Bose 10.2 Series II Floorstanding Speakers

10.2 Series II

3-Way Floorstanding Speaker - 8" Woofer and (2) 2" Tweeters (Discontinued)

User Reviews (44)

Showing 1-10 of 44  
JV   AudioPhile [Aug 24, 2017]

I have these in a room shared with Klipsch Quartets (love those too). The 10.2 series 2 flank my listening chair, and the Quartets are facing me. There are 2 sets of amplifiers to drive each pair of speakers. I use the NAD2100 power envelope to drive the Bose as this amplifier has seperate level controls so that I can Modulate sound levels for each channel. The Quartets are driven by an MC252. A VTL 2.5 preamp controls the lot. I can say that this set up is pretty much listening nirvana for me in my listening situation. The sound stage is elevated and crosses at the center of the room. By their own right the 10.2's sound great on their own. I can listen to them for many hours without fatigue. The bass is full and rich. As an example, listening to Time, From Dark side of the moon on SACD format you can feel the bass through your whole body (our cats hate that). The brightness at the start of the song Money as the sound of change sloshes around is amazing. I can say the difference between good and great speakers is the level that you listen to them. If they sound great at whisper, or your freaking the cats out of the room, the 10.2's can do that. It is a pity that Bose stopped making them, but they were moving towards what everyone thought they wanted, small and lame. I can't tell you how many times my wife has fought to remove these, as they are big and super heavy. Never, never. For the guy that picked these up at a garage sale, you scored. I am embarrassed to say I bought mine at Montgomery Wards ( yes that's right Monkey Wards) and paid $1299 a pop brand spankin new. The guy had no idea what they were, and it took me a month or more to get them. Perhaps another reason why they became a foot note in speaker history. In closing, I should like to think someone might read this one day, as the posts go back to 2003. Just know if you are reading this, and you thought these were destined for the dumpster, think again. Have a listen you will not be sorry.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
L. Rose   Casual Listener [Mar 16, 2017]

I bought my 10.2 brand new in 1991 and I still have them today. Its 2017 and they sound great. My 23 yr old is trying to take them from me...I said no way. Go buy your own Bose

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete Richard   AudioPhile [Dec 01, 2015]

Got a pair for FREE. Testing them with onkio803a. Needed oil on wood, but Pl ay ing fine. Had cervin vega r 30 in line. They are my ref point. Monster cable needs modification to fit connectors. C
Overs dont remove. They look real nice.Dont get me wrong, the30,s work clean and crisp.if i can get this to post.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
junior   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2012]

bose 10.2 series 2, great spkrs., pity bose discontued.had these spkrs. 24 yrs and still sounding good, loosing it tightness , wont replace , use as main spkrs to my av system . check out a company named "definitive technology" for spkrs. similar to the 10.2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Angel Mercado   AudioPhile [May 06, 2012]

These speakers are excellent at least to my ear. So great these 10.2s are theat i just got rid of my Polk SRS SDA speakers to put these back out in my listening space. No regrets either. between the 10.2 and the 901 which i hve had both, the 10.2 are much easier to drive and to place out in my room. i love them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
E Hall   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2009]

I purchased my Bose 10.2 new as a replacement for the Bose 601 (which was damaged moving around in the military). I didn't care too much for the cabinet of the newer 601s'. When I first heard the 10.2s I had never heard of acoustimass technology back then (around 1991), the deep bass and clear high sounds was outstanding. The speakers had a forced air sound about them, like you could feel the music (nothing distorted about the sound). Today is 12/26/2009 and my speakers still sound as good as they did back in 1991. On certain songs, you cal still hear/feel the forced air sound quality of the speakers. It's hard to explain the feeling. I've had friends go, wow!!! My speakers are in mint condition, like they were when I first purchased them. The only negative, these are some very heavy speakers, approx. 46lbs each. Not too much of a problem as I don't move my speakers that much. If placed correctly, you hear that direct/reflecting technology that Bose is famous for. Sittting directly in front of one speaker, you can still hear the other speaker, and on some songs, you can feel air coming from the speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dukeorder   AudioPhile [Mar 06, 2009]

I was lucky that a friend of mine purchased a pair of 10.2 bose from tag sale for $150.00, because the side
(too big) his wife was not allow placing it in the living room , he gave it to me, I have owned many bose speakers 6.2, 301 , 2.2, 901..., it sound similar to the 6.2 bose speaker and use the same 4 ohm drives except the 10.2 have more drive and bigger cabinet provide a better sound boths bass and tweeter, with 10.2 you are not really need a subwoofer. My opinion 10.2 perhaps the best bose speaker that the company
ever make, same as 6.2, by the way I have two pairs of 6.2 to replace $2,400.00 B&W dm7
because it was similar sound quality for much less money it'the reason why i purchased, the 10.2 sound
even better than $ 1,700.00 b&w 604 , or $4000.00 dollars tanoy, so it belong in the high end group too bad bose have discontinued it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2008]
Strength:

NICE LOOKING BOXS WELL BUILT GOOD WIEGHT GREAT PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET NOT JUNK EXCELLENT VALUE JUST MY OPINION

Weakness:

NONE TOO BAD THEY DONT MAKE THEM ANYMORE

One of the best speakers bose ever put out i paid $700.00 for mine if you listen to all the great reviews You know these are great speakers every one is entitled to their own opinion they need the power to sound good ask anyone who knows what they are talking about and dont listen to negative reviews if you can find them buy them but make sure you have a good system with lots of power

Similar Products Used: AXIOM AX5s CERVIN VEGA E715
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
doug   AudioPhile [Sep 26, 2008]
Strength:

great high!!nice bass

Weakness:

heavy

I used to have a bose 901 series 5 but i sold them when i moved to texas..Then i found the bose 10.2 series 2 on craigslist in minty condition and i listen to them driving with carver amp and i am really surprised the way they sounds and i took them home and hook them up to my onkyo m-504 amp and the high is incridble the bass are nice also i think these is the best bose speakers that i ever heard!!!

Similar Products Used: cornwall,bose 901,herresy,scalla,jbl 4311& l100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scoots   AudioPhile [Jun 23, 2008]
Strength:

Wonderful high ends with just the right touch of bass - perfectly matched w/ an older pair of 501's

Weakness:

Heavy but we are talking real wood and great build.

What treasure's to be found when you least expect......found these (dated 1988) models last weekend at a GoodWill store with some minor bumps and bruises but mainly quite intact and without any close viewable speaker damage. Asked the clerk if they were tested and said that one had a flutter sound in the left woofer....he also said he would bring the price down from $49.95 to (some might not believe) $19.95!!!!! He even helped me restle them into our car and when back at home and plugged in my 300 watt Yamaha and with much trepidation.......Perfect, clear with nothing but that excellent quality that older Bose speakers give. Beautiful crisp acoustics and very nice bass that their products lack in their newer over the top technology. Still can't belive I found such a great pair of excellance in a trift store! Highly recomend them if you can find them...I did! as of now I'm now driving them along with a pair of 501's from the 70's and with great balance.

Similar Products Used: Bose 501, 201's. I now have 5 sets of Bose (models made before their lack of a good speaker system) throughout the house.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 44  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com