B&W DM 601 Bookshelf Speakers

B&W DM 601 Bookshelf Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2-Way 6.5" Woofer and 1" Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 91  
[Jan 22, 2020]
old audio lover


Strength:

I have owned and still own quite a few speakers. For my vintage audio gear I always use my 601s when I get a new piece of gear. They are just sweet dreams for any amp to sound good on. From old Marantz to old Kenwood and Pioneer they really do a good job letting me hear the personality of each amp.

Weakness:

If I had to pick a weakness, I would say that they hold their value so well you can never find them for cheap. Another consideration is that you might want a touch more Bass some times. But honestly for casual listening you will never care.

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1996
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 12, 2020]
ohnomrbillk


Strength:

Beautiful highs. Very impressive midrange. With consideration of its size, the bass is better than expected. Can handle more watts and can produce room filling sound better than similar sized, less expensive competitors.

Weakness:

Bookshelf audiophile speakers are like a gateway drug. You end up needing more...

Price Paid:
123
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2019]
Mr. 61


Strength:

Absolutely amazing speaker! For the money. Best $1000 set hands down .

Weakness:

No weakness included

Price Paid:
1000
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2019
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 15, 2017]
activebass
Audio Enthusiast

At the time, they offered excellent value and handled all genres well.

I write this review while listening to my B&W 601 speakers - 17 years after I bought them in early 2000. At the time, I think I paid just under USD400 or around GBP250 for them. I shopped around quite a bit, listening to brands like Monitor Audio, Tannoy, Mordaunt Short, JBL, Sony, Yamaha, Mirage etc Some were better for speciffic genres, but absolutely none fo them sounded better across all genres like the 601 did.

They still continue to impress me and sound bigger than they should. When placed properly, for my living room that means about 20 cm away from the walls and toed in, they sound engaging, offer a good stereo image and sound stage with just enough bass to satisfy me as a bass player.

I listen to many different genres - and I don't mean that in a "I listed to Colbie Caillat, Coldplay and Flo-Rida" kind of way. I mean that in a "I listen to Ella Fitzgerald, Sepultura, Django Reinhardt, Eurasure, Metallica, Weezer, Kate Bush, Prince, Erikah Badu, Carole King, Tupac, Depeche Mode, DMB, Primus, Periphery Marcus Miller, Paco De Lucia, Bob Marley" kind of way.

The 601s handle them all very well. They might not excel in any single genre, although they are excellent with vocals, but they do everything well. Back in 2000 when I was auditioning speakers, there weren't too many bookshelf speakers which could sound good with quiet acoustic stuff and still handle Rage Against The Machine. They either didn't sound engaging or were too shrill or the bass was too muddy / boomy.

Some people have a tendency of reviewing without considering the price point or build quality. I read way too many reviews along the lines of "I bought x brand speakers at a garage sale for $20 and paired with a sub, they blow the B&Ws out of the water" or "I bought x brand speakers which are Made In China for $99 and they sound twice as good as my friend's $1000 speakers". Nah, that's just plain BS. Compare apples to apples. The 601 speakers - without a subwoofer - offer a very satisfying, insightful and fun audio experience across all genres and have lasted 17 years, mate! 17 years! I doubt my marriage will last that long!

Source: Marantz CD6004
AMP: Rotal RA-971
Interconnext: Ixos
Cables: QED Silver

and I still have a 16 year old Q Series Sony MiniDisc deck which still works!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2011]
roy
Audio Enthusiast

IIt may be because English are still always good in excagrrating the quality of every of their very poor ENGLISH quality products out of the steam train age, which is believed by many people that still live their iIve in the stone age. But my non prejudiced non English verdict is that these English speakers are of very poor quality.

I have some very old (ALSO ENGLISH) B&W DM 310 speakers, which sound extremely good in combination with my extremeley good price/quality Japanese Denon amplifiersm, which do not need any review by so called expert English marketing audio papers, to be very good. If I compare my old DM 310's with the 610's , in the same room, with the same drivere and the same music, whichever music (Jazz, Rock, Gregorian, etc.) it seems as if something is seriously wong with the DM310. So if you listen to the DM 310 I advise nou to listen to the big Englisk B&W marketing machine, but to the speajkers themselves and I hope you will find also that the big B&W/English old buddiess sweet talk marketing network is again wrong this time.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 30, 2011]
vinny
AudioPhile

Have been listening to these little gems for over 15 years. With my Rotel integrated amp, cd player and Audioquest cables. All I can say is they are slightly above average, and very overrated. I guess its in the name. If you like loud music, esp heavy metal you can just about forget any clarity. Well recorded Modern Jazz and warm female voices are there strong point. Just dont push them . The highs are too sparkly, mid range is muddy and bass is too warm and rolls off very early. One thing I will say is that they are rugged. Almost look as good as the day that I purchased them. I know B&W have made better sounding speakers. These are just not one of them.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 03, 2011]
rainforth
Audio Enthusiast

Bought from charity shop for £49 in mint condition - stunning little speakers which I use in my music room (I'm a professional pianist). Clearly not in the same league as the Kef Reference 3s which are in my main room but I am astonished at the detail, clarity and accuracy of these little gems.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2008]
Richard
AudioPhile

Strength:

Sound quality and smoothness is awesome.
Got them cheap kuz they're getting old but still running like new if not better.

Weakness:

Missing the large cabinet deep sound.
Missing the bass extension that bass drivers would bring.
This is why they would be the perfect rear speakers.

I have the 601 series 1. I love the sound of all B&W products in general. I find their tone smooth and enjoyable. I had a pair of B&W 303s and when i revved up these and compared them, i was blown away by the way the 601s have a more "complete" sound to them. I saw the difference those Kevlar drivers make! Now I'm looking into getting full towers from B&W and putting the 601s in the rear.

Once you go B&W... you cant go back to crappy "JVC-ish" junk!

Similar Products Used:

B&W 303
Paradigm Monitor 5
Cerwin Vega crap
Mission
Equinox
Infinity
Polk Audio
Energy crap

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 06, 2007]
buscador de audio
AudioPhile

Strength:

clear sound, very detailled, excellent for the value.

Weakness:

poor bass but this actually does not count because there excellent boxes

excellent little speakers, great sound for budget price but this babies deserve a good amplifier like Marantz, Linn, Audio Creek, etc.

I have been using this speakers for a very long time and even that there are many top speakers in the market this are still my favorites

Similar Products Used:

JBL, Linn, Tannoy

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 19, 2006]
bubacka
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Detailed highs, Fast recovery, Accuracy of Midfield and Bass, Creamy mids, Tight and punchy bass.

Weakness:

Not very low bass, not very important for me.

I was amazed with the detail presentation from my DM601, I use them in studio, and i could listen to them for hours and hours. They present a very good stereo image, very accurate. The highs are a bit colorful, lows are tight and fast. The whole speaker sounds a bit harsh, but that is what i want. What amazed me is how fast are the speakers. I could compare them to Genelec 1030, KRK Rokit 8 and others, I find that these speakers are not very good for critical mixing because i feel that they rolloff highs, but they are good for music production, and on the other side i find that i mix better with a speaker that sound like the 601.
One thing that bothers me is that the speaker has not much lows such as 45 Hz, but that is ok with me, many studio monitors that i have lisened to perform like this, and especially like the DM601.
The speaker sounds very very neutral, but not very musical which i appreciate.
I run them with Rotel RB-971mk2.

Similar Products Used:

Genelec 1030a, Tannoy Reveal Active, Tannoy Precision 6D Active.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 91  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com