Atlantic Technology System 350 THX Floorstanding Speakers

System 350 THX

Full THX system with (2)12" 200 watt subs

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
TEX1138   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2004]
Strength:

The strenght of the system is definately it's leaned back performance and neutral soundstage at all soundlevels.... 105dB really shouldn't be a Problem...

Weakness:

Maybe not too bright-sounding... Good SpeakerCables are important on long distances.

I own the 350THX System for 6 years now...and I can say these Speakers never dissapiontes me. Everybody who saw films, listened to music on them was impressed (not all women, but that doesn't count, right?) First I had a Pioneer Elite THX-Amp hooked up to the system and it was already real thx....But after the big denon THX ULTRA2 Amp was connected to the system it was again a really big step further... The Atlantic Technology 350THX System is everything you expect from a thx ultra system. It sounds crisp clear and dynamic...exactly as the filmmaker intended...

Similar Products Used: -
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mbtlriley   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

Totally versatile and pleasing sound quality. Excellent with both music and movies.

Weakness:

Side surrounds cannot be switched between dipole, monopole or bipole.

I've had my Atlantic Technology 350THX speakers for nearly five years now (this is an update to a previous review). Honestly, they just get better and better. I started out with a Pioneer Elite VX-99 receiver and was quite pleased. In response to Norton's displeasure of the Atlantic's musical performance, I can only say that my initial reaction was similar. I bought them without hearing or seeing them. I relied totally on reviews (unwise). But because I didn't want to pay for sending them back I just kept on using them. I discovered by default that these speakers need burn in time. After a few of weeks of burning them in, the Atlantics were born again. I mean it! These babies became fuller, warmer, wider, deeper, and sweeter. They started to sound like the high end speakers at the High End Audio shops. I next upgraded my subwoofer and the sound improved even more. A couple of years ago I considered upgrading my speakers again. Aerial Acoustics, Dunlavy, and Revel were high on the list. Instead I upgraded my electronics. I replaced the Pioneer Elite with an Integra Research RDC-7 Pre-Pro; an Aragon 8008X5 Power Amp; a hafler 2 channel amp; an Integra Research RDV-1 progressive scan DVD Audio/Video player; an Outlaw ICBM bass management unit; a Tice 3B-HP Powerblock; a Velodyne 18" subwoofer; an NHT 10" sub; a Granite Audio 560 power cord; a host of Audioquest, Carver Pro, Pheonix Gold, Outlaw Audio and Monster Z series cables. I also added two additional Atlantic THX mains for my rear surround channels. The result was astounding. My Atlantic 350THX system performed beyond my expectations. I quickly abandoned any thoughts of replacing them. I've had audio/videophile types ask me what kind of speakers I had after hearing my system. All have been impressed. These speakers sound excellent with music and movies. I recently auditioned another Revel system and honestly couldn't imagine a tremendous improvement other than with their B-15 subwoofer (on my wish list). However, Atlantic has now developed a new top of the line system being marketed as we speak. I'll compare that to my current setup and if it blows me away, then and only then would I get rid of the Atlantic 350 system. I'm not saying that their aren't better sounding speakers out there, but they do cost double and triple the scratch. Some places still offer them mail order, just make sure you burn them in. My system includes all the gear mentioned above plus a Mitsubishi WS-55909 integrated HDTV; a laserdics player, cassett deck, turntable, reel to reel deck, S-VHS, and Sorice rack system.

Similar Products Used: Polk audio, Bose, Acoustic Research, NHT, Infinity and PSB
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Riley   Audiophile [Jun 26, 2000]
Strength:

Looks, driver matching, sound, value, stands

Weakness:

lean on heavy rock

I have owned the 350THX system for 2 years, and I am still extremely pleased. I too bought them at One Call, without hearing them, but only after reading several favorable reviews. After a break-in period, they settled in to what has become, to my ears, ideal sound reproduction. Clean, clear, accurate, large and sweet. The sound is on the warm side of nuetral and I think offers better highs than the 370's or the 470's.
I mated them with a Velodyne F-1800XR 18 inch servo subwoofer that is sold exclusively at One Call. I can honestly say, that I have heard few systems that have as deep and as rich a sound as the Atlantic/Velodyne combination. I'm sure the Atlantic subs would be excellent as well, but I wanted the additional extention of an 18 inch woofer. Movie sound rivals any THX Theater and music sounds like professional studio monitors. Very accurate, but with a better sound stage.
The AT 350THX speakers do require good electronics so I recommend units like the Yamaha DSP-A1, Denon AVR 5700, Marantz SR18 or nuetral sounding separates. These speakers reproduce what you put into them and add very little of their own sound qualities. Amplifiers with stronger bass in the upper bass regions bring out the bass above 80hz in the 351 mains (like the Yamaha DSP A1). The dipole surrounds add plenty of directionality as well as a difused sound field. And the center channel is convenient and offers clear, intelligible dialogue from any seating area. Even at low volumes.
If you chose to purchase Atlantic Tech 350THX speakers and listen mostly to well recorded jazz, pop, r&b, accoustic or classical music as well as movie soundtracks, you will not be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Polks, bose, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2000]
Strength:

Superb for movies. Great at even quite levels. Very effecient. That center is huge.

Weakness:

None really. The center speaker is HUGE and won't fit on small TVs.

I too was worried that this may not be the best system for music but since I'll probably use it for movies 90%/music 10% I wasn't extremely worried.

For movies, this system (All Pedestals, 1 Sub) is truly awesome. I didn't have a complete system with the Energy's (no sub, wrong Energy Center, and cheap JBL Rears). My previous setup sound good, but nothing like this. Bass is so much better and the dipole surrounds put you in the middle of all the good action flicks.

If you buy these though, make sure you have plenty of room for the huge center speaker. I have mine very high on top of my 60 inch TV and entertainment center. Being able to point the speaker downward to the listening area makes a huge difference.

Although I don't spend as much time as I'd like listening to my CD Collection, I still thoroughly tested these speakers with music and was extremely happy. I thought I might keep the C-6's up front on my B-channel just for music, but see no reason to do that now. The only problem is for music, the sub is too much bass for me, so I end up turning the volume of the sub down, or turning the sub off altogether. That's a minor inconvenience for me, and maybe I just need to set the sub up better (one of these days I'll get around to reading my receiver manual & sub manual and trying again).

These speakers also are much clearer at lower volumes than the energy's were and are also much more efficient. I have them connected to an Onkyo 656 and thought about upgrading the receiver to the 777 THX Select but my recevier sounds so much better now. I've used much less volume dial with the 350 speakers for both music and movies, yet they are so much louder and better sounding (although they may only sound better because they are louder/more efficient). I'm still considering the Onkyo 777 (it'd be nice to have a DSP Stereo mode with no sub for these speakers) but no hurry for that.

I'm not sure why these speakers are priced so competitively, about half the MSRP, but I haven't seen any faults with them and think they are truly a bargain.

I'm sure several people have stayed away from these because they are only available via mail order and people may be leary of buying speakers without being able to listen to them first. With these speakers you really don't have to worry. Being THX (Ultra - they were THX before the new THX Select came out), you know you can't go wrong for movies. These speakers are listed on THX's web site (www.thx.com). People will still continue to worry about the music quality until they get them home and listen to them.

For movies, these speakers can't be beat (unless you spend twice the price on the 450THX Gloss system).
For music, these speakers are at least way above average in their price range, probably better. In my opinion, they sound better than the C-6's I had, which were selling for $1200 for the pair.

Similar Products Used: Energy C-6's, auditioned Paradigm Monitor 9s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robert   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2000]

these speakers are very powerfull i wana get rid of them b/c i moved locations
i have alot of atlantic technolgy speakers i wana to get rid of please email me if you have any questions
thank you
airasym@aol.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff McLauchlan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 2000]
Strength:

THX-certified, POWERFUL, seamless

Weakness:

none

When I asked the salesman to tell me about the speakers, he said just 2 words, "The Best!". And he was not lying. I've had these speakers for some time now and I have yet to experience their equal. When I say experience, I MEAN experience! You can really get lost in the explosive sound and power of these speakers. Not only are they powerful but they are create a very realistic background environment. The pitch or frequency from one speaker to another is flawless. To put it simply: These speakers are the BEST OF THE BEST!

Similar Products Used: various other speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
flash gordon md   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2000]
Strength:

extremely clean, detailed, dynamic sound; good looks.

Weakness:

none so far

i spent several months listening to the above-mentioned speakers. then, after reading and re-reading this topic, i decided to try the at350thx system.

i should mention that for the last 20 years or so i've used a stereo that includes rogers ls3-5a monitors, driven by a hafler-modified dynaco stereo 70. bass has been provided by a m&k be-II subwoofer, powered by the amplifier section of a NAD 7080, and with the signal from the NAD's preamp split by a dahlquist active equalizer. this is a very sweet system, but i didn't think it would work for home theatre.

i'd have to say the AT system (driven by an onkyo 777, also from onecall.com as part of a great package deal) is much better for the HT. in fact, in terms of clarity, it's easily as good as the old system, with much greater dynamic range and punch. tho' the rogers / hafler / dynaco / dahlquist / NAD combo is probably unbeatable on things like female vocals, i'm delighted with the AT / onkyo combination. even tho' i got the single sub system w/ only the front speaker stands, i called back and ordered the rear stands, too: wall mounting isn't going to work on the slanted walls of the converted attic HT room.

if you've been considering a HT system, i think the AT / onkyo combo is superb. my initial "buyers' regret" is completely gone.

Similar Products Used: auditioned m&k; paradigm; definitive technology; b&w; klipsch; monitor audio; and others. have owned rogers ls35a monitors for ~20 years.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2000]
Strength:

A complete matched system, easy to drive, excellent for home theater, good for music, and an excellent value.

Weakness:

The size of the system can be a problem for entry level H/T buffs and the sound is towards the "lean" side.

I have used the 350THX speaker system, with 2 sub woofers, for almost three years, in two different H/T rooms. Atlantic Technology was an early leader in providng a total speaker solution for H/T and did so at a surprising low price point. The speakers were purchased sight unseen but since then, have been compared to other more expensive speakers. During these demos and the 350THXs have always impressed. The efficiency of the speakers makes them an easy match for nearly every type of AV Reciever.

Associated HT equipment is Yamaha 3001 integrated amp, Pioneer PLD59 Elite laser disk player, Sony DVD, Toshiba VHS, and a variety of leftover audio cables. Speaker cables are from Home Depot, the Monster "cables on a spool" kind. When comparing speakers however, the audio equipment used is, Audio Research LS15, Audio Research CD1, Llano A200, with Kimber select XLR interconnects and Cardas Cross speaker cables.

The gap between the two systems represents my experience that H/T sound reproduction is much less critical than pure Stereo. This has everything to do with real sound from real instruments in music, verses a couple of foley's in a sound stage dancing around in a kitty litter box with half a coco nut shell in each hand. That may be over simplification but you get the picture.

The 350THX have proven themselves time and time again over a wide range of program material. Using two subwoofers makes a big difference in action movies. When properly placed, you actually feel the sound(explosion, jet engine, boom, etc..) with out over kill during more sedate parts of the film.

Surround sound effects are particularly good with the speakers because Atlantic Technologies uses the same mid range speakers and tweeters in all front channels. The imaging is focused and sound stage width goes well beyond the walls. Sonic images pass from one side of the room to the other with no change in their "voice". In videos with good effects you can easily point to where a sound "is" as it moves around the room.

The real surprise is how they still manage to work with straight music. All the qualities that make the speakers work for HT seem to tranlate to music with a few exceptions.

1. The sub woofers lack good definition and frequency response. In pipe organ music(how else to you evaluate a sub?) the soft spots in the sub are easily decernable as the organ notes go lower. In reproducing bass drums, the impact of the mallet hitting the drum surface is diminished. The subs work, but this is not a strong point of the system.

2. The speakers are slightly harsh in the mid to upper ranges. Admittedly, the subtle harshness is part of the speakers defintion quality. This has not a problem most of the time but it can be fatiging with some recordings. Its the kind of problem that can be solved when matched with the right cable or amplifier. Keep this in mind when assembling your system components.

When comparing the HT system to the audio system, the audio systems is just plain better in nearly every category( the Theils don't compete in the bass catagory) but that is easily justifiable given the cost differences and the time spent component matching.

The bottom line is, (yeah I know, FINALLY!!) when the lights are out and the video or music is playing, I am satisfied with these speakers. They do not lack in any area, the price point for a complete set up is an excellent value, and your friends and neighbors will be impressed.

Similar Products Used: B&W 803, Thiel 1.5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 1999]

Just received the system, it is very good. The speakers are nice with the stands. I'm very happy with this purchase. Sounds good with movies and with music,great system!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Bryan H.   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 14, 1999]
Strength:

Nice bass and adequate highs. I have heard things off my CD's that I haven't heard before.

Weakness:

Its hard to say. It blows my previous Bose AM5's away. A lot of things blow those away.

I love these speaks. I have the one sub setup and it rocks my world. I heard these initialy about three years ago and I am finally getting to own them. Crank it up and rip the knob off! I have them paired with an old Technics Dolby pro logic surround receiver, but I am upgrading to the Denon 2800 or 3300. Then I can't wait to hear the music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com