Infinity Systems IL50 Floorstanding Speakers

Infinity Systems IL50 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

video-shielded frequency response 32-22,000 Hz (±3dB) 8-ohm impedance sensitivity 88 dB handles up to 150 watts 250-watt subwoofer amp with adjustable Bass Optimization System vinyl finish

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 83  
[Oct 06, 2019]
my3sons90


Strength:

Bought these in late 2003 on Harmon Audio Ebay's website. Paid $468 delivered couldn't believe I got them. Hooked them up to a Denon receiver and they sounded nice. Picked up pair of Il 10s and Il25c center channel. Everything sounded good. Soon after i bought a Rotel rtc965 pre- amp and a Carver AV705X 5 channel power amplifier. After hooking up to the Carver/Rotel combination the sound went from good to amazing. The depth and detail of the sound compared to systems I had heard costing thousands of dollars. I don't know what some of these people had their Infinitys hooked up to but it wasn't high quality electronics. It's 2019 and I am still enjoying the sound of this system. Though I have upgraded the pre-processor to a Marantz and the sound improved. I wouldn't trade these for speakers for ones costing twice the MSRP of $1700. 16 years and they are still going strong, that in itself is a testament to their quality. I push these babies especially the newer Blu-ray soundtracks really show what they are made of

Weakness:

Keep speakers plugged in and on standby , get the RABOS kit

Price Paid:
468
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 21, 2019]
my3sons90


Strength:

Bought these in late 2004 on Harmon Audio Ebay's website. Paid $468 delivered couldn't believe I got them. Hooked them up to a Denon receiver and they sounded nice. Picked up pair of Il 10s and Il25c center channel. Everything sounded good. Soon after i bought a Rotel rtc965 pre- amp and a Carver AV705X 5 channel power amplifier. After hooking up to the Carver/Rotel combination the sound went from good to amazing. The depth and detail of the sound compared to systems I had heard costing thousands of dollars. I don't know what some of these people had their Infinitys hooked up to but it wasn't high quality electronics. It's 2019 and I am still enjoying the sound of this system. Though I have upgraded the pre-processor to a Marantz and the sound improved. I wouldn't trade these for speakers for ones costing twice the MSRP of $1700.

Weakness:

Keep speakers plugged in and on standby , get the RABOS kit

Price Paid:
468
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 22, 2018]
sam.c81@yahoo.com


Strength:

These are very good speaker and I got them at a yard sale for only $40.00 for the pair. The only problem is they didn't have the power cords for the amps so I tried a couple off some old desk top computers I have and they didn't work. Maybe they need a special power cord to work but the two bass woofers at the bottom side of the speakers won't work. Could be the wrong cord I hope. If not the amps are blown. Or maybe the fuses.I'll have to check it out. If I can't fix them I'll try to sell them for a profit I hope. Heard they go for around $1200.00 each so I should be able to get around $500.00 for them.

Weakness:

Just the power amps don't work but for $40.00 you can't go wrong. The top speakers sound great though and they look cool. Have them hooked up to a Pioneer receiver with HDMI ports and Polk Audio and JBL speakers with JBL sub woofer hooked up with them. Together they sound awesome..

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 21, 2016]
Phasecorrect
Audio Enthusiast

Contrary to some reviews, even with the RABOS system correctly dialed in, the bass is still overly exaggerated and somewhat flabby. The addition of quality separates made a marginal improvement at best. This product is a result of extensive testing and measurements as opposed to real world listening. I am.astonished that Infinity continually releases so called "flat response " speakers that sound unbalanced. I am owned the Interlude, Alpha, Primus, and Entra models and they all suffered the same fate.Despite being flawed, they can be a fun party speaker, when accuracy is not required. They are also insanely cheap on the second hand market.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 29, 2013]
Don
Audio Enthusiast

This is for anyone looking to upgrade their system for a bargain price. the Infinity Interlude series got a bad rap because you need to take the time to set them up correctly. first you will need the RABOS kit and Good electronics otherwise they will sound like crap. these speakers can be had for $200-$400 online, E-bay or Craigslist. If you can pair them up with a used Carver or Rotel or even an Adcom 5 channel amp and a tuner pre-processor for about $1200 total you could have a system that will make your friends and relatives wonder where you got the money for this stuff. the Infinities need an AMP with Balls not a wimpy receiver. follow these rules and you will have years of enjoyment. I've had my system since 2004 and I wouldn't trade it if I had 3 x the money to spend.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 05, 2013]
Ted A Piano
AudioPhile

I just got done reading all 78 reviews and couldn't believe all the negative comments. I have had these IL50s for 10yrs now and in those 10yrs have replaced all the electronics twice.. currently using Marantz AV8801 & MM8077 (pre/pro,amp) with a oppo 105, VPI Turntable ,Furman & Richard Grays power conditioners Infinity ES-250 surrounds (rear,side) IL36c center plus a Infinity Intermezzo 1.2s subwoofer Over $10,000 in electronics Paid about $2500.00 for the infinity setup 10yrs ago,anyway the speakers are the only thing I haven't updated WHY because they sound fantastic when dialed in and YES you do need the RABOS kit but the 1.2s sub came with it. So I know this review is 10yrs late but if someone is looking to pick up a pair off of ebay or such and stumbles on this review GRAB THEM providing they are in good shape Mine look as good as the day they were purchased back in 2003 and I have never had a problem with them though I did have to replace the amp on the intermezzo sub about 1mo after purchase but infinity sent me a new amp and I swapped it out no problems in 10yrs since.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 15, 2012]
Don DeOrio
Audio Enthusiast

I purchased these from ebay and paid $468 shipped I couldn't believe I got these for so little. I have had them since 2004 and have them paired up with IL 10 and IL25C center. First these are finicky speakers but when you take the time to set them up right WOW. when I first got them I was using a Denon AVR 1608 reciever and it's true they didn't sound spectacular. soon after I bought a Rotel Pre-amp Processor and a used AV705X 5 channel power amp. the difference in sound was amazing the dynamics, soundstage and tonal quality rival speakers costing $3000.take the time to set them up right and you will be very pleased. You still find them used on Ebay, buy them and do what I suggest and you will have Champagne sound for beer cost!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2009]
ted
Audio Enthusiast

My father purchased there speakers from Circut city back wheb they where selling them to replace his 20 year old bostons.

These speakers where GREAT sounding driven from a yamaha amp of the same age as the bostons.
So they sat until about 2 months ago when i added them to my PC works/ laptop driven sound system and they seem to sound not as good but i am sure that its just the set-up.

Great speakers!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 18, 2009]
NeilsdDunn
Audio Enthusiast

The big plus is that they are all in one, the sats, the sub and the amp. The down side is the bass control which if not properly managed is overpowering as compared to the sats even with a great external amp powering the sats which to me are a bit dull. They look classy, but are heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 16, 2004]
karlknight
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good sound bass through highs. They have a good flat, high fidelity sound. I think the Maple looks good but I guess that depends on the other furniture in your room.

Weakness:

Took a little time to adjust with the RABOS in order to get the good sound. Positioning the speakers properly is also key.

I notice people either love or hate these speakers. I think they are a good value for $500. The RABOS system is a must & I wonder if some of the people who aren't getting good sound don't have the RABOS system. As far as quality LEXUS, BMW, MERCEDES and JAGUAR have service centers because they break down. This doesn't mean they are overall poor quality products. I think they are overall one of the best sounding speakers for what I paid.

Similar Products Used:

Snell, AR, Bose, B&O

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 83  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com