Toshiba SD2715 DVD Players

SD2715

- X2 Playback.
- Slow Motion, Forward and Reverse.
- Parental Lock.
- Time Search.
- Icon-Based On-Screen Displays.
- Camera Angle Select.
- Multi-Language Select.
- Multi-Subtitle Select.
- Title Stop.
- Picture Zoom.
- Front Panel Operation.
- Bookmarking.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Philip   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2003]
Strength:

Made it through the warranty.

Weakness:

Didn't last past the warranty.

I bought two svhs Toshiba vcrs. They seemed to work pretty good so I thought I would get a DVD with mp3 capabitily to match them. It lasted 1 year just past the warranty, and died. It worked real well, for a year. Next time I'll just get a $99 unit fronm Wal-Mart.

Similar Products Used: panasonic
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
JoeLeTaxi   Casual Listener [Jun 26, 2002]
Strength:

Good picture quality, seems reliable. Auto-shut-off.

Weakness:

Slow, slow, slow and slow. Poor materials quality. Quite big.

I was looking for a DVD player and also wanted to replace my older six disc Pioneer CD changer bought in 1987. I owned a Toshiba television that I bought in 1989 that had a great picture and traveled well (still running six plus hours/day at my parents' house now) - very durable and reliable, so looked at Toshiba and a couple of other brands. This player advertised a lot of features at a decent price, so I bought it. The picture quality and sound are very good, and I'm pleased with the quality of the output - but the thing is so slow that it is torture to use. Don't think of swapping CDs at a party - it is so slow you'll need to make compilations of party discs in advance. The cabinet is ultra cheap-o. It feels tinny to the touch. I slid mine into my cabinet, and the cheap foam feet on the corners crumbled and peeled right off from the bottom of the cabinet! The size is huge! This is part of being a carousel I suppose, but it is much deeper and wider than any of my other components. It hangs out the back of my stereo cabinet. I haven't replaced it, but I won't pay to have this thing fixed if it ever needs service. When playing music, it doesn't automatically advance to the next disc.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
akepa   Casual Listener [Apr 10, 2002]
Strength:

Zoom function Random play across all 5 discs (CD only) Plays MP3, CD-R, CD-RW

Weakness:

Questionable build quality Non-random MP3 playback

My 10-year-old Sony multidisc CD-changer was starting to show signs of senility so I decided to replace it with this DVD changer. So far I''m very happy with it. Audio and video quality are excellent. The zoom function is very handy for watching widescreen movies on my puny 20-inch TV. Ability to play MP3''s is a great bonus, although they won''t play in random order. It''s no speed demon, but my unit doesn''t seem that slow in loading discs (a common complaint in other reviews here) - it loads DVD''s and regular CD''s in about 3-5 seconds. It takes 10-15 seconds to load a CD-R containing several hundred songs, but this seems like a reasonable delay before playing 10+ hours of music. This unit will play audio CD''s semi-randomly across all 5 discs: it will play 2 random songs from 1 CD, then another 2 random songs from another CD, and son. The build quality doesn''t seem that great: the carousel is noisy and some of the buttons are very small and feel flimsy. Overall I think it''s a great DVD changer with lots of functionality for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Scot   [Feb 19, 2002]
Strength:

Price.

Weakness:

On life support when delivered.

This review is actually for the Toshiba SD3755 which is not listed yet. This is the first Toshiba product I''ve purchased. It is also the last. The unit was not DOA, but it might as well have been as the disc tray malfunctioned after no more than 5 minutes. During the brief time the tray would actually open and close, it failed to recognize any discs. This unit might have been damaged during shipping, but there was no indication on the box that it had seen rough handling. I''m not taking any chances. This dud is going back to Ubid, and Toshiba won''t get any more of my business.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Dong Liu   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2002]
Strength:

Zoom, Carousal, Image Quality

Weakness:

Reliability. Dead after 8 months

Other than dropping dead in 8 months, this toshiba provides top rate picture, zoom feature, and 5 disc capacity. First the merits. The image quality is very good. The zoom feature is great for my 20 inch TV. The 5 disc capacity reduces the chance of scratching DVDs. The problem is that it developed problem 8 months after use. It will work fine for the first 10 minutes. Then it will skip a little and freeze. If I change disk, it will not read that disk and display the message "disc error." Since I bought it at CostCo for $205, I returned it today for $180, as this model is now selling for $180. I am very happy at CostCo, but very skeptical about Toshiba. My previous Toshiba SD2109 also developed motor problem after two years. I am thinking of buying JVC from CostCo, since I need zoom and carousal. My Toshiba SD2715 is made in Korea. Is this actual a Samsung or Daewoo? I generally do not have trust in the reliability of electronics made in Korea, even though I am convinced that the performance may be top rate.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD2109
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Richard Drdul   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2001]
Strength:

Great sound, five-disc carousel, component video output, black (not that ugly silver colour that a lot of stuff is being made in)

Weakness:

All minor stuff -- slow start-up, player shuts off if stopped/paused for several minutes, sometimes resets to subtitles after automatically shutting off in the middle of a film, disk skip only works in one direction, remote buttons attract dust

Overall, a very good DVD player with a few minor annoyances. It's certainly satisfactory for my needs. I use it primarily for playing pre-recorded CD's, and I watch an average of a DVD a week.

One thing worth noting is that I had to upgrade to version 1.2 of the firmware. Prior to the upgrade, I experienced a loud, sharp sound (like the sound of a CD player stuck on one spot of a CD) when I paused, fast forwarded or rewound a DVD. This was apparantely a compatibility problem with my Yamaha RX-V800 receiver, and the firmware upgrade solved the problem.


Similar Products Used: None -- this is my first DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2001]
Strength:

5-disc carousel

Weakness:

Slow-responding to commands (ie. from disc to disc)

Defective unit - first problem I've ever had with a Toshiba product so I think it was just a one-time thing. The unit would not register that it had discs in it, or would not register 1-2 discs while it recognized others. Then the unit would not read what was there and finally would not even stay closed -- it just kept closing, trying to read a disc, then reopening itself. Returned it and bought the Toshiba 2705 at Best Buy. See if its any better.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD-1600 single disc
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2001]
Strength:

5-Disc Changer, plays CD-R and CD-RW, crisp play.

Weakness:

Painfully slow upon start-up.

This unit replaced a single disc Panasonic and was a little skeptical at first about a 5-Disc, but it seems to be working great. I needed a unit to serve as a CD player and a DVD player and this Toshiba does it perfectly. The only downside is that it takes the unit a while to load up and the remote can be a little tricky, but can be conquered if you sit there and play with it for an hour or so. I recommend this Toshiba to anyone who wants to get started in home theater and wants to save a heap of money. The zoom feature is also and awesome feature that is a bonus to this great DVD/CD player.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic DVD-A120
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2001]
Strength:

Has lots of great features like the ability to program 60 mp3 files and the zoom feature and great sound quality and multiple audio and video output connectors.

Weakness:

It does not read mp3s well. The unit must be powered on and off for periods up to half an hour.

When I originally purchased this product I was looking for a carousel player that would play mp3s.

This product does in fact do it but it has serious drawbacks on playing mp3s. In order to get the player to read my cds, I had to power on, power off, rotate discs, open close tray continuously for periods up to 30 minutes to finally get the thing to read the mp3s.

However to Toshiba's credit, once you get the thing fired up it plays the files geat. It has a feature to program up to 60 mp3 files but random feature does not work.

The video capabilities were great with a sharp picture and a zoom feature and again it played CDS well and VCDs made on CD-Rs.

However it is not worth buying something that takes virtually forever to load up mp3 files so I returned it and tried a second 2715 but it to had the same problems.

I have now exchanged it for The Toshiba 3750 which although is just a single tray it does not have the mp3 problem. It reads them within seconds!!! It will also play mp3s randomly. However you can only program it to play 15 mp3s.

The Toshiba 3755 which is a carousel(but the wiz did not have it) can be programmed to play 60 mp3s but will not do it randomly. I also believe it has more audio outputs so that you have the choice of playing the DVD either through the stereo or your TV.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 3750
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Joe Reid   Casual Listener [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

Slow, but plays just fine. I like the random disk and random track selection feature. Fairly nice remote. Easy to install. Good documentation. Well worth the price paid.

Weakness:

None noted thus far.

If you can find it under $150.00, buy it.

Similar Products Used: Philips
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com