Audio Physic Virgo Floorstanding Speakers

Audio Physic Virgo Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

The tweeter is decoupled from the cabinet by a unique three point special rubber suspension The combination of high sensitivity and low shifts in the impedance curve make this speaker an easy load for amplifiers Stereophile "Class A Restricted LF" loudspeaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 58  
[Apr 13, 2019]
salahu


Strength:

Bought a pair of used Virgo 25 .. Soundstage, detailed and warmth came together in perfect harmony..👍 My jazz lps never sounded better.. Drivng it with a Hegel H160 and it just superb..

Weakness:

The connectors at the back could be upgraded to a more robust ones.

Price Paid:
3700
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2011
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2009]
benita
AudioPhile

Da Ich weder englisch beherrsche und die Lautsprechern sind aus Deutscland verfasse Ich in deutsch.

Aus Sicht der Vorführerin ist, und bleibt ,eine gewisse Anziehung gestattet. Diesbezüglich ist wohl reghaftes Eigenleben zu erwarten, mit oder ohne. Naja, vielleicht nicht das allerletzte in Sachen Dynamik oder Reibungsarmut aber nichtdestotrotz vollmundig und fabelhaft.
Als Ich meine Anlage entzündete mit den neuen Lautsprechern war Ich wie verbogen! Alle meine Erinnerungen waren wie verblasst - auch Farbenreichtum... Denkbar!!!
Je nachdem Musiksorte wollte Ich Vieles, Vieles höhren. Jazz, Klassik, Pop und Spielfreunde überall. Quasi wie Neugeborgen aber wie alt zugleich, mit schöneren farben (siehe oben!)

Starken: Vorführerische Farbenfröhlichkeit, sehr Wohl, Rhytmusgefühl für alle Musiken

Schwächen: Ungehemmte Darbietung von Details und Rhytmusgefühl, vielleicht eine sonderbare Einstellung Zuhause von Alle?

Mir zuliebe könnte Ich auch sex Sterne vergebens!!! Meine beste Rekommendationen!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2007]
cs
AudioPhile

Strength:

soundtaging, realism, performance-at-price-point

Weakness:

looks, exposed drivers.

I have listened and owned many speakers but none have ever moved me as much as the Virgo's. They will open the window for you to a musical odyssey. It is uncanny how they reproduce the soundstage. Everything falls into place. A truly satisfying product if I have ever owned one.

I believe the Virgos actually outsold every other Audio Physic models and that they have a tough time with their more expensive models because past the Virgo, the point of diminishing returns starts setting in.

In closing, if there is a speaker I'd choose to have on a desert island (price not withstanding), it will be the Virgo's. Yes they are that good (to me). Much as my addictive hobby prodded me to try other speakers, the Virgo's still occupy a permenant spot in my system. They are truly amazing.

Similar Products Used:

Celestion SL-700, Celestion 100, Thiel CS-2, Snell Type A II, Platinum Audio Solo, Sonus Faber Concertino, older Reference 3a MM, Vienna Acoustic Mozart, JSE Infinite Slope 1, Spendor BC-1, Spendor SP-1, Gale GS-401B and many others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2005]
Andres
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Holographic sounstage, transparent, very detailed, they disapear in the room.

Weakness:

Not properly a weakness but the speakers demand a carefull setup an setting in the room. May be you sepent hours to make them disapear.

This is a preliminary review because the short time I had used these speakers. But I am very impressed with the transparency, beautifull velvet highs, holographic sound, the desapearing act, and the highly detailed sound. The speakers are very impressive. I will write in the next months another review when I had hear more time the Virgo III. In this time I will have more thoughts about this system.

Similar Products Used:

Avalon Acent Totem M1 and other

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 16, 2005]
Bubbi
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Imaging, soundstage, absence of fatigue with prolonged listening, detail, presence, gorgeous looks...

Weakness:

Ummmm.... are there any?

Bought these speakers (Virgo II's - with the gorgeous maple finish) without having auditioned them and solely went on all the reviews found on the Internet. Suffice to say, I'm glad I did so. The purchase price of the Virgo's was £875.00 (stirling), which is about 1/4 of the original price and I reckon that makes them a real bargain. These speakers are an absolute revelation with previous comments about them having a wide sound-stage and a holographic presentation being spot on. I run them through a Naim system and the sound can be best described as being sweet and yet having real authority. I am now re-discovering my Cd collection and once again enjoying recordings that I had previously neglected. Looks as if I will be sticking with these speakers for some time to come. Seriously, if you come across these on the second-hand market, don't hesitate....!

Similar Products Used:

Proac, Acoustic Energy, Dynaudio.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 12, 2004]
Rubberen
AudioPhile

Strength:

Huge 3D soundstage, warmth, details, they really do disappear. "Live" experience.

Weakness:

Ultra low bass not present. The woofers are not protected by anything, very dangerous when little kids play around with pencils or other thing that can stick.

After being a loyal B&W listener for many years, I finally ended up looking for a warmer, more natural sound. The switch was necessary since buying a set of B&W CDM7NT's made everything sound harsh. Since I could not believe that it could be the speaker causing this problem, I changed cables, I changed amplifier and I even changed CD player (I now own a AH! Njoe Tjoeb, which is a separate success story), and finally decided to go listen to different speakers. I looked for pre-owned Virgos because of the raving reviews I read. However when hearing the Virgo's for the first time I was a little bit disappointed because they sounded a bit too warm to my opinion. My wife however thought they sounded better than anything I owned before (which made it very easy to be allowed to empty my wallet). I checked the Audio Physic site and there was a lot of information regarding the proper setup for these speakers. I spent a lot of time shifting speakers back and forth through the room and finally figured out the right spot to give me a lot of detail, huge soundstage and satisfying bass. I am listening in an even sided triangle; one corner is me, the other two cornes are at the exact same distance between the two speakers and my listening position. Because I can not keep the speakers in that spot the whole day (I have kids playing around), I made little marks on the floor, so in the evening when I find the time to listen to my favourite music, I move the speakers into their preferred location. (Luckely, my wife hasn't discovered those marks yet) These speakers sound best when playing life music. Rachelle Ferrell's live concert in Montreux is actually taking place in my living room. Also Loreena McKermitt's live in Paris and Toronto couldn't have sounded better in real life, except of course for the ultra low sounds of a real live bass section. These speakers disappear! It has been said many time before by others about these speakers but they really give you the impression that a band is playing in your living room. A friend of mine who brought his own music to listen to, was asking me if these two speakers where the only speakers producing the sound (my living room also has small speakers for my dolby surround set). He could not believe that all that music came out of just these two speakers! I am now totally spoiled (and happy) but I am afraid to have to face the day that these speakers will wear out. I bought them second-hand for just a quarter of the original price. Unfortunately I can not afford buying these speakers for their original new price.

Similar Products Used:

B&W DM110, B&W CDM1, Impulse, B&W CDMNT7

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2003]
AuralSex
AudioPhile

Strength:

Rendering of realistic micro and macro dynamics; effortless recreation of the most subtle textures and details of complex musical passages, superb pace and rhythem, holographic imaging and soundstaging.

Weakness:

Clean down to around 35hz.

Well, I finally decided it was time for a new system after about 19 years. So I breathed deeply and arranged to get rid of my Infinity RS1b's, Nakamichi CA7A preamp, BEL MkII and Bryston 3 amps (BEL on the mid/tweeter). Having paid just about $6,000 for the monster Infinity's I was a little surprised by how expensive things had gotten in the wonderful world of "high end" but I continued on my quest. I listened to the Thiel 3.6 and 6 (I had owned two Thiel models previously, both 3 series). The 3.6 was a huge disappointment - thick through the midbass, lifeless with a treble that became quickly fatiguing. The 6 was quite a bit better but just left me feeling "unmoved." A bit too analytical and not a real imaging champ. Plus, it failed the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor)test. Next I listened to the Wilson Sophia's. Again, not a bad speaker but overpriced ($11,700). yes, I know that this is the "budget" Wilson, but it was a little heavy in the bass and lacked an involving sense of "pace" or rhythem. Again, it's imaging was far from world class. Then I listened to the Virgo III's - I was in love. They had a kind of harmonic wholeness that I hadn't heard before. Music truly "came alive" and imaging was holographic. At one point when listening to the last cut on the "Emerard Forrest" soundtrack I actually heard sounds move realistically up and down in the listening environment...it was eerie but great! These speakers had a kind of top to bottom coherence that I've heard before only through Maggies or the best electrostatics. Rendering of inner detail was amazing and dynamic contrasts of both micro and macro nature were handled effortlessly. These speakers truly conveyed the "you are there" excitement and immediacy of a live performance. Audition these amazing products, I think you, too, will find another lover in your life!

Similar Products Used:

Thiel 3.6 Thiel 6 Wilson Sophia Infinity RS1b Magnepan 3.6

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 01, 2003]
Keijo Tanskanen
AudioPhile

Strength:

As I already said: accuracy, cleanness, focusing and soundstage including depth. One doesn't listen speakers though one listens music - Virgos will disappear!

Weakness:

Every speaker have their limits, so does Virgo. The lowest bass is weak(below 40 Hz). If one listens in very high volume, the dynamic limitations will come out, but who does, because in that case one will damage ones ears!

I listened seriously Magneplanar 3.6, Audio Physic Avanti III, Audiophysic Virgo III and Acapella Harlekin speakers when I was purchasing new speakers. Conclusion was that Virgo III offers clearly best value for money! All these are excellent speakers, but they have their personal features too. Virgo III gives extremely high level accuracy, cleanness, focusing and soundstage(depth too!). If one listens in normal volyme Virgo is even better than Avanti III in some areas(for ex. acoustic guitar and piano sound) ! Mg 3.6 has more dynamic limitations and slightly coloured sound in comparasion to Virgo. Harlekin's sound was a little bit too dark and not so focused for me. Avanti III was too pricey and had some minor misses. So the choice was rather easy to make

Similar Products Used:

In fact it is very hard to mention similar products. In my opinion Virgo III belongs to the same class as Avanti III, Acapella LaMusica and Martin Logans higher models.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2003]
mreinh8936
AudioPhile

Okeydokey. I have had these Virgos for 6 months(see previous review). THEY JUST KEEP GETTING BETTER! I really can't put into words how awesome these speakers sound! Regardless of what type of music I am listening to, be it rock, classic or Jazz. Jack Johnson is right there on my couch doing a solo gig! I can't believe that a loudspeaker can sound like these Virgo 2's. Get them at any price

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2003]
petro1511
AudioPhile

Strength:

precision,imaging, huge sound stage, hits the highs very easily. stand up bass sounds unbelievable. i could swear james taylor is sitting 5 feet in front of me right now. if your thinking about it . buy these speakers

Weakness:

they show me that my phonostage is in desparately need of an upgrade. its only a weakness because now its going to cost me 2 grand to upgrade

ok i bought a pair of virgos .mostly on the merits of the reviews you guys left here.i upgraded from platinum solos (which are no slouch in the imaging and soundstage end.) ive listened to coincident super eclipse(definitely bassier than the virgos but nowheres near the soundstage). coincident victory(also bassier and alittle better soudstage than the eclipses, but not even close to the virgos,i loved the efficiency of the victory). also listened to the silverline sonatina2's(great speaker,but the midrange and soundstage was not as good again as the virgos). so i bought the virgos 400 cheaper than any other speaker i listened to. and i couldnt be happier, imaging ,soundstage and glorious midrange are what i like best and these do it as well as anything at any price ive ever heard. thank you everybody,the only problem im encountering is now it shows me i need a better phonostage. my equipt: vpi aries/jmw10/grado statement bat vk3i w/internal phonostage bat vk-60 virgos w/ aq caldera speaker cables and python interconnects

Similar Products Used:

nht 3.3, coincident super eclipse and victory, silverline sonatina2,platinum solo, platinum studio one, none of which can make me feel as good as the virgos

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com