Toshiba SD2800 DVD Players

SD2800

Single Disc DVD Player with MP3 Playback

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
pappekak   Casual Listener [Dec 31, 2005]
Strength:

Makes an attractive doorstop.

Weakness:

Doesn't reliably play DVDs. Must unplug power cord when player hangs - power button won't clear it.

First player I received had the power cord severed off. Power cord on second was in one piece but the player has problems reading most DVDs I check out from the library. Locks up playing one of my new DVDs. Reverse button on remote sometimes triggers unit to go into FF mode. I didn't pay for mine but it is still frustrating to use. Don't waste your money on this one...

Similar Products Used: None, but will be purchasing Yamaha DV-C6760.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Rainwalker   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2004]
Strength:

Zoom feature works fine and is very useful with my 32" TV.

Weakness:

Durablility

I bought Toshiba because of the zoom feature and must say it worked fine. The problem is quality, or lack of it, in the color module. One month after the extended warrenty expired, the color gave out and the unit only plays in black and white. I would not buy Toshiba again.

Similar Products Used: My first DVD. My second one will be a better brand.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Brad Kizer   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2003]
Strength:

Produces a wonderful picture and decent audio at this price point.

Weakness:

Poor reliability

I started out being very impressed with the price performance ratio of this player. However it recently started doing the "freeze frame" thing and now it no longer plays cds or dvds. I presently have the same "DISC ERROR" problem mentioned by previous reviewers. *I purchased this player because Toshiba made an outstanding vcr with excellent audio. However, it appears they dropped the ball on this one. Without the above problems I would have easily given it 5 stars but under the present circumstances 2 stars is the best I can offer.

Similar Products Used: None. This was my first dvd player.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Rogowo   Casual Listener [May 24, 2003]
Weakness:

Does not display ID tags from Mp3 cd on the unit's lcd, and only displays the first 8 letters of a song or artist on the tv. This is a pain to me, bec I specificaly bought this player as a deck to play mp3 for my stereo.

I had this player for about 3 weeks. Until 2 weeks ago everything worked fine, everything changed. One day I was wathing a VCD recorded on a CD-RW, the plzyer froze, and now it will not play any CD-RW disks. Another funny thing that a week ago the player stoped recognizing original audio cd (from a store). Every time I put a audio cd or and CD-RW I will get a message "DISK ERROR". However the player plays CD-R that I burned on my pc. I have this player for sale, at 35$ (comes with box, remote, cables and manual). Email me I you are interested ROGOWO1@AOL.Com

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jsproul   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2003]
Strength:

1. Audio quality is very good 2. Component output acceptable with black level expansion enabled

Weakness:

1. Greenish cast to left 1/8th of the screen in component mode (not a TV problem) 2. Not great with scratched discs 3. No filtering/subsampling when playing anamorphic discs on 4:3 TV in letterbox mode (causes flicker and jagged lines with Akira Special Edition) 4. No macroblock noise filter

This is a decent player for the money. The audio quality is excellent. It's not great at dealing with scratched discs, but the layer transition time is okay (about 1 second). The user interface is pretty simple, and I had no problem capturing the remote control signals with my Onkyo remote. Overall it's pretty similar to the Panasonic DVD-RV32K. Used extensively with Panasonic Tau 27" standard TV, Onkyo TX-SR700 and Paradigm/Hsu Research 5.1 system.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic DVD-RV32K
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
toby   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2003]
Strength:

picture quality, when working properly

Weakness:

no reliable. short warranty would not purchase this product again.

purchased unit new and have used very little. good video and audio quality when it works. unit now freezed on frames of movie and shows square colored artifacts on the screen on occasion. unfortunately, i believe i am beyond a paltry 90 day warranty.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
EvilMoose   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2003]
Strength:

Plays just about everything, including MP3's and CD-RW.

Weakness:

Does not appear to be reliable.

Had this player for about 3 days. Worked well at first, but then developed playback problems. After playing a movie for a while the sound started cutting out. Then slight artifacts appeared in the picture. This got progressively worse until there was no sound and the picture was completely unviewable. Heat problem perhaps, I don't know. It's going back, and I don't think I'll try another.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic (ouch), Sony (good).
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike Grassi   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent sound and video playback. Attractive price.

Weakness:

Zoom mode leaves text on the screen...but I personally don't watch movies in zoom mode.

Let me first start by explaining that I orignally purchased the 2001 model and experienced some problems (movie suddenly skips and then eventually freezes to a black screen. Problem would dissapear after powering the unit off for an hour or so). I thought maybe the unit was overheating and causing the problem. I planned on returning the player but lightening literally struck and took care of that. Despite the bug, I was impressed enough to purchase the 2002 model as a replacement hoping that my previous problem was isolated to that particular unit. Since purchasing the new model, I have not experienced any bugs at all. The playback characteristics are excellent and I find this player a nice addition to my home theatre.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2002]

great value,i was search a dvd for replace my old sony dvd player and my eyes never see so many performance on this dvd player,has everything a low price. you cant be wrong dont look more.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
Roydjt   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2002]
Strength:

Reads even scratched disks exceptionally well, Plays mp3-encoded disks, easily navigable menus, superior sound and video.

Weakness:

Lack of a nice mp3 menu and better decoding of filename titles

This model is dependable and an absolute steal for the price. Sound and video reproduction are superb. It plays all types of disks, including mp3-encoded data disks. the only drawback I see is the lack of a nice mp3 menu and better decoding of filename titles. The menus for general operation are very easy to navigate. The remote is easy to use and well laid out. Couldn't be happier.

Similar Products Used: Apex Digital AD-600A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com