Infinity Systems CS3006 Floorstanding Speakers

CS3006

8" woofer, 5" midrange, 1" tweeter

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2009]

I just bout a pain Infinity CS- 3006 from My local Salvation Army . I reformed both driver's and both mid,s !
I'm Driving them with a Tangent AMP -100 ! and the Tangent CDP-100 cd player with Audio Quest G-snake patch cord's. I'm still trying to find affordable bi-wire speaker,s. Ill finish my review when I track down some cable !

I will say this there are lots of great deal out there !!
Any questions just email me ? Ill do my best to help !!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
sparkinark   AudioPhile [Jan 12, 2005]
Strength:

Even the smallest of the lot has great bass if you give it enough juice. Try a Krell integrated if nothing else, though I've found the Brystons are the best match soncically. Buy a used 3BST for the smaller ones, a 4BST if you can afford it. The Bryston pre-amp is pretty good too, but I've only heard the stereo verson. I use an older Lexicon for all my pre-amp stuff.

Weakness:

They are not really true audiophile speakers. They are extremely good speakers, but do MUCH, MUCH better with movies than with music. However, their music performance is quite satisfactory.

Just a FYI for anyone who owns these Crescendo speakers ---- they like LOTS of power. Plus, even though they are nominally rated at 8 Ohms, they do dip to around or less than 4 Ohms at certain frequencies, especially in the low range. If you own these and think they are just so-so, you are fooled -- they are extremely nice speakers. Try pairing them up with something like a Bryston 3BST or, even better, 4BST, and you'll see that even the smallest of the series (we use them for surround speakers) likes 100+ Watts, 200 Watts is even better. I run them with two Linn LK280's (80W@8Ohms, 160W@4Ohms) and they are amazing. I use one LK280 per speaker and bi-amp.

Similar Products Used: All kinds of stuff over the years. Some very expensive.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Sam   Casual Listener [Nov 26, 2003]
Strength:

Bi-Amp design, Wonderful package for a very very attractive price (especially used). Phenomenal Clarity with the right amp/wire package

Weakness:

bass can be a bit stronger and lacks... something..., but get some subwoofer, and I suspect that will nolonger be a problem Please note value rating is for the MSRP price, not what it cost now and DEFINITELY not what it costed me :-)

My dad bought a pair of CS3007 way back when they still sell them in Circuit City, I had wanted a pair for myself every since. Finally I found a pair one day at the Electronic Flea market, it was not in the greatest condition as it was dusty and a bit dirty, and the bottom have some small chip, but over all they're in good condition. I don't think the guy really knows what he have, I talked it down to 90 bucks and prompted walked away with them. When i got home I hooked them up and compare it to the 3007, which have an extra 8" woofer. To my suprised the 3006 really didn't sound all that different. The bass impact is less obviously from having 1 less woofer but the sound clarity that made the Crescendo series so famous and lovable is still there. the EMIT-R tweeter is absolutely magical, midrange and depth is quite good. The only thing you really need is powerful amp to drive these things (The difference switching from a 60w per channel 13 year old Kenwood Amp to a 100w per channel Kenwood V407 was simpily staggering), and the bass could be stronger. But I suspect my amp and my other equipment are not probing near where these speakers are capable yet. Now... where do I find a pair of 3007 or 3008? ;-)

Similar Products Used: CS3007,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Lee DaVito   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 2003]
Strength:

very brilliant highs not piercing..strong, balanced, clean mids...and a deep solid bass...slightly boxy, due to the particle board construction, but nothing you would be annoyed with....the real oak veneer lends a classy touch. they sound fantastic with my Harman/Kardon AVR 25II (75w x 2) 30 amps of current gives plenty of dynamics. the Infinity SW-100 pair of powered subs deepen and extend the low end to give realism (not massive BOOM) to the overall musical range...the rear ports were a smart move..it pushes that air blast off the wall so it adds a reflected bass effect. the overall sound is clear, clean and crisp.....seems like I am listening to my collection for the 1st time....

Weakness:

absolutely none......I love the sound....have always wanted this model....and finally found them at a steal of a price...and like brand new....

Have previously owned Infinity since 1993. when I came across these,I took a double take. went for a closer look and a very determined listen.these were completely mint...appeared to have just come out of the box. I cant believe I found these in a pawn shop. I listened to 2 music tracks as I had already demo'd these several years ago and was sold on them. it didn't take much to sell me this time. they went home with me.

Similar Products Used: none currently.....have previously owned Infinity...Altec Lansing...EPI...Ultralinear..Panasonic speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
metanoia11   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 11, 2002]
Strength:

very claen highs; EMIT Tweeters; also good mid-ranges

Weakness:

lack of good clean bass sound

I'm usually listening classical music. The reason why I chose this speaker was very detailed clean high sound like a violin, and good midrange sound . This speaker works very well with my Denon DRA 685 stereo receiver. Bottom line is I satisfied this more than I was expected .

Similar Products Used: Sherwood; JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
charnetchevalier   AudioPhile [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

More efficient than larger, more complex high-end speakers. Convenient bi-amp capacity.

Weakness:

Not much for home theater use. Note value rating reflects new price, not what I paid.

I orginally purchased the Kappa 6.2i, now these speakers are used on the main for my home theater. I must admit, I had to go through some learning to become proficient at seting up a great sounding home theater. At first, I used speakers that required too strong, a constant current signal for good sound effects. The Kappa 6.2i has a complex crossover, requiring consistant power to bring out the sound quality. When I switched to the CS 3006, I found my main channels were much more present. The Kappas sound pretty good as stereo speakers, but with my Denon 3802, these really shine. I do, however, make use of the convenient bi-amp terminals to add more power by using a NAD 2400 THX, from the Denon pre-amp out, to the NAD to run the bass. I have the Kappa vidio 2 speaker for the center channel. I'm very impressed with the little CS 3006 for this use. For the record, these speakers use an 8" woofer, mid cone and emit-r.

Similar Products Used: Kappa 6.2i and even tried Kappa 8.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
pknaz   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2002]
Strength:

very clean detailed highs. very nice mids.

Weakness:

for good clean bass, they are very picky about where they are placed.

I also had to write another review. I've had these speakers now for about two years. For some reason, either i have a different version of the CS3006's or nobody can seem to get the driver configuration right. its an 8" woofer with a 4" mid. and the Emit-R tweeter. As one of the reviewers said below, these speakers are beautiful on classical and anything with a sax. Since my last review, i've picked up a second pair, and the matching center. They make a Great 5.1 system. (paradigm P2200 for a sub) as far as the bass, they do play very well, except i have noticed that they really drop off around 50Hz. I can really tell the absence of bass at this level. Not that big of a deal to me really cause i have an excellent sub to fill in the missing lows. i paid about $1100 for all five speakers, at this price, you can't touch them.

Similar Products Used: Polk rt55s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Earl   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 10, 2001]
Strength:

everything, looks, sound, highs, lows, you name it.

Weakness:

They weren't free

I had to post again. The more I live with these speakers the more I love them. I am not bowled over easily. But the sound of these speakers is simply fabulous! They need a high current amp. But they are equally good for music and movies. I was lucky enough to get the matching center channel and this makes for wonderful music and home theater.
The bass is tight and low, the highs are clear but not too bright. If I had to nitpick, I would say, maybe the vocals could a tad better, maybe a little clearer, I don't know, but again, that's nitpicking. Bottom line, I love em'! It would take a lot, to get them out of my hands. Five stars for value because even though they were not cheap, they were worth the money. Overall, it's gotta be five stars. Like everybody who hears them says, "wow, the sound, the sound"

Similar Products Used: jbl, don't remember the model
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2001]
Strength:

Controlled, flat response. EMIT tweeters. Bi-ampable. Protection circuitry. Fantastic sound. Beautiful finish.

Weakness:

Require good amplification. Can't find info on them from Infinity.

I've had these speaks forever and am thrilled with their performance. I listened to Heavy Weather today on a pair of Martin Logan Odysseys through McIntosh separates and didn't think they had any more depth or openness than my Crescendos.

The Crescendo series was manufactured specifically for Circuit City and turned out to be very good. The 3006 has the single 6.5" woofer, a 4" mid and dual ports on the back. The EMIT tweeter is the famous tweeter designed by Arnie Nudell before he left Infinity to start Eosone.

I loved these speakers since I bought them but really discovered them when I bought my Sony ES receiver two years ago. The speakers simply came alive. They have the capability of being jaw-dropping at times. The closest thing I can compare them to is near-field monitors in a sound studio.

The speakers reproduce most types of music well, and are excellent for movies. They do acoustic music the best. Listen to Miles Davis or anything with saxaphones in it to understand why people love this tweeter so much. No surprise that running CD direct produces the best sound. I find if the signal is too "cooked", the speakers will lose some dynamics and clarity. G.I.G.O.

I have gotten too brave a couple of times since I bought them and the protection circuit has kicked in. It's a nice way of telling me I'm stupid without ruining the drivers. I bi-wired them for a while but really couldn't hear the difference. They can obviously be bi-amped as well, as they have big gold-plated binding posts on them.

I bought these speakers with the plan of buying a Kappa Center speaker to complete the set. The Kappa Center came in a honey oak that would have matched the Crescendos. I have been looking for one ever since, but the CC-3 does a good job of handing off the signal once I got the timbre controls tweaked.

If you can find a set of these, I highly recommend them. If you can find a Kappa Center to go with it, try to find a second one for me.

Similar Products Used: Polk, DefTech.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Earl Hall   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 2000]
Strength:

Very clear highs, good overall sound.

Weakness:

Bass could be a little deeper.

I replaced a pair of 15 year old speakers with these and have been very satisfied. These speakers need alot of power to perform correctly. I am using a HK PA5800 amp (80 high current watts per ch) and it does the trick. Very clear highs from the emit-r tweeter. The bass is tight and accurate but not very deep. I guess you can't expect that much from 8" woofers. Bi-wiring them helps with the bass response. These speakers have a nice accurate sound for all types of music. They sound good with movies too. The sound- stage they create is very good. Detailed mid-range makes them a pleasure to listen to. In my opinion, these were among the best speakers Infinity has made, unfortunately they are discontinued. If you come across a pair and the price is right, take a listen. I don't think you be dissapointed.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com