Acoustic Research Edge Floorstanding Speakers

Edge

Weather-resistant and video-shielded, AR's Edge is suitable for both indoor and outdoor use. Each molded-polymer, ported enclosure houses a 1" polycarbonate dome tweeter and a 5-1/4" driver mounted on a flared front baffle.

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Beeker   AudioPhile [Dec 23, 2012]

I am running a full acoustic research 5 channel theater/stereo on a harman kardon 5ch preamp with an HK 5x80 amplifier. Using ar20's with matching ar center with the ar edge at surround. The easy mounting takes the cake. Comparing products i own of same characteristics size/quality etc... B&K, Paradighm, Klipsch, Boston acoustics, Jbl etc...the acoustic research edge keeps up with all very well hands down. Even with a pair spening $800+tax I prefer these in this system above all. I now run/own 4 different home theater sytems atm in my home(out of more than 30 iv had(none were ht in a box) in the past 15 years) this AR being 1 of them The Edges do their job very well

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bahn   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Great feautures for the price.

Weakness:

C'mmon for this price?

I had a Cambridge Center Channel Plus that meshed badly with my AR Edge Sequel speakers. You need to crank up the volume to adequately here the voices in that muffled box. After having this lousy set up of mine for nearly a year, I decided to look for a center speaker that will go with the Sequels perfectly. And then I remembered that HC1, HC2 packages from AR. They used the same satellite speaker as the center. So here it is 150 Watts, of AR Edge with good mid-range and highs. The bass is similar to the Sequel but with more life into it since it uses a bass reflex design. And remember, what our satellite speakers can't achieve, that's where those muscled subwoofers work on. The binding post terminal is also good since the more seriously designed centers do use binding posts. I got it as a single piece speaker instead of a pair from Vanns.com which is quite convenient since I really just needed one.

Similar Products Used: Cambridge SoundWorks Center Channel Plus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Yards   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound, I think they have excellent bass for their size. Great imaging. Mounting options.

Weakness:

None at the $150.00 I paid and certainly none at $58.00.

I purchased a pair of AR Edge for use outdoors. After they arrived I took the opportunity to take one of my Polk front speakers to be repaired and hooked these up indoors as my mains, with a powered subwoofer. I was impressed, sounded almost as good as my Polks. I installed them outdoors 2 years ago and they still sound great. I really like the flexibility that the unique mounting brackes offer. I have mine mounted about 17 feet apart, 7 feet high, angled down and slightly inward. After hearing them 2 of my friends also purchased these for their patio areas. My sister also loved these speakers, I just purchased her a paid for christmas(for $58.00 a pair on Ubid)and she'll love them. These compare well with Klipsch SB1.1's and Wharfedale Anniversary 7.2's.

Similar Products Used: Polk MII's, Klipsch SB1.1, Wharfedale Daimond 7.2, I own all of these.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
skyhawk182   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2002]
Strength:

Compact, ability to orient to listener, Fine sound. Perhaps due to ability to orient toward listener, much better than AR 15's, despite no bass.

Weakness:

Not that easy to mount, but, hey, they hang off the wall...

Fine speaker for outdoor use, or as rear surronnds. Bass is limited, but for rears, they are perfect.

Similar Products Used: AR 15's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian B   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2002]
Strength:

Good build, great mounting bracket, large soundstage

Weakness:

Tubby sounding lower mid-bass, slight boxiness to sound

Received my speakers 2-3 days ago and have had a some time to test these speakers a-b with my other speakers as well as with different amplifiers. I am writing this review based on the the fact that Acoustic Research has a list price of $350.00/pr and Crutchfield sells them as $199.00/pr speakers. Only fair to first compare them in there league where AR is marketing them pricewise and then touch on the fact that I paid only $68.00 for them. I first hooked up the AR''s to my Denon AVR1700 receiver and played some acoustic guitar music. My first impression was that the higher strings had an incredible realism to them. In fact there were some subtle sounds that I heard from the guitar strings that I had previously not heard on my Paradigms. As I auditioned more songs I felt that there was kind of a tubby or over exagerated lower mid-bass coming from the speaker. I also felt that even for a small speaker the bass was just not there. When I got around to doing A-B comparisons b/w the AR''s and the Paradigm Titans ($220.00/pr) there was a very large difference. Where the Paradigms had bass and seemed to disappear when I closed my eyes. The AR''s had little bass and what bass they did have had kind of a bloated sound. Also, the AR''s did not disappear when I closed my eyes and had a less smooth overall sound. The sountstage from side to side that the speakers produced was fantastic, however, the depth was not there. I next hooked up the AR''s to my Luxman LV-112 integrated amp. All the aspects of what I previously wrote were all true yet but less so. There was more bass and less tubby mid-bass. Overall, in the $150.00 to 200.00 there are better sounding speakers to be had for sheer sound quality. But for the the $68.00 I paid I think they are a great deal. After all is said and done these speakers do still produce descent sound, they look great, and they are very versatile. After auditioning the AR''s in my living room these speakers have found their home in my daughters room with the Luxman. She has no complaints...she''s only 14 months old.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm 5SE and Paradigm Titans
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
IrvingL   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2002]
Strength:

Convenient size, easily mount anywhere with the included hardware, best bang for your buck.

Weakness:

None really. Some reviews complain the brackets can break easily. I disagree. I move mine alot without any problem. Just use common sense. Mount the bracket to the wall first then attach the speaker. Tighten the four screws evenly.

We live in a townhouse and don''t have any ''big'' rooms. Needed a good set of outdoor speakers for the deck. Liked them so much that we bought another pair for the lower level. Then, bought ANOTHER pair to attach to the second floor outside wall of the house for a halloween party. Across the parking lot, without having to crank the volume up, Horror Movie Madness themes were heard cleanly and clearly. Those speakers are my garage speakers until the next outdoor party.

Similar Products Used: Prior to purchase I tried out Bose 151s. No comparison. Bose 251s are better but not $400 better and they are way too big and bulky.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Milton   Casual Listener [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

Style, compact.

Weakness:

n/a

Nice sound, great price. I use it for surround on my HT, works well, not top-of-the line, but it works great, without spending a million dollars. For the casual listener this is a great speaker. Also a good company to boot.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2000]
Strength:

Clean mids and highs

Weakness:

Low end (as expected in a small speaker)

The speakers are wall mounted at roughly 7 feet high and are spaced about 10 feet apart. The room size is 12 by 14 and with the speaker placement affords a true equidistant listening position. The flooring is ceramic tile and walls are mainly glass.

The walls and floor do not absorb any sound so that makes the highs sound the way they do - which is pleasing and not obtrusive. The bass response is very acceptable for such a small speaker but don't expect deep bass or you will be disappointed. Separation and depth are very good to the point they rival my Polk speakers. Overall, I would give these speakers a 4.5 rating and at a cost of $200/pair they are a steal.

Similar Products Used: Polk satellites
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2000]
Strength:

Love the sound the highs are incredible and with the 12inch powered sub its definetly my favorite system for dolby digital. :) very very happy

Weakness:

Heavy to mount on some walls

Basicly if your looking for a mid grade system this is the one for you. very well built and with a nice amp ( I use Harman / Kardon digital reciever ) its unbeatable.

Similar Products Used: Bose ( crap )
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gus Beckman   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2000]
Strength:

Wall Mountable

Weakness:

Sound Quality

I was dissapointed with the sound that these speakers offered me. They lacked in about every performance test that was put to them. I am glad I did not purchase these speakers, I went with the Super One XU speakers. The ARs sounded like complete crap, tell me all you whop bought these speakers, what the hell were you comparing these to, the KLH speakers that Best Buy had for $9.99? You think this is a good value, how much did you pay? I could crap in a box and sell it for $150, anyone interested let me know? Other than the fact that these speakers come with mounting brackets,(that are just as big a piece of crap as the speakers I might add) they are complete waste of money. Next time you are out go and listen to a real set of speakers, you will kick yourself in the ass for purchasing those AR pieces off crap.

Similar Products Used: Super One XU, Super Zero XU
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com