JBL N26 Bookshelf Speakers

JBL N26 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

An aluminum woofer cone is used, mounted to a precision die-cast aluminum basket using a high- roll butyl surround. The basket is vented to provide additional cooling of the motor structure. Maximized for performance in small sealed, vented, and bandpass enclosures. Check out the Box and Parameter Sheet available for download. Kappa Perfect truly bridges the gap between subwoofers intended for SPL and those intended for sound quality. If you're looking for a subwoofer that sounds great and hits

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Aug 30, 2019]
soundcloud


Strength:

Great sound! I am using only the two N26's with an old technics amp at 80w and the sound is very clean. Bass is actually very good in my opinion, I am a bit of a bass head and these have left me with no desire to add a sub. If anything, I'd add a center channel. Treble is good, mids are definitely this speaker's strong point. Room filling sound, look cool with covers off.

Weakness:

They're quite large, but do have a nice little stand on the bottom so can be placed on a table or floor and used as a handle for transport, not very heavy

Price Paid:
30
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 12, 2003]
ImDisaster
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid across frequency range.

Weakness:

These mamas are big. I tucked them under my deck but they still are very noticeable. Don't come with wall mount brackets like the smaller model. Brackets are an additional $40-$50 bucks.

Bought these after listening to many, many different selections of outdoor speakers. Found these to have the best range of sound and much better bass than most.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2003]
HearingISbelieving
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

LOOKS!! almost bought them for that lone, PRICE!! CONSTRUCTION, solid wood, large components, sturdy, Size, not as big as the mammoth N28's, Clarity

Weakness:

slim to none, lacking in base

These are gret for the price, i use them for music in a second room. The highs on these are super clean, decent mids and pretty good base for 6" speaks. The bass is lacking if you really enjoy bass, but with a decent reciever, im running a Yamaha on these, and put in something with a little base tehy perform nicely. Also they will go as loud as my 125 Watt per chanel amp will drive them without fatigue or distortion. Overall great speaks for the money

Similar Products Used:

JBL n28 s26 Yamaha, denon etc

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 02, 2003]
jon uuhhhhh
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great bass for size, INCREDIBLE high dispersion, great design, great looks.

Weakness:

if you listen to hip hop or techno at a very very high volume, you'll need a sub (hey they're only 6"!!!)

I do not actually own this product....YET! Like a good boy I did my research for about a week on the internet and found 4 different speakers to look at around the $200 range. The first was big KLH speakers with a 10" woofer. They were pretty big and had more bass than the JBL's and sounded almost as good. BUT they had to be played louder to sound as good. The JBL's sounded good at any volume level. They have an amazing bass response for their size and they can hold that bass for a very decent volume. I think they sound fuller than the 3-way 8" JBL bookshelf speaker (u might not believe me but seriously)!! The highs are so well dispersed i cant believe how wide and spacious they sound. There was another guy next to me looking at the same speaker and he also was checking to make sure a sub wasn't on... it sounded like it!! They have a very good design and the speaker material is superb. The N26 outdoor sounded horrible to these. Sony, KLH, Yamaha, and and small Bose cant match these. I have to say the closest you'll get to these it a big pair of bose towers or a tower yamaha...(still not that great for the size)

Similar Products Used:

Sony 3-way bookshelf (crap) Yamaha NS-A638 (not bad) Bose bookshelf (pretty close) KLH floor speaker (only sounds good at higher volume)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2003]
Moviefanatic
Casual Listener

Strength:

Good high's, not to heavy on bass,very good speaker for the price

Weakness:

None at this time

I bought these speakers (N26II) based on JBL’s reputation and the positive reviews on various sites. I even compared them to similar priced speakers including the Infinity IL 10BLK which is also a 2 way with 6” driver. I found that I liked the sound of the JBL much better. I use these speakers as my mains for my surround system with a sub woofer and they do an excellent job. Great for music too. I have them matched with an N CenterII and will be adding the N24II’s for surrounds soon. Infinity is a good speaker in that price range also, it just depends on what you like to here.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity, Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 27, 2002]
gibbon0
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful full sound for a reasonable price.

Weakness:

Of course there are better speakers, but we are talking in the $200 range. I can't see any weaknesses under that consideration.

I recently bought these speakers as a Christmas present for my girlfriend and they are fantastic. Reiterating what the others said, beautiful, crisp, articulate highs, and powerful lows (considering the 6-inch driver). Very impressed with the sound, especially for the price.

Similar Products Used:

Bose 201, Bose 301

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 07, 2002]
HearingISbelieving
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

LOOKS!!! Even with teh covers off!! Price, for teh quality yo cant beat it Construction, solid ash cabinets, wood=good Sound, beautifull

Weakness:

Dont sound good when laid on their sides like the n24's do, but hey jsut dont be stupid and lay them on their sides, ohh and for excelent sound get the FSn26 stands!!!!

First of all let me say that these speakers are increadible especially since i got them so cheep, you can also get tehm on sale at best buy for $200. I have had these for 3 weeks now and they are jsut starting to get broken in. I have read alot of complaints that these speakers have no base. BS! First take into consideration that these are 6" drivers, then put in a Red Hot Chilli Peppers Cd, some techno, or even the Who and tell me these speak's dont have any base. No they do nto have as much as a sub, but hey, its a six inch driver. These speakers are awsome i have them paired up with a Yamaha 5560 reciever and the combination is perfect. This system is in my upstairs bedroom and at about 20% volume i can listen to them comfortably from anywhere in my 2100 sq. ft. house. The Highes are beautifully crafted without being fatiguing or ear splitting. The mids are perfectly balanced and very clean though not as clean as the beautifull highs, the bass is there anyone who says otherwise is nuts, tell them to change the settings on their reciever, if you want mroe bass well get a sub....I have nothign bad to say about these speakers, they are a good size and will fill practically any room with a good receiver or amp. Ive read people complaining that the mids on these speakers are muddy,....well get a Denon or Yamaha reciever and get rid of your pos sony and your problem will dissappear. Overall a great product for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, bose, Boston Acoustic, Yamaha, Cerwin Vega

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2002]
WH
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean highs, rich bass, good imaging, handsome design, friendly price for those of us on a budget!

Weakness:

I can't think of one, honestly.

I bought the JBL N26II to replace a pair of Cerwin Vega DX-7's that are about 10-12 years old. I live in a one bedroom apartment so I was hoping I could get by just fine with a smaller speaker. Well, right away I noticed how cleaner the little JBL's sounded compared to the big Vega's. The highs are crisp and clean with excellent imaging and no harshness at all. The little 6" woofers put out a surprising amount of bass and do it with almost no perceptible amount of stress. My listening tastes are things like The Who, Rush, Rolling Stones, CCR, Jewel, Weezer, Pink Floyd, Fleetwood Mac....and the JBL's have never failed to put a smile on my face. I didn't think I would be as pleased with such a small speaker as this one; but I must admit I am absolutely thrilled with these little puppies. However, I do think I will add a JBL PD-10 (I think that is the model) powered sub just to take some of the low frequency responsibility away from the N26II and to give a bit more weight to the sound. I run the speakers with an Onkyo Integra A-8700 integrated amp (about 13 years old), an Onkyo DX-701 single disc CD player (maybe 6 years old), and a Toshiba SR 255 turntable (about 20 years old). All wires and interconnects are mid-level Monster Cable and the speakers are situated atop 30" high stands. Overall I think the system is very nice and the JBL N26II really adds the touch. Perhaps when I get a bigger place and/or budget I might look into the ND310II as I really liked the way they sounded in the store. In fact I was impressed with all of the NOrthridge series; I would easily recomend the N26II, or any other Northridge speaker for that matter, to anyone who wants a teriffic speaker with rich sound at a very attractive price!

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega, JBL.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 26, 2002]
RUSSIA
AudioPhile

Strength:

Power 125 watts Size Highs and Lows 20kHz-55kHz VERY revealing

Weakness:

That is a tough question!!! More bass power??? At the price paid, you should not have ANY problems or weaknesses to think of. Well, maybe JBL could have thrown in a mounting kit along with the N26's. O well, I'm happy!

I paid $240.00CND NOTE: This review is all in consideration of the price of the speaker, not compared to models $1000.00 and up! Because then I could find a lot more problems! I enjoy this model very much. It has plenty of power and looks very good (I personally like the form of the plastic case). Let's start with the highs. Very clear, articulate, and pristine sound. The EOS tweeter "horn" (it provides a horn kind of a purpose) design provides excellent soundstage. Secondly, the mids are very clear and well pronounced. Voices are very easily understood. Nuff said. Now, the bass. Wow!!! You will not believe the bass that comes out of the small 6" drivers. NOTE: The store sales floor does not do any speaker justice, sooo... do not make any desicion based on your "sonic" evaluation there. The bass is very tight and deep. Even playing bass heavy hip-hop tracks, these speakers put out exceptional amounts of bass. These speakers can rock good sized rooms. Don't expect these to shake ANY room though. They are not designed to be main speakers for a large room. Used as surround speakers, the N26's provide very detailed effects and an enveloping surround experience. I would have to say that the N26's are best suited for techno and hip-hop. If you do not have a very large room, then these speakers can be used fronts or rears. I would recommend these speakers to anybody! They are a steal at the price considering what you get!

Similar Products Used:

JBL MR38 JVC SK-202 Bose Acoustimass system (ahhahahahah not mine :) ) POOP!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2002]
w-dave
Casual Listener

Strength:

Voice matched with other northridge series Price sound quality highs decent lows for a bookshelf. size just right for my entertainment center.

Weakness:

Not enough low end for a home theater you need a sub woofer.

This is a review for the N26ii. I purchased these from Crutchfield.com, great website great coustomer service. The speaker has a really solid cabinet. The speaker has good hi''s and good low end for a bookshelf (55hz). However I recommend a subwoofer if you are going to use these as part of a home theater set up. I auditioned these and B&W602S2''s but with a baby on the way these are a lot more affordable. I am using these as my front main speakers in a 5.1 sorround sound set up with a 65W Yamaha reciever and they sound great. The speakers also deliver enough sound to fill up my 15''x20'' room with a 16'' tall vaulted ceiling. One other reason I purchased these was the manufacturer states that all the northridge series speakers are voice matched (not sure how important this is but they all sound good). My set up. Reciever: Yamaha 5440 TV: Mitsubishi platnum 55" HDTV DVD: Sony 700np (progressive scan) Speakers Front Main: JBL N26ii Center: JBL N-Center Rear sorround: JBL N24AW Sub-woofer: Yamaha YST305 (dual 8" 200W)

Similar Products Used:

older Pioneer 3 way speakers (purchased in 1989), B&W602S2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com