Samsung DVD-812 DVD Players

Samsung DVD-812 DVD Players 

DESCRIPTION

DVD player

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Dec 20, 2020]
stevens


Strength:

Great features. Melds well with Samsung TV 27+1". Good Remote, except for VCR controls. Not advertised, but plays MP3s too!

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
2
[Feb 17, 2002]
taznados
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

adjustable volume on audio jacks

I have had no problems with this player it plays all my dvds flawlessly even dual layered ones

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 27, 2001]
Jim
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

MP3 Player even though not advertised!

Weakness:

Freezes, and skips on DVDs as well as MP3 disks.

I got this product as a freebie when I purchased my big screen HDTV. It first I was very excited that this unit could play MP3 even though the box, manual or anything on the machine did not claim it!!! It even displayed the 1st 6 characters of the song names on the TV screen.

But then the surprises began. I tested the unit playing an MP3 disk. It was OK most of the time, but then it started skipping every once in a while. I attributed this to the MP3 quality and the fact that the unit does not even claim to play MP3s.

Then I played a DVD. I started watching "The Perfect Storm". Right when the storm started the unit started skipping frames and then it just froze! I tried it several times to no avail. Then I put the same DVD on my 3yr old Pioneer DVD Player and it ran the same scene with no problems at all!!!

I returned the unit and exchanged it for another product.

My advice: DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. I got it for free and that was not even worth it!

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 15, 2001]
Winston
Casual Listener

Strength:

It came in a box

Weakness:

Samsung DVD Player

This replacement player finally came(around 1-15-01) after a few weeks delay from the promised date and paying $50. This unit is not much different from the very disappointing 927. The picture is clear, sound acceptable. As evident from previous reviews, the unit has problems reading dual layered discs. In fairness, compared to the 927, it freezes less. I can hear the disc spinning from 10 feet away. I am not sure if it is just me but I noticed a delay in response with the remote. I think around 1 second. I like the button layout on the remote except for the joystick in the middle that does not seem to work when I move it. Bottom line, I am still unhappy about this player. Samsung has not learned from their mistakes. I am not going to waste my time to call Samsung about it again. I am done with their company. Stay away from Samsung DVD players. I am giving it 2 for value since Samsung was good enough to replace my 927.

Similar Products Used:

Replacement for my POS Samsung 927, Sony

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 15, 2001]
Ulises

Strength:

Clear Picture, lot of outputs

Weakness:

Won´t Play DVD´s nor CD-R MP3 !

It would be a nice player if It would play DVD´s !
-------------------------------------------------
I got this player (A version sold in Mexico as DVD-811) ´cause It appeared to have it all, not-chinese with lot of outputs,zoom,CD-R,CD-RW and VCD´s compatibility and a mp3 decoder from a "trustable" brand. Well, when you tried to play a disk, It just work fine 10 or 15 minutes, after that SKIPS and FREEZES like crazy, looks like the player can´t handle overheating, if you turn it off and wait, sometimes you can still playing the disk and sometimes don´t, this player is unable to play CD-R with mp3 files with reliability, 9 of 10 times the only you get is the "No disk" sign, and the fewer times It recognize the disk, the mp3 files skips too !
I tried with "Matrix", "The world is not enough" and after a lot of skips the player just get stuck, which is very annoying when you have planned a "movie" night. Finally I get my money back and now I´ve got a Pionner DV-535 running flawlessly so far.
I´ll NEVER buy a Samsung product again.

Similar Products Used:

Pionner DV-535

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 07, 2001]
Shanny
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great features. Melds well with Samsung TV 27+1". Good Remote, except for VCR controls. Not advertised, but plays MP3s too!

Weakness:

none yet. Haven't had the displeasure of freezing all the time!!

Not bad for a low-priced machine, it plays MP3s, CDRs, great picture, good features...Zoom etc..

Had it freeze on one DVD, cleaned the DVD still didn't work. So I brought the DVD back and got a replacement which worked fine.

I think I'll keep it!!!

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 23, 2001]
Jim Sewell
Casual Listener

Has trouble playing many discs that work OK on my son's PS2

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 2001]
Jeff
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

none

This model has a flawed logic board which causes frequent freezing and skipping. Samsung is unable to correct the problem and has discontinued the model. I have spent the last four months "negotiating" a replacement.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 17, 2001]
Clive
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good picture if it doesn't skip.

Weakness:

Skips, locks up. It is a bugger.

Bad damn DVD player. I'm not going to waste my time writing about it. Shoddy at best. Criminal of Samsung at worst.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 15, 2001]
Scott
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Reliability. Picture freezes and sometimes the player can not read the DVD.

From my experience, this is not a good DVD player. Every movie I have tried to play freezes. It is very sensitive to finger prints on the DVD etc... To get the unit to even recognize some DVDs, I have to clean the disk first. I also have a Marantz DV-7010 and this player is flawless. Anything the Samsung can't play the Marantz handles without a problem. If you are looking to purchase this player, keep away and look elsewhere.

Similar Products Used:

Marantz DV-7010

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com