Jamo Classic 8 Floorstanding Speakers

Jamo Classic 8 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

speakers standfloor

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 26  
[Aug 04, 2017]
Sebastian Behrle
Audio Enthusiast

Bought a set of these fine speakers 18 years ago, and I have been happy for them ever since.
Even though they have 'lived' in a humid and dusty tropical environment for a number of years, they are working just perfect, despite problems with mould there.
Especially since I recently threw my old Sony STR-DE425 out and replaced it by an Onkyo TX-NR626, i can't get my arms down for the set's excellent sound - crispy, round with a powerful, yet not over-emphasised bass.
As my amplifier supports a second zone, I am about to buy a second set second hand for our large kitchen for a hundred bucks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 04, 2016]
Ronnie
Casual Listener

It looks like all the reviews came from the same person: "A" audio enthusiast

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 17, 2015]
mike murdoch
Audio Enthusiast

well I bought these classic 8`s about 6 weeks ago for £20 hooked up to a technics su x933 stereo amp and van damme blue 6mm cable. they are superb great bass have to turn bass down on amp great mids and excellent treble. I find they are good for all types of music from orchestral to reggae, blues, jazz, rock, heavy metal ,ska even got the tv and dvd hooked up to them and unlike some people have said the drums don't disappear, and the higher the volume the better they perform the sound appears not to come from the speakers but from all round. If you get get a chance to get a pair buy them they wont disappoint nothing wooly about these babies. best £20 ive spent for a while

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 08, 2015]
carl
Audio Enthusiast

These jamo classic 8s are awesome. It took me 5 years and £600 to finally get a set. They are now reluctantly up for sale if any one interested. £350.

Happydayz79@hotmail.co.uk

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2014]
Arthur
AudioPhile

These speakers are really amazing! Novadays very difficult to find in great condition. Sounds like 2000euro spekers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 03, 2013]
Paul
AudioPhile

These are Really amazing speakers. I do really fell privilledged having them. Would not sell them even for 2000euros.

Looking for Jamo classic 10 If anyone has them don hessitate to inform me. Really vant to buy them!



OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 15, 2012]
Nick
Audio Enthusiast

My opinion for jamo classic 8,there are great speakers I got my first one when I was 16 years old kid didn't know much about it they seems good in stereo mode now I have 4 of them plus 4 jamo classic 4 and jamo centre 200 plus jamo 650 for sub driven by pioneer susano signal come from pioneer lx91 DVD and believe my the sound is brill,so just to lett you know I have use jamo classic for over 15 years and they never let me down very good dynamic sound the only difficult part is to set it up use it only bi wire with good cables at list 12£ per meter with good air loc banana plugs.
The only speakers I will consider is Jamo classic 10 very hard to buy this days so if anybody wants to sell pls let me know / nikaileen@yahoo.co.uk

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2011]
sergep
Audio Enthusiast

In comparison with Dali 505 I found that this speaker are to loud.
I have used the Jamo classic 8 for 12 years now and thought this are very good speakers
This speaker are very difficult to setup. When you change to other inputs you can setup everything again.
the mids and the bass sounds to hard on my Harman Kardon AV30. My opinion is that this speakers performs better on older 2 channel amplifiers from Yamaha or NAD

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 10, 2009]
Luka
AudioPhile

These are very capable speakers... If you know how to treat them!
Problem is they do not cost much, so people who are not real audiophiles are buying them and expect to play well just by pressing Play!
Well, if you buy ten times more expensive speakers, you still need to treat acoustically your room, position speakers carefully, choose your CD, AMP and cables...
These speakers do have very large bass! And rear bass port, so it takes some time to position them correctly!
With B&W speakers you do get the plugs for bass ports, so they, no meter how expensive, have the same issue - big bass! So, it is certainly not a problem, just - this speakers are not for someone who does not know how to use quality Hi-Fi equipment.
So, read manual that you've got with them! That should be enough to learn how to position them. Maybe you could even make the foam plugs for bass ports, kind a B&W delivers with their speakers. It is not that this plug will solve a problem if you room is too small for this speaker, or it is of too strange shape, but it could help to tune the lowest frequencies a little bit down, to dampen and firm up the lowest of bass.

Sound... Well, I owned many brands, and for 12 years now - I am still listening to these ones! Many of my friends also have large speakers, and I still heaven't heard a better speakers below 3000$ than these!
Jamos have fine tweeters, silk-soft dome ones, they are very soft - natural. Most today speakers have metal tweeters and struggle to sound not too bright. Only from 3000$ up you can buy speakers with metal tweeter that sound natural... Maybe Monitor Audio Gold tweeters can do just fine below that price.
And those bass drivers are a real treat - technically, acoustically and esthetically! Mid range may be not too suitable for high pitch sounds, maybe it looses some clarity on transients, but is still the best you'll get up to 3000$!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2006]
romeo
AudioPhile

Strength:

Loud.

Weakness:

No bass. Small frequncy range. Cold sound.

I've boutght them for home cinema use (rear speakers). For this purpose they are good. But compeared to my Boston acoustics front speakers the have no bass and too strong middle and high. Jamo's are very loud but not as precise as the Boston. I will sell them and replace with Boston. Listen to Boston VR3 and you will discover why.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com