Wharfedale Modus Music Center Center Channels

Modus Music Center

center speaker

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
woofus   Casual Listener [Aug 09, 2003]
Strength:

price range gold-binding posts short burn in time

Weakness:

flat black veneer (it does look nice on top of a flat black tv, though)

Including shipping, I paid $200 for this center and a pair diamond anniversary 7.2s. They both sound awesome, but this center rocks. I usually listen to music in stereo, but now I somtimes listen in CS-II mono, just to hear how good this center sounds. It handles a very broad range. Its high are crisp and beautiful, its lows are strong and booming. I strongly reccomend this speaker. Some people have described it as being flimsy, I found the modus center to be very sturdy and well constructed

Similar Products Used: bose 301, wharfedale DAE 7.2s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike P   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2002]
Strength:

Accuracy

Weakness:

a little big for smaller TV sets

Difference is NIGHT AND DAY.for now, I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and I encourage other people to do so. You''ll love your DVD''s all over again. The Vocal Tone reproduction is AWESOME and the realism of other tones are much clearer and full. (this is not even broken in yet). A++++ Super deal Amazon got it to me within 48 Hours... A+++

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan Pearson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

Price, power handling

Weakness:

Design of cabinet

Got a great deal at UBid and this complements my Wharfedale powered sub bass very well. Waiting for my 1.6 fronts and modus 8's surrounds.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Realistic, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mp   Casual Listener [Nov 01, 1999]

I'm hoping that this speaker needs breaking in big time. It certainly is disappointing so far. I purchased it from Ubid for just over $100. I also purchased a Nak AV7 which I'm thrilled with so far....

This was my first venture into bidding online and I've been nervously awaiting the arrival of this center, my AV7 and the Valdus 500s I ordered. The other reviews here seemed to be honest and were posted at various times so I have my fingers crossed that I simply need to play my CDs for a while to hear what everyone else has raved about.

If these Wharfedale speakers end up being a wasted $400+ (2 500s and the center) I'll be really pissed but would never tell here what a fool I was to purchase prior to hearing them.

If the speakers turn out great I'll be back to rerate them. The Energy center channel was really excellent and I'm wishing I'd never returned it at this point.

Similar Products Used: Energy center channel
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Louis   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2000]
Strength:

Clarity. Economical.

Weakness:

Limited dynamic range. Coloration. Another cheaply constructed product from Wharfedale courtesy of cheap labor from China...

This speaker's blend appearance (and cheap construction) may not catch many people's eyes, but the value should. It is a very well-performing center channel speaker at a very low price.

Although it is excellent in a home theater setup, be forewarned that it's dynamic range is rather limited (esp. bass and lower mid-range). Therefore, if you play a lot of DTS CD or Dolby 5.1 classical music, this center speaker may not be a good choice.

If you are just movie-watching, however, this speaker is an excellent economical choice. Of course, you could get a real good center speaker in the NHT Audio Center 2 (MSRP around $860?), which I recently bought to replace the Wharfedale Modus center.

P.S. An THX-cetified A/V Receiver (e.g., Pioneer Elite series) substantially helps to offset the limited dynamic range of this speaker.



Similar Products Used: NHT AudioCenter 2. B&W.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Paul Rizzo   Audiophile [Sep 29, 2000]
Strength:

Sound clarity, and surprising dynamic range for a center channel.

Weakness:

None

I am very pleased with this center. It is very ruggedly constructed, and is a very high quality piece. I was surprised how well it sounded. I always thought that center speakers were just designed to reproduce the vocal tracks from movies, but you could practically use this speaker as a main, that's how good it sounds. It actually has ported drivers....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   Audiophile [Nov 13, 1999]
Strength:

Sounds greats and excellent buy

I bought the Wharfedale Modus Music Center from Ubid for about $100 and couldn't believe the bargain I got!! The center channel is great, especially for the price. I had these hooked up to my Nakamichi AV 10 and they sound incredible. Played the Top Gun DVD and it ROCKS!! Went to visit a local audio store and tested other center channels...for the money you get a lot more from Wharfedale at this bargain!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phil dery   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 1999]

A customer service note:
I bought the Sapphire 87 on Ubid for 142 each. When I tried to play them at moderate/high volume, I heard a popping sound. I thought there was something hokey going on - 'B' / gray market or some such. I called ubid and they gave me the number for IAG electronics (1-877-440-0888), who was handling the warranty service. I called, told them what was happening, and they sent 2 new speakers, AND return labels (PRE PAID!) to ship them back. I was impressed! I got them 2 days ago, hooked 'em up, cranked it, and...MORE POPPING! I called back IAG and spoke with Jeff. He explained that the noise I was hearing was from the bass drivers, which need to be broken in for approximately 40 hours at moderate volume. When getting a quick impulse from a good amp (I have the NAK AV-7 also - awesome) the driver can't keep up. The suspension on them is tight for quick response, and they are rated up to 400 watts, the 150 watt limitation is on the tweeter. He was extremely knowledgeable about the products, and we talked for about 15 minutes. He recommended the Music center channel, which I may buy. He said that if had taken my original call, he would have explained all this to me, and there probably would not be a need for the replacement speakers. I have my originals running right now at home while I'm at work, to break them in. He said their Wharfedale account was very important to them, and they wanted customers to be satisfied. He said that if they don't meet my expectations after the break in, then call and we can discuss switching to Music 8's or 1.6's. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SUPPORT!!!!! Sorry to skew the ratings, but this has to go somewhere!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Manu Vasandani   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

Clarity, solid construction

Weakness:

none

Good speaker. Definately worth what I paid for it.

BTW, I upgraded, and want to sell this. If you want to buy it at less than half my cost ($150), contact me.

Similar Products Used: Infinity CC-3, Aiwa
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sailor   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2001]
Strength:

Solid construction. Screw type binding posts. Good midrange (twin front ported) and clear treble from silk dome tweeter.

Weakness:

None so far

Recently purchased to replace Valdus Centre, which was not powerfull enough for my amp (NAD T760). The difference is like day and night. It complements my front Valdus 400's perfectly. Music ability is briliant (digital source NAD T550 DVD player), handles high volumes with ease - The Eagles' Hotel California (DTS DVD) comes alive and the vocals on Sting's Desert Rose (DD 5.1) is magnificent. Dialogue in movies is clear and well seperated. I paid ZAR1000 (aprox US$125) - deffinately worth it.

Similar Products Used: Valdus Centre
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com