Infinity Systems Primus 360 Floorstanding Speakers

Primus 360

  • video-shielded
  • 3-way, bass-reflex design
  • frequency response 38-22,000 Hz (ñ3dB)
  • 8-ohm impedance
  • sensitivity 93 dB
  • handles up to 200 watts
  • black wood grain vinyl finish
  • 5-way binding posts
  • 8-1/4"W x 39"H x 13"D

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
cone   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2014]

Superbly engineered, musical, and very balanced.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thunderbird33709   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2010]

I am really impressed with these speakers, i dont think theres is anything better at their price point, this is alot of speaker for the $700 a pair price, they have lots of bass when properly placed in corners, and creamy mids and tingly highs, very solid cabinets too the have good inernal bracing, wich eliminated resonance, these are well made by infinity---"keep up the good work guy's", if you can find a pair--get them--you'll be glad you did, and the are really inexpensive when used--a very good value!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bushee   AudioPhile [Mar 27, 2008]
Strength:

PRICE, Dynamics, bass slam, smoothness, efficiency,voice realism, PRICE. at $380, these are a STEAL!!!

Weakness:

The cheap stock feet. Replace them floor spikes.

These are amazing speakers. I had read a lot of reviews on various sites and Stereophile, and I was skeptical. I've had a lot of different and great speakers over the years such as Quad and B&W. I even bit the bullet and bought the famed $1650 Spendor S5e. However, these speakers gave me everything I was looking for and they are the ones that stayed in place. You simply can't beat these for the price. They have a BIG sound, great bass, but i'd say that they are somewhat refined and smooth as well. Excellent. ONE NOTE: the stock feet on this unit are cheap and flimsy, the one drawback to these speakers but easily remedied. Replacing the feet with floor spikes improves the clarity, dynamics, and tightens up the bass. The spikes only cost a few bucks, are easy to put on, and are a nice upgrade!

Similar Products Used: Quad, Spendor, B&W, Acoustic Energy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bswarts   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2008]
Strength:

Black ash with silver woofers - they look great!
Fairly lightweight at 48.5 pounds
Good base response if positioned correctly
Cheap
Room filling sound
Infinity quality, nuff said.

Weakness:

Not quite as rich as some of the more expensive Infinity speakers

Wonderful tower speakers from Infinity. They give you big, realistic sound without emptying your wallet. I have pushed these speakers hard and they have stood up to every test without complaint. I am using these currently as the front left and right channel for a 5.1 system paired with a pioneer middle speaker, Infinity SS2002 surrounds and an Infinity PS12 subwoofer. They perform very well at all listening levels, whether listening to music, or watching a movie. Great pair of speakers at a great price, good clarity sound!

Similar Products Used: JBL tower speakers, pioneer surround system, Infinity Interlude tower speakers, Realistic brand (40 yr old tower speakers)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hortiholic   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2007]
Strength:

Beautiful flowing relaxed sound that goes deep

Weakness:

Undistinguished appearance and treble range

My last speakers -- Paradigm Esprit V3s -- were a model of clarity and precision. My biggest argument with them, and with my previous system in general (including an NAD 321BEE cd player and a Marantz receiver), was that they were too bright and unmusical. I heard the all the notes, but the sound was sometimes too biting and analytical. So this time my system comprises a Jolida 1301 hybrid tube/solid state integrated amp, a Monica2 digital to analog converter (with an Onkyo DX-C390 as transport), and the Primus 360 speakers, the latter of which I got on a fantastic deal ($300 for the pair, shipped). The speakers are very sensitive, which means they mate very well with the relatively low power (30W) of the Jolida amp and the low output (.8 amps) of the Monica2. And the sound this system produces is very much to my liking. Rather than the edgy overcharged sound of my last system and most digital systems that I have heard, it puts forth a sonic image that is lucid and relaxed yet clear and precise at the same time. In other words, it is VERY musical and lifelike. The sound isn't perfect -- the treble is not as sweet and refined as I've heard from the likes of B&W Nautilus, and the "bump" in the upper bass occasionally causes instruments (such as a bassoon) to assume unintended prominence. But I would not characterize the tweeters as "horrendous" as the previous reviewer does. Not even close. I am at this moment listening to the Emanual Ax recording of the Haydn piano concertos, and am hearing a very accurate and not at all grating treble, which very much captures the essence of the piano's upper octaves, along with the far different character of the upper strings in support. The treble and midrange did take quite a while to break in and mellow out -- perhaps because of the metallic alloy coating of the speaker's drivers. But now that they're broken in these speakers produce beautiful music across the whole spectrum. If they were paired with more "digital-sounding" components, or if they were not well broken in, they would of course sound less precise and more harsh. Mated with my more laid-back components and after several hundred hours of play, they sound absolutely wonderful -- and not do not embarrass themselves in comparison with a Meridian and B&W Nautilus system I recently heard. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: B&W 301, Paradigm Esprit
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hortiholic   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 10, 2007]
Strength:

Clarity, musicality, best value around

Weakness:

Undistinguished appearance and treble register.

What I want in speakers is musicality. I want to hear the line and the flow and the texture of the music. Modern sound systems tend to be high on brightness and energy and low on musicality. I've had the Primus 360s for several months now and they're just about everything I want in a speaker. Some will find the sound too laid back and relaxed for their liking -- the sound from these speakers doesn't attack you, you have to engage it. Just like much of the music I listen to -- classical and jazz and folk. These speakers were made for such music. They also do very well with rock and punk and blues and hip hop too -- but the sound is a bit more reserved than what most listeners will be used to. Regarding Amzilla's criticisms of the Primus 360s: these speakers take a while to reach their stride. The drivers have a metallic alloy coating and my guess is that they take a while to "relax". Yes, there is a bump in the lower midrange, and occasionally an instrument in that range will take appear more prominent than it should. Yes, the speakers are occasionally inaccurate at first, but once they're broken in they're quite precise. And yes, the weakest element is the tweeters, but they also mellow with playing. They are not as sweet as a top of the line B&W speaker, for example, but they are also not strident. They are more than up to the task of portraying a soprano in full voice. I would be interested in hearing amzilla's reactions after a couple months of break-in. With their characteristics (including high sensitivity) they mate very well with my other components, comprising a hybrid (tube and solid state) Jolida 1301 30W-per-channel integrated amp and a Monica2 dac from diyparadise (with an Onkyo DX-C390 as transport). Both are of relatively low power and have an "analog" sound. This sub-$1000 system produces a wonderful sound.

Similar Products Used: B&W 301, Paradigm Esprit
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ampzilla747   AudioPhile [Mar 04, 2007]
Strength:

clarity,low end extension

Weakness:

highs very shrill,lack of inner detail. tonally inaccurate in the mids and highs,"bump"in the mid bass. not shielded,no spikes,cannot be bi-wired. unattractive finish.

I bought these based on Robert Reina's Stereophile review. They replaced some older Boston Acoustics VR30'S wich replaced some B&W cm4's. At $400,$800 and $1,500 respectively they are far apart in price and performance. In my opinion the Bostons were the most bang for the buck,the B&W 's the "prettiest" sounding and looking. The infinities fall short in many areas. there seems to be an unnatural boominess in the upper bass/lower mid range? It is not too bad considering the price point. detail is lacking in the mid 's. Its there ,but not with the same definition and clarity as some other slightly more expensive speakers. They are very clear sounding and will go supprisingly loud. But they lack any real refinement of overall sound,compared to say the paradigm monitor series, and also the discontinued B&W cm4. the lows are plenty sufficient in depth for most tastes in music,although lack the precise controlled sound of more expensive speakers. i use a 10 inch Velodyne sub with them on occasions but it usually is not required. inside they are braced well,and insulated with the standard glue on poly fill. Internal wiring is of average quality and appears to be 18 AWG. maybe 20 i cant remember but in that range. cannot bi-wire,finish is ugly vinyl in simulated black ash. baffle is silver in color but is only made of plastic. the midrange is isolated from the rest of the cabinet by being placed in a plastic cup type enclosure. Traditionally this helps from smearing midrange information. the pair i have is not video shielded,but the current revamped model is! now on to the worst part. The main thing really keeping these speakers from being potential bang for the buck champs! The tweeters!!! The highs are horrendous! shrill is the word! all cymbals sound identical. no definition,and extremely harsh at moderate to high volume levels. One thing i always look for in any speaker is it's ability to recreate the snap of a snare drum. I want to hear every nuance of that rim shot! and tonality is off in this area too. just cant do it. now for those of you who might think im using inferior gear heres the run down. Acurus A150 power amp,acurus rl 11 preamp,Mod Squad deluxe line drive preamp,various carver and Adcom preamps. AMC cd8b cd player,Toshiba transport with audio alchemy outboard DAC. Not high end but good mid grade stuff.

Similar Products Used: B&W DM 610 i, B&W CM4, boston VR30, paradigm monitor 11 v3? vintage jensen model 4's, jbl mr935, tannoy proto j studio monitors. linn ninka's. vandersteen model 1's. dalquist dq10's. B&W DM 602 s2,
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
chriswilliams   Casual Listener [Nov 18, 2006]
Strength:

all range hits. lows could be better...but then again what are subs for?!?

Weakness:

Could be a little better looking. The black would grain isn't as pretty as piano black in my opinion....

Hey, first of all there is a guy(kudos to him) who has a post earlier for these speakers as his four surronds in a 7.1 arrangement. I really cant imagine how well that studio sounds! I just got these in last week to replace my bose lifestlye set up. I am very pleased with their performance so far. The room I have them in is fairly large(16x24). They fill it up with solid sound with no problem. I am also running a PS-12 sub for deep bass. I recommend that(or at least the PS-10) if your searching for low hits. All in all these speakers have performed as good as I could have imagined. The Dave Matthews DVD I watched today sounded like they were playing in my living room...violin, sax, high hats, and guitar all sounded great. I purchased them from crutchfield.com and it was a pleasant experience with two day free shipping. I also got the 160 surrounds( running 6.1) and c25 center....VERY HAPPY.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MN_Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2005]
Strength:

Uncolored, natural, yet strong midrange. Deep and powerfull bass. Dynamic, smooth, and efficient.

Weakness:

Very few. I'd like the tweeter to have more detail above 8k hz.

I purchased the Infinity Primus 360s after considerable research online. I was looking for an affordable speaker for both music and home theater. The qualities I was looking for was a speaker capable of producing an uncolored sound, with a flat response, powerful midrange and bass, and smooth and detailed highs. The Primus 360 exceeded all of my expectations in these areas. I listen to a lot of classical, acoustical guitar, as well as plenty of techno and R/B. These speakers produce it all with ease. The 3-way design is seamles. I love how the sound is linear across their whole frequency response regardless of the volume. No distortion until my receiver (Yamaha HTR5860, 110/channel) begins to clip. This is a fantastic speaker for stereo music playback and an absolutely phenomenal home theater speaker. All 50lbs of each speaker really wake up during action films. In smaller rooms there is no need for a subwoofer - these speakers truely are very powerful down to 40hz, with response down to the 30s. I'm amazed at how powerful the bass is. Still, the best part of the 360s is how they handle high-level transients. They really reproduce sound at high volumes with extreme ease, even with very demanding material. I was a bit shy of buying speakers from a large commercial company like Infinity, but I've been very impressed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
h0dge   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2004]
Strength:

Outstanding sound reproduction High price/performace ratio

Weakness:

The low end bass isn't going to thump; however, it is musically satisfying. A bass guitar will be reproduced nicely, but you'll want a separate sub for home theater use.

Outstanding sound quality for the price. The Primus 360's have a very detailed sound and excellent sound reproduction across the audio spectrum (aside from lower bass). I hear details in CD's that I haven't heard before. When I put in the White Album form the Beatles, it sounds like they're playing in my basement :) I seriously doubt there's much competition for the price. BTW, I had a good experience with Sounds Dirt Cheap. It took a while to get these shipped; however, they arrived in great condition, and I received both an email and a call to let me know when they did ship.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com