Dali 909 Floorstanding Speakers

Dali 909 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

(See reviews)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Dec 24, 2018]
hegge.man


Strength:

amazing speakers still work today, the bass is really crazy, beats all the new speakers today.

Weakness:

needs a strong amp to be powerd good

Price Paid:
0
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2002
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2003]
keddekadett
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Look's Low-range, no need to buy a subwoofer

Weakness:

Ned a strong amp NAD 218/Denon POA-2200

Look wery cool i moohogony finish, the vinyl could trick anybody into beliving it is massive mahogony Bass sounds bommy if your amp. is too weak, you need at lest 300W at 4 Ohm's but then they will pay yuo back with lots of hard and precise gut punching bass. At first i tried using an NAD 216, but playing at high levels (INSANE LEVEL) they started being boomy in the low range, then i hooked my good old Denon POA-2200 up with them, oh my god.....that sounded like different speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2003]
R I
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good price-value

Weakness:

Better treble requested (but still good for the price).

Good, solid bass. I like the two 10" basses instead of one 15" (had Cerwin Vega before). The mid-range is good for the price. Quite clear and follows the bass. The treble is good but not more. My NAD 214 PA has not enough juice to make these speakers get off the foor but I can still get loud! Spikes is neccessary...

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega AL-750, AL-1000, AT-xx, LS-xx.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 15, 2003]
philburns
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Punchy bass Low bass Power

Weakness:

Unreal midrange Top end not crisp Not bi-wireable

I use the Dali 909's for home cinema and music. Overall they are better for home cinema than for music use. The 16ft x 30ft room I am using them is filled no problem. They can be briven by a small amp e.g. 60 watts per channel but work best with a large amp such as my Tag Maclaren 200 watts into 4 ohms. The midrange with the Dalis sound very laid back and unreal. The best thing about the Dalis is the quality and quantity of bass they produce. They are ideal for modern music esp dance and R&B.

Similar Products Used:

Kef Q75, Mission 753

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2002]
The Master
AudioPhile

Strength:

Incredibly neutral for the price Live SPL's achievable with the right amplification Extremely deep bass response (I have tested them with an in car sub bass test disc)

Weakness:

Vinyl finish Needs 200+ genuine watts for real performance WILL reveal the weak links in your system

I purchased the 909's through work about 3 months ago. I was first running them off a pioneer a757 reference integrated, which sounded bright and didnt quite have enough power for them. I have since upgraded to a NAD t741 receiver and Rotel RMB100 monobloc's, running Tara labs Prism 33i interconnects and Audioquest Hyperlitz speaker cable. Wth the 200 watts (4ohm) supplied by the rotel's and smoother better cables, the 909's really start to open up and perform well, revealing even the most subtle breath of a female vocalist, or the resin on a violin bow. But friends of mine who have the same speakers claim they are too bright in the treble. The problem (and advantage)is, a speaker this neutral, will reveal every single nuance and weak link in your system, as well as poor recordings. This can of course enable you to tailor the rest of the system to suit your taste, knowing the speakers will only ever relay what is behind them in the system.

Similar Products Used:

Dali Suite 3.5 Aaron ATS-4 Jaycar Vifa kit speaker Energy Connoiseur C4 Tannoy 611s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 18, 2002]
Kallite80
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

At their best at rock music and theatre, High sensitivity and a good looking black finish.

Weakness:

Need a big room, the correct acoustics and a powerful amplifier to sound their best. The Bass kicks and hard! but not at the 25 herz.

I bought these speakers to be the mainspeakers of my hometheatre. The sound is not far from the musical Dali Evidence 870's witch are a lot more expencive than the 909's. The amplifier I use with them is a Nad 216THX, witch puts these speakers to the awesome dynamics with 2x225W RMS & 2x500W Peak. They don't go very deep so I built up a subwoofer with a SPL Dynamics 15 inch PRO15-D2 element in a 120 litre vented box with a Nad 218THX amp witch pushes over 800W rms & 1400W peak to this woofer. When listen to for AC/DC and the bass kicks so hard that it's undescribevable and the stereo image is also very good!

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega VS12, Cerwin Vega DC15, Infinity Alpha 50 and Infinity Alpha 20

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 26, 2000]
Shondel De la Verde
Casual Listener

Strength:

power+sound

Weakness:

power needed from receiver

very powerfull mainspeaker for hometheater... GOOD!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 28, 1998]
Eirik
an Audio Enthusiast

I tried out the Dali 909 while looking to buy new speakers last month, and fell in love. The Dali speakers is a perfect allround speaker. It can take very high volumes and you FEEL the music through the air in a way I never would have expected from a speaker that can even play classical good. I have found however that these speakers RULE on heavy! Two disadvantages however is that they require a powerful amp to play controlled, otherwise the bass gets muddy. The other disadvantage is space. The Dali 909 needs a big room to play good. If you have 20-30 square meter room to put them in, they rule. Anything smaller, and somethings wrong with the sound. Don't think I can explain it better.
Anyway, I'm pleased with the buy, and if you want a good allround speaker I can certainly recommend these, or their little brother, the Dali 808, witch plays very good, but a long way from the 909. On the other hand, they are FAR cheaper.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
[Aug 14, 2001]
Børge
Audiophile

Strength:

looks big...can trick anyone to think they have deep bass at first sight

Weakness:

no real deep bass, unnatural mid and treble, not musical at all!

I ordered this big,black, poorly made boxes because everybody said they were something special. I first I hoped they would play in after a couple of days with my NAD 319 amp and Marantz CD63MkII cd-player. Not so.. They just kept on sounding amateurish. I then borrowed a pair of Mission 734i's and compared the two speakers. The Missions blew the Dali's away in every aspect,although these ain't the best speakers I've heard at this prize. I have recently sold the Dali 909's to some poor neighboor kid .He was extatic at first sight, and got them for half the prize. He's just wondering why my Missions sound so much better...It must be interconnects.........ha-ha

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 17, 1998]
Arnold
an Audio Enthusiast

I have to totally disagree with Oscar. Your dealer must have a shi**y amp if the Dalis had slow and muddy bass. If you have a high-quality amplifier with at least 200 watts per channel, the Dalis have excellent bass-response. The Cerwin-Vegas are only good for one thing...Volume! Their sound-quality is not very good. The Dali 909s on the other hand sound great with all kinds of music. And they can play really loud too if that´s what you want.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com