Energy Speaker Systems e:XL 26 Floorstanding Speakers

e:XL 26

(2)6.5" Woofers and a 0.75" Tweeter

User Reviews (82)

Showing 1-10 of 82  
pigneguy   [Feb 19, 2018]
Pros: These are, for the price, phenonemal speakers..... crisp highs, wide mids and a great bass. They do need to be placed in a room correctly tho.
Cons: room placement
Price: -   New/Used: Used   Year Purchased: -
OVERALL
RATING
5
john Horst   AudioPhile [Apr 11, 2012]

smokin hot speakers going cheap now they can compete with 2ooo $ and still be better in some ways great job Canada

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2003]
Strength:

Low sensitivity making it easy to drive, 94 DB. Very warm with proper set-up. Very tight bass. Well defined mids. Nice highs most of the time.

Weakness:

Highs can be overwhelming at times.

I conducted a review 2 years ago. I stated previsously I did not want to comment on the sound quality. The reason being, work-in period and acheiving the optimal set-up was not appropriate at the time. Over years I have learned positioning the speakers are so important it can seriously impact how warm the speakers sound as well as the imaging. Room size is another factor. My space is 8x10m room and these speakers are definitely designed for a bigger room. You can only turn them so loud before the sound starts reflecting off the wall. Source is another factor consider in sound quality. I have listend to a lot of CDs and I'm starting to realize a lot pop and rock etc. lack sound quality. Many of them sound flat and lack detail. Take a well recoreded instrumental CD like John Williams and Boston Pops Orchestra and you will notice fantastic imaging and superb detail in Nancy Wilson's vocals. Then again it was recorded in 20 bit and downmixed to 16 bit. Ever wonder why expensive Home theater stores usually play instrumental CDs to audition there sound system for a stereo set-up. The recordings are so much better. Owning a Onkyo 595 reciever and using the above CD as a reference. I have to admit these pair of speakers sound really warm, detailing is superb, imaging is life-like, bass is tight, however, highs are still bright at times. Overall, I am very satisfied. Personally, I still believe the best stereo sound set-up is a HK reicever and B&W speakers. But very expensive.

Similar Products Used: Listened to too many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
morgue   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2003]
Strength:

Great soundstage, tight bass, good highs and play what you throw at them without blinking

Weakness:

none at this price

I'm not going to pretend to be an "audiophile" because I'm not, but i know what sounds nice and these speakers do period. Very clear and detailed awsome in stereo mode and dts. You hear everything. The better the equipment the better they sound. Current setup Integra 5.1 reciever Integra dpc 5.2 dvd exl-26 mains exl-16 rears c-2 center and cheap yahama sub (will be upgrading, 26's have deeper bass) Close your eyes and listen, these things are beautiful.

Similar Products Used: mission, athena, klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
snetraser   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

clear high, tight and deep bass, great imaging

Weakness:

it gets a little too bright, finishig could have been better (there was a glue visible on the back of the speaker that I cut out)

Good looking and great sounding speaker. High is sharp, Bass is tight (with appropriate speaker cable). It gets a little too bright sometimes, but it could be because of recordings or other equipmetns. Or .75" is too small for tweeter (most speakers including newer Energy's use 1"). I used to own various Bose speakers, including 901, but even smaller e:xl-16 sounds so much more musical and enjoyable than 901. I compared this e:xl-26 to smaller 25s, and I thought 26's to be much more open sounding and I recommend anyone to opt for 26's. Related equipment: Nakamichi AV-7 reciever Toshiba SD-2200 DVD Audioquest type4+ biwire

Similar Products Used: various bose and other mass-merchant speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jarett   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

Cheap and accurate rivals speakers from B&W and Paradigm that are double the price.

Weakness:

They sound so accurate that they make you notice any and all in perfections on a recording

These speakers are by far the best sounding speakers for the money. The highs are crystal clear, the lows are quite respectable for a 6.5" driver. The 26's are also very efficient at 94dB's. However the break in period is quite long for these speakers which might explain such a low rating. They are great for good old fashioned 2 channel analog stereo,as well as multi channel digital. I have my e:XL 26's matched with the e:XL C2 centre channel and e:XL R di/bi-pole rears.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm monitor, Paradigm Studio, B&W 600 series, Energy Vertias, Mission, PSB,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BRAD SCHUETTE   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2002]
Strength:

CLARITY IMAGING,SEPERATION

Weakness:

CONSUMERS TRYING TO CUT CORNERS NONE

you can shop until you drop.. DEAD and spend 750.00 per speaker from any other manufacter and you wont get dallor for dallor your moneys worth.energy did a nice job.the most important thing to remember is to buy the highest quality product with in your buget&match all produts.here is a list of my complete system.that i would not give up.i have 2600.00 invested new and could spend 5000.00 and not have a better sounding platform.exl.26 fronts,exl.c2 center channel,exl.12"sub-up front,s10.2 rear sub,exl.r-diboles on walls,exl.16 rear center channel.,yamaha rxv 3000 amp. to tell the truth this system KICK,S

Similar Products Used: PARADIGYM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
emtownsend   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2002]
Strength:

Great vocals, good bass, very smooth, not harsh.

Weakness:

Make sure they are extra padded for shipping. Otherwise, none!

Great speakers, especially when my stereo is set to "Direct" mode with a CD or DVD. The sub is hardly necessary unless the volume is raised enough to be "loud". Very nice vocals (favors vocals a bit) and all around smooth sound. I am VERY happy with these! I have a full Energy e:XL setup: Sub, dipole surrounds, and these fronts. Buy them, you will be very happy!

Similar Products Used: Wharfedale SP-87
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert   AudioPhile [May 22, 2002]
Strength:

Value, articulation, efficiency, brightness

Weakness:

can sound boomy, muffled, bass leaves much to be desired

Overall, I am very pleased with the performance of these speakers. They are relatively accurate and they image well. I use them in a 5.1 system, but I would say that I value musicality over "home theater." At times (particularly with poor quality recordings/equipment) these speakers can sound overly bright, and worse yet, their mid-range can sound a bit boomy. That being said, I am very happy with these speakers overall performance and have very few complaints. If I had more money, yeah I would go for the B&W Nautilus or Martin-Logan electro-stats, but hey, this is the real world and money doesn't grow on trees. Of the other speakers I have heard in this price range, only a few can actually compete with these speakers. My setup consists of: Rotel RSP 976 Preamp/Processor Rotel RMB 1075 5 channel Amp Rotel cd Pioneer dvd Sony XBR TV Misc (panamax surge protector, yada yada yada)

Similar Products Used: NHT, PSB, ...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
digwiz   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2002]
Strength:

Perfect for home theaters and great for music lovers...Especially live recordings.

Weakness:

As some has unknowningly stated before, can sound muddy when linked with a low quality reciever or interconnects. Not the speakers fault however.

I also am suprised to see the low overall review of this speaker. At least a 4.75 or 5.0 speaker. There are other wonderful speakers out there in this price range and the 26''s can hang with the best of them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 82  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com