DCM KX-6 Series 2 Floorstanding Speakers

KX-6 Series 2

6" Woofer and 0.75" Tweeter

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
nick   AudioPhile [Mar 18, 2012]

absolute amazing sound, constant max power with no problems. extremely loud and crisp, even in a 1000 sqft garage, bedroom, cabin, and dining room

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john   AudioPhile [Mar 05, 2011]

Nice! very clean vocals nice mid-bass .lacking a little in the low end but, compensating in the field nice seamless stereo.I use them as studio monitors for vocals and piano. got them for $100.00 never regretted it for a moment.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
eaglescorpio1   AudioPhile [Nov 24, 2005]
Strength:

Highs are crisp and clear, mids are full and alive, bass is quite filling and don't strain from the 6" speaker. Great speaker, highly recommended by me.

Weakness:

None that I have found.

I got this pair and the kx-center series two for $75 at a local pawn shop and I have to say, at $25 per speaker, you cannot beat it. I would pay 200 per pair. These speakers are being used as surrounds and they are awesome. The highs are incredible, the mids are full and alive, and the bass is present but not overworked for the 6" speakers. I have the hi-pass x-over set on my harman for 60hz and they are phenominal. My entire theater is strictly dcm speakers and the system rivals much, much more expensive systems. I would rather have this system than an infinity system or klipsch. I have blown people away with the system and I haven't even recieved my dcm sub2 subwoofer. I get that tommorrow and I will leave a review about that sub after a thoroughly run it through its paces. I am a die hard dcm fan and I would recommend these speakers to anyone that loves $500 sound at a $100 price. In my case, $50. Find them, buy them, and enjoy them for life. I push these with my HK reciever and they don't distort even turned way, way up in 5channel stereo mode. That's where all channels get full range to them instead of limited signal. These rock. Get some.

Similar Products Used: dcm kx-center series two-still use dcm kx-12 floor standing fronts-still use
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Big Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2002]
Strength:

Lotta bass for their size. Nice binding posts.

Weakness:

Cheap, crappy, 50-cent plastic tweeters. Cheap-looking black vinyl boxes.

This is a follow-up to the review I posted on August 1, 2000. Originally, I gave these speakers a 4-star rating ... and by the standards of this board, they probably are. But realistically, they merit no more than 3 stars. They're fine as left and right front speakers in a HT setup, but they really lack the detail needed for high-quality musical reproduction. When I took one apart to see what's inside, I was appalled at how really crappy the tweeters are: flimsy little plastic horns with NO discernable magnet. For the price I paid ($35/pair) I'm not unhappy, but I wouldn't recommend them at any price above $90/pair or so. There are just too many other, better choices.

Similar Products Used: Too many to count, including budget-priced JBL, Sony and Technics speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Dave Nolan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2000]
Strength:

Clear, balanced sound

Weakness:

Not much bass

I picked up a pair of these for $35 (believe it or not) from a guy who was moving. He had barely used them, and they appeared to be brand-new. I am using them as the left and right front speakers in a home theatre system, with a Klipsch KV-1 center and two cheap no-name speakers in the rear. Anyhow, the DCM's work just fine for my purpose, and judging from a brief test with an inexpensive stereo receiver would also work well in a "B" system (bedroom, office, etc,) where you don't really want or need sledgehammer bass. They're at least as good as the $99/pair Sonys I have in my home office, maybe better. At the MSRP of $260 they wouldn't be any bargain, but for $35/pair they sure are! I understand that this model has been discontinued, which is kinda too bad, but understandable if they were trying to get $260/pair for them. If you can pick up a pair for under $100 on uBid or eBay, I'd say go for it, as long as you're not looking for big-time bass.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Celestion, Sony, Optimus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Marcus   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2001]
Strength:

Great sounding, great looking, price

Weakness:

none yet

I've had the KX6 Series 2's for more than a year now and they have been excellent. I have to agree with the other reviewers that they seem to get better with age (breaking them in). I have not used them as fronts but they sound great as surrounds with DVD's, and when used in quadraphonic soundstages when listening to CD's

Similar Products Used: JBL surrounds
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2001]
Strength:

Great speaker for the money. Once broken in the soundstage extends away from the speakers, very full sound.

Weakness:

The horn assebly needs to be ovalized, at louder volumes the circular horn starts a slight top and bottom honking. The box needs to be braced better, the midbass (90-200) is very boxy, resulting from side top and back panel resonance.

These speakers are awsome, they sound so good, especially for $100. They retail at $280, and at that price I'd rather pay $20 more and get some Paradigm Mini-monitors. But for 100, they are a steal.
Out of the box these puppies are scary, but after a proper break-in of 12 hours peak playing volume, they sound incredible. The soundstage is full and deep. The sound seems to radiate throughout the room. This is of course with reflecting point and box damping. They also have an incredible amount of bass, a sub would only be used for lower end (<65 htz). But idealy thats all you would want a sub to play, so it all works out.
So over all, they sound awsome, and they're a great value. Give them a decent amount of good power, and they'll sing like a more expensive speaker.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Infinity, Boston Acoustics, Paradigm, Polk, Acoustic Research, Yamaha, and even some Bose-crap.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
leo   Casual Listener [Jan 26, 2001]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

the product

I got a great deal from ubid. Hooked them up to a Denon 2800 and one smoked. Sent back to DMC for repair. When i got them back the 6" drivers were hanging half out of the boxes. So i remounted them myself. After about 2 more weeks they blew agian. It was a waist of money.

Similar Products Used: bic
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Kent Shosted   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 17, 1998]

I purchased the KX10's after reviewing several other speaker lines, among them being JBL's and Infinity's. The KX10's are equivalent in bass to the Cerwin Vega's and the high's are almost as great as the Infinity line. For the buck the DCM KX10's (3 ways) are well worth the investment

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
martin   a Casual Listener [Aug 12, 1998]

These r a great set of speakers 4 the money, they go unusually low 4 their size, u can actually feel the bass. The best thing about them is Circuit City closed them out @ $ 60. a piece. My comparison speakers were my old Polk rt8's & Cerwin-Vega hts 6.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com