Cerwin Vega E-715 Floorstanding Speakers

E-715

15" Woofer, 5" Mid and 30mm Dome Tweeter

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
Mike   AudioPhile [Jun 03, 2013]

Wow is all I can say. I am an old AudioPhile junkie and have owned lots of different systems. Back in the mid-80's I owned a pair of D-15EE's. Got older and reduced in size. Damn near forgot how good size mattered. I had to pull out my old American made PCR-800 Soundcraftsmen Amp to bring these E-715's to life. Knocked pictures off the wall!! These speakers produce absolutely beautiful sound, for as long as you have quality drivers. Got mine from the pawn shop for $199.00. These are backed up by Bose 301's in every corner and Bose center speaker. Very mind blowing realistic sound when combined. My receiver has buses for every speaker output; connected PCR-800 to front speaker section for 205 watt/channel. Said "bye-bye to sub-woofers" for life!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryno   Casual Listener [Sep 20, 2011]

I have a pair of cerwin vega's E-715 that I bought in march of 2010 paid $200..Does anyone know what yr these came out?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Blindsite Choadera   AudioPhile [Jan 22, 2010]

As an owner of the AT-15 the grand daddy to these E-715s, they had some big shoes to fill. Having only one mid driver set them back a bit compared to the AT-15 but the AT-15 was built in 1977 and the E-715 was much more efficient overall. I got higher volume from them than I got from the AT-15 at the same volume setting and the E-715 cabinets had less audible bass overshoot and midrange ring. The control range on the crossover adjustments seemed narrow to me but I was still able to set these big boyz up nicely in my 7.1 sysrtem. As residential Cerwin Vegas go on a scale of 1 to 10 I'd give these an 8.5. I still long for the dual midrange drivers and I wish there were discrete fuses or circuit breakers on the back panel for all the drivers like there used to be. If you wanted bigger, tighter sound at this price point you'd have to buy something in the pro equipment line of Gemini or Mackie Eon. The E-715s definitely do the job.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dean812   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 12, 2009]

Cerwin Vegas are the best speakers on the face of the world! No others can touch the deep, clear bass, the perfect mid ranges and the bell crisp tweeters. And they LOOK dang good with that heavy black ash wood enclosures. For my money these are the speakers to have for serious music fans. IMO anyway, what's yours?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay88   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2009]

This speaker is classic Cerwin Vega quality. If you want a serious party speaker that can rock the house for hours yet is still versatile enough to sound great without being played at deafening levels, this is what you are looking for. These speakers are rated at 400 watts RMS with a frequency response of 26Hz-20kHz and a sensitivity of 102 dB @ 2.83V, which is quite impressive for a "house" speaker considering these specs rival some "professional" setups. The main strength of this speaker is its tremendous low frequency bass response, which in my opinion surpasses ANY other speaker in this class. Articulate deep and punchy is the best way to describe it. The midrange however is slightly less impressive, lacking detail and VOLUME, almost to the point of sounding muffled, i mean c'mmon cerwin vega, a 5.25" midrange in a box this size, wtf were they thinking!? The tweeter isn't bad though, coming through with clean clear response, and high output. It can be a bit screechy however and loses depth of sound (espeically with electric guitar). Another thing to be considered is the fact that these speakers need a LOT of power to be truly appreciated. Driving them at moderate volumes with a typical 100W stereo/surround sound receiver is fine, but if you really want to open them up to appreciate their full potential i recommend getting a dedicated power amplifier with a separate pre amp as they put a huge load on these lower power receivers at high volumes, causing them to distort which could severely damage the speakers. Basically it is more damaging to these speakers to UNDERPOWER them than to OVERPOWER them. I wouldn't classify these speakers as "audiophile" speakers in terms of the refinement and sound stage, and if you are looking for speakers that do not "color" the sound to play classical music and music with emphasis on vocals look elsewhere. That said, i certainly don't knock the guys who buy this speaker...YOU KNOW HOW TO ROCK i mean 400W RMS @ 102 dB = put away the fine china and if you are looking for a quality, versatile speaker with a powerful low end these speakers are a great choice... just my two cents worth, enjoy the gear!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2009]

This speaker is classic Cerwin Vega quality. If you want a serious party speaker that can rock the house for hours yet is still versatile enough to sound great without being played at deafening levels, this is what you are looking for. These speakers are rated at 400 watts RMS with a frequency response of 26Hz-20kHz and a sensitivity of 102 dB @ 2.83V, which is quite impressive for a "house" speaker considering these specs rival some "professional" setups. The main strength of this speaker is its tremendous low frequency bass response, which in my opinion surpasses ANY other speaker in this class. Articulate deep and punchy is the best way to describe it. The midrange however is slightly less impressive, lacking detail and VOLUME, almost to the point of sounding muffled, i mean c'mmon cerwin vega, a 5.25" midrange in a box this size, wtf were they thinking!? The tweeter isn't bad though, coming through with clean clear response, and high output. It can be a bit screechy however and loses depth of sound (espeically with electric guitar). Another thing to be considered is the fact that these speakers need a LOT of power to be truly appreciated. Driving them at moderate volumes with a typical 100W stereo/surround sound receiver is fine, but if you really want to open them up to appreciate their full potential i recommend getting a dedicated power amplifier with a separate pre amp as they put a huge load on these lower power receivers at high volumes, causing them to distort which could severely damage the speakers. Basically it is more damaging to these speakers to UNDERPOWER them than to OVERPOWER them. I wouldn't classify these speakers as "audiophile" speakers in terms of the refinement and sound stage, and if you are looking for speakers that do not "color" the sound to play classical music and music with emphasis on vocals look elsewhere. That said, i certainly don't knock the guys who buy this speaker...YOU KNOW HOW TO ROCK i mean 400W RMS @ 102 dB = put away the fine china and if you are looking for a quality, versatile speaker with a powerful low end these speakers are a great choice... just my two cents worth, enjoy the gear!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
markman242   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2008]
Strength:

Tight base.
Good mid range to highs.
High power rating 400W
Excellent sensitivity 102db
Very nice dynamic sound and imaging when powered with a clean high powered amp.

Weakness:

Stuff keeps falling off my shelves, pictures get knocked off the walls and various plaster cracks throughout the house, lol.

I'm more of a traditional audiophile in older speaker designs. So many of the new high end towers out there sport excellent clarity but lack base response needing a separate subwoofer to compensate, they just don't move air like these babies can. All around sound quality of these speakers are pretty well balanced for what they are priced at. They may not be audiophile especially for those types with their ears focused on Beethoven or Bach. But for music that most everyday people listen to (rock, rap, dance, easy listening) they perform very well. Mind you when pushed hard they are a lot of fun, That pounding punch that hits you! I get nothing but good remarks on these speakers when having house parties.
They don't need a lot of power to make these cats purr due to the 102db sensitivity but under powering E715's is not recommended, these speakers could cause a small amp to clip thus damaging the speaker. I originally started out feeding them with 100W per channel using a Yamaha receiver but then upgraded to 2 NAD C272 amplifiers bridged in mono each feeding them 300W per channel and all I have to say is...... oh my god! These Vegas just come alive the more power you feed them. They play hard, clean and distortion free.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GM   AudioPhile [Jan 10, 2008]
Strength:

Bass is in phase and proper location to image ....separate subs are never right.

phasing/matching of drivers is unbelievable

Will treat your ears with high quality program sources

Weakness:

Will reveal defects and flaws, recording artifacts...not the fault of the speaker system

I am an electircal engineer and want transcription /perfect reproduction of program sources.

I use Crown CE2000, 900watts per channel, and studio pre-amps to drive from sources.

The Cerwin Vega E-715's are the first speakers that clearly reveal the sizzle of recording artifacts.

For instance on Celtic air pipe recording there is perfectly produced IM distortion interaction on the microphones used to record the instrument....the tweeters and mid-range perfectly reproduced these flaws in the source, which requires extreem driver speed, rise and fall times, and extreem sensitivity.

Audiophile speakers tend to mask this and are more musical to the ear, however the Cerwin Vega E-715's reveal the quality or lack thereof in the source program. The only thing I want to hear is the source in its ugly truth or meticulous recording methods, I do not want tube sound unless it is on the source, when I play Byrds tube recorded stuff it comes through perfectly, if I play Heart I get the IM compression and harsh sound. There is no room in my house for any equipment that colors sound, and you cannot have enough efficiency in the drivers with highest amplifier head room.

Too Bad G. Cerwinski passed away, I sincerely hope that Cerwin Vega will continue to produce Helmholtz tuned vented large displacement speakers. When you go to a concert you will be listening to the live pereformance through CV's over the years and this is what is laid down on the recording, why would not anyone want to listen to the live performance through the drivers produced by the Company that builds the stage equipment. Many people fail to realize tha CV recieved Emmy award for Theater sound systems.

CV keep building the cast alum spider that does not reduce the gauss density around the voice coils and allows the tightest gaps and the woofers, and oversized gauss density on tweeters and mid-ranges, ans separate tunes volumes for midrange and sealed back tweeters, and conformal coated communication grade cross overs.

I had a pair of CV Model 26's from 1970...best available at the time regardless of cost....E-715's will turn suedo audiophile speakers in-side out...a bargain...but will cause structural damage to any home. Listen carefully....enjoy.

Customer Service

Excellent over the 40 years

Similar Products Used: Sound reinforcement, Altec Lansing, JBL, Electro Voice, Bogan, Yamaha, Macintosh, Crown Electrostatics, Marshall, Peavey, Advent, AR, EPI,

Denon,Thorens TD 160C, Audio Technika, Grado, ADC, Microacoustics, Sure
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
markman242   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2008]
Strength:

Tight base
Excellent Vocals

Weakness:

Plaster walls in my house crack,
Picture frames fall over,
etc....

I did my research and read many reviews on these speakers, don't listen to the critics! These speakers put out some excellent accoustics. The bass is very clean and tight not fluttery, but mostly I was very surprised on how excellent the midrange to high's sound. I played some Andrea Boccelli on these and the vocal clarity that came out was unbelievable, kills my old Bose speakers. Yes, the bass in these Vegas are plaster cracking thunderous! The great thing is that if you don't want them to pump out thunder just turn the bass down on your amp/receiver, but it feels nice to know that the bass is always there if you want it. Not like most high end towers that have great clarity but don't even come close to the bass characteristics that these Vegas are capable of. I'm an audio buff and listened to many expensive high end speakers that don't come close to these in sound quality for the price. The 102db sensitivity allows these to play nice and smooth at low volume. I highly recommend the E-715's, you will not be dissapointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
msd   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2007]
Strength:

.. if there is any words other than 'The Best' i'll add!

Weakness:

only one thing.. and this isn't even a weakness. Is the size/weight. of course, i do NOT mind nor should any actual sound enthusiasts.

I will not UNDERSTATE to the awesome power handling of these speakers.. nor their crystal clear sound even @ high points of wattage. As a night club dj, I cannot stress enough, how these speakers work CIRCLES around any othe home based speakers. in my 38 years od life, not one time have i EVER come across a speaker with such - solid - stability.I purched mine from a friend who (at the time) need some extra cash to make a car loan payment (long in which I will not go). I paid $100.00 for the pair, in mint condition.. without even listening to them one time. I cannot emphasize the awesome'ness if the CV E-715 series. I've tried to lookup the date these were released. I have DJed for many years, trvaeling across the country. Visiting peolple.. and not one time.. and i mean ONE TIME, have I ever heard a home speaker service that is/was remotley close the the reprocduction of almost every frequency. To wrap this review up.. You'll never experience such sound reproduction from any speaker system.. ESO, the bass.. wheeew.

a 101% review from here.

Similar Products Used: .. how can i say this, NOTHING! ;)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com