PSB Speakers Image 9C Center Channels

Image 9C

In this larger center channel, the Image tweeter combines with two 6-1/2" woofers to provide full-range, high-output center-channel sound. Its aptitude for clarifying even the most elaborate, demanding, many-layered soundtracks includes the ability to handle very loud levels in large rooms.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
kenninator   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

This speaker delivers very crisp and clean sound.At high volumes doesn't have any distortion.

Weakness:

Blew a tweeter, was replaced in a week. Since I broke the new tweeter in.Not 1 problem.

I have been running this center with the 6T's and 2B's for a couple of years now.I did have to replace the tweeter once but had no warranty problems, as it was purchased from an authorized dealer.My receiver is a Marantz SR8000. Great combo for movies.Voices are clear ,This is my favorite speaker.

Similar Products Used: This is only my second center, my first was a sony, I won't make that mistake again.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brucifer51   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 26, 2002]
Strength:

Speaker sounded great for four months.

Weakness:

Buyer beware! PSB will not honor their warranty if purchased through the mail. Size - Too large for most direct view televisions. Harsh sounding (Due to unrepaired defect).

An excellent center channel speaker unless it breaks and you need warrany service. My Image 9C blew its tweeter after 4 months. A call to the mail order dealer where I purchased it resulted in a replacement tweeter. I installed the tweeter but still found the sound harsh and shrill. I explained that this speaker still wasn't performing to spec and was instructed to mail it back to the dealer for repair. Got it back a month later in the same condition. No explanation as to what the problem was or what (if anything) was done - nothing! Crossover damage? Defective tweeter? Two letters to PSB have gone unanswered. Conclusion: Their warranty is worthless!

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Advent and BIC center channels.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Randy S   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2002]
Strength:

Clear, uncolored, large sound field. Great bang for the buck!

Weakness:

The black ash veneer on the 9C and 3LR''s looks cheap; I prefer the slightly textured laminate finish of the 10S''s.

Coupled with a 9C center channel, 10S surrounds, and a HSU VTF-2, this is a killer HT sound system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dana Gould   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2001]
Strength:

Sounds great with both movies and music

Weakness:

None so far

I bought the Image 9c after three weeks of shopping around.
The 9c was one of the first CC speaker I heard, and most of the others couldn't compare. Dollar for dollar, you can;t beat this speaker. In that time, I heard at least 40 CC speakers and only two other speakers sounded as good ( at double the price or more ). Take my word for it, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

Similar Products Used: B&W CC6-S2, Monitor Audio
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Schmidt   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2001]
Strength:

Clarity, Bass response with vocals

Weakness:

large

This speaker offers great sound throughout its range. I ended up giving away my paradigm center. With the PSB 6 1/2 inch drivers, it can carry the most demanding center channel loads. Definite recommendation here.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm, NHT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Russell   Audiophile [Jul 27, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent Range (40-21,000Hz), Detail, realistic sound production, clarity.

Weakness:

26" size maybe a little too big for some people. Nothing sound related.

From my list of similar products, you can tell that I've been searching for a while. I've been bringing speakers home for a LONG time to find wha tI want. The only speaker that sounded close to the PSB 9C was the Acoustic Rsearch AR2C.

This speaker has the range and construction to realistically reproduce ANYTHING you can throw at it. I tested using Twister, Matrix, and Jerassic Park. A center channel is often over-rated, but this particular model makes voices and effects sound 100% realistic. At proper volume, the acoustics of dialog sound as if people were standing right before you.

I've recently updated my system to include:
CENTER: PSB 9c
L/R Main: Paradigm Monitor 7's
Surround: Klipsch RS-7's
and nice Klipsch Subwoofer (next to be replaced)

Each of these speakers was carefully chosen for it unique imaging and realistic sound reproduction. The result is an amazing sound stage.

I think that this is the best center speaker that you can buy. Take a close look at what I compare it to, and you will understand that this is a VERY informed opinion.

Similar Products Used: PSB C6i (55-21,000Hz at $549), Kilpach C-7 (75-20,000Hz at $399), Boston Acoustic VR920 (55-20,000Hz at $599), Boston Acoustic VR-MC (65-20,000Hz at $469), and the closest is Acoustic Research AR2c (45-23,000HZ at $289).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Derick Coffin   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 05, 2001]
Strength:

Reproduces dialogue and effects remarkably. Good Magnetic shielding. This is
the mother of all Center Channels...for the price. ( the previous reviewer said it right )

Weakness:

only one...size but the size is part of the reason it sounds as good.. its a full range speaker..PSB don't make it smaller

This is the best center speaker for the money on the planet and when you have four 4t's coupled with the Harman Kardon Receiver in five channel stereo with 9c center for better dialogue in 5.1...it rocks I just love it...5t's not as good for mid's and not required..I have Paradigm ps1000 which is a killer sub for 5.1 and works very well with the Harman Kardon set to LFE not L+R&LFE for music with nice tight bass with this setting...Paradigm subs better than PSB for the money ...ps1000 not recommended for music if you have small speakers....I previously had the 8c to go with my 4t's but I found that the dialogue just did not cut it in 5.1...the 8c is not a full range speaker with help from the sub in Pro Logic.. dialogue is quite good but 5.1 is a different story...no help fom sub for dialogue male voices don't go deep the 9c fixed all that ( closer to full range because of its size and drivers )..as for looks the 9c doesn't match the four 4t's...I don't care I love the sound

Similar Products Used: Paradigm and other PSB centers including 8c
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dean   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2001]
Strength:

bass response

Weakness:

lacked clear dialogue

I bought this after reading all the fine reviews here about it. It's one of the highest rated center channels on this website. Based on that, and even after being quite satisfied with the new CSW Newton MC500 center channel I ordered this to hear it for myself. I thought for sure I'd be returning the Newton and the PSB would change my life. Well, it's a full range speaker. It has all the low end you could ask for. At the same time, I felt it lacked the life like highs I was looking for. It was as if the tweeter wasn't on. (It was as I listened up against it but it wasn't very bright.) In all honesty, to me, this sounds okay, not as good as the CSW Centerstage, but good. You get the lower end but at sacrifice the highs. For dialogue, I strained to hear stuff, it sounded muffled. I prefer the 3 way design over 2 way. If your a fanatic and spending less than 500 bucks you need a mid driver. I called the place I bought it from after testing it and explained the situation. They didn't feel it was defective, that it was just my opinion and they issued a return so I can get refunded.
I am shocked that this is rated so high, or it makes me think the one I got was somehow defective. I was expecting so much more. Based on the one I got, I'd say save your money and buy the CSW Centerstage which offers the same sound but a bit crisper for less money. Or, if you are after crystal clear dialogue and full range in this size, try the new CSW Newton series MC500. See my review of it on this site. (AudioReview has the CSW Newton MC500 under mains but it's a center too.)
Sorry PSB, I wanted to like this one.

Similar Products Used: CSW Newton MC500, Polk CS series, Paradigm and CSW Centerstage
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2002]
Strength:

voice reproduction, volume, ability to fill the room

Weakness:

size- for some

This center channel matches my PSB 6T fronts very well. Smooth transitions from side to center and back. Voices are easily heard. You can hear whispers even though they are not very loud (maybe there is a word for this). Overall this center channel far out-performs my older Def. Tech. center.

Similar Products Used: Definitive Technology
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
troy sakuta   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

Very detailed and smooth. Dialogue is amazingly clear.

Weakness:

Size (for some)

I am amazed at the difference in the details of the dialogue when watching movies compared to my old Polk center. Wether listening to music in 5 channel stereo or HT the clarity and smoothness is impressive. It does take some break in time, but its well worth the wait.

I have it matched with the 7PTs & 2Bs, Fantastic system for the money. I paid $1390 for the 7pts, 2bs, and 9c.

Similar Products Used: Polk 400, Ar2c, Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com