Cerwin Vega E712 Floorstanding Speakers

Cerwin Vega E712 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

CERWIN VEGA 3-WAY TOWER, 300 WATTS => Model E-712

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Dec 18, 2010]
MetalManiac
Audio Enthusiast

Hi guys,i´m from Mexico City,7 years ago buy, in sale off,brand new and packaged and of course:MADE IN USA,one pair of these amazing,devastating and incredible loudspeakers,year by year sounding GREAT & POWERFULL,i only listening hard & metal music,in cd´s and vinyl records,in both the sound is clear,the bass is remarkable,powerfull,if you had a pair of these beauties,NEVER,NEVER sold'em YOU WILL REGRET IT,i´m sure.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2010]
brian
Audio Enthusiast

for sound qualityand volume i have found the 712 to be the best $ for $ speakers i have ever purchased.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2009]
jan antel
AudioPhile

Very nice speakers,i use them with a carver 20002cm [int amp] and they rock hard good price for the good quality folks rock on.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 12, 2009]
sinsaboon
AudioPhile

I have enjoyed the quality of sound and performance for 6 years now. I would recomend the 712 to anyone who is into good quality sound. $ for $ It was the best investment I made.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2009]
BOB SAP
Audio Enthusiast

THESE SPEAKERS BEGGED TO BE POWERED BY A VERY LARGE AMPLIFIER. I AM USEING A YAMAHA MX1000U & SONY DIGITAL SOUND PROCESSING CONTROL AMPLIFIER. MY AMP IS 260 WPC 8 OHM'S,IF PUSHED IT WILL PRODUCE A WHOPPING 450 WPC MAX , IT HAS A HEADROOM OF2.38 DB. LIKE TO PLAY HARD ROCK AT VERY LOUD LEVELS TRUST ME I CANNOT BLOW THEM OUT. THESE SPEAKERS ARE VERY ACCURATE VERY POWERFUL BASS RESPONSE VERY EFFICENT FREQUENCY RESPONSE 28 HZ - 20 KHZ SENSITIVITY 98 DB . IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GREAT SOUNDING SPEAKER LOOK NO MORE FIND THESE USED ON EBAY YOU WILL NOT GO WRONG

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2009]
meephis
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good build quality, heft not an issue.... can be played until your ears bleed ha ha ha ha... Very good speaker at it's price point. Can't break them (Yes....I've Tried!)

Weakness:

gimmicky front contols, non biampable binding posts, could use a little more insulating material internally. sound quality is rather dull and tonanly flat at lower volumes.

Hi, its been a long time since I have written a review on here but i recently had a funny thing happen. 6 years ago i bought a brand new pair of Cerwin Vega E-712 speakers, I didn't know any better. I had these speakers for a good 2 years or so and then sold them off to move on to higher end equipment. Now about 4 years after i sold them, my mirage towers burnt up.... Someone decided to crank up the volume after a night of heavy drinking and blew the tweeters. I decided to replace the tweeters and sell them off to the very person I sold the E-712's to, and in exchange I would get them back. I must admit, in spite of all of the "trash" that i talked about these speakers when I had them and even after I selling them, I really miss the Cerwin Vegas. They have their flaws sure, but dont try to hide them. It is a speaker that is full of character and emotion. And despite the lack of imaging, and absolute lack of being able to portray the subtle nuances it is still a fantastic speaker. I am really looking forward to reaquiring these speakers! I had owned these speakers previously and did so for approximately 2 years, and suprisingly i never wrote up a review, so they are well overdue. So here it goes...These speakers impose a 3 way design featuring an adjustable tweeter and midrange control panel which offers a high and low level positioning for each, respectively. They are equipped with a set of binding post terminals and dual 3" rear ports. The cabinet is very stout and well constructed and the 12" driver has no problem moving enough air to double up as a hair dryer. That being said, I must say in all fairness that the control panel is a joke, the posts need to be biampable and that they could possibly have used a little more insulating material inside of the cabinet. But once again I don't care... They are a brilliantly primal sounding speaker that just begs to be abused. Its sound is gritty and perverse, and i love it! You listen to them at low levels and the quality of the tweeters becomes a question, until you crank the volume. They just come alive.... These babies were made with the sole purpose of knocking your socks off and were designed to be played very very loud.

Customer Service

Prduct so good neither I or the current owner have ever had to contact them for any reason over the 6 years... I can see now why they had no problem boasting a 5 year warranty.

Similar Products Used:

none real similar... i suppose vintage Klipsch's, Advents, Technics (my friend owned a set for a week)... mostly have dealt with tower and subwoofer combinations since departure... Mirage, Energy, Definitive Technology, Polk Audio, Klipsch, And (briefly) Tivoli Design....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2008]
Miketwolf21
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build Quality, flat and neutral sound range, very high sensitivity, creates sound imaging, and just are better than any speaker under a $1000. Basically if you listen music and want a good set of speakers for a reasonable price. Get these. I recommend these over any other brand for the money. Plays any type of music very, very well.

Weakness:

Sound really carries through about any wall.

Although these speakers are known for their abilities to be able to be played incredibly loudly and reproduce insane amounts of bass, they have so much more going for them.
I have had the oppurtunitiy to play just about every type of music on these and I am stunned at the quality. I really was not expecting it. I have always listened to a klipsch system worth thousands of dollars and these bad boys had to earn their respect. The majority of what I listen to is indie rock. Wow thats all I can say. Its just an absolute perfect combonation. The every insturment hits you over the head, trying to steal you attention. They just give energy and life to songs that I thought were already awesome. I spent about 12 hours straight going through my albums for certain songs. Basically I had goosebumps the entire time. These speakers are not perfectly polished or refined, but thats what I love about them. They simply reproduce the sound for what it should be, no alteration. The sound imaging is actually quite good, but not quiet up to par with incredibly expensive speakers. These speakers dominate the beatles by the way.
The 12 inch woofer on the speakers has more than twice the surface are of an 8 inch woofer and trust me it makes a huge difference. It gives these speakers an effortless aspect to them. They produce the right amount of bass, but don't have to try. They can fill an entire house easily with still the ability to be played more than 30 more decibles louder. These are the best option for a 2.0 stereo application. These play down to 28 Hz and sound tight and not boomy at all. The bottom end is simply better than the eight inch woofers that my klipsch have. They sound boomy and weak next to these Cerwins. Which brings up the question, do you need a subwoofer with these? I would recommend one, but you really don't need one, it just depends on your preference of bass. You are going to have to get a GOOD subwoofer, otherwise don't waste your time and money because it will sound worse.
With its five inch midrange speaker, it more is able to provide of an abundance of midrange with great warmth. The best part is that these midrange speakers are the size of most people's woofers. Guitars never sounded better.
The highs are suprisingly accurate and clear. The tweeter is incredibly powerful and can be adjusted right on the speaker. Its not harsh at all. I have these in my bedroom, which is a very small room, yet I never think they are harsh unlike some. I do have a youner ear though. Still, the biggest surprise was the ability for these to play the high frequencies with grace and power.
The build quality of these speakers is evident from the first lift. Not to mention that these things are literally bulletproof. They can be abused for hours on end and years on end and never fail. These look positively cool also. They have the retro look going and the red foam of the woofer just work.
These speakers depend on taste, but can satisfy any listener with their great flat and neutral frequency range, super-high sensitivity, sound stage imaging, and accuracy. I am always impressed by the sound quality and so are everyone else that listens. I have never needed to do any tone adjusting or any other micro-adjustments. I simply put the receiver to stereo and play. The problem with these speakers is the ability of the sound they produce to carry through any wall and outside. So if you live in an aprartment think twice. These speakers just have play music well. Raw and pure.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch, JBL, Jamo, Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 14, 2006]
Usman
AudioPhile

Great solid design, robust, pure workhorse! Amazing sound quality...crisp highs and deep lows. Top quality materials used. Overall a quality product at a great price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2005]
jamison
AudioPhile

Strength:

Bass, Bass, did i say bass? wow these things thump great. they are very heavy speakers and i was surpised at the quality for the price. by the way im not a college kid either im a 40 yr old mlle that loves rock and roll as much as classical jazz and pop. I wont even try to play classical on these, they arent made for it.

Weakness:

no biampable crossovers, cheap sounding mids and tweeters, also why do speakers like these not have the midranges and tweeters centered on the speaker, it might help a bit with imaging.also the level pad adjustments are a joke with only 2 settings personally id put them on the back and center the midrange and tweeters.

I purchased a pair of these for my new high end garage i built, it is a 2 1/2 car garage 24'deep x 28 wide. i use the garage to house 2 vintage mustangs and it is fixed up nice with drywall and insulated. I currently own Klipsch RF-7's in my home theater/music room. I purchased these for the garage because i wanted the ability to play loudly and not have to have a subwoofer. these speakers work well in that regard i can crank it up for parties and company, compared to the RF-7 the E712 has a hollow cheap sound coming from it like there isnt enough dampening. I wish they had the detail and nuances that the Klipsch did but they didnt have the 1500 dollar price tage either. I already want to mod them with horns from Klipsch.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch, Pioneer, Onkyo, Alesis, Velodyne

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2003]
KAuss
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bargin beyond belife Great highs Handles mids without glitch Good bass, best I've heard from home speakers, but I'm used to 1000 RMS subwoofers... Great imaging speaker, perfect for 5.1 and high energy / techno music with lots of channel mixes.. Backed by a warrenty friendly company... (Many times overlooked, I personally have not invoked them on their warrenty department on any items, also a good note, but I've heard they are very buyer friendly and will warrent a fix and sometimes and upgrade for CV products)

Weakness:

It does look pretty ugly IMO, it's clean cut, but ugly.... A little light in the weight department, it's shy of 50 lbs while housing a 12" driver... Hard to place effectively in a small room (I haven't reviewed other speaker placements but they said 1' away from back wall and 1.5' away from side wall, and 6' away from each other, so theres a TON of gap space around the speaker in it's proper position... Make sure you have the space to accomodate... (they still work wonders if you don't)

First off, I'm not a full blown audiophile but I know my numbers and know my ears... I'm more a car audio fantic than home audio since you get more power, WAY more power in car audio... I don't come to expect much from home audio since the amps are so wimpy most of the time (ones I can get my hands on at least) But I must say these speakers put up a good fight in my music tastes... I run these through your typical 100 x 5 home theater receiver, and I listen to music through the optical out from my changer and I must say that they handle the highs VERY well, clean crisp and clear. The mids didn't dissapoint, but those are usually the easiest to reproduce. The lows however is very contraversial... Since I come from a car audio background, the bass I must say didn't impress me, BUT!! These speakers provided a bass in which dissapointed me the least sort of say... Without the help of a subwoofer (although a speaker with a 12" woofer is generally a sub that can play mids and highs) these speakers provide great bass notes... They are really good for imaging too, even though I'm setup sitting off from the sweet spot most of the time, I can still hear the effects of stereo mix in most of my music tracks very clearly... I do however setup myself in the sweet spot for movies and they do a superb job... You do need a pretty big room to place these speakers in the recommened area provided by CV though... I have these in my bed room and the room is big but I have too much clutter of other things to put them in the recommened spots. (affecting bass response) I can only speculate what they sound like with 300 watts going through them since I only run them with 100... Since I haven't tested the speaker to it's limit in higher volumes I must give them a 4 out of 5 since they are the best speakers I've heard yet without the help of a subwoofer... I favor full towers that can handle bass more than 6.5 dual speaker setup towers that can't handle bass... I would say they are a great bargin buy, since you get a true 3 way that handles very well all it's own and this is the newest gen CV so you're getting all the new gizmos like the new woofer with EXT and upgraded mids n tweets as well... Another side note I like about the speaker is that they have the mids in it's own seperate chamber within the main tower, this has been stated I think on their site and on the manual, if I'm wrong someone please correct me... But the advantage of this is that the mids won't be affected by the air flow of the woofer and this gives more tight / accurate response for your mid which otherwise would be greatly affected by the 12" driver pushing all that air...

Similar Products Used:

I'm more car audio than home theater, but to list my speaker experience... MB Quarts RSC 216 Kicker 15" L7 Infinity Kappa 6.5i Polk home and auto Cerwin Vega E-715 (I think this is what my frie

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com