Panasonic DVD-C220 DVD Players

DVD-C220

5 disk DVD Player - Dolby Digital -

User Reviews (125)

Showing 1-10 of 125  
hugene   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2004]
Strength:

Component video, DTS, very good quality picture and sound processing, 5 disc changer

Weakness:

no progressive scan, can't read anything except DVD,CD and VCD. No CD-R,DVD-R,etc.

Bought this unit in December 1999 and have had nothing go wrong with it ever. I use it extensively for DVD movies and CD's. Unfortunately, CD-R's cannot be played but other than that, I've been quite happy with it's performance. Picture and sound are great and when I purchased it, I knew that I was paying a lot but it worked out really well because it is over 4 years old and not that out-dated yet in regards to picture and sound quality. My brother-in-law has the exact same model and he did have to get his repaired when it was 15 months old (3 months out of warranty). Laser gave out. Panasonic ended up paying for the parts and he payed the labor. That was 3 years ago and he still uses it regularly with no problems since. Great product, great features, was a great investment.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DVD-V630
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hugene   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2004]
Strength:

Remote is great, picture is awesome (with some tweaking of course), large number of inputs (especially love the 2 component inputs for my DVD player and Gamecube), 4 choices for viewing size

Weakness:

ALS system

Have had the TV since March 2002. No problems yet. Great picture and more features than anything else in it's price range. Especially love the number of video inputs. Won't be outdated anytime soon. Using a Panasonic DVD player without progressive scan and the picture is great!! Having the 4 different modes for picture size is very handy. Love the remote as well. The only complaint is the picture can be too dark. The ALS system leaves much to be desired. Makes the picture way too dark for the lighting in the room. Looks great and is big enough for my center speaker, DVD player, and VCR. Overall, great value.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic 32", checked out Sony, Hitachi but the salesman recommended Toshiba and I've been happy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
meester   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth video decode while it worked Very nice menu system

Weakness:

A design fault has crippled my player

Amazing! I have the same "NO PLAY" problem listed by two of the other reviewers, which is making the player almost worthless. Mine lasted almost 3 years, though. This is clearly a design flaw, and very disappointing since I have had CD players that lasted 10+ years without a problem. I have heard of similar long-term problems on other Panasonic DVD players, so I don't think my next DVD player will be a Panasonic.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Ninja226   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 12, 2002]
Strength:

At the time, good price for a 5-disc DVD changer with great picture and sound

Weakness:

It should have lasted at least 5 years

I am having the EXACT same problem as reviewer Kip (2 posts down). The player was fantastic for over a year and then I started receiving No Play messages -- if you treat it like a pinball machine (bump the sides, wiggle the tray, change disc locations) you can sometimes get the No Play DVD's to finally work. Cracked the tray one night, so I am junking it and shopping for a new one (with MP3 and DVD-Audio capabilities). I do like Panasonic products (especially my new 32" TV), so this is a major disappointment.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Carlos   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2002]
Strength:

Reliability! Overall value.

Weakness:

No cd-r. No zoom. No mp3. No progressive scan.

The C220 has been a good overall performer. It was reasonably priced at the time and had good features for the price. It's only problems are its lack of features now (about 2 years since purchase). It does not play cd-r or decode mp3. It also lacks a zoom feature. However, I have never had any problems whatsoever and have loved having the multi-disc capabilities. I think the front lights are useless since the player would first have to read every disc (timely) in order accurately describe the type of disc loaded in that slot. It is easy to fault the player for its lack of features, but back when I bought it progressive scan players were going for about $900 and mp3 was not available in mainstream dvd players. Also, very few players read cd-r (Pioneer is the only one I remember then).

Similar Products Used: Sony DVPN300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kip   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2002]
Strength:

5 disc. Change while playing.

Weakness:

Quality over time

The quality of the picture and sound was great for about a year. Since that point I have had "No Play" messages with increasing frequency on some of my favorite DVDs. I am probably going to buy another player as I cannot seem to solve this problem nor find any solutions online.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike Pendergrass   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2002]
Strength:

5 Disc Drawer / Component Video / Optical and Coaxial Output.

Weakness:

Compared to today''s players - It doesn''t read CD''r or DVD Audio / SACD / or progressive scan - but thats not its fault.

I''ve owned this DVD Player for about 3 years and i have never had a problem with it. It has read every DVD i''ve thrown in it ( I have a collection of around 100 ).j Audio and Video quality is good. It is obviously better out of the component but regular composite doesn''t suffer that much. I prefer the coaxial hook up more than the Toslink (optical) Its clean and reads DD and DTS discs accurately and i''ve never had a sync problem

Similar Products Used: my one and only DVD player ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
hernan saab   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2000]
Strength:

5 disc changer, price, dts & dd, sound and picture

Weakness:

the silly lights and changer doesnt tuck in with a push

THere is no way I can criticize the sound quality because
I take the digital optical signal out of the box right
into the receiver. Therefore, sound is as good as my
receiver gets so it is pretty good considering I have a
pioneer vsx608 receiver.

The picture is as good as it can get considering I am
using Svideo.

The changer is a bit noisy.

The changer can be used as a CD player and its quality
is as good as it gets considering I the dvd p[ayer does not do a DA conversion (digital signal fed directly into
the receiver).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sam   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2000]
Strength:

price

Weakness:

Doesn't play Burned dics

I was extermely dissapionted when i found out that this dvd player ( but I think it is true for all dvd players) did not play burned cds or burned VCD's! Besides that I feel that the dvd player is a great product. To many people seem to be putting this product down. The price is right and the quaility is too. Five stars!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2000]
Strength:

Very good picture and sound quality, plays CD-RW discs, component video output, price

Weakness:

Doesn't play CD-R discs

For under $400 this is an excellent value. The only gripe I have is that I cannot play burned CD-R discs on it like I can on the Pioneer. The picture and sound quality are above average for players in this price range. If you're looking for a multi-disc DVD/CD changer for a great price, this is a very good unit to consider. However if CD-R compatibility is a must, I'd say go for Pioneer's 3 Disc changer. I'd give the Panasonic 4 1/2 stars for performance (but have given it a 5 since 4 1/2 isn't an option).

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 125  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com