Definitive Technology C/L/R 2002 Center Channels

C/L/R 2002

Center Channel for 2002 series speakers

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Juiceman   AudioPhile [May 15, 2017]

I wanted a better center speaker for my bp8b's rather then my cr1 which has been an ok speaker but I have never been happy with the highs and the dialog has never been that clear to me, so I remembered a friend of mine owned a the clr2000 and couldn't stop talking about it, so I baught the clr2002 on ebay for 200.00 and I absolutely love it. The highs, mids are very clear, it even has some low punch to it that I enjoy. Dialog is very clear, I bought a more high powered amp which makes the clr2002 sound even better. I am thinking about buying two more for the fronts. Very good speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DARRIAZA   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2009]

Def Tech puts out the best equipment for the money...period! I have owned, Infinity, Yamaha, Athena, ADS and Paradigm centers and speakers. Other than the Paradigm, this is the best center I've owned. The paradigm was equal to to the DT 2002 but I also paid twice as much. I have since sold the Paradigm and I am in the process now of switching my entire speaker suite to Def Tech. They are accurate, can go loud and more importantly they place all the musicians in their spot on stage while the speakers disappear. The whole soundstage becomes a wall of music. It's amazing as to how accurate this center is. Horns are so accurate, I can hear the sax player's ring hit the side of his instrument in George Bugatti's, Live on the Strip. Geroge's voice is so clear I can hear him taking in breaths and licking his lips as he approaches the mic.
I am running a Sunfire Amp, 450 x 7 and the Harman Kardon 354 as a pre amp. I am also running two Velodyns (CHT15) takiing care of my sub 40Hz.
This hobby is horribly addicting but I finally feel like I can stop. Unless I was going to get into Wilson, McIntosh and Krell I can't get better for the price range I'm in. Go to Det Tech and you won't be sorry.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jimmy8   Casual Listener [Jun 26, 2004]
Strength:

Midrange clarity Looks Build quality

Weakness:

Size

I had the Cambridge Soundworks MC300 center channel that I found lacking in clarity with dialogue in DVDs. I walked by the local audio shop and saw the deftech clr2002 speakers on sale and decided to give them a try. I bought it after listening to it for just 10 minutes. I took it home and realized that it made a world of difference with my home theater setup. It was so much better that I returned my entire Cambridge Soundworks MC300 speaker package and bought 2 more DefTech clr2002s to use as my mains.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo (The Home-theater-in-a-box version) Cambridge Soundworks MC300 KEF 2005
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gombi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2004]
Strength:

Great Sound, Looks, Bi-Wiring, Stunning detail and music reproduction. Modestly priced for its build quality looks and performance

Weakness:

None Whatsoever.

First of all, let me start by saying that I was living in denial. For years, I took the more familiar approach of buying electronics from bigger chain retailers and lust for names such as BOSE, SONY and others. Well, I subscribed to Home Theatre Magazine last year and my entire outlook started to changed. First, I got a Denon receiver (Also from Pecar's) to replace my old SONY. Needless to say that made me want to change my entire speaker set from BOSE to something else. I went into Pecar's not sure what I was going to do but Def Tech magazine ads and reviews caught my attention earlier so I decided to give them a listen. I was sold instantly. The clarity, the detail, the punch on the C/L/R/2002 was way better than anything I have ever heard before. I used to own the Acoustimass 15 plus the VCS-10 for center channel duties. I was totally in awe when I bought this speaker home. The action and the dialogue is totally clear. This speaker also offers a bi-wiring option which I immediately took advantage of and then, just when I thought this speaker couldn't sound any better it hits me again with an even more open mid-range and better bass response. Also SACD's sound like never before when reproduce by this speaker. If like me, you have living in the Best Buy, Circuit City and ABC warehouse world of mediocre products and if you leave in the Troy, Detroit MI area do yourself a favor and give the C/L/R/ 2002 a listen. It is like Lester Burnham would say (American Beauty) es-pec-ta-cu-lar

Similar Products Used: Sony Center Channel Bose VCS 10 Center Channel Polk Center Channel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gage   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2002]
Strength:

Sounds great,solid build, aesthetics. Efficiency rating is excellent so high amp is not required.

Weakness:

Installing adjustable brass feet proves difficult. Instructions indicate to "tap" brass inserts into base but it requires a great amount of force to do so.

I replaced an aging Polk CS200 with this and what a difference. The greatest test for a center is to audition a DVD with bad dialogue recording, such as "Last of the Mohicans". This particular DVD has great dynamic range but voice encoding sucks, however the CLR2002 adds clarity to the dialogue. It integrates well with my BP8B fronts. I initially considered getting the Procenter C2 but payed the extra money for the CLR2002 with no regrets. This is definitely a speaker that only fits under the TV (I have a 32")on a shelf and not on top. It is big.

Similar Products Used: Auditioned Paradigm Studio CC, Dynaudio Audience C120, B&W LCR 600, Def Tech Procenter C2.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Gary Bitters   AudioPhile [Aug 29, 2002]
Strength:

Price/performance, looks, sound!

Weakness:

none!

I absolutely love this C/L/R2002 center channel. I used to have a Definitive Technology Pro-Cinema C-2 center channel. It sounded great, but even though the C/L/R2002 has the same tweeter and midrange in it the C/L/R2002 sounds much bigger, and voices sound like the actor is in my living room. It is very detailed and very dynamic. I love the way it looks, very sharp! I take advantage of its bi-wiring capability, and installed the adjustable feet so I can am it down to my sweet spot. I wanted to have full range speakers all the way around so I added a Definitive Technology Pro-Cinema Pro-Sub 200TL subwoofer via speaker wire up stream of the C/L/R2002. Man did that make this center channel kick butt! I now have much better performance then the C/L/R3000 do to the Pro-Sub 200TL having a 12" 250 watt amp compared to the 10" 150 watt woofer (not a real subwoofer) in the C/L/R3000. Do your self a favor and listen to this C/L/R2002, you will love it as I do. Here is my System: Pioneer Elite Pro-520HD (TV) Sony DVP-S530D (DVD) Comcast Digital (Cable Box) Denon AVR-3300 (receiver) Definitive Technology Speakers: BP2002TL (Front & Back) C/L/R2002 (Center) Pro-Sub 200TL (Center Sub) Power Field 15TL (LFE Sub) Philips Pronto (Remote) Tara Labs Component Video Cables Monster Interconnects Monster 10 gauge speaker wire Monster HTS800 Power conditioner Happy Listening

Similar Products Used: Bose AM-7s, Energy exl-C, Definitive Technology Pro-Cinem C-2.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Artman582   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2002]
Strength:

Good value

Weakness:

None

Great sound and construction.

Similar Products Used: CLR 1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Artman582   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2002]
Strength:

highs, low, cabinet construction, manual, design, able to reproduce sound perfectly

Weakness:

none

Great Center channel speaker for music and home theater use.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary Bitters   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 03, 2000]
Strength:

Sound, price, looks!

Weakness:

None!

Love this center speaker, much better then my old Pro Cinema C-2. It is fully adjustable which is good because it's ontop of a 6' entertainment center. After 200 hours of break in the C/L/R 2002 sounded even better, but I decided to bi-wire it and wow it made it sound even better. I was going to buy a C/L/R 2000 but the dealer said it was a waste of money and that the C/L/R 2002 was the perfict match for my BP2002TLs! Greatspeaker at a great price $438.

My system includes:

Denon AVR-3300 receiver
Toshiba 36" TV
Sony DVP-S530D dvd player
Panisonic VCR
Philips Pronto remote
BP2002TL Two pair front & back
C/L/R 2002 center
PF15TL LFE sub
All Monster Cables and Power conditioners
Terk Pi AM/FM antenna
Radio Shack Gold Bannna plugs

Happy Listening

Similar Products Used: Bose AM-7s andAM-5s, Def Techs Pro Cinema 400 system, Energy EXL-15s and Take-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Moe   Audiophile [Sep 21, 2000]
Strength:

Wow!! Very detailed and very crisp. Excellent size and look great.

Weakness:

Nothing big to list

I owned the above speakers with the LCR6 being the most recent. I loved the LCR6, thought it was the best CC I had yet to hear. Up until I changed my system and matched up the CLR2002 with the new BP2004TL's. This CC sounds great, awesome and very detailed. I thought I would lose quality going to this CC, I was very wrong. Voices sounded very natural, and female voices weren't harsh at all. Excellent base for a CC, and yes, BI-Wiring does make a diff. This CC can handle some real rumbling, and is nicely timber matched to the BP2004TL's

I highly recommend auditioning this CC if you're in the market for a Def Tech setup.

By far, now the best CC I've owned and auditioned for under $1000 Canadian. Can't be beat.

Similar Products Used: B&WCC6 B&WLCR6 S2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com