B&W LCR 6S2 Center Channels

LCR 6S2

Center Channel - (2) 6.5" Driver and 1" Tweeter

User Reviews (51)

Showing 1-10 of 51  
Tone   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2004]
Strength:

Warmth, texture to sound, clarity, looks.

Weakness:

Requires lots of clean power, no banana plugs

Okay, I was in the market for a B&W LCR600 S3 and lucked out to find a used mint condition predecesor LCR6 S2. I had just hooked up the newly acquired B&W LCR6 to my right stereo channnel and played Rush's Tom Saywer, then look over with wide eyes at Michelle (total babe girlfriend). As I pan the balance left and right to the sweeet-sounding Mission 764 tower and then to the LCR6 she confirms immediately that the B&W sounds way better....and that I'm "NOT EVEN TO THINK ABOUT UPGRADING TO MORE OF THESE EXPENSIVE SPEAKERS!!" Enough said?? I'm not into $30,000 stereos, but I am into $7,000 ones, and have been for 2 decades - even my $7,000 car stereo has a JMLAb front end in the form of high end component Focals. So take it from someone who is probably right for your price range (considering you are looking at this regularly $750 Canadian priced Center Channel and not a $2,500 one) - this speaker sounds warm, clear, sweet and makes me want to turn that sweetness up more and more. I detected no harshness whatsoever in 2 channel stereo mode, and expect the same once I integrate it into my surround system. As expected, at 89db and 8ohms the B&W seems to require ample amounts of clean power, but what a payoff in sound quality. From this experience I may soon end up uprading everything to this next level of B&W speakers. Note: I purchased this unit used so it was probably broken in upon arrival - from the other reviews I suspect this is an important thing to remember if you are buying one of these or a LCR600 S3.

Similar Products Used: Mission Paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
starguygwb   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

Really allows voices to come out, matches very well with 602s2, nice bass, bi-wireable.

Weakness:

only in black, have to watch which end is which when laying on top of tv.(bass is at bottom, and voices at top)

Since selling my pre-amp, amp combo to get into surround sound, I've been listening with B&W 602s2, and 601s2 but with a center channel given to me from a friend. I found this center at my HiFi shop and brought it home. WOW what a difference, I've had to rewatch all my movies again to see(hear) what I've been missing. If you have B&W speakers and want to match the center channel to them, go ahead and give a listen if you can find one. I got lucky when my shop bought extra when they found out there was a new model coming.

Similar Products Used: DCM's,Definitive tech.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Huy Nguyen   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2003]
Strength:

Crystal clear, deep, dynamic sound

Weakness:

Too weak grill

I got this speaker for the center channel after comparing with Jbl S center, Klipsch Rc-3, AR Sc2. LCR 6 S2 is the best speaker. Klipsch Rc-3 is the next crisp, clean but it needs more bass.

Similar Products Used: Jbl N-Center
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dcmulli   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2002]
Strength:

Deep Bass and crystal clear highs. Very Dynamic!!!

Weakness:

A lttle large to put on top of a TV. Needs to be availible in other wood colors.

I needed a larger center to match my mains(B&W 605's). So I upgraded to the LCR. The LCR made my CC6 sound like a toy. Crisper highs with a much deeper bottom end. The midrange matches the 605's pretty well also. Don't waste money on the CC3's or the CC6's. The LCR6 is well worth the extra money.

Similar Products Used: B&WCC6,BOSE 151,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rock-man   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2002]
Strength:

I found these speakers to live up to the many reviews listed here.

Weakness:

You need good quality cables, I use silver serpent biwire cables for all 5 LCR 6s2 from bettercables.com, The S300 are monster XP 14 awg cables. I choose these speakers cause of price and their''''s a switch to go between bipole,dipole and mono.

I purchased 5 LCR 6s2 speakers powered by a Onkyo TX-DS797 6.1 receiver and M282 amp for Newton S300 surround back speakers.The center speaker sit''''s on my Sony 32HS20 and the other 4 on StudioTech SC-24 stands. I choose all the same to listen to SACD''''s. I Have a Sony SCD-C222ES SACD player and using 5 matched timbre speakers the sound is fantastic. All cables are silver serpent between components. Everything sit''''s on Standesign DTV-40,3-shelf video rack. Also there''''s a Sony DVP-NS700P dvd player and a JVC SVHS u9600 vcr. The sub is a Velodyne CT-150 to make up the low end. I had to swap out the casters on the rack because of the weight with heavy duty casters. The living room is 22''''x 14''''.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon MK25-2 receiver,HK tape deck cd player...etc.. and Cambridge Soundworks speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Whittlen   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2002]
Strength:

Looks, style and most importantly the sound.

Weakness:

None what I know of.

I have only just bought this, but not by the sound, but looks. When I un-boxed it and sat underneath my TV, I knew it was the missing link. I wasn''t expecting much from this speaker as I have not yet finished the 6.1 system, but the sound was amazing. It hits you like a sledge hammer and feather at the same time. Full marks to B&W. Products: Onkyo 787 Amp Pioneer DV-737 B&W Centre Monitor Audio A4''s (Very old) Front L/R Panasonic Rears. Yes I know its miss match, but I''ll get there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
George   Audiophile [Jul 29, 2000]
Strength:

detail

Weakness:

It's a little large for my taste

One word. AWESOME!!! What more could be said. Amazing detail. However I feel sorry for all the chumps who paid so much. I bought at Definitive Audio in Bellevue WA for 299, marked down from 499 Brand spankin' new. Sorry guys.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard   [Jul 13, 2000]
Strength:

2 Kevlar Speakers and metal tweeters like the Nautilus

Weakness:

NONE

Oh yea, this is one incredible center channel speaker. Friends and relatives who have center speakers come by and can't believe the clarity of speach this speaker has when reproducing dialog. The older that I get the "deafer" I are, but this giant really allows me to hear all of whats said in a movie even during a party. Our Family/Dining room is 22'x 45' with vaulted ceilings and we don't lose the dialog in this space.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2000]
Strength:

Flexibility(Horizontal and Vertical). Increase in quality of sound over CC6

Weakness:

None

Thank you all for convincing me to go back and upgrade to the LCR6 s2. I went and spent the $120 to get this speaker after frequent unhappiness of the overall quality of the CC6. I could not hear the conversations in my DVD as well as I liked. I tried everything, but decided to break down and upgrade. ANYONE READING THIS SHOULD DO THE SAME.

Don't get me wrong, I love B&W. I have some 603's as my mains and love them. However, I needed a stronger center and thanks to all these reviews, I went back to my dealer and he gave me a great deal on the LCR6's. Do what I did and you will be very happy in every aspect of a great center speaker.

Similar Products Used: CC6 s2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kimball   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 15, 2001]
Strength:

Matches my b&w 603s2 perfectly.Clean full sound.

Weakness:

Slight off axis sound

I thought my 603s2's sounded good. When I plugged this center in I couldn't believe the sound difference. It made my speakers seem to disappear.Great and full sound range.Importance of a quality center should be #1 on your list. Spend the bucks! When this speaker is laid on its side the bass is at one end and the mid-range is at the other.That is why you get a slight off axis sound. If you notice it, you are way to close, or to picky. My room is 18 x 24 vaulted ceiling. I sit about 10' away from speakers. The combination sounds fantastic. Yes, the good engineers at B&w designed the emblem to be rotated, just pop it out. It even has two little indentations so you can't screw it up. This is a powerful center worth the money.Hope your mains are up to the challange

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com