Infinity Systems RS3 Floorstanding Speakers

RS3

User Reviews (65)

Showing 1-10 of 65  
fivestrings   AudioPhile [Nov 10, 2011]

I just got a pair of RS#'s for $35 and can't believe this pawn shop has crap for top dollar and these badass mofo's for the price I paid!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shep Gordon   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2010]

Dollar for dollar, these are the best speakers I have ever owned. Great high end, superb bass. Quality speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
R   AudioPhile [Mar 24, 2009]

Price paid: 499.99 from Circuit City, circa 1995

I too went to my local Circuit City with Bose in mind. I too decided to listen to all of the similar bookshelf loudspeakers and was stopped in my tracks when I heard the RS3. They have super accurate response and sensitivity; as well as superior sound. While these are not the last word in audio, they still out-perform most of the high end consumer bookshelf loudspeakers of today.

These speakers drop out around 50-60 Hz on a flat EQ, in a medium to large room; and a JBL Venue 10 will pad the RS3 quite nicely. However, low end response is clean and clear and sound beautiful on their own. The high end response is superior; 22+ kHz are warm and true and not anything like the cold, sharp response of newer tweeters. These have a 1" silk dome tweeter that will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. Woofers are 5 1/4" but sound like 8"s in their tuned enclosures, poly-cone and silicone surrounds are tough and true. FANTASTIC SPEAKERS!

Again, I paid $500 for my matched pair, if you need awesome speakers, consider the RS3...they're much cheaper now!

Strengths: Size, Fidelity, Optimum Wattage for most Tuner-Amps (15-125W)

Weaknesses: None, mine are still in perfect condition.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
FF   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Size, clarity

Weakness:

For the price, none other than the repair work needed.

I went into Circuit City to buy the Bose direct-reflecting bookshelf speakers. I figured I'd listen to others, just for the hell of it. The Bose really sucked compared to these. It seems like the Bose were made much cheaper, paper cones, etc. The RS3s were head & shoulders above them. These really have have nice clean bass for the size. The highs are very clear. I had to take one of them back for warrranty work twice. The woofer stopped working completely, 2 times within the 1st year. Circuit City allows you to drop them off at the store for service, so it was really not a big deal except the week without the speaker. I have used them for over 2 years since, no more problems. Still going strong. I use them as the front speakers in my home theater and for music in stereo. You will probably want to add a sub to use these as main stereo speakers, but they are adequate without. A Sub will make them sound excellent. I don't know if I just just got a faulty speaker or the quality is questionable. The Infinity sound is great enough that I'd try them again next time around. I bought these when they first came out, they are much cheaper online now.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Floorstanding. Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Ryan b   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Mid-range and high range sound quality, simple desighn yet very effective with sound.

Weakness:

Cheesy looking grill

I just hooked these up to my new HK AVR300 and am very impressed. I was debating on wether or not to upgrade my speakers when I had first purchased the rec. but have decided against it now.

These speakers are very responsive through the full range of sound and the one inch tweeter coupled with the six and a half inch woofer brings all of my favorite guitar music right into the living room with me.

I will probably make these the rear surrounds in my system as I upgrade. Or I may use Rs3s on all four corners.

Similar Products Used: Polk rt35,25
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tony mumolo   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2000]
Strength:

crisp detailed sound

Weakness:

none for it's size

i want to go on record here, as one person who happens to love the style, look and design of the grill and front configuration on the RS3. i find it aesthetically pleasing, stylish and even elegant. that aside, i just upgraded from the RS2 to the RS3 for Mains in my HT system. i thought the RS2's were very good, but i must say that the RS3's are even better. the highs and mids have more clarity and authority and there is definitely stronger base response but this would be expected since the RS3 is rated down to 40hz as opposed to 50hz for the RS2. all in all, a very strong performer for a speaker this size. i would say it's as good or better than anything else in it's class that i have heard.

Similar Products Used: kenwood, advent, infinity, polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shawn Siref   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2000]
Strength:

Great mids and highs, nice design. Good for use as mains, center, or rears.

Weakness:

Distortion at high volume levels especially with bass

I purchased these fine speakers a couple of weeks ago, and I am very pleased. The RS3s are great for use with Dolby Digital soundtracks and with music. I was debating for a while whether to buy the RS3s or the floorstanding RS5s. Buying the RS5s would result in better bass from the left and right channels, however the RS3s result in better dynamic range and better mid and high frequencies. I went with the RS3s since I already have the BU-120 sub for bass. I have noticed in some instances where the sound breaks up or sounds distorted especially in scenes that have a lot of bass reserved for the left and right channels. "Lost in Space" DVD, the opening space battle, most of the explosions take place in the left and right channels, and if volume is turned up too high, distortion is very apparent. I will most likely buy floor standing speakers for use with the left and right mains, and move the RS3s to the surround channels later down the line. All in all the RS3s perform very well and are a definite improvement to older bookshelf speakers from inferior brands such as sony or aiwa. I recommend mainly for use as surrounds but are suitable for mains as well.

Similar Products Used: Sony Bookshelf speakers, Aiwa satellite speakers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Toby Flanigan   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 23, 1999]

I purchase these form Netmarket for $199 for the pair, very pleased with the price. Circuit City is still running adds selling these on sale for $179 each. The sound is great. Very crisp, clean sound. They work well in a home theater and also for music. I have these matched with RS1 for surround, CC1 center, and BU2 sub, connected to a Harmon Kardon AVR35 receiver. I am very happy with all of the Infinity speakers. I bought all of these products from netmarket.com for $1100, if I bought all of these from Circuit City using this weeks flyer, I would have paid $1870, I saved $770. I believe this is a great system for $1100 (although I also added a Toshiba DVD and that puts a home theater system over the edge!)
Overall I would recommend these speakers highly, especially for the price. I woiuld rate them a perfect 5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Shawn Siref   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 30, 2000]
Strength:

Great Sound

Weakness:

Have to turn volume up to reasonably high levels to hear pleasing "movie theater" sound.

I am ammending my earlier review based on a couple of tweaking that I didn't even think of doing because I thought I already did it. I reviewed these speakers a little while ago commenting on the fact that they distort at high volumes when bassy scenes occur on a Dolby Digital DVD. Well, like I said I thought I did this already, but I apparently had my receiver set to "Subwoofer Off", which means that the bass was being redirected to the RS-3s instead of the subwoofer, BU-120. I thought I set my receiver to "Subwoofer On" since I was always hearing bass on my DVDs, but not in the left and right channels. I thought that you had to have tower speakers that could handle the bass frequencies from the left and right channels to hear bass sounds from the left and right speakers, otherwise you would hear distortion if you were using small bookshelf speakers. Anyway, now that I have my receiver properly set up, I am going to give this a 5 star rating. Although you do have to turn the volume up a bit to hear good quality sound. On my Aiwa AV-DV75 Dolby Digital receiver, that's just a couple of notches below the point where the volume indicator starts to flash letting you know that it's above the recommended volume where you hear distortion. But, oh well, I guess I got to get a better receiver.

Similar Products Used: Sony Bookshelf Speakers, Aiwa Satellite speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cloud   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2001]
Strength:

Everything that has the meaning of greatness and awesome.

Weakness:

Not at all.

This is a master piece of work. Nice look and great sound. With this price range ($450 suggest retail price), no any speakers come close.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 65  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com