Cerwin Vega E-715 Floorstanding Speakers

Cerwin Vega E-715 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

15" Woofer, 5" Mid and 30mm Dome Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 54  
[Nov 17, 2018]
Traindude


Strength:

Powerful Bass !!! No need for a subwoofer. Great sound at a decent price.

Weakness:

I cannot think of any. Totally satisfied.

Price Paid:
$500.00
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2018]
barker


Strength:

Great rms power sound great with qsc 1850hd and onkyo preamp with dac

Weakness:

Need larger room to get full bass response

Price Paid:
600
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2002
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2018]
Oldschoolaudio


Strength:

These are the best sounding speakers I have ever heard in the less than a thousand per pair price range! Super clean and dynamic sound! I have owned them since they were new in 2000 and They still just amaze and shock all who dare to listen at full volume.

Weakness:

Idiots trying to power theses babies with a 1990 Sparkomatic in dash cassette player like the guy named Woo who reviewed these back in 2000. He didn't say what he powered them with, but I am only running a Panasonic 100x7 home theater/ full size receiver from the same purchase date. In other words, about 40-60 watts rms, and damn, ears ringing without distortion with any kind of music as I am a lover of all types of music. Presence and imaging is still incredible after 18 years. So...don't listen to fools like Woo.

Price Paid:
$800
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2013]
Mike
AudioPhile

Wow is all I can say. I am an old AudioPhile junkie and have owned lots of different systems. Back in the mid-80's I owned a pair of D-15EE's. Got older and reduced in size. Damn near forgot how good size mattered. I had to pull out my old American made PCR-800 Soundcraftsmen Amp to bring these E-715's to life. Knocked pictures off the wall!! These speakers produce absolutely beautiful sound, for as long as you have quality drivers. Got mine from the pawn shop for $199.00. These are backed up by Bose 301's in every corner and Bose center speaker. Very mind blowing realistic sound when combined. My receiver has buses for every speaker output; connected PCR-800 to front speaker section for 205 watt/channel. Said "bye-bye to sub-woofers" for life!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 20, 2011]
Ryno
Casual Listener

I have a pair of cerwin vega's E-715 that I bought in march of 2010 paid $200..Does anyone know what yr these came out?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2010]
Blindsite Choadera
AudioPhile

As an owner of the AT-15 the grand daddy to these E-715s, they had some big shoes to fill. Having only one mid driver set them back a bit compared to the AT-15 but the AT-15 was built in 1977 and the E-715 was much more efficient overall. I got higher volume from them than I got from the AT-15 at the same volume setting and the E-715 cabinets had less audible bass overshoot and midrange ring. The control range on the crossover adjustments seemed narrow to me but I was still able to set these big boyz up nicely in my 7.1 sysrtem. As residential Cerwin Vegas go on a scale of 1 to 10 I'd give these an 8.5. I still long for the dual midrange drivers and I wish there were discrete fuses or circuit breakers on the back panel for all the drivers like there used to be. If you wanted bigger, tighter sound at this price point you'd have to buy something in the pro equipment line of Gemini or Mackie Eon. The E-715s definitely do the job.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 12, 2009]
Dean812
Audio Enthusiast

Cerwin Vegas are the best speakers on the face of the world! No others can touch the deep, clear bass, the perfect mid ranges and the bell crisp tweeters. And they LOOK dang good with that heavy black ash wood enclosures. For my money these are the speakers to have for serious music fans. IMO anyway, what's yours?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2009]
Jay88
Audio Enthusiast

This speaker is classic Cerwin Vega quality. If you want a serious party speaker that can rock the house for hours yet is still versatile enough to sound great without being played at deafening levels, this is what you are looking for. These speakers are rated at 400 watts RMS with a frequency response of 26Hz-20kHz and a sensitivity of 102 dB @ 2.83V, which is quite impressive for a "house" speaker considering these specs rival some "professional" setups. The main strength of this speaker is its tremendous low frequency bass response, which in my opinion surpasses ANY other speaker in this class. Articulate deep and punchy is the best way to describe it. The midrange however is slightly less impressive, lacking detail and VOLUME, almost to the point of sounding muffled, i mean c'mmon cerwin vega, a 5.25" midrange in a box this size, wtf were they thinking!? The tweeter isn't bad though, coming through with clean clear response, and high output. It can be a bit screechy however and loses depth of sound (espeically with electric guitar). Another thing to be considered is the fact that these speakers need a LOT of power to be truly appreciated. Driving them at moderate volumes with a typical 100W stereo/surround sound receiver is fine, but if you really want to open them up to appreciate their full potential i recommend getting a dedicated power amplifier with a separate pre amp as they put a huge load on these lower power receivers at high volumes, causing them to distort which could severely damage the speakers. Basically it is more damaging to these speakers to UNDERPOWER them than to OVERPOWER them. I wouldn't classify these speakers as "audiophile" speakers in terms of the refinement and sound stage, and if you are looking for speakers that do not "color" the sound to play classical music and music with emphasis on vocals look elsewhere. That said, i certainly don't knock the guys who buy this speaker...YOU KNOW HOW TO ROCK i mean 400W RMS @ 102 dB = put away the fine china and if you are looking for a quality, versatile speaker with a powerful low end these speakers are a great choice... just my two cents worth, enjoy the gear!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 03, 2009]
Jay
Audio Enthusiast

This speaker is classic Cerwin Vega quality. If you want a serious party speaker that can rock the house for hours yet is still versatile enough to sound great without being played at deafening levels, this is what you are looking for. These speakers are rated at 400 watts RMS with a frequency response of 26Hz-20kHz and a sensitivity of 102 dB @ 2.83V, which is quite impressive for a "house" speaker considering these specs rival some "professional" setups. The main strength of this speaker is its tremendous low frequency bass response, which in my opinion surpasses ANY other speaker in this class. Articulate deep and punchy is the best way to describe it. The midrange however is slightly less impressive, lacking detail and VOLUME, almost to the point of sounding muffled, i mean c'mmon cerwin vega, a 5.25" midrange in a box this size, wtf were they thinking!? The tweeter isn't bad though, coming through with clean clear response, and high output. It can be a bit screechy however and loses depth of sound (espeically with electric guitar). Another thing to be considered is the fact that these speakers need a LOT of power to be truly appreciated. Driving them at moderate volumes with a typical 100W stereo/surround sound receiver is fine, but if you really want to open them up to appreciate their full potential i recommend getting a dedicated power amplifier with a separate pre amp as they put a huge load on these lower power receivers at high volumes, causing them to distort which could severely damage the speakers. Basically it is more damaging to these speakers to UNDERPOWER them than to OVERPOWER them. I wouldn't classify these speakers as "audiophile" speakers in terms of the refinement and sound stage, and if you are looking for speakers that do not "color" the sound to play classical music and music with emphasis on vocals look elsewhere. That said, i certainly don't knock the guys who buy this speaker...YOU KNOW HOW TO ROCK i mean 400W RMS @ 102 dB = put away the fine china and if you are looking for a quality, versatile speaker with a powerful low end these speakers are a great choice... just my two cents worth, enjoy the gear!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2008]
markman242
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Tight base.
Good mid range to highs.
High power rating 400W
Excellent sensitivity 102db
Very nice dynamic sound and imaging when powered with a clean high powered amp.

Weakness:

Stuff keeps falling off my shelves, pictures get knocked off the walls and various plaster cracks throughout the house, lol.

I'm more of a traditional audiophile in older speaker designs. So many of the new high end towers out there sport excellent clarity but lack base response needing a separate subwoofer to compensate, they just don't move air like these babies can. All around sound quality of these speakers are pretty well balanced for what they are priced at. They may not be audiophile especially for those types with their ears focused on Beethoven or Bach. But for music that most everyday people listen to (rock, rap, dance, easy listening) they perform very well. Mind you when pushed hard they are a lot of fun, That pounding punch that hits you! I get nothing but good remarks on these speakers when having house parties.
They don't need a lot of power to make these cats purr due to the 102db sensitivity but under powering E715's is not recommended, these speakers could cause a small amp to clip thus damaging the speaker. I originally started out feeding them with 100W per channel using a Yamaha receiver but then upgraded to 2 NAD C272 amplifiers bridged in mono each feeding them 300W per channel and all I have to say is...... oh my god! These Vegas just come alive the more power you feed them. They play hard, clean and distortion free.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 54  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com