JVC FS-MD9000 Mini Systems

FS-MD9000

World's smallest Bookshelf Hifi system with Minidisc recording features

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Patrick   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2003]
Strength:

-Good sound for the size -Looks great -Lots of inputs/outputs

Weakness:

-Corrupts my MDs -Sound is a bit weak -Piano finish scratches easily

I bought this mini system on sale for 350 CDN at a stereo store here in Toronto two years ago, just before I moved away for my first year of university. The sound is very clear but lacks the punch of my old, big reciever. Perhaps adding a subwoofer would help. My friend, who is a complete audiophile, was drooling over this thing when he first saw it. Its major strength is that it packs so many inputs and outputs into a small package. I've got my record player and PC hooked up to this thing, so I can transfer my music around at will, recording RealAudio tracks onto MDs for example, or transferring my records to MP3s. On top of that it looks very, very cool. However the black piano finish scratches easily so be careful, and make sure to but a plastic sheet down under the speakers or the bottoms will be scratched up with mine are. If you have tons of space I'd say go with a bigger system with more oomph, but for those of us with space restraints or who need a second system for the bedroom or office, you can do alot worse. My only big beef with this system is that my MD recording seems to have gone on the fray. Now it corrupts the MD's TOC (which tells MD players which track it where, which title, etc) every time I record a track, or even just change a title. But I'm sure this is rare.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Johnathan Barst   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

Visually attractive

Weakness:

No sub

I think I could recommend this more if it came with a sub. But the shiny black finish of the speakers is great and it looks like I paid alot more. I know it is supposed to be an "executive" system, but it looks like more students buy 'em. 4 stars value, overall 5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ron Smith   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2001]
Strength:

Great looks.

Weakness:

sound under par.

This ultra smart micro system with it's impressive black piano gloss finish speakers could sell it's self on looks alone.However,although having good clarity,and sounding good with acoustic and lightweight sounds - it sounds a little metalic when things get busy,and just doesn't have enough weight or versatility to be a top micro system.I bought this system as a main music machine for my living room,and even adding an active sub woofer didn't make me want to keep it.The cheaper JVC UX-T2OOR has a much more natural sound (I have one in my bedroom)plus better bass weight,although no minidisc.

Similar Products Used: JVC UX-T200R
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
John   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 15, 2000]
Strength:

Can find really cheap on-line
Sub-out
MD

Weakness:

Weak bass

I found this system for $250 on buy.com. Awesome system for the price! Great sound for a mini-system, although I strongly recommend adding a small subwoofer for a fuller sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Audiophile [Jan 20, 2000]
Strength:

Big time coolness factor, easy CD to MD dubbing

Weakness:

JVC brand name maybe

This is perfect for my college dorm room. Small and convenient, great sounding system. Liked the Nakamichi better, but it was twice the price. Add a sub to this and you've got a solid performer. 5 stars!

Similar Products Used: JVC FS-7000, Nakamichi SoundSpace 8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jimmy   Casual Listener [Jan 11, 2000]
Strength:

very attractive styling, cd to md dubbing is easy

Weakness:

sub output kind of hard to use w no level control

This is as good a small system you could get without a lot of hassle. I think a Model 88 with some portables would sound better and be cheaper. No where near the cool factor though. This is a work of art. 4.5 stars...

Similar Products Used: bose wave, model 88
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christina Isaacs   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2000]
Strength:

Clarity and range of vocals

I bought this as a bedroom system and I use it more than my big home theater system! I use the MD to record in-studio performances and interviews off the radio. The range of the speakers are very good and the AHB Super Pro works well to extend the bass without sacrificing clarity. A sub would be nice, but not necessary for my music. Excellent system and my first JVC!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shaun   Casual Listener [Dec 28, 1999]

This is one sharp looking system. I have space concerns and this little unit packs the most bang for the buck. Minidisc recording is easy with one-touch options. Smooth automatic CD door (see-thru; also a nice touch). I love it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Neil   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2001]
Strength:

Small size, elegant looks, fine fit and finish, analog and digital inputs for recording, line-level subwoofer output jack, analog input allows connection of TV or VCR's audio output to this product, headphone jack.

Weakness:

Bigger and better gear will sound better, but that's true for all audio gear.

This is a great little unit and usually easy to find new on eBay for about $250-$350 USD. Very useful for dubbing CDs to minidisc. (I take the MDs with my when I'm on the go and listen to the MDs with my Sony MZ-R70.) Like at least one other reviewer, I use the FS-MD9000 in my bedroom and have discovered that I use it more than any other audio gear in my home. I also connect it to my stereo TV's audio output.

If you want better sound from it, better speakers will help. You'll want something sensitive to get the most from the JVC's amp, such as PSB Alpha A/V speakers ($250/pair). I found a used set of Bose Acoustimass-3 speakers (a satellite/subwoofer set) that provide decent sound and are small enough to be unobtrusive in my bedroom.

Beyond the above, my experiences match the positive experiences of other reviewers here. Would I buy the FS-MD9000 again? Yes!

You can see the FS-MD9000 and learn more at:

http://www.minidisc.org/jvc_fs_md9000.jpg

http://www.jvc.com/product.jsp?modelId=MODL023005&archive=true&page=2

http://www.jvc.com:8765/jvc_query.html?col=nc&col=prod&col=nc&col=nc&cbox2=on&qt=fs-md9000&ht=0&qp=&qs=&qc=&pw=100%25&ws=0&la=&qm=0&st=1&nh=10&lk=1&rf=0&oq=&rq=0&si=0

http://www.minidisc.org/part_JVC_FS-MD9000.html

Similar Products Used: JVC FS-2000.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 1999]
Strength:

Looks very high-end. Piano black speakers and simple interface. Subwoofer output. 2 sets of Aux inputs and 1 Digital Optical input.

Weakness:

No mute button. Minidisc titling a bit tedius.

Contrary to the previous review for this system, this is a very complete and nice-sounding package from JVC. I can't get over it's good looks. Trust me, you'll want to keep the grilles off for this one. The speakers are finished in piano black and look great. Take off the grilles and the speaker cones have a silver/gunmetal brushed look. I think they are the same (functionally) as the FS-7000 though, I'm not sure. The speakers sound very natural and the AHB Super Pro works quite well. There is a subwoofer out, but I haven't tried it yet. The remote is well organized with CD and MD operations sharing buttons. Tuner performance was good as well, although I never tested the AM side. I like the look of the FS-7000, but this looks so much better IMHO. That huge volume knob is kind of ugly and I use the remote most of the time anyway. They aren't stocked in many stores (MD systems rarely are), but I got mine at hifi.com.

Similar Products Used: FS-5000, FS-7000, Nakamichi SoundSpace8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com