Cerwin Vega VEGA-10,12,15 (4 or 8 ohms) Floorstanding Speakers

VEGA-10,12,15 (4 or 8 ohms)

Double Bump V max surrounds,Progressive Roll Spider, Kev-lite/Pulp cones, 15 pound magnet assemblies, 400 watt RMS, 800 watt max rating (Vega 12), Cast aluminum frame, vented motor assembly.

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Ron   AudioPhile [Jan 10, 2004]
Strength:

madd madd bass. clear bass too. most of all the crazy bass

Weakness:

None and never will be

i find cerwin vega the best ever subs. i have one 15" vmax newest sub. i have a rockford 1200 amp running it. in a 1995 ford escort. it can blow my windows out not joken. if you want a sub that can really rock your car to like nothing else cerwin vega best subs to do it. my friends has 2 10" and they rip his face off. so just think what my 15" dose. i would never buy anything else the ncerwin vega (the ppl out their that have them you made the best choice)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron Hunt   Audiophile [Dec 10, 2000]
Strength:

BASS!!BASS!!BASS!!

Weakness:

amount of air required

If u want bass, the CERWIN VEGA-VEGA SERIES is it for u. I have 2 Vega 12's w/a rockford fosgate 800W amp putting 400W rms for each sub. I'm a bass head. When these were put into my Z28, thought the back window was gonna go. It might soon. I've been doing research on a lot of subs for my car, but by far, these subs will stay. I like it, but cops don't. They might even get u a ticket or two. Oh well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JLrules   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2000]
Strength:

Good mechanical power capacity, no home audio Cerwin Vega like the pathetic sloppy HT and CVT subs can touch it. A single twelve can easily help out a pair of vs-150s

Weakness:

Takes a lot of power to get it loud without clipping because CV lies about SPL just like on their home speakers

The Vega 124 is far superior and better SQ than any CV home product. While Vs-150s and all those other nearly identicle mains can burn over 200w and throw about 5mm x-max each way, this sub outdoes them all. CV HT and CVTs seem efficient but are the sloppiest subs in creation. Not even Stroker is sloppier. Vega 124 lies about the 90+ db SPL. It's really in the upper 80s. I heard it maxed on 800w RF amp and it was only loud when cranked past what any RF or JBL sub could take without popping. It never bottumed out like some say it will but it was probably about to fry (800w maxed out). I heard a JL 12w6 on a 125w Xtant and it was almost as loud as the CV all the way up- a far better subwoofer and in a small sealed VS Vega in a 2.7 ft3 ported. It gets 3 stars because there are many better subs that will blow it away. It does however beat CVS home crap 90lb. boxes.

Similar Products Used: JBLs, JL audio, others compared
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Philip Bates   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]

These subs rock! They blow away everything ive heard
except the cerwin vega 18" stroker subs. I dont own
any subwoofers yet, but my next investment in my car
stereo is for 2 cerwin vega 12" subs. To go with my cerwin vega 3-way 6x9's and my cerwin vega 3-way 5.25" speakers.

If you are looking for deep, clean soundingbass, go with these subs!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Art Certeza   Audiophile [Jan 14, 2001]
Strength:

They give out the low end notes when you need them. They pump out some serious SPL! These speakers are just that damn good!

Weakness:

I find no weakness in these speakers, unless you are more of a Sound Quality type, then these speakers aren't for you.

I bought two 12' vega series subs from a friend and I am pushing them with a CFA1000D amp! Damn! let me tell you, my system pounds! It sounds just so damn good in and out of the car! I hit around 145.7db and that's just with no dynamat and no other changes done to the car. I love these subs and they really are some kicking subs. A team member from the group I am in used to run 4 12's and he hit 155.4db with no changes to the car. I plan on running 4 15's vegaD4 in a 97 Honda civic. In the Cerwin-Vega website, some guy ran two 15's and placed a record of 161.0, that's with just two, could you imagine 4 !!! Cerwin Vega makes some good subs for SPL, which is good for DB Drags...Cerwin-Vega SPL record holders and still growing...

Similar Products Used: JL's 12W3 subs sound louder but SPL wise, the Vega series subs out class JL's...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeremy hubbard   Audiophile [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

Good price

Weakness:

muddy bass

I purchased a 15" cerwin vega from best buy for $500.00
I thought the sound was ok for theater use but not good for reqular music. Sound is too buddy, for $130.00 more, get the velodyne ct-150. Velodyne subs are HIGH end, not department store cheapies! These subs sound great, with more than enough power and fell.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne ct120
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   an Audio Enthusiast [Oct 18, 1998]

First off let me start by saying Oh My God..These subs slam!!!!!!
I'm not talking about your usual one note wonders either..I mean ruler flat response that proves they hit hard all the way down to subsonic frequencies(below 20hz)...the Bass is clean, engulfing, and very natural sounding like all the subs I've ever heard from Cerwin have been. They are equally suited to Classical Music as well as Rock,and Jazz. These subs are just absolutely insane on digital bass recordings, for instance U.S.C.A. Official Bass tracks...one of many offered by Pandisc...but anyways...I had a standing bet with any one who didnt know what I had in the trunk of my 86' Monte Carlo that after listening if they could guess what size and how many speakers I had, they could honestly take them home..and no one was ever able to get it right..I heard everything from 4-12"s to 3-15"s to 2-18"s...they had no idea I had just two 12's...When adaquetly powered and in the right enclosure these subs hit hard, clean and ohhh so deep..the cone excursion is unbelievable and very linear..as the patented V Double Bump surround,and suspension keeps cone drift to a minimum....I had two twelves in a Q-Logic Bandpass enclosure (older model with angled side walls) and 300 Rms per sub and they about tore the trunk off my car...I couldnt even see out of my rear view mirror...it was all just a shaken haze...anyways...sold the 12's and should be getting my 2- 18" Cerwin Vega Strokers next week by air-mail!!! Wait till I hook those up to my Precision Power 2350...1400 watts rms!!! Thats a whole new world.

CERWIN VEGA IS THE GOD OF ALL SUBWOOFERS....PERIOD.

You will not be disapointed...call this Executive Audio Group for unbelievable prices on these hard to find subs..they have the >$199$119$850$420< no gimmicks!
With warranty!!!! 1-800-45-4686..they have catalogs available by request and have the best damn prices on everything from PPI to Soundstream to Orion to Kenwood etc.....anyways, have fun..I appreciate any input anyone out there in La-La land has to offer on these Killer Subs..

***** 5 Star rating all the way

ChRiS- The Bass PiMp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Dave   an Audiophile [Jan 19, 1999]

I've heard them all. MTX, Polk, Infinity, Kenwood, and all the cheap stuff, but what they all lack is excursion. The Cerwin Vega 12's that I own have a peak to peak excursion of 1.5" They move approximately 250 cubic inches of air, and when put in the recommended ported box it's simply amazing. 250 cubic inches of air is the equivilant of 4 15" subs each having a .5 inch excursion, which is about average. If you want to put serious bump into your trunk, and can't fit the Cerwin Vega 15's, go get the 12's, it's simply incredible. It's enough solid bass to kill you. And at every level it puts out, the bass will hit hard, it will be clean, it will go wayyyy down. I give it 5 stars all the way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Sean   an Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 1999]

I have a pair of 12" 4ohm vega series speakers and absolutely love them. One of them in a 2.5 cubic foot enclosure measured 117 dB SPL on the 1812 cannon shots and is down only 2 dB at 18hz in my small room. For around $175.00 plus the cost of amplifier this is performance comparable to the $1000.00 subs from Paradigm, B&W, and Klipsch. The response is admittedly more ragged than these subs are likely to be but not annoyingly so in my opinion. DIYers should take a serious look at this for home theater projects.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Brandon Spencer   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

They have very good SPL. When I put my "Bass Mechanic" CD in, I can't even breath. I love my Vega's, but I'm planning on getting a couple of Stroker 15's.

Weakness:

They do lack a little in the SQ department. But besides that, I have no complaints.

I own a couple of Vega 12's, and they pound. They are ported, but I am planning on making an aperiodic enclosure, so that I can get more SQ. I would definately recommend these subs to anyone who was starting out, but there are better subs out there,(just my opinion)like the Strokers. But I don't think you can find another sub as nice as the Vega, for $150.

Stay Sicc!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com