weaker. In summary, these Kef Q15.2s are superior in most areas to my Bose 201s, but at double the price are fairly expensive for the upgrade.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
KnightOfLore   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2002]
Strength:

Accoustic music, reserved but still detailed treble, tight midrange

Weakness:

Lacks involving bass

If you are looking for a near-field monitor for a smaller room, then these are a very good choice. I would have to defend these speakers against complaints about their lack of bass by saying it''s a worthy sacrifice to maintain it''s superbly coherent midrange. The tweeter is very intricate and reserved, and I find the coincident design does a good job of keeping sound even throughout the room. I use them for computer speakers and their handsome cabinets are the highlite of my desktop. I''ve coupled them with an 8" Velodyne and though with high volumes the sub can''t keep up, at lower volumes they complement each other nicely.

Similar Products Used: Monitor Audio Bronze 2, Kef Cresta 2, Cerwin Vega E-Series bookshelf
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2000]
Strength:

Great highs and mid-range

Weakness:

Deep bass not there, that's why god invented sub-woofers!

I'LL TRY TO KEEP THIS SHORT STORY LONG, I MEAN THIS LONG STORY SHORT.
I'M A SELF PROFESSED AUDIO ENTHUSIAST AND WEEKEND MUSICIAN, DRUMS. ONE OF MY PASSIONS IS LISTENING TO GOOD MUSIC. BUT, BETWEEN MARRIAGE, KIDS, DOGS, HORSES ECT. MY STEREO SYSTEM HAS BEEN LACKING. AS I HAVE MATURED, GOT OLD, MY MUSIC INTERESTS HAVE MELLOWED. I STILL LOVE HEARING "BONZO" TEARING IT UP NOW AND AGAIN BUT MY MAIN INTERESTS ARE SOFT ROCK AND JAZZ.
WHEN I GOT MY INCOME TAX BACK I CONVINCED MY WIFE IN SOME HOME IMPROVEMENTS, NAMELY A NEW STEREO SYSTEM. I WAS'NT INTERESTED IN HOME THEATER. SHE, AMAZINGLY, AGREED THAT IT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA. I WENT SHOPPING.
TO CUT TO THE CHASE I PURCHASED A NAKAMICHI RE-10 RECEIVER AND A DENON DCM-370 CD CHANGER. I MATED THESE WITH MY EXSISTING SPEAKERS, KLIPSCH 3.1 AND A JBL PSW-1000 SUB. WHAT AN IMPROVEMENT. I'M EMBARRASSED TO SAY WHAT MY OLD SYSTEM WAS. THEY BECAME TARGETS!
A RELATIVE OF MINE WHO DOSE HOME THEATER TOLD ME HE COULD GET ME A PAIR OF KEF Q-15'S FOR A GOOD PRICE. HE PRAISED THEM HIGHLY AND I RESPECT HIS OPINION.
I CAN'T TELL HOW MUCH I LOVE THESE LITTLE SPEAKERS. THE HIGHS ARE CLEAR AND CRISP AND THE MID-RANGE SNAPPY AND OPEN. MATCHED WITH MY OLD SUB, THEY SOUND INCREADIBLE. MY LISTENING ENJOYMENT HAS INCREASED TEN FOLD. THERE ARE PROBABLY BETTER SPEAKERS OUT THERE, BUT FOR THE MONEY THESE KEFS WOULD B HARD TO BEAT!

Similar Products Used: Klipsch 3.1, Paradigm, Bostons, PSB, ect.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com