Jamo 7.7 Floorstanding Speakers

7.7

Main Speakers

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
joe hurrell   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2009]

I have had my Jamo D590's for around 6 years now and actually was working in a local Sony centre at the time we sold Jamo products. One of our Jamo reps was an enthusiast and had mentioned how well he rated them so both myself and a collegue bought a pair each mine are the black ash and his were a cherry wood. Over the years i have moved them about in different propertys and have always been impressed with there performance. Its interesting reading what other owners think about them particulary the comment about using the top connectors rather than the lowers, this does seem to help.

They do need room to breath i have them posistioned about 10" from the wall and stood in the alcove either side of our fire place this provides stunning sound and they look great with there black piano gloss tops!

I find there abilty through the range very good and they can deliver a great sound for all music types, there mid range is excellent and being a floor stander is delivered effortlessly at the right level. I am considering selling so if anyone is searching for a pair i would be happy to talk with you they are immaculate, and i would like in the region of £285 for them. 07766 102059 Joe.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Deeter   AudioPhile [Sep 13, 2008]
Strength:

Build quality is fantastic. Cabinets are very nice looking and costruction is amongst the best I haver ever encountered. Anyone walking into the room will stop and "check them out"! Great detail! If it's in the recording you WILL hear it.
Deep bass and clean highs. Vocals are natural. Danish design! Good sound stage.

Weakness:

Speaker is in your face! Some may find it to forward. Mids could need to be tamed in some set up's. Bass at times seems to run on it's own sheet of music, Movies are done VERY well and you may not eeven need a subwoofer.

This review is for anyone looking to buy these on the used market.
The 7.7 is a 4 ohm speaker, it will require an amp/receiver that can handle this very heavy load. These speakers are sensative enough, however dynamic peaks in music or movies will test an underpowered amp. The sound of the Jamo 7.7 's are front and forward. They highs produced are clean with no sizzle, the mids are in your face! Vocals are clean and natural however the bass is somewhat detached from the rest of the speaker. The bass is deep and powerfull, proper placement is critical to keep the speaker from being "boomy". The distance from the wall behind the speakers should be maximized to prevent this. When place properly the speaker produces a tighter punchy bass that is very accurate. Many listeners may find the overall listening experiance to be unlike the sound they are used to from mass produced speakers. That is because Jamo has built these to be very flat and natural not unlike what you may find from B&W and KEF or even a vintage pair of Klipsch. Jamo's approach to bass responce is closer to the Klipsch. The 7.7 is not a speaker for the masses, it's sound is distinct and it's attention to detail is outstanding. The detail is a double edge sword, bad rcordings sound very bad and good recordings are very good! Very good! One reviewer noted that burn in time or continued use made the speakers perform better, he is correct but I might offer that getting used to the speakers (as they are very different than what most people are acustomed to) may have more to do with it. The 7.7 is an audiophile grade product as well as a good value.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: B&W,Kef, Jamo, JBL, Klipsch,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Maher   AudioPhile [Nov 02, 2007]
Strength:

Drive. Detail. Low coloration and internal resonance.

Weakness:

Needs space to breathe. Not suitable for small rooms. Requiers a good strong amp.

Bought these speakers to match up to my NAD T753 receiver. I had listened to them at the shop with a stereo Onkyo amp and they sounded sweet and extended in the bass. At home I was quite disappointed by the sound. It was dull and harsh. Bass was boomy yet dry. There was also a hole in the upper bass/lower mids.

I gave the speakers almost a month to berak in and the sound improvement somewhat. They are very sesitive to positioning and need a good amount of space from the rear wall to minimize bass boom. Soundstaging however was always great.

I purchased a Naim CD5i and it did smoothen out the sound a good bit. Several months later I bought a Nait 5i amplifier from Naim and was disappointed in the sound I heard compared to the dealer's. Somebody suggested that I connect my amp to the upper terminals on the back of the speakers as apposed to the lower ones. I did that and the improvement in sound was phenomenal. The sound became "right". All boom was gone. Sweetness was restored to the mids. Harshness removed from the trebble. Soundstaging became 3 dimensional and the total sound became coherent.

As the manual illustrates connection to the lower terminals I thought pepole should know about this. All in all these are good speakers that match u well against the competition. They are very musical but need a capable amp that can handle the low impedence of 4 ohms./

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Flame   AudioPhile [Sep 12, 2007]
Strength:

Smooth mids. Detailed vocal presentation. Great finish and build quality/

Weakness:

Need of long run in. Need of accurate placement far away from walls. They are very demanding speakers that require a very powerful amp that is stable driving low impedence speakers.

I had auditioned speakers from Bose, Yamaha, Castle and pioneer before giving the Jamo's a go. At the dealer the source was an onkyo cd player and the speakers were driven by an onkyo integrated stereo amplifier. The sound really impressed me. I was about to buy the Jamo E7 5.1 speaker set before listening to the D590's which were on special discount. What really caught my attention was the extension of the bass and the sweetness of the middles. The speakers definetely sounded warm; which is the sound I was after.

At home my setup at the time was a sony universal dvd player and amplification was provided via NAD T753 AV receiver. I was dissapointed. First, the speakers are very fussy regarding placement as they need good clearance from the walls to prevent the bass from sounding boomy. a few degrees of inclination are also needed to tame the trebble as well. Second; they require forever to be run in. The sound was initially very very harsh and lacking extension in the lower register. Upgrading to Chord carnival silver speaker cables and Chord Cobra 3 interconnects improved the sound quite a bit.

Now that I have owned the speakers for a year I find that they perform rather well with soft music and vocals. However, when it comes to layered and thick musical pieces the soundstage and detail falls apart. The speakers seem to be a bit two dimensional for my taste but addind a REL Strata 5 subwoofer did improve that aspect.

The serious issue to consider before you buy these speaker - I think - is the quality of your amplifier. The NAD T753 is a whimp when operating the D590's. These are power hungry speakers (200W 4 Ohms) and my AV receiver struggles with them producing a sound that is somewhat thin and lacking involvement.

My next upgrade will be a Naim NAC 122X through a NAP 150x to match my Naim CD5i CD player. I hope that the higher quality pre/power amplifier combo will bring back the life to these speakers just like I heard them at the dealer. I am still convinced that these are very good speakers with exceptional build quality but require very carefull system matching and attention to placement. If you like them try to arrange a home demo before you buy to ensure that you will be a satisfied customer.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Raff   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2006]
Strength:

VERY clear and punchy midrange, solid deep bass, smooth treble, handles lots of power and makes lots of SPL as a result. Great looking with a good WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor), love the glass top. Very well built and look classy too.

Weakness:

Will show up any inferior components connected to them, and any poor recordings played through them. They are that clear.

I wanted to purchase some great sounding speakers for under $4000 Au. i must have auditioned 30 maybe 40 sets, and wasnt overly impressed with many at all, despite huge price differeces. I liked the Polk florr standing speakers, and the Energy 5.1 set. I LOVED the huge JBL's I heard, they were shaped like a pyramid, and sounded great, but at $10,000 Au they would want to! Dissapointed I was about to give up and save more money, then I heard the Jamo 7.7's, wow! The had that 'X' factor I'd been searching for, a punchy midrange, so that a hard snare hit hist you in the chest, and beautifully clear mid, with solid deep and certainly not 'one note' or sloppy bass. I bought a set on the spot. When i hoooked them up at home, I was more than a little dissapointed, where's the bass, and the treble was bright and harsh. After much mucking about I found the answer, rather by accident. I tidied up all the loose audio leads at the back of my entertainment unit, and shorted the rather long speaker cabling. I used that HUGE 'oxygen free copper' speaker cabling, yes it does make a difference! that was it, the sound I heard on review was there. These speakers are so clear in the midrange, you must ensure that the rest of your gear is up to the chalenge. You will hear EVERY fault in your gear and recordings that you play. Excellent Speakers. I would like to hear from anyone who has experimented with the positioning of these speakers, as the handbook says nothing about that, and it does make a difference all right.

Customer Service

Havent had to bother with Jamo themselves, but Clive Anthony's were great. I purchased an optional 5 year warranty as well, but havent used it, they are now JUST out of warranty.

Similar Products Used: RTR, Auditioned JBL, Polk, Energy, Boston Accoustics, B and W, KEF, Infinity (what happened here, they sounded like rubbish), various other well known brands, the Jamo's beat them all, especially at the price.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
danhauole   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 17, 2004]
Strength:

Excellent midrange Good and deep bass And the speakers are very beautiful.

Weakness:

A little high pitched tweeter

I´ve had these speakers for about a year now (Jamo D590 former 7.7). And I must say I´m very pleased with them. I´ve paid only 50% of the reference price and I havent met any worthy competitors at this price level. These speakers have incredibly clarity. Especially vocal, drums and percussion instrument are very good played in these speakers. They also have a very deep and powerful bass. The commercials for these speakers says that these speakers are excellent for jazz and classical music and they is. But I also think that they are great with rock and many others genres... But I don´t think they are very good to play techno on.. because its bass capability almost is to detailed to this type of music. I Use these speakers along with a Denon POA-2800 Poweramplifier and a Denon DAP-2500A Preamplifier and a Denon DCD1450AR CD Player. I think those components works very well together, because the CD-Player has a sligthy dark sound and the speakers have a slighty brigth sound. The Power amp has avery neutral sound.

Similar Products Used: System Audio Eltax
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
buddy   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2003]
Strength:

all

Weakness:

run-in

very good sound ,goog looking the bass!

Similar Products Used: b&w 604
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NotQytRyt   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2002]
Strength:

all around, one of the clearest and widest range towers you can get.

Weakness:

maybe its because i have listened to my AR's for so long.. but It sounds like the mids on the 7.7's were slightly diminished

I have auditioned this speaker system and used my 30 days satisfaction clause to send them back... I feel sorry for those who spent over 1200 for these. They do sound great... but require a lot a juice.. By far this has the clearest and deepest bass of any floorstander ive heard. but thats as far as it goes.. I think the other reviewers had either a limited choice in speakers or bought it because of the jamo name. as good as they are I cant justify paying 1200 or more for these. at $800 they are great ... unfortunately i have AR-S50s and Warfedale EM-97s. that are equal and maybe even a bit more superior in the midrange. I have a sub so the extra bas the 7.7s provide wasnt going to sway me.

Similar Products Used: AR-S50 Wharedale EM97 MkII Bose 901(crap)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
cartman_runnberga   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2002]
Strength:

The whole speaker.

Weakness:

With Knopfler cd, it's sometimes sounds like a can. Mysterious¿ It's just with the knopfler cd, not with another male voices.

When You say Jamo, folks will immideatly say Ohh, those who makes those handsome speakers. Jamo started back in the 60'ties. More accurate, 1968. Jamo is founded by Preben Jacobsen and his brother-in-law, Julius Mortensen. 1992, Jamo is the first loudspeaker manufacturer in the world to be ISO 9001 certified. Now to the D590. The first thing You meet is the clear, gently and airly tweeter blended with the cleary and rich midrange followed by the strong, controlled and smoothly bass. The resulusion of the atmosphere (soundstage,image..) is open, deep, wide and well placed. I use Loreena McKennitt, Mark Knopfler as reference Cd's. There is more of course, but You always have some favourites :O) These speakers is over meduimclass to nearly High End!

Similar Products Used: Jamo Classic 8, Infinity Alpha 50, Audio Pro Blue Diamond and little more. Can't remeber the names of the fabric brands.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marantz   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2002]
Strength:

Crisp natural detail, controlled bass and wide dynamics.

Weakness:

Haven''t had enough time to break them in yet!!!

I picked up a pair of these speakers after auditioning many other floorstanders including Polk''s, Castle, Linn and Tannoy. For the money the Jamo 7.7 can''t be beat with incredible detail for music and films. A top class act that looks the part as well with a glass top. Try and get a pair of the 7.7''s as they are now known as the D590 and are exactly the same speaker. ou won''t be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Reference Series, Castle Stirling, Polk Audio, Tannoy Saturn
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com