Klipsch Pro Media 2.1 Computer Speaker Systems

Pro Media 2.1

The ProMedia 2.1 THX®-Certified, three-piece computer audio system transforms your desktop into a high-performance audio entertainment center. It’s exclusive Klipsch MicroTractrix® Horn maximizes digital technologies such as CDs, MP3 downloads, streaming radio programs and other popular personal audio applications, and delivers a level of power and accuracy never before available. The 200-watt digital hybrid amplifier driven ProMedia 2.1 incorporates a convenient headphone jack as well as a miniplug input that makes it compatible with gaming consoles and most portable audio devices.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Love My Music   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2013]

A piece of junk. Assembled as cheaply as possible. Springs (can't replace) sprung out of the bass component,rendering the system worthless. I will NEVER buy a Klipsch product again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Dave   Casual Listener [Sep 01, 2012]

This is the second set I have bought and I would recommend to stay as far away from this junk as possible. The first set went out right after the warranty expired. I figured it was a fluke so I bought a second set because I liked the sound. Well the second set just went out right after the warranty expired. This stuff is garbage. It isn't worth buying because you WILL be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tyler   Casual Listener [Jul 21, 2011]

Good sound---Poor quality , I have owned 2 sets of these and both volume controls went out in less than a year . One lasted less than 90 days . The volume control is CRAP . Do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY . Don't let the sound quality fool you into buying them ---They won't last . A real shame they sounded good while they lasted.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
studio guy   AudioPhile [May 09, 2009]

I got the Klipsch speakers when I was 14, for a birth daygift. My parents paid 75$ for them, and at the time I thought they were amazing. The reality is I didn't know enough about speakers, and hadn't heard enough of speakers. When you buy audio speakers there are really two classifications, the stuff for consumers and the stuff targeted towards hifi/studio crowd. Klipsch would be better than average consumer speakers like bose. They deliver big bass, get loud. When your playing games, expolosions and gun shots sound big flattering and make your seat shake. Accurate, revealing, life like are the last words I would use to describe them as would I logitechs Z5000 Series (Which I've also owned two sets of), or cambridge sound works. If anything the best word to describe them is fairly muddy. They are fun to own, and do satisfy certain peoples desire but if your looking for a set of speakers to truly appreciate musics, I could not recommend these under any circumstances. A entry level set of book shelfs is going to take your listening experience much further.

The major difference a good set of monitors, will have a much better sense of depth, much better frequency balance, and will be infinitely more detailed. Even much of the entry level stuff. While you'll probably have more fun bouncing to a klipsch sub, if you want a set of speakers to really sit back and enjoy listening to music, I can't in good concious recommend these. I highly recommend you investigate brands like Audio Engine, KRK, Blue Sky, Wharfedale, Bowers and Wilkins. You'll likely have to shell out anout 50-100$ for just the entry level stuff, but the difference will be phenomenal.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jr   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2009]
Strength:

Trebles, mids, and lows are well-defined. Horn-tweeter. Great bass even at low level. good bang for buck compared to other products in same price range.

Weakness:

Power switch on back, although I just leave them on.
NOTE! NOTE! NOTE!!!!
The proper order of start-up/shutdown of these speakers without ruining your satellites is essential. If not, you will hear a pop sound when turning it on or when plugging it into mp3/audio sources.
to start up, unplug the cord that goes in the back of each satellite to the subwoofer, then turn the subwoofer on, and then plug in both of the cords. To shut down, unplug each cord in the back, and then shut down power off in the back of the subwoofer. Before plugging in an mp3 device or whatever, make sure the volume is all the way to 0, or you might blow your speakers or get static.

After unpacking the heavy ass box, you realize that your 100+ dollars are all about to be worth every penny. I like the black finish, although nothing fancy, just matte. I can say that I've only received distortion once, from by iPod Classic, with the bass boost up, on 3/4 volume with the subwoofer turned up, listening to heavy bass rap music. Other than that, at 1/3 volume, it starts to shake my walls. The subwoofer, although 6.5" is punchy and you probably don't need anymore. The satellites are amazing. The trebles are nice, loud, and crisp. The mids are finely detailed, and you can hear every all the frequencies of the spectrum. The subwoofer does get a little warm, because of the amp and the absence of a heatsink + fan. I keep it right next to my computer, which is spewing out hot air (2600RPM fan), and my subwoofer has never gotten burning hot, just kinda hot, haha. It's going strong and the music is just as good as ever, even after 4 months of heavy listening and gaming.

Similar Products Used: Logitech x530/x540 5.1
Harmon Kardon Soundsticks II 2.1
Onkyo 7.1
Bose 2.1
Sony 2.1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nirvana1000   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 14, 2008]
Strength:

Awesomely detailed and powerful PC speakers that sound good throughout the sonic spectrum!High quality parts inside not outside.Value.

Weakness:

Power switch located on the back of the subwoofer.Some people have complained of a easily breakable DIN cable.(i have not had any problems).High quality parts inside not outside.

I have had mine for about a year.I have to say that the satellites really shine.They are made with a Klipsch's patented Micro Tractix horn and a 3" long throw mid bass driver.And let me tell you.They rip!These are awesomely balanced throughout the sound sprectrum.Highs very promenant but in a good way.Mids are probably as good as you can get at this price range.Bass although the Z-5500's have a tighter and boomier sub.(that is the only good thing about theZ-5500's)the subwoofer has ample bass and perfectly compliments the satellite's.Some people have complained of the sub over powering the sat's.But all you have do is keep the level at or below the manufacturer's suggested level.(marked with a white dot)They also come with a high efficiency mosfet powered amplifier.These are quite powerful PC speakers.They can go very loud without distorting.But if you do get distortion,all you have too do is lower the bass levels and it's gone.I have no need to go to loud levels and have my ears ringing(OH YES! THESE GET TO EAR RINGING LEVELS!)!So that's not a problem.I have a Auzentech souncard and Monster speaker cables that bring these speakers to another level.So i would say at this price range,it's hard to find better 2.1 PC speakers.(Logitech,Bose,Altec L don't compare!)Although the Audio Engine A2's kick ass also.But i think they are higher priced and are 2.0 monitors.

Similar Products Used: Creative,Logitech,Bose,Altec Lansing...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nirvana1000   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2008]
Strength:

Amazing PC sound reproduction!Balanced sound spectrum with accurate highs,mids and lows.Great Value.Ample volume without distortion,due to the high powered mosfet amplifier.

Weakness:

Power switch is located on the back of the subwooer.People have complained about the "easily breakable" DIN cord,but i have not had any problems whatsoever with my set.

The main reason i posted this review is to say how inacurrate "Zack 58's" review is of this speaker system!First off discard it if you want an accurate review.This is an excellent PC audio system!It may not look flashy or durable.But Klipsch puts the good parts inside.The sound reproduction is awesomely balanced and could rival many "home" systems.The satellites really shine with great highs and mids which is rare with a 2.1 pc system.The subwoofer though not as tight and powerful as the Z-5500's sub,is poweful enough(with a high quality mosfet amplifier) and matches the satellites perfectly.Overall these blow away the Z-5500's,which satellites don't even compare.Anyone who complanes about distortion probably has the subwoofer level to high.It should not have too pass the 10 o' clock manufacturer suggested level,which is marked with a white dot.And let me tell you there is no need to go past that mark to get wall shaking bass!For $200 (Canadian)you can't get a better sounding 2.1 PC speakers.Unless you go for the Audio Engine A2's which i think are higher priced,and are 2.0 moniters.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
boon4376   Audio Enthusiast [May 31, 2008]
Strength:

Sounded good for about 6 months. They sound much better than creative and logitech speakers in the same price range.

Weakness:

not built to last, good with games and movies but severely lacking when it comes to music.

I got these when they went on sale at best buy, at first my impressions were very good, but after a year of just playing them at relatively calm volume levels they are already starting to deteriorate. The left speaker mostly sounds like the foam is ripping, the right speaker is still ok. The subwoofer is really punchy now. I NEVER abuse these things, they just arn't built to last.

Customer Service

I'm glad i purchased a repair extended warranty so that I can get these things returned. I'll be purchasing some Audioengine speakers next time.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Rotard12a   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2008]
Strength:

- Big, accurate sound
- Compact, tight-sounding subwoofer
- Unbeatable value

Weakness:

- Fit and finish leaves a lot to be desired
- Spring clip broke for no good reason. Who knows what else might break?
- I'd prefer standard dome tweeters.

After a while of searching through the extremely shallow high-quality PC speaker market, I settled on the Klipsch ProMedia's for my brother (who was set on getting the rather boomy, unrefined Logitech Z2300's). Ordered them from Amazon at an awesome price of $110 (140 shipped), and they arrived in THREE DAYS with standard shipping. Badass.

First thing I noticed was the very efficient packaging. The box weighs almost 30 pounds, but it's really not that big. The speakers were very secure in styrofoam. Upon inspection, the fit and finish of these speakers falls below the Logitech competition. The grilles are a bit flimsy and don't attach rock-solid like I'm used to. Also, the stands are just basically a bent piece of steel. As I read in some other reviews, the cable jacks don't connect in a way that inspires much confidence. The subwoofer is hefty, and is good solid MDF. The package comes with 12 rubber feet to attach to the bottoms of all of the speakers. Definitely necessary for the sub, which has a flat bottom.

Setup was slightly different than other PC speakers I've used before. The right satellite connects directly to the sound card, then a preamp cable runs from the right speaker to the subwoofer, which has the power cable (duh). Then speaker wires run from the sub *back* to the satellites. The wires connect to the sub via spring clips. Slightly odd, but nothing wrong with it.

Now here's where the biggest problem I encountered was: I went to connect the speaker wire for the left channel to the sub, and one of the spring clips BROKE. I hadn't even pushed it down all the way, and the seat for the spring just snapped. I haven't returned the unit, I currently have a bunch of tape holding the spring clip tight against the wire. Wow, what a pain. I didn't expect that.

After plugging it all in, I went straight to itunes and played some Symphony X, and wow, the satellites sounded terrible. Turns out the stock settings on the sound card had some kind of weird "virtual surround" turned on, which totally mucked everything up. After turning it off and tweaking a few settings, the problem was fixed. Just be sure to go into your sound card's control console and make sure none of the DSP crap is on.

As for the sound quality, the ProMedia 2.1's are fantastic. They throw a surprisingly large sound stage. The satellites sound good from all kinds of angles and really fill the room (in my case, 10x18'). I put on Boccherini and found that the imaging is quite good. All of the details right down to the sound of the musicians' fingers strumming a violin in the background came through clearly. The 8" subwoofer produces clean, tight bass, much less boomy and muddy than the Logitech subs I've used. It won't bring the house down, but it's very satisfying none the less. I found the horns to be a bit too "live" or bright sounding, and a bit tiring to listen to at high volume for extended listening, however they are pretty accurate. A bit of equalizer tweaking helps some.

Overall, I'm extremely impressed with the sound of these speakers. At $110, this is a STEAL. I'd say it makes up for the so-so build fit and finish. The important stuff (drivers and electronics) is of excellent quality. Now, obviously, these in no way can compete with your big stereo or home theater setup, but for computer use the Klipsch's are more than enough and the value is outrageous. I wouldn't recommend this setup for anyone who plays a lot of First Person Shooters, as you won't get surround sound, which is critical. But for most anyone else, you can't really beat this package. Better than all of the Altec Lansing, Logitech, and Cambridge speakers I have heard in this price range.

Similar Products Used: Altec Lansing FX6021
Logitech Z5300E
Logitech Z2300
JBL SoundsticksII
Cambridge Microworks II
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jthouvenell   AudioPhile [Dec 05, 2007]
Strength:

Bright crisp highs, Clear mids... OMIGOD sub dominance!
Two-way satellite speakers give nice presence
Plenty of volume... my KIDS told ME to turn it down! Loud without distortion.

Weakness:

Power Switch on Sub....on the back. (aw heck, I listen to them all of the time so I guess I don't really need it)

Best Boom, uh, Bang! for the buck!

Was looking for a set of powered speakers for an audio mixer. Didn't need much but also didn't want to spend lots of bucks for the Pro powered monitors. I like the Klipsch sound from some of their passive monitors so read reviews that give high marks for volume. They're not kidding!!!!! These speakers are just a 'tad' bright. But if you like crisp highs with a very detailed and pronounced mid, you'll like these. The bass is overpowering at first but on good quality audio, they're very smooth and I've grown to like them... a LOT. I'm ready to throw the box away because these aren't goin back.

Similar Products Used: Altec Lansing, Yamaha, Creative Labs, Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com