Pioneer DV-525 DVD Players

DV-525

DVD/CD Player with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit Video DAC - 24-bit/96kHz audio DAC - Component Video output - S-Video and composite video output - Optical, coaxial and analog audio output

User Reviews (464)

Showing 1-10 of 464  
TimJ   Casual Listener [Mar 04, 2014]

I bought the Pioneer DV 525 in 2000 because we were moving out of the US and wanted a dual voltage, region free DVD player. It was terrifically expensive at the time, I think $450. Although we only ever used it as a DVD player, never used any of the more advanced input and output options, it worked perfectly for over 13 years. Good value for money I'd say! Only recently it has started to have some playback problems, screen blocking and freezing. I've cleaned the lens and fingers crossed it gives another 13 years of service....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
thegoose   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2005]
Strength:

Beautiful picture Unmatched sound Playback of unfinalized CDR's & CDRW Ease of use

Weakness:

Terrible drawer mechanism.

This unit has been a dream to own. It has surpassed my wildest imagination on some of the fuctions it has been able to perform. When I purchased this unit I was just as yellow about DVD's as the next person. The purpose for me buying this unit was more for AUDIO than VIDEO. I was looking for a unit that would allow me to playback CDRW's and to my delight not only did the unit work flawlessly in that arena it also played back un-finalized CDRW's and CDR's as well. By me being in the music industry as a Disc Jockey that was a big plus. Since then I have all but discontinued the use of any regular CD player in my house. I also went out and purchased 2 DV-C503's to use in other areas of my house solidifying the death of all my old CD players. I could hardly believe the beautiful sound being heard from these units as I used them to playback all types of music in my house. By the way! It was no joke in the picture department either. I have always been a big fan of Pioneer Electronics because they have always been a cut above the rest in the technology department. They have always given us technology the other companies have yet to explore at any price. At the beginning of this review I stated that this unit has been a dream to own and it has been. Now time for the nightmare. I like so many other owners of this unit started experiencing the issue of the door continuously opening and closing after the first year of ownership. Not only has it happened to this unit It also appears on my other 2 units which are the DV-C503. I don't know what happened here but Pioneer really dropped the ball on that technology. Everyone I know has the same issue with this unit and any other manufactured circa 2001. If you ask me I think that we all need to get together and have Pioneer do something about these short-comings.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic Hitachi Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
hermione_newline27   AudioPhile [Dec 30, 2004]
Strength:

A great mid-range unit.

Weakness:

Choosy with certain/particular DVDs. Short lens life span.

This is one of the greatest mid-range DVD Players ever created by Pioneer. Not even the newer Pioneer models today could hold a candle to this one. It has pin-sharp picture quality when compared to newer Pioneer DV-355(which I own) and can be also a little bit revealing when playing some poorly produced DVDs. In this case, the picture artifacts. However, as good as this DVD player sounds, it is not without flaws. This unit have problems playing certain Paramount titles that are released in the pre-2000 era cause I had problems playing titles like The Relic. About half across the movie, the player will stop streaming out audio. This particular problem will not go away until you "rectify" it. To do so, when the abovementioned started, you just have to stop the movie for a few seconds and then play it, the movie resumes from the point where/when it lost the audio stream. Another flaw, when use extensively on a daily basis, the laser lens life might be shorten. Mine has been "decommissioned" for quite sometime already for the unit's lens "gave up" just a little under 2 years of usage. I still have the unit with me and I intend to get the lens replace. Still, despite these few glitches, this unit is one of the best there is.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV-355 DVD Player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
JKB   AudioPhile [Sep 18, 2004]
Strength:

Had fine picture and sound quality (when it worked), but often found needing to change the audio settings going from one DVD to another, but I suspect that was the issue of the different mixing on the DVD audio tracks by different studios.

Weakness:

Didn't seem to be a popular model as when in contact with DVD producers, this was one of the models they didn't test their DVD's on. They suggested contacting Pioneer to see if there was a firmware update. By that time the unit was out of waranty, and with $40.00 DVD players on the market, why waste the time and money?

Worked great when I first got it, however at time went on, I began noticing certain DVD's not playing in the machine. Wasted a lot of time exchanging DVD's thinking I had defective DVD's, writing lots of e-mails to studios who produced the DVD. Had engineers send me the layer change information, because often movies would just 'hang up' and stop, sometimes the picture breaking up. Found that DVD's that once played in the past wouldn't play again, often ejecting themselves, sometimes even turning the player off! Eventually tried the same DVD's in another machine and found them to work fine. Finally pulled it out of my stereo cabinet and threw it across the room, at 2:00 in the morning when I had to pull a spare, cheap $40.00 dollar Apex, Wal-Mart special I kept as a back-up, rewiring my stereo rack to watch a movie.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Abel   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2003]
Strength:

good picture + sound + plays almost everything. superb sound with my 6.1 dts-es reciever.

Weakness:

tray eject mechanism/switch not built well.

great picture + sound. unit has not given me trouble playing DVD's, VCD's, + CDR's. This unit has been great to me over the past many years. hell it's been so long i don't remember when i bought it. i do remember i bought it when it first came out... well the only problem i have with the unit it the annoying problem with the disc tray. it will open fully then close again automatically. ejecting again, it may stay open. quite annoying.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi, Sony, Zenith, Toshiba, Magnetbox, RCA, Pioneer 333, Apex, and others.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
cla   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2003]
Strength:

umm,,, leemme see, video ,sound ,internal build quality , all around a good 'ol unit

Weakness:

not many, giving its vintage (hehe), oh,, the remote and the tray mechanism, which only developed in the last couple of months,, iguess it is getting a little grumpy with its old age ( for digital , it is old)

well, this is cool,, after having my player for over 4 years, and still seeing reviews for is great . well mine has played flawlessly for the entire time with HEAVY use with movies and music on a constant daily basis. the only problem i have had is with the tray wanting to close when i hit the open button. but really a small issue ,considering it has lasted this long. i am thinking now about doing some mods to it ,just to see , bout to get a sacd player anyways ,,so this little stanknugget of a player is gonna be retired as a audio unit anyways. oh yeah ,, i am a big guy with big hands , and the remote was a b!tch at first to use . but after over 4 years of use , i have about memorised the button layout anyway. oh well i guess you get what you pay for , and this player IMHO has paid for it self over and over again,,, best $200 i have spent,,,hope to if any others have enjoyed it as long as i have ,,, ciao

Similar Products Used: ha! it was my very first dvd palyer,, it deflowered me (hehe)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
priyantha2000   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 22, 2002]
Strength:

Plays any disc. good audio and picture

Weakness:

Not durable. tiny remote. DVD transport is noisy

I used DV-525 for 24 months but not happy with this as it worked trouble free only for 12 months. At first it closed the tray as soon as opened. This was due to malfunctioning tray opened switeh. (If any one having this problem I can help to fix it ) Then about 24 months it could not play any disc. When I checked the service charge with pioneer they came with more than a new entry level player so I scraped the thing.

Similar Products Used: Philips DVD-820
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
E-DOGG   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

PLAYS ANY DVD I CAN PUT IN IT FROM REGION 1.

Weakness:

LITTLE NOSIY AT FIRST

I USALLY DONT GET TO WORKED UP OVER A PRODUCT BUT THE DV-525 IS A KILLER IF YOU CAN STILL FIND ONE. PICTURE IS FANTASTIC WITH DEEP COLORS AND CLARITY. (NOT PROGRESSIVE SCAN THOUGH). THIS PLAYER HAS NEVER FAILED TO PLAY A DVD YET. NOTHING STOPS IT. NOT RETAL DVD, NOT SCRATCHED DVD, NOT DIRTY DVD's. IT HAS ALWAYS PLAYED THEM ALL, WITH VERY SMOOTH LAYER CHANGES. ITS THE BEST PLAYER I EVER OWNED. I TRIED TO DO BETTER WITH NEWER UNITS BUT, NONE BEAT THIS BABY. HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED.!!

Similar Products Used: TOSHIBA 2100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ajay   AudioPhile [May 31, 2002]
Strength:

Audio + Video quality and settings. Regular Audio CDs (CDRs too) sound much much better on this DVD than a standalone CD player.

Weakness:

Transport noise for some dvds

Great Player. Excellent output (video and audio). Solid built. Worried about the noise? .. only if you are listening to 'silence'! From DVDCity this model came with PAL/NTSC+Multiregion+Macrovision buster.

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
t3xz   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

Picture and sound quality. Quality of build.

Weakness:

Remote control ergonomy and loud transport. Doesn''t sound good as a cd player, but hey, it''s a dvd ;-)

This DVD is build to last. I don''t think, that I will need to buy a new one in next 5-10 years. Great quality of build and picture, good sound from dvds.

Similar Products Used: sony dvd, cheap aiwa dvd
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 464  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com