Magnum Dynalab Etude Tuners

Etude

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Such   AudioPhile [Nov 02, 2014]

A average tuner sound wise. Good for DX-ing. No bass. Closed in sound. Dark sounding. Sold it because of constant drifting, that would never correct it self as per manual, along with the aforementioned. My Yamaha T-2 has a more open sound, albeit less bass.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
yoyohead   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 2003]
Strength:

The SOUND!!!!

Weakness:

A little expensive if bought new

This tuner makes me want listen to the FM radio. The detail and clariry of this unit is amazing. It blows away digital tuners!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Proton, Fanfare, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
k7-wave   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 2002]
Strength:

Selectivity, sonics, manual tuning knob

Weakness:

Price if purchased new at retail

This is the factory Etude rather than the FT-101A upgrade. The unit is indeed "on" all the time (the meters can be seen deflecting when the tuner is off) and consequently there is no drift after turn-on as noted by others using the upgrade. As an FM DX-er who delights in listening to stations in distant markets that I am not "supposed" to be listening to, this is the tuner that makes it possible. Its excellent adjacent channel selectivity betters the Carver and its manual tuning knob allows stations to be tuned that the Carver''s channelized tuning loses. From here in the Seattle area I can listen to Portland or Vancouver BC stations anytime with full quieting, as well as most of the small college stations scattered in between. I am using a MD Signal Sleuth and APS-14 long boom antenna on a rotor with the Etude. This is an exceptional setup for long-haul reception. The sonics are open and superb as noted by others, but it only betters the Carver in this area by a very small margin (The TX-11A is also an excellent tuner). All in all I can''t imagine ever upgrading again, this tuner gives me everything I hoped for and more. I highly recommend the Etude, especially cost-effective if purchased used/demo and with the MD Signal Sleuth for those in fringe areas or interested in distant reception.

Similar Products Used: Carver TX-11A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound quality with a cable signal

Weakness:

Only one 75 ohm antenna input

I just replaced my old '70s Rotel tuner that I had hooked up to cable to listen to US stations from Seattle. The difference was amazing, especially on the Seattle NPR/Jazz station KPLU that I listen to most of the time. Their signal has little of the compression and processing that most stations add to their signal. I usually listen to jazz from CD and the comparison with FM and the Etude is extremely favorable. I also noticed a large improvement in the sound quality when I plugged the Etude into my Inouye Line Conditioner. I had plugged it straight into the wall at first, but the difference with the Inouye was incredible. My system is Audio Research REF1 preamp, CD1, DAC3, D130 with JBL4311 Studio Monitors. I would recommend this tuner, buy it in Canada (it is made here) since it is priced the same as in US dollars so you save on the exchange.

Similar Products Used: Rotel RT-624
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   Audiophile [Jul 31, 2001]
Strength:

sensitivity. Pleasant sounding.

Weakness:

A little closed in on the high end and a bit dead sounding. Capacitors in output.

This is a pleasant sounding tuner but I find it
really hard to justify the price.

It seems that in the quest to get low noise levels,
many tuners end up sacraficing openness and high
frequency response.

I found this true on the Fanfare, Tandberg and Yamaha.

The ol' NAD does not have the sensitivity or low
noise of the higher end tuners, but the sound quality
on a good station is more detailed, dynamic and
live sounding.

For those of you unwilling to believe this,
I did find the Fanfare to be slightly better than
the Etude in sound quality and in noise suppression.
The Etude did let a lot of channel noise through.

Regarding the output stage, Magnum should get rid of
the capacitors and go to a direct coupled circuit.

Similar Products Used: Tandberg 9001, Fanfare, NAD, Yamaha TX-950
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Bob White   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 20, 2001]
Strength:

Low noise floor, broad/deep soundstage, three signal/tuning meters.

Weakness:

see below

Like Ralph Warren (4/01) I purchased a demo FT 101A direct and MD did an Etude upgrade, HOWEVER, like Michael (4/01) my unit drifts during the first 30 minutes every time I turn it on. Upon turning it back on, say the next day, I have to re-tune it, even if I want to listen to the station to which it was last tuned. MD says this shouldn't happen because the front end stays "on" when the power is off. Well, mine does this every time! Also, the tuning knob is too stiff for a unit at this price / quality level.

I am now returning it for the second time with a note to refund my two return shipping charges and, should they not fix it to my satisfaction this time, to refund my $850.

In MD's defense, they have been real gentlemen...like the good folks at Bryston. I just wish their tuner performed as flawlessly as my Bryston gear has for the last 7 years.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha T-1
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Eric   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2001]
Strength:

More open than it was before the upgrade.

I just bought the 2001 FT101A with Etude Upgrade, Silver faceplate and Gold knob and accents. I got it customized to match my Musical Fidelity A3 components. The Tuner, like any other component, takes a while to burn in. After about a month I noticed a difference when listening to Opera. Also, keep the tuner away from your CD player. The CD player produces high levels of RF. I have the Tuner on the top rack and the A3 CD player on the bottom.

Magnum advertises that the Etude upgrade will equate to a 35% increase in sonic quality. Not too sure how many % the quality has increased, but it sounds better that it did before the upgrade so I'm happy.

The 2001 models of the FT101A and Etude with the blue light and Gold LED all use the new circuit boards used in the new MD90 and MD100. So you can save yourself heaps of cash by getting a 2001 model instead of a MD90 or MD100.

If you have any questions or constructive suggestions on how to improve this model or the system below please feel free to email me.

System:

Musical Fidelity A3 Integrated (Neutral)
Will move up to A300 when my room grows.

Musical Fidelity A3 CD (A little bright)
Thinking of getting something that's easier to sit down and listen to like the EAD Ultradisk, Rega, Roksan etc..
Suggestions are welcome

Magnum Dynalab 2001 FT101A Etude Upgrade(Sweet and musical)

Cliffhanger Audio CHS-2 W2 Speakers (Similar to Dynaudio)
cliffhangeraudio.com

Cardas Quadlink 5C Throughout the system (You know Cardas)
Thinking of trying out the Alpha Core IC's, if you've tried them out please let me know

DIY Extension with Hubbell Outlets and 12 Gauge Cord
Made this neat extension/power bar for $20. Go to your local Electrical Supply shop and ask for:
10-15' of 12 gauge extension cord
Two Isolated ground Hubbell AC outlets
A box to house the 2 outlets
Hospital grade plug large enough to handle the 12 gauge

Similar Products Used: FT11 FT101A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JJD   Audiophile [Jun 21, 2001]
Strength:

Musicality, S/N, soundstage

Weakness:

none

This an extraordinary tuner. I have had it for over two years. I listen to it for several hours almost every day. I still find the sound rich and detailed. The S/N is excellent. I should point out that I live in a part of Manhattan known for the extraordinary amount of multipath problems. Several reputable dealers did not even want to sell me tuning equipment when I told them where I lived, for fear I would return them (especially antennas).
I A/B tested this tuner vs. the Fanfare model at a local dealer. Comparing tuners is a difficult task as you are totally dependent on what is being broadcast. While the Fanfare had a similar high S/N, the Etude's sound was noticeably richer and more musical (I should note that I listen only to classical music). Since they were both about the same price, I went home with the Etude. This was one purchase that I have never regretted.
With regard to the review below by Michael, I should add that I never experienced any noticeable drift. I appreciate that the tuner does not have a remote with digital tuning as this allows me to optimize the tuning for each station. This is a tuner for those of us who are more concerned with the sound quality than the convenience of remote tuning.
My previous tuner was a Carver TX-11 which had fine S/N but was stiff-sounding compared t o the Etude. I also have a McIntosh MR-77 (purchased used on ebay - see review) which is on a second system. This sounds very good also, but the second system is not at the same levela as the first. Both are quite musical. I think the Etude has better S/N. The Etude gives a fantastic soundstage when the proper material is broadcast.

Similar Products Used: Carver TX-11, McIntosh MR-77, FanFare
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete L.   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2001]
Strength:

CLEAN AND CLEAR SOUND AND YET VERY MUSICAL

Weakness:

KINDA PRICEY FOR A TUNER (WHEN NEW)

I HAD THIS TUNER FOR NEARLY 8 YEARS NOW. IT IS VERY RELIABLE AND THE PERFORMANCE IS FLAWLESS. IT IS SOLIDLY BUILDED AND IT GIVE ME EXCELLENT SOUND OFF THE AIR ON DEMAND. EVERY RADIO STATIONS IMPROVED SONICALLY. ETUDE IS ONE OF THOSE EQUIPMENT THAT MOST PURCHASERS WILL NOT NEED TO UPGRADE. I CONSIDER THIS TUNER IS THE "BEST VALUE" PIECE OF HARDWARE IN THE AUDIO CHAIN. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENED.

Similar Products Used: FT-101
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CE   an Audiophile [Jul 13, 1998]

This tuner replced my 22 year old Dynaco FM-5.....man did the sound come alive...it really shows jsut how good FM can sound ....this tuner is fabulous...along with ma good yagi highly directional antenna...this things pulls in stations with utmost fidelity and such a musical sound it sounds like playing recording and not listening to radio...it is fantastic....I ahve been using it now for about 2 years and it has performed flawlessly

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com